Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Three arrested in UCD as students protest about fees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

it makes me laugh sometimes, students complaining of fees?... then in other threads the students are complaining they can't get carparking spaces for their cars... if you can afford a car, insurance, tax, maint, petrol that it takes to run a car you can afford the fees...
    your fees don't even come close to how much it costs to educate you, grow the hell up, you are still getting a good deal here,
    and then after you have the vast majority of your fees paid, how many feck off to other countries to work????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

robtri wrote: »
    And then after you have the vast majority of your fees paid, how many feck off to other countries to work????

Those that have to, i'd imagine. Why'd you ask?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

it makes me laugh sometimes, students complaining of fees?... then in other threads the students are complaining they can't get carparking spaces for their cars... if you can afford a car, insurance, tax, maint, petrol that it takes to run a car you can afford the fees...
    your fees don't even come close to how much it costs to educate you, grow the hell up, you are still getting a good deal here,
    and then after you have the vast majority of your fees paid, how many feck off to other countries to work????

Because EVERY student is the same.

Some have cars, some have no money.

I know!

Lets introduce a system where ONLY those students with cars, or wealthy parents can go to college, then our idiotic stereotype will be true!

Lets exclude the working classes, know your place! In modern Ireland, you are born as a have or have not, accept your lot and drink til you puke at the weekends.

I know plenty of poor students, I benefited from a program for low income families and student that went to crap schools in poorer areas.
    I'm in a top course in this country, and to pay the rent, with grants and free fees, I took all last year out to work full time at barely over min wage in a job I will earn twice as much in when I have my piece of paper from the college this year.

Introducing fees hits the worst off first, pay a bit now, and those students will pay for themselves in taxes many times over in their lifetime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,519 ✭✭✭RedXIV

I've no car, no luxuarious lifestyle, no grant, no help financially, i pay for college off my own back and i've had some very close calls in college. my 21st birthday present was to be bailed out of debt. I've got a job which requires me to miss a day a week of college, it's not ideal but its that or drop out. I had a hell of a time raising the 900 euro this year for fees, thank god it's my last year, 1500 is just ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

The last protest against student fees going up was a sucsess. Hopefully this one will be too. I'll be damned if I'm going to have to pay an extra half a grand to go to college next year. I wouldn't mind if we saw some of that money come back to us in some way, but this wont.

Fuck Fiana Fáil and their supporters. I'll remember that chant for tomorrow. "NO CUTBACKS, no fees, no Fianna Fáil TDs"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭IronMan

UCD is a hotbed of leftie, hippie, Abercrombie wearing, latté drinking, bicycling, car owning, vegetarian, meat eaters.

The sucmbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

IronMan wrote: »
    UCD is a hotbed of leftie, hippie, Abercrombie wearing, latté drinking, bicycling, car owning, vegetarian, meat eaters.

I envy them

Fixed that for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭MistressPandora

The sucmbags.

Sure they all are. The ones who have to sleep in their cars aren't doing it because of price of accomadation, they're doing it for the laff! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Second rate university anyway. Close it down.

Ass Face wrote: »
    I wouldn't mind if we saw some of that money come back to us in some way.....

Like when you get a better job than you would have without the qualification?

Also, lol @ people living out of their cars.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Sure they all are. The ones who have to sleep in their cars aren't doing it because of price of accomadation, they're doing it for the laff! :rolleyes:

So they cant afford accomadation but they CAN afford cars??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Raiser wrote: »
    Apathy is in danger of becoming the Irish National trait.

Nah, nobody could be bothered making it our national trait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Dragan wrote: »
    How many students are there in UCD, and 100 of them show up?

There was a lot more than 100 there.
    Three of my mates from medicine turned up but left after they saw a gardai filming them. There was a very intimidatory, unncessary gardai presence there last night.
    They were really heavy handed,tackled a few people to the ground,punched a friend of mine in the face.I hope they dont treat the OAPs' like that tommorow!
    The 'arrests' were a bit of a joke. The students arrested did nothing wrong and were released after an hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Dental plan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Protest tomorrow should be interesting.

Like when you get a better job than you would have without the qualification?
    Is the money I get from my future employer the money I'm paying extra for college next year? Don't think so.

Also, my college faculty give me my degree, not the government, so your argument is null and void. They are not giving anything back to the students out of the 500 extra we're paying.

Actually... Why were the three students arrested?

Was it just for blocking the car, or were the acting the arse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,322 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

faceman wrote: »
    It was probably student night in Copper Face Jacks last night! ;)

Pretty sad, but I must admit, me and my room mates were nowhere to be seen because we were on campus getting sloshed before hitting CFJs :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

it's sad to think how many pubs and nightclubs will have to close in dublin if people actuallyh have to pay for their own education.
    say no to fees :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Mordeth wrote: »
    it's sad to think how many pubs and nightclubs will have to close in dublin if people actuallyh have to pay for their own education.
    say no to fees :(
    Let them eat pot noodle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Attol

I'm paying fees this year due to a poor choice of course last year. I won't be able to afford going out, new clothes, takeaways, or anything other than the basics for the next year. I'm working part time, I'm exhausted but I'm still not sure if I'll even be able to pay off my loan at the end of this. The only reason I'm even remotely optimistic about managing it is because I worked fulltime all summer and spent barely anything so had some money saved up.

If I get charged fees for the rest of my college life I'm fcuked. I will have to drop out. I will have no choice. My parents are neither rich enough to pay for me, nor poor enough for me to be eligible for state assistance. I guarantee that I'm not the only one in this situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

Attol wrote: »
    I'm paying fees this year due to a poor choice of course last year. I won't be able to afford going out, new clothes, takeaways, or anything other than the basics for the next year. I'm working part time, I'm exhausted but I'm still not sure if I'll even be able to pay off my loan at the end of this. The only reason I'm even remotely optimistic about managing it is because I worked fulltime all summer and spent barely anything so had some money saved up.

If I get charged fees for the rest of my college life I'm fcuked. I will have to drop out. I will have no choice. My parents are neither rich enough to pay for me, nor poor enough for me to be eligible for state assistance. I guarantee that I'm not the only one in this situation.

+1, if they do this then only the "disadvantaged" (and I strongly contest that, wtf, they get everything for free or almost free...but thats another issue) or teh very rich will be able to afford college. Education is a right, not a privilage. I'm so glad I'm finished college now, but if they change this my little brother will get stung

I would have been in the same situation as Attol except time is on my side.

I'd be in debt for many many a year after my degree - And my chosen area of study isn't something that can land me straight into a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭lebowskilite

Fajitas! wrote: »
    Actually... Why were the three students arrested?

Was it just for blocking the car, or were the acting the arse?

they were being moved by guardai and resisted in a minimal way that counts as assault, from what I can gather

ie they were pushing guardai back or something similar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Where are the ***** protesting in town tomorrow?

Well, pushing the Gardai back will usually lead to that alright, that's fair enough.

Not sure exactly where the protest is starting, I've heard the Garden of Remembrance mentioned aswell as the Dail, so I'm assuming a march from the Garden of Remembrance to the Dail.

O'Connel Street at half one. That's what the posters in DIT say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

Attol wrote: »

Let me just get this right.... you are complaining that because you screwed up last year, you are paying fees this year, and because of the fees you can't go out on the town, you can't buy new clothes, or order in takeaways and your tired.....
    I am sorry but get a grip on life, you CAN afford the basic's as you state, why the hell should the people of ireland not want this increase, so THEIR money can be wasted on your new clothes and takeaways as you fall home drunk from the pub....( I state this because from your post, if you didn't have to pay fees you would have all this)

I will state on this that if you can afford the basics after fees then I am in favour of you paying the fees, its the people who can't afford the basic's I want to see the fee's being stopped for....

Ah, I didn't cop Attol saying she made a poor choice last year and paying full fee's because of that. I was a tad luckier in that I didn't have to change course or repeat, but I can still understand the fact that the fee's cost money! An aunt payed my last fees, which was great - They had gone up anyways.

A lot of my friends in college are working to pay the years fee's before they graduate, €900 dosn't come too easy after rent, food and equipment, especially if you're like a lot of us where you're stuck above the grants and far below having incredibly wealthy parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Attol

Let me just get this right.... you are complaining that because you screwed up last year, you are paying fees this year, and because of the fees you can't go out on the town, you can't buy new clothes, or order in takeaways and your tired.....
    I am sorry but get a grip on life, you CAN afford the basic's as you state, why the hell should the people of ireland not want this increase, so THEIR money can be wasted on your new clothes and takeaways as you fall home drunk from the pub....( I state this because from your post, if you didn't have to pay fees you would have all this)

I will state on this that if you can afford the basics after fees then I am in favour of you paying the fees, its the people who can't afford the basic's I want to see the fee's being stopped for....

Ok, maybe I didn't make it clear enough. I can afford that for this year. Barely. The money I am earning in my minimum wage job is going to fall short of what I need to pay. I'm going to have to go to my friends to beg for it in January when the second part of my fees needs to be paid because my family just doesn't have it. I can't get anything more from the bank, neither can my parents. If I had to do this for 4 years I wouldn't be able to do it as I doubt my friends would be happy to have me begging off them every year because between working full time all summer and working part time during the college term I couldn't save up enough to cover the fees. Also how can I expect them to have it? I can't guarantee I'd even manage this. And I'd still have to pay them back... How would I manage that? "Eh, yea.... Hit ya back in 3 years?"

I know you all love the student stereotypes but cop on. If you had that kind of a lifestyle while studying, good for you. Not everyone is lucky enough to have that little to worry about in college.

There's going to be a lot of dropouts due to financial issues if they just bring the fees in to everyone, including those enrolled on courses already. There will also be a lot of people deterred from going due to simply not being able to magically make that amount of money appear out of thin air.