Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weight a minute!

• 17-10-2008 2:17pm
    Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 1,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Oh look another log!
    Hopefully this one will last a bit longer.

I've delved into the area of weights and I have to say I'm enjoying it.
    Went to the gym a few times over the last 2 weeks but I'm only going to start logging what I'm doing from today. I must also thank a certain boardsie for her help, a wealth of information.

I go to the NAC in blanch, there ain't that much room in the weights area but isn't too busy most of the time. Lunch time is really the only time I get to go so that allows me 30 mins. Keeping this as a personal record so I have half an idea of what I'm doing. Forgive not naming the exercises correctly because I don't really have a bog.

Deadlift: (had done squats 2 days previous, legs were still hanging off me)
    10 X 25kg 8 X 28kg 8 X 28kg 8 X 28kg

There were lads using all the benches for the time I was there so couldn't do any of that kinda stuff.

DB Curl: (10kg each hand)
    4 X 10 reps

Pushdowns (cable thingy) - Not sure how much each weight weighs.

3rd one down 10 reps
    2nd down 10 reps

Meh, it wasn't much but is alot for me!
    Love the not being able to traverse stairs from doing the deadlifts :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 1,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭Slaanesh

Monday 20/10/2008

DB Press (Incline) (14kg each hand)
    4 X 8

Pushdowns: 3 plates
    3 X 8 (Just about got the last one)

DB Curls: (12kg each hand)
    3 X 8 (Just about finished this too)

Did a BB bench press for the laugh.
    Did 8 reps with just the bar and then loaded 20kg on and did another 8 reps.

Weighted Pressups (5kg)
    1 X 12
    1 X 10
    1 X 9 (failed on the 10th, was halfway up! :) )

Wednesday 29/10/2008

Crikey, I haven't been to the gym in over a week! Pathetic.

Lunges:

3 X 20 X 16kg (Was shakin stevens after this)

Squats (woo I lurve them):

2 X 8 X 20kg (Just the bar)
    2 X 8 X 30kg
    2 X 8 X 40kg (Growled through the last one)

BB bench press

1 X 10 X 20kg (bar only)
    2 X 8 X 30kg
    2 X 8 X 40kg (growled through the last again)

Thoughts:

I have no idea of my capabilities, I'm sure I could lift alot more. One gets that scary feeling of not being able to get the bar back up. However, it's so little weight it would rest on my chest easy!

Don't have the courage to ask for a spot! I'll get a friend in sometime and we'll see what I can do :)

Todays session felt good, don't think it wouldv'e been so hard if I'd been seeing Mr Gym on a regular basis.

Friday 31/10/2008

Incline Bench DB Press
    4 X 8 X 14Kg

Pushdowns: (Found out each plate is 5Kg)
    2 X 8 X 15kg
    1 X 8 X 20kg

DB Curls
    3 X 8 X 12kg
    1 X 5 X 12kg

Unweighted pressups:
    3 X 12

After the curls my biceps felt like they were going to pop.
    Felt good after todays session.

Tuesday 04/11/2008

Disaster of a session:

Tried doing wide grip pullups but they were too vicious, only managed about 3.
    What I did get through:

Narrow grip pullups:
    3 X 6
    1 X4 (fail)

Deadlift:

3 X 6 X 30kg
    1 X 6 X 40kg
    1 X 6 X 50kg
    1 X 6 X 60kg

I felt ok with the 60kg but after the set my head was so light I had to sit down. Couldn't continue the session because I thought I was going to faint.
    Was told it could be my blood sugar, I had a meal 30 mins before hand, bah :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

The deadlift is a full body lift. There's virtually no muscle group in yoru body that doesn't get used. There's a reason why it's hailed as one of the best lifts you can do - it's taxing, it's tiring and it knocks seventy shades of shit out of you when you start lifting.

Don't eat too big a meal before you lift, make sure you're berathing properly, and if you're really concerned it might be worthwhile getting your blood pressure checked out. Its happened to me on many occasions and as disconcerting as it is, it seems to be down to exertion during the lifts.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

You did 36 Deadlifts. Show me the person who doesn't need to sit down after that!

As Gem said these are full body lifts not to be confused as just another exercise. They will destroy you.

Fair play to you for doing them. You won't regret it.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

To reiterate what the others are saying - yep deadlifts are pretty intense if you are just getting used to them. You will be hooked in no time though as your body learns to cope and starts growing like a weed. Keep it up.

Monday 17/11/2008

An age since I was in the gym and it shows.

DB Press Flat
    1X 10 X 14kg

DB Press incline
    4 X 10 X 14kg

Squat:

2 X 8 X 20kg (bar)
    2 X 8 X 30kg
    2 X 8 X 40kg

DB Lunges:

1 X 18 X 10kg

Again, very light headed after the squatting, the weight didn't seem too heavy just the damned light headedness!!!

Could be just a case of getting in there regularly.

Pushdows:

1 X 10 X 5kg
    1 X 8 X 10kg
    1 X 8 X 15kg
    1 X 8 X 20kg
    3 X 8 X 15kg

Incline DB press:

4 X 10 X 12kg

DB Curls:

4 X 8 X 12kg

DB Bent over row:

2 X 8 X 12kg
    2 X 8 X 14kg

I can't feel my arms :) Good session, felt like I got a load done in a short time.

Wednesday 26/11/2008

All the free weights section was in use when I went in at the start so I decided to do some pushdowns.

Pushdowns:
    1 X 10 X 5kg
    3 X 8 X 15kg

I then got a bench:

Rows:
    (each arm)
    3 X 8 X 12kg
    1 X 10 X 12kg

Whilst waiting for the BB to become free I did a few DB curls:
    (each arm)
    1 X 10 X 12kg

Deadlift:

4 X 6 X 30kg
    1 X 6 X 40kg
    1 X 6 X 50kg

I decided that was enough and then decided to do a few squats :)
    1 X 6 X 50kg

Fun fun.

Might as well resurrect my log.

I've been going to the gym solidly for the last 2 weeks, Monday, Wednesday and Friday evenings for about an hour and a half. I'm really enjoying it, not in a rush to get back to work.

Today:

Gym was the most jammed I've seen it, there was no getting near the free weights area.

Machines:
    Treadmill: 20 mins - about 3.3km.

Chest press:
    2 X 8 X 40kg
    1 X 8 X 35kg
    1 X 8 X 30kg

Pec deck (annoying name):
    Can't really remember - probably 4 X 8 X 35kg

Seated Row:
    3 X 8 X 40kg
    1 X 8 X 35kg

Leg Press
    I'm liking this machine:
    1 X 8 X 60kg
    1 X 8 X 70kg
    1 X 8 X 80kg
    1 X 8 X 90kg
    1 X 8 X 100kg (PB) - Never really written PB before but about 80 was my previous max and it just felt alot lighter today.

I'd say I could do 8 X 120kg handy enough but I don't trust my knees at the mo.

There was some other machine in there that I can't for the life of me remember the name.

Free weights -
    DB curls:
    4 X 8 X 15kg

Hopefully Wednesday won't be as busy in the freeweights sections, need to get my deadlifts in.

There is no squat rack anymore :( They have a smith machine but that just looks awkward for squatting. Apparently they are getting a cage in ... I wait with bated breath.

Didn't make it to the gym yesterday, was tied up for the evening.
    Decided to go this evening instead and hopefully tomorrow evening.

Didn't have a whole lot of time so decided to focus on upper body.
    Free weights sections was remarkably empty today, I don't get it!

DB Bench Incline:
    4 X 8 X 15Kg

DB Bent over row:
    4X 8 X 15kg - Each arm.

DB Curls:
    2 X 8 X 15kg

Decided I give the smith machine a good try:

Smith Bench Press

2 X 8 X 40kg

For some mad reason I decided to put another 20kg on.

3 X 6 X 60kg

Cable Pushdowns

2 X 8 X 45kg
    2 X 8 X 40kg

Seated Rows:

1 X 8 X 45kg
    1 X 8 X 50kg
    1 X 8 X 60kg
    1 X 8 X 65kg
    1 X 8 X 80kg

After all that I did a quick 5 mins on the treadmill, did a bit of a sprint, jaysus I was knackered!

I'm aching now!

Probably the first time going to the gym two days in a row. Didn't get to make it on Wednesday so went yesterday and today.

It went a little something like this:

20 mins on the treadmill, 10.4kms/hr.
    I'm upping it by .1 each time, doesn't seem to get any more difficult ... so far.

Strangely enough there was absolutely no one in the free weights area.

Dead lifts
    Haven't done these bad boys in quite some time so I was quizzing my Starting Strength manual kindly provided to me by G'em so as not to cripple myself.

2 X 6 X 28kg
    2 X 6 X 40kg
    2 X 6 X 45kg
    2 X 6 x 50kg
    3 X 6 x 55kg

This was alot for me to do. I took nice and long between sets and never stood up straight away, I nearly feckin' fainted the last time I tried these. Keeping on my hunkers for a short while after lifts seems to keep the dizzyness at bay.

Leg Press:

3 X 8 X 50kg

Decided not to press(ha, pun) on with this because legs were all over the show from the deadlifts.

DB Bench Flat

4 X 8 X 15kg (That's 15 each arm, wonder should I be writing 30? Meh, I know what I mean :))

Yesterday:

Treadmill @ 10.5 km/hr

20 mins

Machines:

Seated Leg Press

1 X 8 X 60kg
    1 X 8 X 70kg
    1 X 8 X 80kg
    1 X 8 X 100kg
    1 X 8 X 110kg (PB)

The auld left knee felt a bit funny under the load so I didn't go any further.

Lat Pulldown thingy:

4 X 8 X 35kg ~ (Could have been 40, not sure)

Chest Press:

4 X 8 X 40kg ~ (Again, it was in around this)

Seated Row :

4 X 8 X 40kg ~ (as above!)

Free weights:

DB Bench Press Incline:

4 X 8 X 15kg

DB Rows:

4 X 8 X 15kg (Each arm)

Cables:

Seated Row:

1 X 8 X 55kg
    1 X 8 X 60kg
    1 X 8 X 65kg
    1 X 8 X 80kg
    1 X 8 X 85kg (PB)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Do you do your cardio before weights?

Most here would advise to do cardio after, open to correction but it aids in fat loss and allow's you to lift more.

Hi Naos,

I'm doing my cardio before weights. Interesting point, I'll look into that!

Friday, 6th.

Haven't been in the gym in ages, incredibly busy in my life and simply don't have the time. Managed to head in though yesterday after work.

20 mins treadmill @ 10.5km/hr. I nearly couldn't do this! It's amazing how not being back for 2 weeks can affect ones stamina.

DB Curls:

4 X 8 X 12.5kg (Each arm)

Smith machine bench press

Warmed up with just the bar for a bit.

2 X 8 X 40kg
    2 X 8 X 50kg

Squats:

Yay, they got a proper squat rack since I've last been in, I luv squats!

2 X 6 X 30kg
    2 X 6 X 40kg
    2 X 6 X 50kg

Cables: - Seated Rows

1 X 8 X 50kg
    1 X 8 X 60kg
    1 X 8 X 65kg
    1 X 8 X 70kg
    1 X 8 X 75kg

Lunges

3 X 16 X 10kg

Monday 9th Feb

I had a massive cramp in my calf during sleep on Saturday night, could barely walk Sunday morning! Probably from the squats on Friday.

All upper-body due to the leg not really working :)

I did most of the machines but can't really remember what weights I was doing.
    Mainly updating for reference that I actually went to the gym on that day!

Will hopefully get to the gym on Saturday because the next week and half is a write off on week-days.

Been a while!

20 mins treadmill @ 10.5km/hr.
    I was pleased with this, I haven't been in the gym in 2 weeks so thought I wouldn't be able for it. In fact I felt like I could have gone on for another 10 minutes or so.

DB Bench:
    5 X 8 X 15kg

DB Rows:
    4 X 8 X 15kg

Pushdowns:
    1 X 8 X 30kg
    1 X 8 X 35kg
    2 X 8 X 40kg

Deadlifts:
    I was feeling particularly lightheaded today:
    4 X 6 X 30kg

Treadmill again for some reason:
    10 mins @ 10.3

Assited dips
    4 X 8 X 40kg
    I was loving the burn from this machine!

Good to be back ...

Friday 27th Feb

Try to remember what I did:

DB Bench:
    4 X 8 X 15kg

DB Rows:
    4 X 8 X 15kg

Leg Press:
    1 X 8 X 70kg
    1 X 8 X 80kg
    1 X 8 X 90kg
    1 X 8 X 100kg

DB Curls:
    4 X 8 X 15kg (Moved up from 12.5)

Squats:
    1 X 10 X 20kg (bar)
    1 X 6 X 30kg
    1 X 6 X 35kg
    1 X 6 X 40kg
    1 X 6 X 45kg
    1 X 6 X 50kg
    1 X 6 X 55kg

Funnily enough my legs are still in bits today!

10 mins on treadmill.

Today:

DB Bench:
    4 X 8 X 15kg (Struggled with the last rep or two)

DB Rows:
    4 X 8 X 15kg

DB Curls:
    4 X 8 X 15kg

Pushdowns:
    1 X 8 X 40kg
    3 X 8 X 45kg

Seated Rows:
    1 X 8 X 65kg
    1 X 8 X 70kg
    1 X 8 X 75kg
    1 X 8 X 80kg

Machines:
    Chest Press:
    1 X 8 X 30kg
    1 X 8 X 35kg
    1 X 8 X 40kg
    1 X 8 X 45kg

Seated Row:
    3 X 8 X 30kg
    1 X 8 X 25kg

That machine is a bitch!

Lat pulldown:
    1 X 8 X 35kg
    1 X 8 X 60kg
    1 X 8 X 65kg
    1 X 8 X 70kg
    1 X 8 X 75kg

20 mins on treadmill @ 10.6km/hr
    I don't know how I did this, it was my first time going on the treadmill after all my weights, I really struggled to the end but it felt good!

Nice session, got lots done.

Gym was packed today!

Leg Press:

8 X 50kg
    8 X 80kg
    8 X 90kg
    8 X 100kg
    8 X 110kg (EDIT: Just read my log and apparently I've done this before so no PB for me, wahhhh.)

Argh, this was pretty tough, still not 100% comfortable on with my knees.
    Feels like they might pop out of their sockets!

Couldn't get near the free weights section so decided to jump on the treadmill in the hope that when I was finished people would have buggered off.

Treadmill:
    20 mins @ 10.7km/hr

Free weights was still jammed but strangely enough noone was using the squat rack ... score!!!

Squats:

10 X 20kg (Bar)
    6 X 40kg
    6 X 50kg
    6 X 55kg
    2 X 6 X 60kg (I suppose this counts as a PB ish)

Didn't feel my form was great, really need someone to look at me and tell me what I'm doing wrong.

Pushdowns:
    1 X 10 X 30kg
    2 X 8 X 40kg (Could have been 45)

Lunges:
    2 X 14 X 20kg

Felt like a pretty good session.
    As long as I'm a bit wobbly and sweaty walking down the stairs, I'm a happy man.

Assisted Dips: (Helper weight)
    4 X 8 X 40kg
    1 X 8 X 45kg
    1 X 8 X 50kg
    1 X 8 X 55kg

DB Curls:
    1 X 16 X 15kg

DB Press:
    5 X 8 X 15kg

DB Rows:
    4 X 8 X 15kg

Deadlifts:
    2 X 6 X 30kg
    2 X 6 X 40kg
    2 X 6 X 50kg
    2 X 6 X 60kg
    1 X 6 X 70kg (PB!)

Loved the deads tonight, I was massively lightheaded. I don't think a mild hangover is very good for this kind of exercise. My form felt pretty good. The 70kg made me lost a bit of form for one or two reps but I think I got it back.

Treadmill:
    12 mins @10.8km/hr

I was way too hungry aswell ... it didn't help.

Smith Bench Press
    1 X 10 X 20kg (bar)
    2 X 8 X 40kg
    2 X 8 X 50kg
    2 X 8 X 60kg

Squats:

1 X 10 X BW
    1 X 8 X 20kg (bar)
    2 X 6 X 40kg
    2 X 6 X 50kg
    2 X 6 X 55kg
    2 X 6 X 60kg

DB Curls:
    1 X 16 X 15kg

Leg Press
    1 X 8 X 70kg
    1 X 8 X 80kg

Squats were great. I did a bit of youtubing on form and it felt better.
    There were still a few I wasn't happy with but all in all it was ok.
    My arms were fecked from last Friday so I didn't do much in that department.

Wednesday 13-02-09

Smith Bench Press

1 X 8 X 30kg
    2 X 6 X 40kg
    2 X 6 X 50kg
    2 X 6 X 60kg

Pushdowns

1 x 8 x 35kg
    1 x 8 x 40kg
    1 x 8 x 45kg
    1 x 8 x 50kg (PB)

Deadlifts

2 X 6 X 30kg
    2 X 6 X 40kg
    2 X 6 X 50kg
    2 X 6 X 60kg
    1 X 6 X 70kg

DB Bench Press

4 X 8 X 15kg

DB Curls

4 X 16 X 15kg

DB Rows

4 X 8 X 15kg

Treadmill

10 mins @ 11km/hr

This must be my longest session with the most work. Was wrecked after the deadlifts, feels good though!

Friday 13th:

Wasn't really in the mood for the gym but forced myself to go after work. Couldn't stay too long as I had alot to do that evening.

Straight to the squat rack, no messing about:

Squats:

1 X 6 X 30kg
    1 X 6 X 40kg
    1 X 6 X 50kg
    1 X 6 X 60kg
    1 X 6 X 70kg (PB rawr!)
    1 X 6 X 75kg (PB rawr again!)
    1 X 6 X 60kg
    1 X 6 X 40kg
    1 X 6 X 30kg

Loved the squats to do as can be seen.
    Not overly sure what else I did, I was fairly wrecked.

Seated Rows:
    1 X 8 X 65kg
    1 X 8 X 70kg
    1 X 8 X 75kg
    1 X 8 X 80kg
    1 X 8 X 85kg
    1 X 8 X 90kg (PB!)

Seems to be the day for PB's!

Might have thrown in a few curls and DB rows but can't really remember!

Wednesday 18th

I should have really updated this on the night, I've kinda forgotten what I did.

Smith Bench Press

1 X 10 X 30kg
    2 X 8 X 40kg
    2 X 8 X 50kg
    2 X 6 X 60kg
    1 X 6 X 50kg

Deadlifts:

1 X 8 X 30kg
    1 X 6 X 40kg
    1 X 6 X 50kg
    1 X 6 X 60kg
    1 X 2 X 70kg

I wasn't feeling mad up to the deads today, some guy was also half in my way when doing the 70's and put me off.

Can't remember for the lift of me what I did after that.

Friday 20th:

Gah, I've forgotten.

Squats:

1 X 10 X 30kg
    2 X 6 X 40kg
    2 X 6 X 50kg
    2 X 6 X 60kg
    2 X 6 X 70kg

Then there was a leg press and other stuff!

Monday 30th March

Out of the gym for a week, wasn't feeling well.

Pushdowns:
    1x 10 x 35kg
    1x 8 x 40kg
    1x 8 x 45kg
    1x 8 x 50kg
    1x 2 x 55kg

DB Press:
    4 X 8 X 15kg (each arm)

DB Rows:
    4 X 8 X 15kg (each arm)

Assisted dip machine thingy:
    4 X 8 X 40kg (assisted weights)

Treadmill:
    20 mins @ 10.6km/hr, bitch of a jog!

Squats:

1 X 10 X BW
    1 X 10 X 20(bar)
    1 X 6 X 40kg
    1 X 6 X 50kg
    1 X 6 X 60kg
    1 X 6 X 70kg
    1 X 6 X 75kg
    1 X 6 X 60kg

Smith Bench Press:

1 X 8 X 30kg
    2 X 8 X 40kg
    2 X 8 X 50kg

Lunges:

4 X 10 X 8kg

15 mins treadmill, on and off at higher speeds.

Rawr strong session!

Cable Pushdowns:

1 X 10 X 30kg
    2 X 8 X 35kg
    1 X 8 X 40kg
    1 X 8 X 45kg
    1 X 8 X 50kg
    1 X 8 X 55kg

DB Bench Press incline:
    4 X 8 X 17.5kg (PB) - Moved up 2.5kg on each arm, struggled last set!

DB Rows:
    4 X 8 X 17.5kg (PB) - Not as difficult as the bench.

DB Flys: (New exercise - woo)
    4 X 8 X 10kg`

BB Incline Bench Press:
    1 X 10 X 20kg (bar)
    3 X 8 X 40kg

Smith Bench
    1 X 10 X 20kg
    1 X 8 X 30kg
    1 X 8 X 40kg
    1 X 8 X 50kg

DB Curls:
    4 X 8 X 15kg

Treadmill:
    I did some funny version of what I thought was HIIT for 15 minutes.
    I then realised it wasn't really HIIT when I just looked it up.
    It was still tiring though :)