Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LIFE IN PERTH

• 26-10-2008 12:18am
    Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭

Hey all i'm just after applying for a permenant residents visa for myself my fiancee and our 5 month old baby,planning on moving to perth if successful just wondering if anybody has any info on life in perth for families and or carpenters? just wondering if we'll be much better off?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,867 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I've lived here for the best part of two years so can pretty much answer any general questions you might have.

It's a great city for families as it is relatively quiet in the residential suburbs and very safe. Obviously there are good and bad areas but for the most part you won't have any hassle.

As for carpenters, there's work in pretty much every industry at the mo and I wouldn't see there being too many problems with you getting something. Over here they want people who are willing to work so if you tick that box then you'll be grand.

Any specific questions you have let me know.

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭kkmick

excellent thanks just wondering what the quality of life is really like over there? everybody always says its better but i was just wondering what you think of it ?

Well for me personally it has been fantastic, but my circumstances would be way different to yours. I was 21, living at home and straight out of college when I came over so I can't really compare like for like.

All I know is that I've got a good career job, have a decent amount of money and live a really good lifestyle.

thanks, i've only heard good things about life in perth anyway so with any luck we'll find out for ourselves in a few months

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭dazzlermac

im a chippy meself and movin over wit my missus in january wit no kids......out of neccesity and will,but more neccesity

I don't see there being any problems for people moving over at the mo. There are still jobs aplenty and with the dollar doing so crap you'll get a fortune for your euro.

I'm planning on being here til after the recession blows over cause I have it so good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 SkintEastwood

stayed in perth for about 6 months and have very mixed feelings about the place. thought the suburbs were fantastic and the inner city an absolute kip. tons of abos about boozing all day long and being rowdy.

Where exactly are you talking about? The only really central place I can think of where that might happen is beside the main Perth train station. Other than I haven't seen much, if any, of it in quite a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 SkintEastwood

was staying in northbridge for a time used to see lots of trouble at night time. i remember an area on the opposite end from the train station where abos used to drink all day. had to walk past daily and take an ear full of abuse. met lots of people who had very negative experiences around northbridge. but i guess it is what it is a place with that many drunks is bound to have trouble anywhere in the world. used to love ambar which isn't in northbridge, banging tunes. you know the place?

I do yeah. It's on the opposite side of the tracks to Northbridge. Not a bad spot alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭shaz00

hi, was reading ur thread, and just wondered have you moved and how ur finding life there? My fella and I have applied for our visa, will take approx 6 - 8 months, we have 2 boys, 9 mnths and 3 so just wondering if u made the right decision in moving andhow ur finding it? Im just really anxious because of the boys.

hey shaz unfortunetly we have not moved yet we are still in the middle of applying for our permenent resident visa, it's taking an eternity,we are using visa first and while they seem to be doing a good job everything is taking a lot longer than they said it would, partly because of all the times we've been asked for extra information etc, i would be interested to find out how your applying and how its going for you though

kkmick wrote: »
    hey shaz unfortunetly we have not moved yet we are still in the middle of applying for our permenent resident visa, it's taking an eternity,we are using visa first and while they seem to be doing a good job everything is taking a lot longer than they said it would, partly because of all the times we've been asked for extra information etc, i would be interested to find out how your applying and how its going for you though

We're only just starting the process, have spoken with visa first and they are sending us out the first stage of accessing my partner in his trade. They are having a talk in the Red Cow in 2 weeks so we're going to dat, so we have a long way to go really. have been told today that visa specialists in clane, co. kildare are very good and are quicker than visa first, so will give them a call tomorrow. how long are u into your process? Do you know yet where exactly ye are heading too, have you looked into accommodation? sorry all the questions - just now we've decided to do the move all the questions are pouring out :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 379 ✭✭LoveDucati2

I spent 6 months in Perth (Vic Pk) about 10 years ago an it was a paradise. Great climate, people, and so pretty, very close to beach with everything you need around you.

Very jealous of your new life.

Oh dats great to know. Im really excited about it all but anxious and nervous too. Just want to give the kids a good life and let them experience things we never did as kids and get himself a good job :-)
    thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 LUKE5711

Hi was just reading your thread there - Im thinking off making the move to Perth too with my Partner and 2 kids. Can you let me know the name of the visa specialists in Clane ???

If anyone has any specific questions on Perth itself feel free to drop me a PM.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,869 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

i've encountered a lot of people moving over here who are carpenters. not all them have found it easy to get a job.

for example, 2 blokes im travelling with. neither has a carpenter job, or any job for that matter. they have nothin comin up either.

2 blokes i live with are carpenters. 1 had a job and got the other fella a job when he moved in, so that was handy for him.

i know another carpenter who is in his 30s who emigrated over recently. he has no job and no sign of one.

however, in saying that, u can go from one day not having any job prospects, to bumoing into somebody and starting work the next morning.

but its not all as rosy as it is being painted.

LUKE5711 wrote: »
    Hi was just reading your thread there - Im thinking off making the move to Perth too with my Partner and 2 kids. Can you let me know the name of the visa specialists in Clane ???

Hi Luke,

Visa Specialists Clane, thats what their called, number is 045 868322. Unlike visa first they won't give you a quote over the phone as they say everyone is different so different rates apply. They were very helpful and have arranged a half hour free consultation with us to go through our options. We have forwarded them our cv's and a brief note on our situation so when we sit down with them they will give us all our options. Thats happening next week, and then they are holding a seminar in the glenroyal in maynooth on sunday 8th feb - its free just book a place and the website says there's entertainment for the kids - vry important :)

shaz00 wrote: »
    We're only just starting the process, have spoken with visa first and they are sending us out the first stage of accessing my partner in his trade. They are having a talk in the Red Cow in 2 weeks so we're going to dat, so we have a long way to go really. have been told today that visa specialists in clane, co. kildare are very good and are quicker than visa first, so will give them a call tomorrow. how long are u into your process? Do you know yet where exactly ye are heading too, have you looked into accommodation? sorry all the questions - just now we've decided to do the move all the questions are pouring out :)

hey shaz we started the process around july but a lot of delays were on our part, with needing more information etc , please let me know how you got on with the crowd in clane , as for where we're going we're hoping to move to freemantle/rockingham area as my fiance has family there

Hi Kkmick, unfortunately our appointment was rescheduled until tues morning, so ill be back on then to let you know. Wow so it really does take a long time. Did you use an agency or do it yourselves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭Uuuh Patsy

We moved to Perth, last July, with our 3 boys (3,1,1). Its been a great move for us. Fire any questions you may have, and I will try my best to help out. And you dont need a Visa Agency if you have the right qualifications/skills, so save your money. I found it to be a relatively simple process.

I'd really love to know how you went about applying without an agency and how you found the process? i just got my trade recignition back but its costing another 1500 for the next stage and then another 1400 after the next stage and being in construction money is now tight as there is not much work around , also how is the job/economey sitituation over there now i've heard some horror stories about people having to come home because of no work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭The BOFH

I've been living in Perth since April '99. I came over on a prospective spouse visa & it took ~ 4 years to get everything finalised for permanent residency from start to finish. I am now planning on applying for Australian citizenship.

As far as work goes, there is work here, but you might have to do contract work depending on what industry you're in. I'm in IT & moved from the resources sector into Education just in time as the Resources industry is now in decline.

Living:

Housing was at boom levels but prices are now dropping, rent is still ~ $300 per week at the more reasonable end of the scale, even in the outer metro areas.

Make sure you get a house with air con, our house only has a wall unit upstairs & we can't have any put in downstairs because there isn't access to the crawl space in the ceiling. It gets stinking hot here, >40C for days on end & you need the air con. Try and get a pool if you can. Newer estates don't have established trees & so no shade, it might be best to arrive in Summer so you're looking at the worst time of the year.

Buy a car to get to work & a family car, both with good air con & tinted windows. Public transport is good but you have to travel into Perth to get anywhere else as they don't have a circle route on the train, most people drive. Even if you get the train it is very wet in Winter & very hot in summer & driving to the station is a common choice.

It takes around an hour to drive into Perth from Armadale, (35km South of the CBD), in peak hour traffic, about 40 minutes during off peak. Don't use the Freeway into Perth in the morning if you can avoid it. WA drivers are rude, aggressive & don't like giving way or merging, I drive in the middle lane as I got very lost many times in the first year when I got stuck in a right or left turn only lane & no one would let me back out again. A GPS would be a good investment, they didn't have them when I first came.

Crime levels are very low compared to Dublin, the cost of living is also a lot lower. Like anywhere it is still better to be wary in some areas, Northbridge has a bad reputation for a reason, best avoid it unless you really want to binge drink & get beaten up. There are some very nice places to go out in the suburbs, the restaurants and general dining scene is brilliant. There are great wineries in the Swan Valley.

Even with daylight savings it gets dark before 9pm so Perth tends to get up early to make the most of the day, it also is a good way to avoid the heat.

Get used to bugs, if you are scared of creepy crawlies get over it, you'll have to deal with spiders, some of them dangerous, some of them big & scary, cockroaches, ants, mosquitoes, billions of flies & big scary native wasps & hornets (mostly harmless but scary looking). Redbacks are dangerous for the very young & very old and are quite common but if you are aware of where they like to live you can keep your place clear of them if you do a check periodically. Whitetail spiders need to be kept in check too. I have been here for 10 years & mountain bike regularly and have never seen a snake, I did get hissed at by a blue tongue lizard once though. Magpies are a menace during nesting season. Avoid walking between trees <2m apart at night as you're likely to walk into an orb spider web, they're harmless but reasonably large & they look scary. They also have webs like fishing line, very strong. I can show you the spider dance, (when you jump around screeching like a girl shouting "get it off, get it off"), if you like but most people pick it up straight away on their own without being taught.

The primary schools for the most part are very good, I have a 6 year old in the local primary school & it is so nice, I wish I went to school here myself. High schools vary, a lot of people opt for private high schools as you have to go to the school zoned for your area & if it isn't great you don't have a choice.

I was back in Dublin for a few weeks in April after 9 years & it was dull, expensive & miserable in comparison, it was good to be home but I couldn't wait to get home if you know what I mean.

Send me a PM if you want to know anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭Uuuh Patsy

I'd really love to know how you went about applying without an agency and how you found the process? i just got my trade recignition back but its costing another 1500 for the next stage and then another 1400 after the next stage and being in construction money is now tight as there is not much work around , also how is the job/economey sitituation over there now i've heard some horror stories about people having to come home because of no work

Sorry, I wasnt ignoring you, just having problems with my email and my thread subscription aint coming through. For what its worth, once your occupation is demand and you have the neccessary points then its just a matter of filling in the app forms (which when I did it; was 6 in total), sending the check for ~$2k, doing meds and waiting your turn. The economay here has been impacted, but, from reading the news regularly, the Irish ecomony is looking like being on par with Iraq, except Iraq has a promising future, it having oil at least. So whatever, I would rather be homeless in Perth than in Dublin. I can't honestly comment on construction here, but from the local media, there hasnt been the mass layoffs as seen in Ireland. And with the latest stimulus package investing heavily in housing and schools, I think there would be a fair amount of work going around