Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Shuffle Game

• 30-10-2008 9:22am
    Registered Users Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭

Yes, I'm well awear this game has been done 20,000 times, but as search results show, not in the last while it hasn't!! So, here it is. For those of you who don't know how to play, you just put your iPod/iPhone/MP3 player on shuffle (all songs please) and name out the first ten.

We can discuss and slate people for some of their crappy music tastes, and the more embarrasing the more fun it is! You can do it as many times as you wish. Please, no cheating were's the fun in that?!?
    May I do the honours of going first??? Sure fück ya's, I will!

1. Queens Of The Stone Age - Go With The Flow
    2. Incubus - Nice To Know You (Noooooo!!!)
    3. Creedence Clearwater Revival - Up Around The Bend
    4. The Rolling Stones - She's A Rainbow (why couldn't it be another Stones song!!)
    5. Ian Brown - Can't See Me
    6. Oasis - Morning Glory (why this and yet I give Oasis loads of abuse for being unoriginal!)
    7. Fear Factory - Self Bias Resistor
    8. Megadeth - Devil's Island
    9. Cypress Hill - I Wanna Get High :D
    10. The Rolling Stones - You Can't Always Get What You Want

Oh that was bad, if it oughta have been 2 completely different Stones songs it would have been respectible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

Pretty brilliant to be getting can't always get what you want at the end of a shuffle sequence.

Here are mine anyway
    Wilco-Hell is Chrome
    Dr. Dre-Intro
    The Peasall Sisters-In the Highway (think it's off O brother)
    Pearl Jam-I am Mine
    Lil' Wayne-On the Block#1
    Queens of the Stone Age- No One Knows
    Elton John-Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
    Foo Fighters-Walking After you
    Bright Eyes-Happy Birthday to Me (febuary 15th)
    Wyclef Jean-Gone til November

Not that bad, probably would have listened to the last 5 after skipping the middle 4

• Registered Users Posts: 515 ✭✭✭St Bill

Gone, gone, gone - Robert Plant and Alison Krauss
    Mr Blue Sky - ELO
    Dare - Gorillaz
    Starlight - Muse
    When You Were Sweet Sixteen - The Fureys and Davey Arthur
    Stop Me - Mark Ronson feat. Daniel Merriweather (Smiths cover)
    Byrds Turn to Stone - Shack
    One - Johnny Cash (U2 cover)
    Tribulations - LCD Soundsystem
    Always on My Mind - Pet Shop Boys (Elvis (Presley :pac:) cover)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

OK. Here goes (deep breath):

1. Sigur Ros - Takk... (bought the album, haven't listened to it yet)
    2. Foo Fighters - Overdrive (meh!)
    3. QOTSA - Feel Good Hit Of The Summer (cool:cool:)
    4. Dire Straits - Sultans of Swing (oh dear... :o)
    5. Garbage - Right Between The Eyes (I love Garbage, but don't really like this song)
    6. The Sugarcubes - Delicious Demon (hee hee :pac:)
    7. KT Tunstall - White Bird (Ah good ole KT - I know she's not "cool" but I still like her!)
    8. Garbage (again) - Shut your Mouth (awesome!)
    9. Gwen Stefani - Wind It Up [Live] (more awesome! :cool:)
    10. Smashing Pumpkins - Galapagos (Pumpkins are my fav. band and I've around 200 tracks by them on here. But I don't really like this song. :()

So....that's me. Could have been better, but could be much worse (at least Boards won't know about my Spice Girls.....oh crap...abort, ABORT...)

• Registered Users Posts: 716 ✭✭✭SarahJ

I know I'm gona be embarrassed by this, but don't judge, I've a lotta space to fill on my iPod Touch!!

1. Good Morning Baltimore - Hairspray Soundtrack (oh god)
    2. Whitney Houston - I have Nothing (arggh)
    3. Incubus - Quicksand
    4. Foo Fighters - Dear Lover
    5. Destinys Child - The Writings on the Wall
    6. Dashboard Confessional - Hold On
    7. Dashboard Confessional - The Best Deceptions
    8. George Michael - I can't make you love me
    9. Matchbox Twenty - Bent
    10. Foo Fighters - Let It Die.

Quite a mix there, I think you'll agree...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,737 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

The Grateful Dead: Box of Rain
    Weird Al Yankovic: Gump :p
    They Might Be Giants: Doctor Worm :p
    Kate Bush: Don't Push Your Foot on the Heart Brake :D
    Procol Harum: A Salty Dog (Live)
    Teenage Fanclub: The Concept
    a-ha: Living a Boy's Adventure Tale
    Jorma Kaukonen: Flying Clouds
    Bert Kaempfert and His Orchestra: A Swingin' Safari :cool:
    Duran Duran: The Chauffeur

No complaints there, but the sequence jars a bit, especially jumping from epic orchestral Procol Harum to rough and ready Teenage Fanclub and then back to electro-pop a-ha, though Bert Kaempfert's lounge classic blends nicely into The Chauffeur's spooky intro.

2024 Gigs and Events: David Suchet, Depeche Mode, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, The Smile, Pixies, Liam Gallagher John Squire/Jake Bugg, Kacey Musgraves (x2), Olivia Rodrigo, Mitski, Muireann Bradley, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Eric Clapton, Girls Aloud, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Rewind Festival, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Henry Winkler, P!nk, Pearl Jam/Richard Ashcroft, Taylor Swift/Paramore, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Muireann Bradley, AC/DC, Deacon Blue/Altered Images, The The, blink-182, Coldplay, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Nick Lowe, David Gilmour, ABBA Voyage, St. Vincent, Public Service Broadcasting, Crash Test Dummies, Cassandra Jenkins.

2025 Gigs and Events: Billie Eilish (x2)

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭KrazeeEyezKilla

Gorillaz - All Alone
    Led Zeppelin - Thank You
    Beatles - Ticket To Ride
    Dr. Dre - Ed-Ucation
    Oasis - Columbia
    Jim Hendrix - Red House
    Beastie Boys - Shadrach
    Luke Kelly - Raglan Road
    Vampire Weekend - A Punk
    Queens of the Stone Age - Lost Art of Keeping A Secret

• Registered Users Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

I'm gonna have another go if that's okay.

New Order - Blue Monday (orig.)
    Black Grape - Shake Your Monday (not their best but okay)
    Stone Temple Pilots - Vasoline
    Mötley Crüe - Too Fast For Love (oh yeah :cool:)
    Rob Zombie - Thunder Kiss '65 (nice :))
    Beastie Boys - Sabotage (on a roll!)
    Phil Collins - Sussudio (:( oops, too soon)
    Fear Factory - Linchpin
    N.W.A. - Fûch Tha Police :D
    Down - Stone The Crow

Oh yeah!!! I owned that round (barr the Phil Collins factor)!!!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,224 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I only have my more recently acquired music on my suffle atm, so not a full representation of my taste

Dream Theater - Vacant
    Journey - Patiently
    Judas Priest - Before the Dawn
    Electric Six - Electric Demons In Love
    Pain Of Salvation - Second Love
    Gamma Ray - Rebellion in Dreamland
    Electric Six - Naked Pictures (Of Your Mother)
    Electric Six - Vengeance And Fashion
    Electric Six - Dance Commander
    Metallica - For Whom The Bell Tolls (Live)

A lot of electric 6 O_o

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,317 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Skatalites - (Music is My) Occupation
    The Clash - Brand New Cadillac
    Habib Koité and Bamada - Din Din Wo
    Ramones - Commando
    Amampondo - Mawethu
    Alabama 3 - Let the Caged Bird Sing
    Wilson Pickett - Funky Broadway
    Talking Heads - Stay Hungry
    Belly - Red
    Eels - Flower

• Moderators Posts: 51,812 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

Just after doing the shuffle, and results are....

1)Suicide Machines - The Killing Blow

2)Serj Tankian - sky is over

3)Future Kings of Spain - Hanging Around

4)Saosin - finding home

5)byzantine - ancestry of the antichrist

6)alice cooper - run down the devil (the only cooper song on the iPod)

7)Foo Fighters - friend of a friend

8)left side brain - well well well

9)earth - lens of the unrectified night

10)yourcodenameis:milo - take to the floor

Interesting mix, some stuff I'd listen to quite often, and some that I've hardly listened to at all.

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

1. Badly Drawn Boy: This Song
    2. Morrissey: Everyday is like Sunday
    3. Radiohead: Climbing up the walls
    4. Neil Young: Oh Lonesome me
    5. Richard Hawley: Oh My Love
    6. Elbow: Red
    7. Elbow: The Stops
    8. The Orb: Little Fluffy Clouds
    9. Bjork: Joga
    10: Queens of the Stone Age: Monsters in the parasol

I love lists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

The runners and riders are :D....(Artist/song/album)

U.N.K.L.E. - Twilight - War Stories
    Fleetwood Mac - Tusk - Tusk
    Teenage Fanclub - Alcoholiday - Bandwagonesque
    Kings Of Convenience - The Weight Of My Words - Quiet Is The New Loud
    The Smashing Pumpkins - The Imploding Voice - MACHINA/Machines Of God
    Jeff Buckley - Hallelujah - Grace
    The Frames - Say It To Me Now - Fitzcarraldo
    U2 - Bass Trap - Best of 1980/90 B-Sides
    AC/DC - Goodbye And Good Riddance To Bad Luck - The Razors Edge
    Counting Crows - Butterfly In Reverse - Hard Candy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

1. Lacuna Coil - Heaven's A Lie
    2. HIM - Passion's Killing Floor
    3. Penumbra - Neutral
    4. Hans Zimmer - Tell Me Know (What You See)
    5. Apocalyptica - Misconstruction
    6. Fleetwood Mac - Everywhere
    7. QOTSA - The Sky Is Falling
    8. Dragonforce - Once In A Lifetime
    9. Nightwish - Two For Tragedy
    10. Angtoria - I'm Calling

I would have only skipped 1 song here, and that's the HIM song because the album Venus Doom was pretty meh. All of the others though are good songs.

Sorry gentlemen (and ladies), have to do it again!!

Ozzy Osbourne - Miracle Man (boo yah!)
    Rage Against The Machine - Take The Power Back
    Slayer - Stain Of Mind
    AC/DC - Razor's Edge
    Iron Maiden - Different World (oh yeah baby, keep the Metal comin')
    Limp Bizkit - My Way
    Rod Stewart - Young Turks (deadly! :D)
    Iron Maiden - Infinite Dreams (aw I'm reeling them in!!)
    Def Leppard - Animal (haha, say what you want, but there's nothing wrong there) ;)
    Black Grape - Yeah Yeah Brother (the metal couldn't last forever with this or Rod Stewart, but those are top songs!!)

Oh yeah!! Beat that puta's!

• Registered Users Posts: 40,867 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

From approximately 12,000 songs -

1. Two For My Seconds - Operator Please (catchy young Aussie band)
    2. Underneath The Sky - Oasis (LOVE! :cool:)
    3. Rubidoux - Cold War Kids
    4. Silence Is Easy - Starsailor
    5. Ashes In The Fall - RATM
    6. Peroxatine - Wilt (Choon!)
    7. Sun Always Shines On TV - A-Ha :cool:
    8. The Quiet Things That No One Knows - Brand New :cool:
    9. Good Day To Die - Travis (Fantastic!)
    10.Don't Stop - ATB (Love a good knacker choon! :D)

Solid performance there.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

1. Syrup & Honey - Duffy
    2. Death On The Stairs - The Libertines
    3. Cold Desert - Kings of Leon
    4. 8 Dead Boys - Babyshambles
    5. Happy As Annie - Larrikin Love
    6. Everything's Just Wonderful - Lily Allen
    7. Attention - The Raconteurs
    8. Heart From All Of Us - White Denim
    9. Wicker Chair - Kings of Leon
    10. Glad To See You Go - The Ramones

meehh

• Registered Users Posts: 4,737 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

Crosby and Nash: Immigration Man
    Marillion: Garden Party
    Fleetwood Mac: I'm So Afraid
    Sparks: When Do I Get to Sing 'My Way'? :D
    Wilco: Heavy Metal Drummer
    The Pursuit of Happiness: I'm an Adult Now
    Johnny Cash: If You Could Read My Mind
    David Lee Roth: Just a Gigolo/I Ain't Got Nobody :D
    PJ Harvey: Sheela-Na-Gig
    Foo Fighters: Baker Street

2024 Gigs and Events: David Suchet, Depeche Mode, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, The Smile, Pixies, Liam Gallagher John Squire/Jake Bugg, Kacey Musgraves (x2), Olivia Rodrigo, Mitski, Muireann Bradley, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Eric Clapton, Girls Aloud, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Rewind Festival, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Henry Winkler, P!nk, Pearl Jam/Richard Ashcroft, Taylor Swift/Paramore, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Muireann Bradley, AC/DC, Deacon Blue/Altered Images, The The, blink-182, Coldplay, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Nick Lowe, David Gilmour, ABBA Voyage, St. Vincent, Public Service Broadcasting, Crash Test Dummies, Cassandra Jenkins.

2025 Gigs and Events: Billie Eilish (x2)

1. Syrup & Honey - Duffy
    2. Death On The Stairs - The Libertines
    3. Cold Desert - Kings of Leon
    4. 8 Dead Boys - Babyshambles
    5. Happy As Annie - Larrikin Love
    6. Everything's Just Wonderful - Lily Allen
    7. Attention - The Raconteurs
    8. Heart From All Of Us - White Denim
    9. Wicker Chair - Kings of Leon
    10. Glad To See You Go - The Ramones

meehh
    Oh dear, I'd avoid all barr two artists there (Duffy, KOL). And seeing aswell have another go!! :)

The Doors - Break On Through (To The Other Side)
    Pantera - I Am The Night (back when Pantera didn't have Anselmo and were cheesy!)
    The Cure - Never Enough (off 'Bez's Madchester Anthems :D)
    Slayer - Disciple :)
    Ozzy Osbourne - Bark At The Moon (Ozzy, Slayer & Pantera!)
    New Order - Confusion (Haçienda Classics Remix)
    Foo Fighters - Times Like These (Sports Tonight :))
    Rob Zombie - Superbeast
    Foo Fighters - My Hero (that's odd, those are two of my favourite Foo Fighters songs, actually My Hero is my favourite)
    Happy Mondays - W.F.L. [Vince Clarke] (one of them was coming! :))

• Registered Users Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

Ah shur why not

The Clash - Train In Vain
    Dream Theater - Another Day
    Carl Orff - I Primo Vere II
    Whipping Boy - Snow
    Neil young - Sugar Mountain
    Clinic - Walking With Thee
    Pearl Jam - Better Man, Live in Atlanta 1994-04-03
    Frank Sinatra - Summer Wind
    Gorillaz - Kids With Guns
    The B52s - Roam

• Registered Users Posts: 7,247 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Slow Love - Prince
    Background Niggaz - M.O.P
    Eple - Royksopp
    Stop Don't Panic - Jamiroquai
    Find A Way - A Tribe Called Quest
    Black Country Rock - David Bowie
    Gangsta Lean - Clipse
    Everything Is On The One - Parliament
    Cholly (Funk Getting Ready To Roll) - Funkadelic
    Hey - Jurassic 5

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭Whipping Boy

Sure why not...

Simple Kid - Serotonin
    2 Many DJ's - Peaches: F*ck the pain away
    Suede - The Drowners
    Fleet Foxes - Oliver James
    The Smiths - Back To The Old House
    Cherry Ghost - People Help The People
    The Beatles - Get Back
    Delorentos - Idle Conversation
    Damien Dempsey - How Strange
    Whipping Boy - Users

Not too bad all in all though I can't ever recall hearing that Fleet Foxes song!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭DenMan

1) Xandria – Like A Rose On The Grave Of Love
    2) Amon Amarth – Runes To My Memory
    3) Delain – The Gathering
    4) Tarot – Crows Fly Back
    5) Arch Enemy - Dead Eyes See No Future
    6) Nightwish – The Poet And The Pendulum
    7) Krypteria – The Promise
    8) Nightwish – A Return To The Sea
    9) Lordi – Would You Love A Monsterman
    10)Within Temptation – The Cross

That's it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Using Foobar (~18,000 tracks loaded) as my Ipod is downstairs.

01. Metallica - Fade to Black
    02. Ray Charles - Blues Before Sunrise
    03. Supreme NTM - De Best
    04. Ice Cube - You Don't Wanna F**k With These
    05. Immortal Technique - Cause of Death
    06. Neutral Milk Hotel - The Fool
    07. T.I. - Ride Wit Me
    08. Bruce Springsteen - Atlantic City
    09. Rush - Grand Designs
    10. Killswitch Engage - My Curse

And again...

Slick Rick - Children's Story
    Mötley Crüe - Primal Scream
    The Prodigy - Firestarter
    System Of A Down - Suite-Pee
    Shawn Michaels - Sexy Boy :D
    P.O.D. - Alive (tut tut)
    Faithless - God Is A DJ
    Simon & Garfunkel - The Sound Of Silence
    The Charlatans - Forever
    Limp Bizkit - Just Like This

Not my best songs there I'm afraid... Limp Bizkit being my best.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Clearly Children's Story is the best from that list by a long long way. True classic.

Ah it's a Classic alright, but not the best song there in my books.
    Seeing I'm in the posting process I'll give her another go.

Iron Maiden - Rime Of The Ancient Mariner
    Lyn Collins - Think About It
    Blue Öyster Cult - Burnin' For You
    Rammstein - Links 2 3 4
    Rammstein - Sonne (huh, that odd)
    The Red Hot Chili Peppers - Under The Bridge
    Velvet Revolver - Dirty Little Thing
    Kraftwerk - Popcorn :)
    Queens Of The Stone Age - In My Head
    The Doors - The End

• Registered Users Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

alrighty then

Freddie Mercury, Montserrat Caballe - Barcelona
    Karsh Kale - Distance
    Faithless - Hour of Need
    Snow Patrol - Gleaming Auction
    Royksopp - Eple
    Morrisey - How Soon is Now
    Kayne Weat - Barry Bonds
    Bob Dylan - Knocking on Heavens Door
    The Killers - Believe Me Natalie
    Snow Patrol - Your All I Have

"How Soon Is Now?" is a Smiths song...

Motörhead - Overkill
    Black Label Society - Counterfeit God
    Nirvana - The Man Who Sold The World [Unplugged (Bowie cover)]
    Beastie Boys - Sabotage
    Slayer - Raining Blood
    Rolling Stones - The Last Time
    Judas Priest - Locked In
    World Of Twist - She's A Rainbow
    Run-D.M.C. - Walk This Way
    Happy Mondays - Donovan

• Registered Users Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Nailz wrote: »
    "How Soon Is Now?" is a Smiths song...

it is, but the version that played on my shuffle was just morrisey singing

• Registered Users Posts: 5,963 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

May as well give it a go

1. David Bowie - Slow Burn
    2. Aerosmith - Cryin'
    3. Dark Angel - Sensory Deprivation
    4. Dio - Magica Theme
    5. Judas Priest - Turning Circles
    6. Thin Lizzy - Chinatown
    7. Nils Lofgren - Kieth Don't Go
    8. WASP - Mephisto Waltz
    9. Simon And Garfunkel - The Boxer
    10. Annihilator - The Fun Palace

It's an interesting list I suppose, not mad about the aerosmith or that early priest song though.