Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sheriff Street

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I second Máirts comments, I work in the IFSC and pass it every day.
    It’s not such a bad area. We rent out the soccer pitch (it’s fantastic!) and use the youth club facilities on Friday lunchtimes.
    The locals are grand.

I do jog from a carpark in the IFSC out towards Clontarf and Sutton. Never any trouble and this could be at any hour going out or coming back.
    If you’re not a local, you shouldn’t get any bother. Sure what reason would they have to engage with you at all?

However, I do wish they’d keep the area tidier.
    For a place that’s supposed to have great community spirt the locals throw litter everywhere! I’m not anal about litter, everywhere in Dublin is affected but I wouldn’t litter my own street if I lived there.
    A general feeling the it’s “the corpo’s” responsibility maybe
    Gotta say, it's a very bad sign they put metal protectors over the Church windows. Would a local seriously dare to throw stones at a Church window? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I do make my own lunch, sometimes I don't though, only have 30 mins for lunch, so a walk down to the IFSC or drive to Clontarf and means I won't get time to eat.

Anyway, my life story out of the way, I am just saying there isn't a whole lot down in that area at the moment, which is strange as it's so close to town. It will pick up in the next couple of years though.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,993 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I park in Sheriff Street regularly (its free but don't tell everyone! ;)) so yesterday I took a few pics for those who are not familiar with the area or haven't been down there for some time. Hope this is helpful! :)

Looking westwards, this is where Sheriff Street Upper begins at the junction with East Wall Road. The Point Village is under construction on the left. One the right is the Irish Rail Freight Depot.

SheriffStreetUpperA.jpg

Moving along on the left is an old builders' providers and new apartments and on the right, the A1 waste/recycling facility.

SheriffStreetUpperC.jpg

Just passing the junction with Castleforbes Road on left. We have just passed Castleforbes Works behind on the right and now on the right is Castleforbes Business Park.

SheriffStreetUpperE.jpg

Approaching Stewarts Garage on the left and just past it is the junction with New Wapping Street and the East Road.

SheriffStreetUpperF.jpg

Approaching the Spenser Bridge and the Docklands Station on the right.

SheriffStreetUpperH.jpg

Approaching the junction with Guild Street on the left and Seville Place on the right and the pedestrianised portion of Sheriff Street Lower.

SheriffStreetUpperIGuildStreetSevil.jpg

Into Sheriff Street Lower. St Lawerence O'Toole Church on the right and Garda presence ahead.

SheriffStreetLowerA.jpg

St Lawerence O'Toole School on the right. Spencer Dock Housing entrance on the left beside the Community Centre and the entrance to Crinan Strand further on on the left.

SheriffStreetLowerB.jpg

Swinging around facing eastwards, Noctors public house on the right.

SheriffStreetLowerNoctorsPub.jpg

And still facing east, a shop and the Chinese take-away on the left (where the recent shooting was).

SheriffStreetLowerCCEastwards.jpg

Now into the 90 degree right turn at the junction with Commons Street and Oriel Street.

SheriffStreetLowerD.jpg

And a 90 degree left turn at the Connolly Station car park and onto the home straight (An Post sorting office on the left).

SheriffStreetLowerE.jpg

And an east facing pic of Sheriff Street Lower emerging onto Amiens Street.

SheriffStreetLowerF.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I can see my car in that 2nd pic! :pac: You must have taken it only yesterday.

Sure is a long old street though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

You sure you're not a tour guide by profession Wish? :D

As can be seen, Wish survived taking pics down that way including a recent murder tarnished street plus plenty of cars parked all over, it ain't a bad area after all! :)

WindSock wrote: »
    I can see my car in that 2nd pic! :pac: You must have taken it only yesterday.
    That pic was taken at 10.17am yesterday! My own car must be in there somewhere but I can't see it.
    WindSock wrote:
    Sure is a long old street though.
    Yes, take the first pic and you can see for a long way (to the high part at Spencer Bridge) and that's not even the length of Sheriff Street Upper. Sheriff Street Lower has to come after that. I can't see how Pearse Street could be longer!
    gurramok wrote: »
    You sure you're not a tour guide by profession Wish? :D
    I was asked if I was a 'detective' and if I was 'from the Corpo' by children.
    gurramok wrote:
    As can be seen, Wish survived taking pics down that way including a recent murder tarnished street plus plenty of cars parked all over, it ain't a bad area after all! :)
    I has to be a bit more discreet in the residential area near the Chinese and Noctor's pub - hence the direction change and reduction in quality. ;)

(Lots of pyjama girls around!)

gurramok wrote: »
    ........ plus plenty of cars parked all over, it ain't a bad area after all! :)
    .......even a Bentley Mulsanne S there yesterday!

Bentley90WW3123.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

The area is a hole. If you know how inner city communities work you can live there just fine. Most of what happens there isn't reported in the papers and I've know plenty from their who would cut your throat as soon as look at you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭BendiBus

I has to be a bit more discreet in the residential area near the Chinese and Noctor's pub - hence the direction change and reduction in quality. ;)

(Lots of pyjama girls around!)

I was going to ask where all the pyjama people were. Not a fair representation of the street if you've no pics of them!

I've worked in Sheriff/Oriel St for 18 years and never had any trouble. Wouldn't want to live there though. Not at the Noctors end anyway.

BendiBus wrote: »
    Not a fair representation of the street if you've no pics of them!
    I agree - it looks as if the place was deserted but it wasn't. I had to just wait for the right moment as I'm fairly discreet.

PS - there was another chap up in the upper end with a big camera and lens. He had a back pack. Was it a boarsdie? I don't think he ventured into the lower end with it! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Boston wrote: »
    I've know plenty from their who would cut your throat as soon as look at you.

Really? Weird how I lived there for 12 years and never came across a cut throat. I guess you have more experience in the area.

lightening wrote: »
    Really? Weird how I lived there for 12 years and never came across a cut throat. I guess you have more experience in the area.

12 years you say, heres a pat on the back for yea. I've lived in that general area (no, not sheriff street itself ) for 23 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I find it strange that my wife and in-laws who've lived in the area for generations haven't cut my throat either, stabbed me in the back a few times maybe :p but I can still swallow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

My mate who lives on Mourne Road told me it's the longest road in Dublin.:confused:

Is this the same mate who says he <SNIP> Angelia Jolie :rolleyes:

Mairt wrote: »
    I find it strange that my wife and in-laws who've lived in the area for generations haven't cut my throat either, stabbed me in the back a few times maybe :p but I can still swallow.

All people from sheriff street are gun totting killers who eat babies. Every last one of them.

You know, I've live in the area my entire life, I've never been attacked walking home, I've never been stabbed or shot, I've never even been threatened. However, I realise my experience isn't the only one. I also realise that maybe, just maybe, being from the inner city I know how to avoid trouble rather then walk into it.

I went to school with people who have reputations for violence. On in particular served ten years for manslaughter and is believed locally to have killed another young man whose only mistake was trying to stop this person beating the death a "foreigner".

Beyond that I'm not going to get into it. But Mairt and lightening we all know there's are people there who are extremely dangerous and who have absolutely no problem taking a life for the most trivial of reasons, so why pretend otherwise just because we've had the good fortune to avoid these people?

we all know there's are people there who are extremely dangerous and who have absolutely no problem taking a life for the most trivial of reasons

Not really to be honest. I would say there is way less than 0.005% of people in the area that would take your life for a trivial reason. Certainly not "plenty" as you put it.
    I've know plenty from their who would cut your throat as soon as look at you.

No need for the "pat on the back" patronising stuff then... I lived there as an adult longer than you have, I worked in the community on a voluntary basis for longer than you have too.

Your wayword school friends don't impress me. Everyone has a jailbird school friends.

Not really to be honest. I would say there is way less than 0.005% of people in the area that would take your life for a trivial reason. Certainly not "plenty" as you put it.

Depends on your definition of trivial I suppose. People can justify a lot.
    No need for the "pat on the back" patronising stuff then... I lived there as an adult longer than you have, I worked in the community on a voluntary basis for longer than you have too.
    So what? You've your experience of the area and I've mine. Neither invalidates the other. You worked and lived there as an adult so you saw one side of things, I grew up around there so I saw a different side. Mairt married into the area so he sees a different side again. I'm obviously not some outsider on a high horse coming along saying everyone from there is scum or even a majority. So if you're less dismissive of my opinion I'll be less patronising towards yours.
    Your wayword school friends don't impress me. Everyone has a jailbird school friends.
    1) I wouldn't consider drug dealers and psychopaths wayward.
    2) They weren't and aren't my friends.
    3) They don't impress me either, I don't walk about bragging "hey I know some **** head who stabbed a guy outside a club" in the hope people will think I'm big and clever.
    4) Yea, everyone from that area knows a jailbird. Kinda proves the point that theres plenty of scum there.

Yea, everyone from that area knows a jailbird. Kinda proves the point that theres plenty of scum there.

Nope... read my post again! Everybody has jailbird school friends, not just from that area, from the best to the worst areas.

Where exactly did you grow up Boston? I lived in Irvine Terrace.

You expect me to answer that?

Lads its a bit of a silly discussion really.

Yes, to both of you!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Zamboni

I know plenty of decent salt of the earth folks from Sherrif St but I certainly wouldn't live there by choice.

Zamboni wrote: »
    I know plenty of decent salt of the earth folks from Sherrif St but I certainly wouldn't live there by choice.

Yeah, good point in fairness. At this stage of my life it wouldn't suit me at all... Great when your a single guy though. ;)

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

Great when your a single guy though. ;)

<SNIP> pyjama girls? :eek:

I used to work on Talbot St btw. Can't say much about Sheriff St. itself but the local kids are headwrecking little scrotes.

Yeah, good point in fairness. At this stage of my life it wouldn't suit me at all... Great when your a single guy though. ;)

And you know what, that about sums it up. That and the point made in the post above yours.

I lived there when I'd no children, I was younger and didn't give a rats arse.

I wouldn't like to raise my children there, but for the OP I truely believe he/she will be fine down there.

Mairt wrote: »
    lived there when I'd no children, I was younger and didn't give a rats arse.

I wouldn't like to raise my children there, but for the OP I truely believe he/she will be fine down there.

Absolutely. Getting caught up there with tit for tat crap... (like the Sheriff st. fued) Apologies everyone!

The place is great, when I lived there I was single, got around on a mountain bike, was always in town eating, drinking or socialising. But OP, your mate will be grand down there.

0_o

• Registered Users Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Guys, the OP asked for an honest answer:

It's a kip.*

*But like any kip they're not all bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭Earth Worm Jim

Couple of points I would like to point out!

(1) the OP is talking about Upper Sheriff Street, which while its not a million mile from lower Sheriff Street is a totaly different place, the Upper part is being developed from comercial premises and yards to mainly private appartments (aimed and priced at young professionals) and retail units, the lower part is full of corporation houses mainly inhabited by young families!

(2) While Sheriff Street has a bad rep, its on the up, I know theres drug dealing, crime and all sorts of antisocial behaviour (where hasn't??) What a lot of people don't realise is, the Authourities let the place get to the stage it is at now years back, the guards let drug dealing and crime get as bad as it is by allowing it to happpen (and still do, as the guards stand on corners doing nothing, just think that 3 HITs were done while the place was on LOCKDOWN by armed Guards???), the whole area was let rot and most the kids where forgoten about, It was in essence a kip, Untill they realised the value of the land sheriff street was built on! So what did the government do?? Well for a start they knocked down the flats(a shame IMO) and then after selling the land off for around 2,000,000 yoyo's to some developer, they proceeded to stuff all the locals into fancy cramped appartments (not suitable for young families), blocked the road off and left it like that!

(3) Most people from the Area are salt of the earth people, work hard and are very active in their community, the schools, teachers, community workers are doing amazing work with in the community, the kids from there have good opportunities NOW like college, trades and work with in the area! The new companies like City Bank, PWC and others have got stuck in with the community, schools etc and have to be commended for that, along with companies like the eastlink bridge, dublin port, local businesses plus others that have done so for years!!! Fairplay!

(4)Also due to the down turn in house/appartment sales, most of the developments are aiming towards office space (as that all thats selling) the whole innercity quay area is going to be a building site for the fore-seeable future! Plus and its a BIG plus, the DOCKLANDS is only the start of the regereration down here, LOOK out for MAJOR developments in the PORT area, I KNOW of MAJOR plans for this area that will blow ALL other developments away (for want of a better phrase) there are 100's of arces being bought or already owned by all the big players in construction! Why do you think they are paying over 30,000,000 yoyo's an arce?????????

Also Sheriff St is the longest street in Ireland AFAIK, Its the longest street, not road, avenue, etc! and AFAIK O'Connell St is or was the widest street in EUROPE!

• Registered Users Posts: 49 legend1981

yea man id seriously look somewhere else..its not tworth the hassle of something happening ya..you get drunk go for a walk..taxi dropes ya in the wrong place some night...you just decide to go for a walk...you want fresh air...good look...
    theres plenty of places out there keep looking