Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PSP modding 5.01

• 23-10-2008 9:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 37

hi, i got a pandora battery today, i have fw 5.01

where's a good place to start, ive read ive to make a magic memory stick,

whats the best tutorials out there, i looked at psp-hacks found it a bit daunting,

any help appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,298 ✭✭✭ongarite

Here you go, a guide written by me on another forum:

How to downgrade, install CFW on ANY PSP using TOOL (Pandora) Battery and Catb50 Installer:

Intro:
    This tutorial will show you how to flash your PSP with CFW using a TOOL battery and Catb50 Team's Magic Memory Stick Creator application.
    A TOOL battery can be purchased from Codejunkies or DealExtreme.

What you'll need:
    - A TOOL PSP battery or hard-modded PSP battery.
    - Your PSP, either original or Slim PSP.
    - Memory Stick Pro Duo ranging in size from 128MB (minimum) to 4GB (maximum).

What to do:
    1. Download the catb50 Team's Magic Memory Stick Creator here.
    2. Go to "Settings"/ "System Settings" on your PSP and run "Format Memory Stick".
    3. Extract the contents of the Catb50 zip file to a folder and run "BEGIN.bat".
    4. Connect PSP to your PC using USB cable and make note of what drive letter is assigned to the Memory Stick (MS).
    5. Enter the drive letter in the DOS box and press ENTER and then ENTER again to start formatting the MS.
    6. Press ENTER to set label on the formatted MS.
    7. Type "Y" to MSPFORMAT your Memory Stick, when finshed press any key to continue.
    8. Remove your Memory Stick, then stop the USB connection by pressing "O" on PSP
    9. Insert your Memory Stick, wait till orange access LED stops flashing, then start the USB connection by pressing "X" on PSP.
    10. Press any key in catb50 DOSBOX and it will start installing the files to your Memory Stick.
    11. Press any key when copy operation has been completed to begin IPL installation and type "Y" to continue.
    12. Press any key to finish the installation of Catb50 installer and press "O" to disconnect USB.

How to use:
    1. Turn off PSP and remove AC power supply.
    2. Insert the TOOL battery.
    3. DC V4 should load up giving option to flash to 3.80 M33-5, flash Sony 3.80FW or backup NAND.
    4. Backup NAND with square "[]" and it will write NAND to your MS, you will need 32MB (original PSP) or 64MB (Slim PSP) of free space for this. Your PSP will power off after this.
    5. Remove and insert the TOOL battery again and this time choose "X" to install 3.80 M33-5 CFW.

Save nanddump.bin in root of MS to your PC when you are finished for safe keeping, incase you brick your PSP one day.

How to upgrade CFW:
    With this version of M33 CFW and above, Dark_Alex has included an auto-updating component which uses the built-in Sony Network Update.
    - Press SELECT on your PSP and choose RESET DEVICE and hold down the R-Trigger.
    - Your PSP will then reboot into the M33 RECOVERY MENU.
    - Navigate to "CONFIGURATION" and ENABLE "Use M33 network update".
    - Select BACK and then EXIT to reset PSP back to XMB.
    - You can then update to the latest M33 CFW by using "Network Update" in "Settings".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 TheDark_Knight

wow so fecking easy thanks sooo much, updating now
    cheers man !

10/10 guide best ive ever seen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 shawngn

help me i have the pandora battery and i have a psp slim with 5.01 installed i have followed you instructions and get nothing i put in the pandora battery the screen is black the light is one the magic memory stick is in i made the battery and the stick myself i did not buy them i dont care about the custom firmware i just want to hack online in socom ftb 2! so can ne1 help me thank you

Ermm. I can't understand a word of that.
    Please use proper grammar which includes full stops or periods and paragraphs.

If your only wish is to hack Socom and be l33t loser online, then get lost.

Thanks and have a nice day..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

shawngn wrote: »
    help me i have the pandora battery and i have a psp slim with 5.01 installed i have followed you instructions and get nothing i put in the pandora battery the screen is black the light is one the magic memory stick is in i made the battery and the stick myself i did not buy them i dont care about the custom firmware i just want to hack online in socom ftb 2! so can ne1 help me thank you

calm down, i actually dont know what you said. does the battery boot up at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

The only bit of that, that I understood was:
    the screen is black
    which sounds like either your memory stick wasn't created properly, or your Pandora battery doesn't work. Does your PSP boot with a normal battery, or on AC power? If it doesn't, then you've bricked it, which isn't a problem as a Pandora battery and a proper magic memory stick will fix it.

Buy a proper Pandora battery, use the instructions above to create the memory stick, and re-flash.

ok i have god of war red psp, with 5.01 on it. i have properly made a pandora battery. Then when i did the magic memory stick thing and put the battery in, the psp boots up and the green light turns on. however the screen stays black, even when i start it in the recovery mode. when i created the memory stick it said the system is "FAT" but i have a slim. do i have to use the usb cord that came with the psp when i use this program.

um i think i found the problem it says "The type of the file system is FAT." um i have slim is this the problem i have red God of War psp

Jesus man, did you ever hear of using a full stop. Its makes it very difficult to read your posts.

nobody can help me based off this info?

i dont want to just hack socom now i want to have emulators to get free games from www.pspower4.us

Are you acting stupid on purpose or just looking to be banned?

Please read the charter of this forum and edit that post or I would guess your time on this forum will be short lived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

Sorry but this has to be quoted.
    shawngn wrote:
    when i created the memory stick it said the system is "FAT" but i have a slim.

• Registered Users Posts: 706 ✭✭✭whatsupdoc?

Like a fool I clicked on that link just out of curiosity, never again :eek:

B00MSTICK wrote: »
    Sorry but this has to be quoted.

hahahahah
    actually hahaha

is ne1 going to help me and whats wrong with what i said i did not link porn its just got adult adverisments on it ignore those advertisments i wish they didnt have them pls i just want to hack my psp whatever the reason this site is here to help people out but i feel like no one here even wants to help this is just rediculous

Look, either you are very young and nieve or just stupid.
    You talk about wanting to hack games, download games for free AND THEN link to a site for downloading PSP games; all of which are illegal activities.

Cop on and read the charter of this forum. It's in the sticky at the top of the forum.

Use of periods, paragraphs and non-txt speak is actively encouraged on this forum and all boards.ie forums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,625 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

either you are very young and nieve or just stupid

or both :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

i heard that the psp slim battery cant be used as pandora mate. Get a loan of a phat battery and you be grand

seanybiker wrote: »
    i heard that the psp slim battery cant be used as pandora mate. Get a loan of a phat battery and you be grand

That would be incorrect.
    More than likely he has a Slim PSP with Ta-088 v3 motherboard which is Pandora proof.

ongarite wrote: »
    That would be incorrect.
    More than likely he has a Slim PSP with Ta-088 v3 motherboard which is Pandora proof.

That would be correct, a Phat battery CAN be hard modded to make a pandora

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,216 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

I've been out of the PSP modding game for a few months, but when i last did it the Pandora method worked on slims but didn't display anything, maybe this is the problem fullstoppy is having ? Or has it changed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭long_b

Is there anywhere in Dublin offering this as a service ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 943 ✭✭✭Rebel021

long_b wrote: »
    Is there anywhere in Dublin offering this as a service ?

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

I have 3.71m33 on my psp, is it hard to upgrade to the latest version 5.01 i think it is? haven't upgraded in ages! cheers.

Download the Sony PSP 5.00 here.
    Rename the EBOOT.PBP to 500.PBP.
    Download the Dark Alex 5.00 M33 here.
    Extract the UPDATE folder and copy to PSP/GAME on your Memory Stick.
    Copy the 500.PBP to the PSP/GAME/UPDATE folder and then run the program.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

Cheers mate.
    You know your stuff :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Haggini

Hey all,
    I'm trying to downgrade my psp 4.01 original firmware.
    I know someone who says they can do it by flashing it with a pandoras battery.
    I read somewhere, psp-hacks I think, that you can't downgrde psps with fw > 4.0.
    Do ye think its safe to flash it with a pandoras battery (not sure what this means exactly).
    Basically I want to play any iso/cso.
    Will this be possible after downgrading and then upgrading to the latest custom fw.
    thanks

oh yeah, it's a psp slim 2004

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Nick_oliveri

I would just like to be a cnut and feck up your thread. There was no need for that Ongarite, i respect everything you do with the console modding and helping folks out, and yes online hacking is so nub.

But belittiling someone over their grammar is a bit low and i know you are smarter than that. I hate that shiite on these here forums. i know its really annoying, but there are better ways to encourage constructive dialog in another users posts.

I mean this guy probably semi bricked his PSP for the forseeable future which is punishment enough. This isnt me attacking you or anything, im sure you've helped me out in the past and i thank you for that.

I wonder of datel will or can be sued over their new "tool".
    http://forums.maxconsole.net/showthread.php?t=132171

Seems a bit dodgy.

Haggini wrote: »
    oh yeah, it's a psp slim 2004
    Did you update the firmware yourself or was that the firmware that came with it?
    G = 3.95 / 4.01 (TA-88v2 / TA-88v3)
    A PSP with G and the 4.01 firmware is most likely a TA-88v3 motherboard, so it is advised that you stay away from them.
    http://forums.maxconsole.net/showthread.php?t=131068

its the original fw. Never did an update

Then id advise you to leave it for the time being. It should be cracked soon. Although im not the best person to be getting advice on this, things have changed.
    Maybe try the new datel battery?
    http://forums.maxconsole.net/showthread.php?t=132171

thanks nick
    You saved me trudging through the net for that.

Couple of quick questions

Does this work on Vista (the magic stick bit) ?
    Can you go back to the original Sony firmware ?
    Can you still use the Playstation store ?
    Does it work with 5.02 ?

Cheers muchachos

Couple of quick questions

Does this work on Vista (the magic stick bit) ?
    Can you go back to the original Sony firmware ?
    Can you still use the Playstation store ?
    Does it work with 5.02 ?

Cheers muchachos

Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    No

• Registered Users Posts: 177 ✭✭Feeder

Hey,

I followed the tutorial on the first page and it worked a treat for me, that network update is class !! :D

Only trouble i'm having is that there is not enough memory on a 4Gb stick so I want to get the 8Gb one from DX for $16. :mad:

If I get the new memory stick do I just use the Catb50 Lite file to create a new MMS ? ? :confused: Will this affect my firmware on the psp :confused:

BTW any use the Catb50 with Vista Home Premium, i used XP the first time, i heard it doesn't work for making MMS

Feeder wrote: »
    Hey,

I followed the tutorial on the first page and it worked a treat for me, that network update is class !! :D

Only trouble i'm having is that there is not enough memory on a 4Gb stick so I want to get the 8Gb one from DX for $16. :mad:

If I get the new memory stick do I just use the Catb50 Lite file to create a new MMS ? ? :confused: Will this affect my firmware on the psp :confused:

BTW any use the Catb50 with Vista Home Premium, i used XP the first time, i heard it doesn't work for making MMS

You dont need to create a MMS. Thats just for hacking... all ou do when you buy the new card is put it in your PSP and Format it.. simple :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭neacy69

Hey guys

I am using original fw 3.02. Is there anyway to put custom firmware on this without using the pandora battery tool?

/neacy69

Yes, you can do with with a copy of GTA: Liberty City Stories (2.00FW on UMD) or Lumines.

Tallon wrote: »
    Yes
    Yes
    Yes
    No

Ah no, just to be clear - does this mean I won't be able to use my Pandora battery to put custom firmware on me 5.02 PSP phat ?

You can use a Pandora Battery to mod any phat PSP no matter what past or future FW is on it.

Didnt know it was a phat, in that case, yeah you can

Right.

Got a Pandora battery and 4GB memory stick from DealExtreme.

Using Vista SP2 I tried following the instructions on Page 1 of the thread to create the magic memory stick.
    The batch file in the downloaded software wasn't able to format or write to the Memory Stick when attached via the PSP's USB cable. Will try it on an XP machine when I get a chance. The card works fine as a regular stick in the PSP.

Now, when I insert the Pandora Battery the PSP battery light goes green but nothing runs (just a black screen).

QN: I'm assuming this is because the Memory Stick doesn't have the boot software on it ?

From the vids on YouTube you would think the battery on its own was enough to bring up a text menu screen.

QN: Do I need to fully charge the Pandora battery for it to work ?

Using XP solved all of the problems.

It's shockingly easy when you use the right OS :)

Now, what are people installing .. some decent emulators perhaps ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Stuxnet

i used vista ultimate sp2beta, no problems at all ?
    dont see why it would just be xp compatible, thats not true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭deadduck

Now, what are people installing .. some decent emulators perhaps ?

just to let people know, this was the same story with me. was breaking my heart on vista, had a go with an xp machine, worked first time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,625 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

What to do:
    1. Download the catb50 Team's Magic Memory Stick Creator here.
    2. Go to "Settings"/ "System Settings" on your PSP and run "Format Memory Stick".
    3. Extract the contents of the Catb50 zip file to a folder and run "BEGIN.bat".
    4. Connect PSP to your PC using USB cable and make note of what drive letter is assigned to the Memory Stick (MS).
    5. Enter the drive letter in the DOS box and press ENTER and then ENTER again to start formatting the MS.
    6. Press ENTER to set label on the formatted MS.
    7. Type "Y" to MSPFORMAT your Memory Stick, when finshed press any key to continue.
    8. Remove your Memory Stick, then stop the USB connection by pressing "O" on PSP
    9. Insert your Memory Stick, wait till orange access LED stops flashing, then start the USB connection by pressing "X" on PSP.
    10. Press any key in catb50 DOSBOX and it will start installing the files to your Memory Stick.
    11. Press any key when copy operation has been completed to begin IPL installation and type "Y" to continue.
    12. Press any key to finish the installation of Catb50 installer and press "O" to disconnect USB.

How to use:
    1. Turn off PSP and remove AC power supply.
    2. Insert the TOOL battery.
    3. DC V4 should load up giving option to flash to 3.80 M33-5, flash Sony 3.80FW or backup NAND.

Have a Phat with offical 3.95, Pandora battery from dealextreme and a genuine 1gb sandisk.
    Windows XP, did above and all worked up to "How to use" part 2.
    When I put the Tool battery in, it comes up black and can't do anything?
    Deleted and tried it twice more but still no joy, any thoughts?

Don't hit me but did you charge the Pandora battery ?

Does the PSP green power light come on when you inser the DealExtreme Pandora Battery?