Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's going on beside Brierhill Dunnes?

• 25-10-2008 7:19pm
    Registered Users Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭

Drove past just now, traffic is crazy, two fire brigades, an ambulance and a garda car came speeding towards the scene.. doesnt appear to be any visble accident tho, anyone know?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

I blame the foreigners

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

NO!! THEY DIDNT BURN THE GLOWING GOLD CUSHION DID THEY?
    I love that cushion statue.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

NO!! THEY DIDNT BURN THE GLOWING GOLD CUSHION DID THEY?
    I love that cushion statue.

Its a cushion??

I had no idea. I thought they got a big rock and painted it yellow
    Learn something new everyday

Krieg wrote: »
    Its a cushion??

I had no idea. I thought they got a big rock and painted it yellow
    Learn something new everyday

Yup. What a great idea for a statue. Does anyone know where I can get a piccy? I meant to get one but never got down there with a digi camera.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

A cushion, is that what it is? i alway thought it looked like am upside down dunnes bag..horrible piece of sculpture if i can even call it that..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭DRakE

Wouldn't think to stop and ask?

I know if I saw something like this my first reaction would be to drive by and get straight on the internet and ask about it

A cushion, is that what it is? i alway thought it looked like am upside down dunnes bag..horrible piece of sculpture if i can even call it that..

I think it's brilliant!
    Nobody expects to see a glorious golden cushion statue. Why is it horrible?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭minxie

Drove past just now, traffic is crazy, two fire brigades, an ambulance and a garda car came speeding towards the scene.. doesnt appear to be any visble accident tho, anyone know?
    some fool in a white van had misjudged the exit off the
    roundabout and crashed through the railings ... just missed the mighty "cushion"....:)
    i love the cushion .. wonder will the nice folks of galway try robbing it.. didnt padraig get his head stolen a few years back......:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

I think it's brilliant!

But what does it represent?
    Was it fighting in the war of independence?

Krieg wrote: »
    But what does it represent?
    Was it fighting in the war of independence?

Its only the English history books that remembers 1916 as one big pillow fight AFAIK.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

I think it's brilliant!

Some might call it, an Almighty Cushion?

There's a thing. I promised to get him a picture of the cushion for himself and never got around to it because of the traffic busyness around the area etc. Now the weather is too crap and my digi camera is missing presumed drunk. Does anyone have a piccy? I googled but got nothing.

Haven't got a piccy but I shall aspire to get one soon!

• Registered Users Posts: 25,957 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

DRakE wrote: »
    Wouldn't think to stop and ask?

I know if I saw something like this my first reaction would be to drive by and get straight on the internet and ask about it

Arr, yeah, so traffic is barely moving, not a lot of places to park anyway, but you think that curious people (and surely they'll all be curious) should pull up and ask ... who exactly should they ask, the by-standers (who'll probably know not a lot, but be happy to offer rumours about crazy foreigners)? Or the guards/fire-fighters etc who are busy dealing with whatever - I'm sure they've all got time for question.

The best thing that 99% of us can do in that situation is concentrate on the road and pass on by without rubber-necking.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,079 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Haven't got a piccy but I shall aspire to get one soon!
    Please do. I really wish people would tell me when they decide to erect a statue dedicated to me.

dont know how to add pic full size.....:(
    but here it is anyway :D

Good on ya Minxie1! All hail the mighty cushion!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,079 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

minxie1 wrote: »
    dont know how to add pic full size.....:(
    but here it is anyway :D
    Thanks for that one, man. My reign of terror has only just begun.

ladieeee....:rolleyes:

Ooops. Sorry.

not a bother sir!!! ;)