Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WeightWatchers & "How Many ProPoints?" Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭blond45

im down 13lbs in 3 weeks. was 24.4 on the first night. lost 4 and half first week, lost 5 the next , lost 3 and half this week. one pound for first stone. im armed with ww jelly. and make no point soup. track every thing. i keep jelly and soup for evening. have big dinner for early in the day which is brill' cos then when getting kids food i wouldnt be picking. BIG PICKERS WEARS BIG NICKERS. ever so true.

• Registered Users Posts: 747 ✭✭✭all_smilz

It's strange at my very first meeting the friend I went with advised me that I'd always be a pound or two up round my period, but in my three years Weight Watching I never have been. I don't have a clue why? Some people obviously do go up, others don't. So don't dread weigh in if it is your TOM :) You may be surprised. Keep drinking the water. The dreaded weekend is nearly upon us, we did the circle thing at our meeting the other night where you see where you need to improve and I got alcohol and socialising! I always loose my will power when drinking and hungover so think I'm going to stay dry this weekend!!!!!! Any tips from anyone on this?:confused:

IF you do stay dry- the fair play to ya! I am. I hardly ever go out lately because i am the same- hangover misery= binging....
    if you do drink- have LOTS of water and try to lay out healthy food in the morning for yourself and take milk thistle to detox.....

• Registered Users Posts: 569 ✭✭✭boodlesdoodles

Yay, great result tonight. Down 3.5lbs so that's 6lbs down so far. Have to say to hark back to other posters, but if my leader as throwing looks etc I'd definitely move to another meeting. I'm lucky our leader is lovely and great at motivation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭fatewatchers

Had my third weigh-in tonight.... lost 4lbs!!!

Delighted, I am down a total of 18.5lbs in three weeks on WW... only 2.5lb til I've a stone and a half off... that's going to be my next goal!

EDITED TO ADD - I just checked my BMI on http://www.bmi-calculator.net and I'm at 39.81... which is still far too high BUT... I am officially no longer morbidly obese!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Leo25

Congrats to everyone with losses this week!!
    Had my Week 1 weigh in today and was down 4.5lb, was so happy!!! Absolutely love reading thru this thread, its great to see everyone doing so well!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭doctorwhogirl

WHOPP WHOOP MARK TWO!!!!

Well my angelic weightwatching worked this week! (Shock horror!! :rolleyes: :P)

Didn't go on the scales much at all and waited until the way in. Have joined my "proper gym" (left the ladies only "gym") and have been in there every day really! Love it! Can push myself as much as I need to and I can feel it on myself already!!!

Anyhoo, went to WW tonight and was

- 2.5 pounds!!!!

Couldn't believe it! I'd say that's the last of my big losses but I really was so delighted! (Had a little cry on way home! :o)
    I just feel like maybe I've gone through my wall now. I know there are plenty of more stay the sames, and gains in my future but I can see my goal now!

In really feel like the wall has been knocked and I can make my way down the final stretch now!
    My leader asked me what worked for me today so I thought I'd share for anyone who is experiencing a plateau like me. (Not that I know everything at all! So feel free to ignore me!:o)

This week I drank my 2 litres of uisce a day!
    Pushed myself in the gym!
    Had my breakfast!
    Started using the weightwatchers tracker book. It covers three months. I LOVE stationary (I'm such a loser!) so something new like that actually was an incentive to me! :P

Little changes but I think they have made a real difference! Thanks again to everyone for all the advice on here! Ye're all stars!

And congrats on the losses! :D xxx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Leo25

WHOPP WHOOP MARK TWO!!!!

Well my angelic weightwatching worked this week! (Shock horror!! :rolleyes: :P)

Didn't go on the scales much at all and waited until the way in. Have joined my "proper gym" (left the ladies only "gym") and have been in there every day really! Love it! Can push myself as much as I need to and I can feel it on myself already!!!

- 2.5 pounds!!!!

Couldn't believe it! I'd say that's the last of my big losses but I really was so delighted! (Had a little cry on way home! :o)
    I just feel like maybe I've gone through my wall now. I know there are plenty of more stay the sames, and gains in my future but I can see my goal now!

In really feel like the wall has been knocked and I can make my way down the final stretch now!
    My leader asked me what worked for me today so I thought I'd share for anyone who is experiencing a plateau like me. (Not that I know everything at all! So feel free to ignore me!:o)

This week I drank my 2 litres of uisce a day!
    Pushed myself in the gym!
    Had my breakfast!
    Started using the weightwatchers tracker book. It covers three months. I LOVE stationary (I'm such a loser!) so something new like that actually was an incentive to me! :P

Little changes but I think they have made a real difference! Thanks again to everyone for all the advice on here! Ye're all stars!

And congrats on the losses! :D xxx

Thats Brilliant!! Well done, will def try a few of your tips this week!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭Slaygal

Well done on the losses this week. I'm delighted for you all. I 've been reading back over some of the older posts for motivation. I'm stuck at 13 1, one week I go up 2 pounds, the next I'm down 2 pounds.

I'm really glad it's not just me that gets fed up when you reach a plateau.
    My Leader has been fantastic but unfortunately I'm still stuck.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

WHOPP WHOOP MARK TWO!!!!
    - 2.5 pounds!!!!

WWWWUUUUUHHHHOOOO - Congrats :)

Am happy to report -1lb :) I am back in the tens:)

January is over and we all seem to be back on track, here's to a slimmer happier summer :D

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭TheScriptFan

Goodness everyone seems to be going great guns now...I'm hoping for a well behaved weekend tonight, although I am going out tonight to see Kelly Clarkson and have a bite to eat...but I'll just make sure I stay within my points..

Good idea not weighing yourself until weigh in...I get a bit obsessive about the weighing, so I'm going to hold off now until ww weigh ins..

I've seen quite a few people mention the wii fit boards, are they good? I was thinking of getting one, but wondered if it is a bit of a gimmick or do people find them genuinely beneficial??

Also - could anyone confirm that there are definitely no points in beetroot? is that just fresh beets, or do beetroot in that vinegar stuff or whatever it is have no points either??

Thanks, have a great weekend everyone, first weigh-in on Monday night, so I'll keep my eyes firmly fixed on tha all weekend!

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭JOJOC123

Hi Guys
    Went for my WI last nite and stayed the same - happy enough with this as I lost 4.5lbs last week.

I have walked every day this week and drank the water but Im finding it very difficult to track everything.

I am very bad at tracking (note to self must try harder)!!!

Well done everyone on the losses and keep up the good work for the weekend and February!!!!

LOWISH POINT CHOCOLATE ALERT!!!!!!

a multi pack Cadbury Flake is only 3 points!!!! I'm delighted!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 747 ✭✭✭all_smilz

have a weigh in on tues but its been a really crap week- i finished a ten day stretch of shift work and then had one day off- was too exhausted to exercise much but i did a bit most days.... i am kinda dreading my W/I.........
    also i ate a kitkat and some lindor sweets this weekend.... and 3 mallow biccies- * still within my points but i still feel guilty and like i've wasted a week........... anyone else feeling the same?

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭hollyhock

gettin it hard to login since we were hacked!anyway,story since xmas,up 5lbs,down 1/2lb,down 4.5lbs,good-not.......up 3.5lbs,up 1.5lbs...........so waited 4 class and decided 2 kick ass once again,being v.good since thurs,stayed to points,walked,drank water.holiday booked 4 turkey on 6th june so want to lose a good bit hopefully by then!;)

hi guys...just wondering what you think about having to eat all your points every day? I am on 25 points, and am mostly up around the 21 - 25 mark, but a couple of days just came in at 17 pts, will that affect my weight loss?? I guess I'll know after weigh in tonight, but I wondered if it's bad not to hit on the target every day??

Any thoughts?? Anyone got good snacking suggestions?? I think I've od'd on pink n whites!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭Jwacqui

Hi The ScriptFan,

I would recommend eating all you points. As you lose the weight your points will decrease and your body will adjust to this and therefore keep losing. But if you are eating under your points you won't be able to do this.

WW says you are not supposed to save more than 4points per day and I would only do this if I was going to use them. It shouldn't matter for this week but I would try eat all your points from now on! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭Littleblondehen

Oh god.

I've been on a binge since friday. I can't stop. :(

I'm only 1 pound off my mini goal (7lbs) but I just can't stop eating the last couple of days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭harvardgal2

Buckled and drank........ surprise surprise. Now i've been eating since as a reaction to personal issues. Miserable. Its such a stupid vicious cycle, feel crap so I eat, eat crap and I feel crap... Round and round :( Yuch......

Well done on losses, keep up the positive posts as they outweigh these miserable ones, and help us get back on track :)

Just checking in! How are we all keeping!

I'm getting on well now. The gym was the best thing I ever did. I'm usually a really positive person (altho you wouldn't think it with the moaning I do in here sometimes! :P) Lost my positivity there for a while but I'm really feeling positive now!!! I really think it's something to do with the gym! It's given me my mojo back!

Have been doing a bit nearly every day. I know I won't be doing that all the time, but it's great as it's pushing my weight loss in the right direction! (I hope)

It's also keeping me sane. Had literally one of the worst weekends ever this weekend (which may not be over yet...) but the gym is keeping me going! While the world continues to fall around me I won't let my weight loss be one of those things.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭carolinespring

Buckled and drank........ surprise surprise. Now i've been eating since as a reaction to personal issues. Miserable. Its such a stupid vicious cycle, feel crap so I eat, eat crap and I feel crap... Round and round :( Yuch......

Well done on losses, keep up the positive posts as they outweigh these miserable ones, and help us get back on track :)

Try not tobe so hard on yourself. Just start again, the past is the past.

I dont really post here very often anymore. I mostly use my food diary and would be lost without it and all the support I get from everyone over in the food diarys fourm. Since last june I have ost 45lb so I am very happy with that and I have gone down 2 dress sizes. It has been very hard at time and I have fallen off track lots of times. The big difference this time is when I have a bad day, week or month I dont just give up. I start again. Really hoping to be at or near goal by christmas this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Cadyboo

I agree with CAROLINESPRING. I used to give up after having a bad weekend and I never got anywhere. Now when I have a bad day or weekend, I stop myself from feeling guilty and start again. Work harder.
    Have hurt my foot so I wont be able to exercise for a few weeks, am stuck in on crutches and feel like a slob!! Might do hand weights or something to feel like I am doing even a bit.
    Well done to those who lost this week, and good luck to everyone who has fallen off the wagon, hopefully this week will be a better week!!

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭fendigal

dont be hard on urself harvardgal..this happens to us all,u should just put it behind you now and start fresh again. I had a nite out a few wks ago where i thought i had done tons of damage i did my best to make up for it and ended up losing 2.5lbs that wk so just goes to show it can be ok. I do this to myself a lot too i think 'oh ive had a big dinner tonite,thats it im fecked for weigh in' but once you make up for it over the nxt few days it prob wont make a difference. I talked to my leader about it and she said you have to live aswell as be a weight watcher and we're all human we'll all have slip ups..

I have weigh in tmrw..as usual im dreading it and i dont know why. I did have a nice big plate of home made curry fri nite but ive been pretty good otherwise so im hoping for a loss..2 to 3 lbs be great but even 1lb would be ok.
    Good luck to all ye weighin in this week

• Registered Users Posts: 294 ✭✭intouch44

hi all,

long time reader, first time poster! first of all this thread is brilliant so much support and advice! i have half a stone to lose to reach my goal weight but find it hard to be motivated at the minute- so much coming up in the next few weeks!!

i read about ww scones but can't get the recipe anywhere- does anybody have it or know where i might find it??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭Slaygal

I couldn't agree more with Carolinespring, Havardgirl and DrWhogirl, if you fall off the wagon, dust yourself down and get right back on the wagon. The trick is to keep going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭dublingal80

does anyone else on here find that when they start to eat really healthy they find themselves a little.... how can i say... "backed up"??

I did weight watchers before and found myself backed up a lot and im back on it now for a couple of weeks and im findin the same thing again. So far, since saturday this has been my best eating week but i have gained half a pound!! official weigh in is friday so im hoping i can get rid of it :(

Hi all..

So I had my weigh in last night and I was down 6.5lbs! wowsers...so so happy, and a great motivation to keep going! Delighted now...
    Have quite a few meals out etc this week so trying to be as good as possible but can be very tricky...just went for lunch with my mum, got a hot chicken salad wrap, thought that wouldn't be too bad...nope...chicken was deep fried, laden with Mayo and 'salad' on the side was a big dollop of coleslaw :( so I steered clear from most of it!
    Going out for dinner tonight in Marios and also had breakfast out, but I'm determined to stay within my points and even try and save some for Sat night!

Don't get dis-heartened girls...just hang in there...even if you just lost 1/2 pound a week, that's 26 lbs a year! I'll take that!! and also, I don't know about anyone else, but my state of mind is ALOT better when I have my eating under control!

Have a great week everyone and good luck!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Thumpette

Hey all,

After this weeks weigh in and I'm a happy bunny!

Starting weight- 13 stone 1
    Week 1- 12 stone 11.5 (-3.5 pound)
    Week 2- Same as week 1- (sad face)
    Week 3- 12 Stone 8 (-3.5 pound)

Got my wee silver 7 sticker today- delighted!

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭hollyhock

well done all the losers! im doin really well this week,i think,i hope!2 days 2 wi...........positive!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭ohanloj3

does anyone else on here find that when they start to eat really healthy they find themselves a little.... how can i say... "backed up"??

I did weight watchers before and found myself backed up a lot and im back on it now for a couple of weeks and im findin the same thing again. So far, since saturday this has been my best eating week but i have gained half a pound!! official weigh in is friday so im hoping i can get rid of it :(

Yes I have had this problem before and it did result in a gain! Now I try eating more satsumas which helps but one of the girls was telling me that she puts a few sesame seeds in her ww yogurts every morning and she has no probs!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭Jwacqui

I used to always post here and haven't in ages. I just update my food diary!! I so youtube Vlogs! I'll post them here as my updates! :D

Total loss to date is 4st 9lb or 64lb.