Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John McCain sweet talks Pennsylvanian Voters

• Registered Users Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭The Gnome

Absolutely priceless.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

After all his efforts to disassociate himself from Bush, he goes and says something like that. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭Y2J_MUFC

Intelligence, FAIL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I love the cold response after "I couldn't agree with them more." Brilliant.

• Registered Users Posts: 83,264 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

There IS a Forum for US Politics.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,413 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

(moved from AH)

• Registered Users Posts: 813 ✭✭✭todolist

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QnE-YJ---GI

Most hilarious thing i've seen in a while.
    You're easily amused.

• Registered Users Posts: 342 ✭✭Dunder Mifflin

That's absolutely hilarious.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

muhaha...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

haha, that was hilarious!!! He tried to save himself but just dug deeper

• Registered Users Posts: 16,413 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

In the interest of balance, can anyone find some Obama/Biden rally gaffs online?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

Biden gaffes...come on ...that is just making it too easy.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

Another slip up on live TV :D

mccain has far more gaffs. at least thats what you tube has taught me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Trojan wrote: »
    In the interest of balance, can anyone find some Obama/Biden rally gaffs online?

http://blog.indecision2008.com/2008/10/24/the-daily-show-the-candidates-gaffe-in/

Still ends with McCain's though, which was pretty fecking awful in fairness, I don't know how anyone can top that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

This is probably the worst election in US history. Neither of these guys deserves to be President. I'm voting for McCain because I'm scared of what the Democrats could/would do with their Super-majority. Obama is already the most liberal of them all [After 2 years as Senator he was considered a bigger liberal than Hillary and Ted Kennedy. Now anyone who actually follows US politics knows how liberal those 2 are.]

• Registered Users Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

Why do people from the US use liberal like an instult. Is it bad to be liberal :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

in the us liberal means government control of the economy, goverment control of the schools, government control of healthcare.. etc etc, basically a philosophy that says government should do more socially, and people oughta pay more taxes to fund it. (although you gotta wonder why liberals don't volunteer to pay more taxes without being forced to by law)

the negative tones to the word are justified, imo :)

Ciaran500 wrote: »
    Why do people from the US use liberal like an instult. Is it bad to be liberal :confused:

Insult? Liberalism has its place just like Conservatism but when the Liberal candidates go too far left that they're practically selling out the country then there is a problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,685 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

funny Biden gaff early on in this video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kx2fssJq4LA&feature=channel

I wish John Mclane was running for president :(

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

muhaha...

Thought people were supposed to offer something approaching opinions that included verbs and nouns, in politics :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

JohnMc1 wrote: »
    This is probably the worst election in US history. Neither of these guys deserves to be President. I'm voting for McCain because I'm scared of what the Democrats could/would do with their Super-majority. Obama is already the most liberal of them all [After 2 years as Senator he was considered a bigger liberal than Hillary and Ted Kennedy. Now anyone who actually follows US politics knows how liberal those 2 are.]

How do you quantify most liberal? After such an oppressive Republican tenure is it not a good thing to get some liberalism into the white house? What could the Democrats do if they had a majority, what is it you are so scared of?

my opinion was evil and not suitable but since this is a open forum i still felt allowed to comment in some way. i also thought rolling eyes were for teenagers but hey, we all make mistakes.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

...they're practically selling out the country...

In what way would they sell out the country?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

Well seeing as the Bush administration bought up a couple of banks shares in recent weeks i think he can too be called a 'liberal/socialist' by some. Have to say from watching a good bit of American news, its ridiculous the fear they hold for a tag of 'socialist' when the truth is their is absolutely none really in American politics, I'd love to see their reaction to some European political parties policies. It kinda proves thought that the 'red terror' of the 1950s really worked on the American physche.

How do you quantify most liberal? After such an oppressive Republican tenure is it not a good thing to get some liberalism into the white house? What could the Democrats do if they had a majority, what is it you are so scared of?

He's voted for amnesty for illegal immigrants, Voted to give legal driver's licenses to them,He's voted for open borders , he's pro-abortion voted for the sub-prime mortgages that led to the current economic fiasco and let's not forget his "Spread the Wealth" ie. Take money off the people who do work to give to people who have no intentions of ever working [welfare] The Democrats already run 2/3 of the US Govt and they already ****ed the country if they get the Supermajority we would be really ****ed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭coco0981

voted for the sub-prime mortgages that led to the current economic fiasco and let's not forget his "Spread the Wealth" ie. Take money off the people who do work to give to people who have no intentions of ever working [welfare] The Democrats already run 2/3 of the US Govt and they already ****ed the country if they get the Supermajority we would be really ****ed.

Let's not forget that John McCain was directly involved in the last major economic crisis in the US, i.e the Keating affair that led to the savings & loans crisis. Not a great CV for running the economy either IMO

• Registered Users Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

Won't find any by Ron Paul.

I met a guy from TX today who's congressman is Ron Paul!

It was awesome...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,258 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Insult? Liberalism has its place just like Conservatism but when the Liberal candidates go too far left that they're practically selling out the country then there is a problem.
    I thought that half the country was already sold to Made in China?

Let's not forget that John McCain was directly involved in the last major economic crisis in the US, i.e the Keating affair that led to the savings & loans crisis. Not a great CV for running the economy either IMO

I never said McCain was a saint. Atleast with McCain you have the glimmer of hope that the Republican's can/will keep him on a tight leash.

There is plenty of blame to go around for the current situation but the Dems deserve more for blocking Bush both in 2003 and 2005 from intervening in the Freddie Mac and Frannie Mae situation.