Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Learn how to play guitar?

Options
  • 24-10-2008 12:37am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭

Hi, I'm a newbie so please let me know if this is in the wrong forum. :o

Does anyone here play the guitar? I'd love to learn but I don't know if I'm very musical, I don't play any other instruments. Is it hard?

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Hi, I've moved this to the appropriate forum.

As for learning the guitar, it doesn't really matter if you think you're not musical, if you put in the effort to learn then you'll become as musical as you push yourself to be. Yes, it can be hard as first, especially as the muscles in your fingers start to get used to playing, but it just keeps on getting easier and easier untill it becomes an absolute joy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭CyrildoSquirrel

Thank Karl. Sorry about that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭Rigsby

All good advice from Karl above. My advice would be to get a teacher to get you off to a good start. Once you get the basics down you could learn through the net or a book. You could then go back to the teacher if you reach an impasse. While no instrument is "easy" to learn, with constant practice you'll make good progress. The trick is to be patient and take your time.

I say GO FOR IT !! and best of luck with it. :)