Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Bus Not Stopping in UCD

• 20-10-2008 3:18pm
    Registered Users Posts: 15

Did anyone see the article that after (something like) 8pm dublin buses will no longer stop outside UCD? They won't even drive up over the flyover. I think it's because of drunk students or something.

This is so frustrating as some of us work late in UCD....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

Have you contacted Dublin Bus to find out why?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

Gauge wrote: »
    Have you contacted Dublin Bus to find out why?

Have you just asked a question you know the answer to already?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,009 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Buses 10 and 3 are affected, but not 46, according to http://www.rte.ie/news/2008/1020/dublinbus.html.
    Dublin Bus has suspended services late-night services to and from University College Dublin after one of the company's inspectors was attacked. Belfield services on Route 10 and 3 after 8.30pm have been withdrawn following what Dublin Bus describes as incidents of anti-social behaviour in the past weeks.
    Well done, kiddies. Keep this up, the government will raise the drinking age to 21, as it is in the USA.

There were incidents last year, and bus service was stopped after 10PM: http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055171680

Death has this much to be said for it:
    You don’t have to get out of bed for it.
    Wherever you happen to be
    They bring it to you—free.

— Kingsley Amis

• Registered Users Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Surely the unions will have no problem with allowing a private operator taking up some of Dublin Bus's €111m subsidies and offering to service this route then?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭Breezer

Surely the unions will have no problem with allowing a private operator taking up some of Dublin Bus's €111m subsidies and offering to service this route then?
    But privatisation is a separate issue (which I support). In fairness, you can't expect bus drivers to put their safety at risk if students are being threatening on a regular basis. This isn't the first time this has happened. People need a dose of cop on.

• Registered Users Posts: 597 ✭✭✭Tayto2000

They're not dropping the route, just the UCD stops at Quinn and the N11 flyover after 8.30. I don't know if it would be worth the while of a private operator to service two stops... Although special buses for people coming out of the student club could work, maybe like the nightlinks?

It happened unofficially in the past after damage to the buses but that was just a few drivers on their own initiative, it wasn't union sanctioned or anything and some drivers were coming in after 10pm, very confusing for passengers... This one seems to be official, I heard the SU President was on Liveline there a few hours ago giving out about it...

• Registered Users Posts: 45,594 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I can't say I'm surprised. I took a late bus from the campus a few weeks ago and there were loads of drunken morons screaming and shouting and generally acting the clown.

As usual a minority of twats have ruined things for the majority of decent people. I hope they sort it out but they didn't sort out the issue involving buses after 10pm on campus.

A shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭jimmy-jazz

Well done, kiddies. Keep this up, the government will raise the drinking age to 21, as it is in the USA.

exactly, it's all cause of those stupid eejits who live on campus, first time away from home go mad on freedom, drink cause they're cool, then try and show off their low levels of tolerance to alcohol by singin n shoutin on buses.

nobody enjoys a bita drinkin as much as meself,but jaaysus, them type a people get on me tats so much! "yaaay, i'm cool.check out my abercrombie and my can of bavaria".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Fletch123

I agree that Dublin Bus should not be expected to drive intothe campus as they are putting themselves at risk- I've heard of bottles being thrown at some buses leaving the No. 10 stop.

But, as I often work late at UCD, this now means I'll have to walk down the dual carriage way in the hope that I'll get to the bus stop in one piece- that bit of road is creepy and dangerous at night time.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,678 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

I'm doing an evening course in UCD at the moment so this is really going to affect me. The 10 has been very unreliable after 9 so I started walking out to the flyover but even the 46a won't stop sometimes. I have seen quite a bit of loud behaviour on the buses some nights but nothing violent. But every time a driver doesn't stop or come into the campus the crowd at the bus stop gets bigger which only makes matters worse.

How far is the next stop on the N11 going towards town?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 625 ✭✭✭princess-sprkle

this is so annoying. i can't blame drivers if they feel their safety is being compromised though.

I have witnessed some incredible acts of stupidity/aggression/general drunken twatness from some students at night getting the bus. never assault and such but things that i wouldn't accept in my line of work or whatever.

it gets worse as a lot of buses wouldn't stop at the main entrance for ages, then a big group of people gather at the buses, and they get rowdier.

its a shame for the vast majority of people in ucd though.

How far is the next stop on the N11 going towards town?
    theres one just before the sliproad if you turn right out of the college. it's down by the walkover. i'm pretty sure the 46a and 145 stop there. all headed into town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 bearded1

i work late in ucd, and find it better to walk to the next stop OUT of town if trying to get a bus to city centre, it's only about two mins walk from the flyover. most of the 46a's and 145's will bypass the flyover and some wont even stop at the next stop into town as the drunken students tend to walk down to that one also.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

If there have been repeated issues at bus stops (or with people getting on the bus in a less than desirable state) then where the hell are services? Why are the university paying for a security force if they don't provide the required security ON CAMPUS? If you're violent or falling around the place drunk on campus, then Services have a right to deal with you. There shouldn't be any issues with bus drivers.

Fantastic form to the twits who were at this nonsense. How else are they going to go about adding fuel to the fire of taxpayers in limiting the services provided to students? Start Clockwork Orange-esque nonsense?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 bearded1

All services can do is escort drunks off campus or confiscate ID cards, something which people cried over lately. It's not services fault that students get drunk and think they own the place. Taking responsibility for one's actions has to come into play sometime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Dublin Bus temporarily withdraw services to a particular area if they are repeatedly subjected to anti-social behaviour there. It happens from time to time in parts of Tallaght for example. I don't see why UCD would be any difference. Evidentally DB feel it is unsafe for their staff to be in UCD late at night.

I'm sure it'll return to normal in a few weeks

• Registered Users Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

Blush_01 wrote: »
    If you're violent or falling around the place drunk on campus, then Services have a right to deal with you.

Deal with you by taking you off campus and telling you to go home, say... by placing you at the bus stop on the stillorgan dual carriageway?

• Registered Users Posts: 45,594 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Blush_01 wrote: »
    If there have been repeated issues at bus stops (or with people getting on the bus in a less than desirable state) then where the hell are services? Why are the university paying for a security force if they don't provide the required security ON CAMPUS? If you're violent or falling around the place drunk on campus, then Services have a right to deal with you. There shouldn't be any issues with bus drivers.

Unfortunately I think it's outside the campus jurisdiction and thus services can't get involved. When I had to get the bus home a few weeks back I had to go to the stop outside the UCD entrance as the 10 wouldn't service the bus stop inside the campus at the time of night it was.

I think they would argue that if it's happening outside of UCD grounds then there's nothing much they can do.

Of course if they reinstate the bus service inside the campus then that isn't a problem and I actually think it would be a good idea for security to sort out the yobs and forge an understanding with DB.

• Registered Users Posts: 763 ✭✭✭F-Stop

This would be hilarious except for the fact that it impacts pretty badly on many people who need to be in UCD past 8 for various reasons and depend on these buses stopping on or near campus. A few weeks ago there were a few threads (and articles in the college papers) about how heavy handed security was in UCD. How unnecessary and unfair this was, etc. I never experienced any problems with security, but then again I don't walk around campus drunk and acting like an asshole. Now it's "Why aren't services doing anything about this?" Well obviously the complainers' voices were heard, security has been stepped down. Now that there is a problem, the blame lies with security - why aren't they doing anything about these drunken student trouble makers??? It'd be hilarious if it wasn't so ****ing ridiculous.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,447 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

jimmy-jazz wrote: »
    exactly, it's all cause of those stupid eejits who live on campus, first time away from home go mad on freedom, drink cause they're cool, then try and show off their low levels of tolerance to alcohol by singin n shoutin on buses.

nobody enjoys a bita drinkin as much as meself,but jaaysus, them type a people get on me tats so much! "yaaay, i'm cool.check out my abercrombie and my can of bavaria".
    Pot. Kettle. Black

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,678 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

According to today's Irish Times, Dublin Bus are meeting with members of the university and the Garda on Thursday to discuss resumption of the service.

fullstop wrote: »
    Pot. Kettle. Black

touche, touche.

I know, I am good. I just think it's a tad hypocritical for a first year living on campus who drinks Bavaria to be giving out about the exact same thing. God damn first years, will they ever learn?

some might say the same of yourself. a post-grad who drinks bavaria with first years on campus??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 538 ✭✭✭SickCert

I pity those that want a service to get home after a hard day of work.

I dont tend to work many late Saturdays anymore as they are not worth the hassle. Ive had everything, cat fights, hash heads and bottles of expensive drink breaking down the stairs onto the lower floor. Seats drenched in booze so the bus has to removed from service for cleaning - which still stinks on Monday morning.
    After security throws them out, ONE man has to deal with them. He has no skills in dealing with difficult drunks or trained to do so either.

Hitting the inspector was enough for the unions to listen.

As the TV commercial states, we have had enough and that should be your stance too.

Thanks for your time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭flyton5

to be honest the only way to deal with this crap is to get the college to liase with the guards and dublin bus.....custodial sentences in prison(a bit of tough love but not in the good way) and expulsion from the college for any hard men who think its ok to beat seven shades out of a bus conductor or driver just because they'v had one buckfast 2 many.....

some might say the same of yourself. a post-grad who drinks bavaria with first years on campus??

Any chance of a ban mods? This post is libellous. I don't drink Bavaria, I drink non-alcoholic Kopparberg;)

hmmmmmmm..........your just as bitter as that non-alcoholic kopparberg.

• Registered Users Posts: 573 ✭✭✭rgt320q

Maybe it's time for an on-campus drunk tank :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

If it happens at the No. 10 bus stop (beside Eng.) then it's on campus. What do UCD pay a security service for, if not to provide a security service? Is a brawl at the bus stop that much different to a brawl at the Student Bar or the Centre Club. Or is that outside their jurisdiction too?

I'm not suggesting the people sitting behind the services desk in the Arts block jump in and restrain people, but if we (the taxpayer) are funding the University, and the University are funding a security service (which they do) then surely we should be getting value for our money in getting them to actually provide a security service on campus. Wildly revolutionary, I know.