Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Birds Vs English Birds? ? (women)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

[quote=[Deleted User];57747504]I just find a lot of girls very hostile and rude for no apparent reason. Like, you'd be introduced to a friend of a friend's mates and they all look you up and down and won't make conversation and it's just really awkward. I mean, I've also met some lovely girls but in general I find Irish women/girls pretty b*tchy, cliquey and unfriendly, moreso than women from other countries. They seem to have a chip on their shoulder or something. I don't get it.[/QUOTE]

I'm pretty sure that is women in general

/mysoginist :pac:
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭viota

Thank you :).Its because i stare at what i type for a minute to check i didn't make a total mess of what i typed.Normally if it looks funny i throw in a couple of comma's to make it look ok :P. I try and be nice to i every one but i as well feel that i'm being judged and they normally just stare at me bitchily.For some reason most of my friends are men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Bill-e

viota wrote: »
    Thank you :).Its because i stare at what i type for a minute to check i didnt make a total mess of what i typed.Normally if it looks funny i throw in a couple of comma's to make it look ok :P

I would love it if you'd put a space after your full stops...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭LeahBaby

viota wrote: »
    Thank you :).Its because i stare at what i type for a minute to check i didn't make a total mess of what i typed.Normally if it looks funny i throw in a couple of comma's to make it look ok :P. I try and be nice to i every one but i as well feel that i'm being judged and they normally just stare at me bitchily.For some reason most of my friends are men.

Prob because your hotter than them Viota.

I never thought about it that way leahbaby , thanks :) I will try and more spaces in my sentences bill-e :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

Albert Most Victory maybe you just meet bitches? I wouldnt judge all Irish women on the few you've met through friends of friends. Maybe widen your circle a little more, guarentee youll meet some nice women.

LeahBaby Im a bit of a shoe whore...but I mostly collect them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭LeahBaby

Puddleduck wrote: »
    Albert Most Victory maybe you just meet bitches? I wouldnt judge all Irish women on the few you've met through friends of friends. Maybe widen your circle a little more, guarentee youll meet some nice women.

LeahBaby Im a bit of a shoe whore...but I mostly collect them.

I just got a fre pair of patent black peep-toe platforms!!!

GASP!!!

I ordered them for my bf's graduation and they didn't come in time so they gave me them for free.!!!

yayy fridayS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

A nice London accent on a girl makes me melt...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Dudess wrote: »
    I'm happy to admit my under-garments have been known to fall off at the sound of an English accent...

you do this to me on purpose don't you ? :D

Damn choosy Shoe God.

Cant stand the english accent myself. Now the scottish...yum!!!

Damn choosy Shoe God.

Cant stand the english accent myself. Now the scottish...yum!!!
    I totally agree i like the scottish accents :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Rockshamrover

Could there be a deeper reason for why both sexes tend to find people from other places more attractive?

Are there any biologists out there that could enlighten us?

Could there be a deeper reason for why both sexes tend to find people from other places more attractive?

Women do it out of revenge for Irish men finding us ugly? :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

We dont find yous ugly, its nature thats done that. And its just increasing hard to lie to your faces about it so thats why we may sometimes seem a bit harsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

I must say, i find Irish women more attractive. Yeah there are a lot of good lookin ones in england, but they have 10 times the population of here,so even if the ratio of good looking to mingers is the same,they still have more good looking ones.

I cant stand the english accent, it just rips through me. I totally agree with the Scottish accent too, phwar :)

Yeah :DWe don't get appreciated here, so we look far afield :D

Mackman wrote: »
    I must say, i find Irish women more attractive. Yeah there are a lot of good lookin ones in england, but they have 10 times the population of here,so even if the ratio of good looking to mingers is the same,they still have more good looking ones.

I cant stand the english accent, it just rips through me. I totally agree with the Scottish accent too, phwar :)

A lot of call centres set up in Edinburgh because the accent is generally well liked, however they avoid Glasgow because that accent is not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

When I was on a trip to Sweden, Latvia and Lithuania there where loads on amazing looking women and I told everybody I met out there how ugly Irish people where and they shouldn't bother their holes coming here. But when I got back to Ireland I had to admit, there an allot of very good looking foreign women in this country now. The Irish women would probably have looked allot better if they weren't face down in a puddle of their own vomit (I arrived back into Galway at 3am on a Friday night)

• I cant stand the english accent, it just rips through me.

It's only ever Irish people I hear say that. Is it the accent itself or is it not liking English people? Serious question. Also, there is no 'English accent', there are hundreds of different English accents, some which sound nothing alike, e.g Newcastle and South London or Midlands and Devon. Do you really hate them all?

To stop the inbreeding :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

A lot of call centres set up in Edinburgh because the accent is generally well liked, however they avoid Glasgow because that accent is not.

What companies are these now? i might look into their products :p

[quote=[Deleted User];57748278]It's only ever Irish people I hear say that. Is it the accent itself or is it not liking English people? Serious question. Also, there is no 'English accent', there are hundreds of different English accents, some which sound nothing alike, e.g Newcastle and South London or Midlands and Devon. Do you really hate them all?[/quote]

Most of them are barable, but that one on Eastenders.my god that has to be the worst
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

Mr E wrote: »
    Love the fact that you felt you had to put "(women)" in brackets after the thread title.

Just in case someone came in here and said that the Irish Blue Titted Chaffinch would kick the UK Blue Titted Chaffinch's feathery ass ANY day.
    Remember nothing beats the blue footed booby.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

No biologist but it's probably down to the fact that we find different dna attractive. Like Albert Most Victory says stop the inbreeding.:D Humans are very inbred anyway by comparison to other primates. Somewhere like Ireland which lets face it was only really invaded twice, first by the celts which would have had the biggest effect on the pictish types here and secondly by Normans(French/Scandinavian types) which would have a smaller effect, so Irish people would be more inbred or genetically similar than European mainland people. We have a high amount of genetic disease here which is probably part of that.

The British had celts,vikings, romans, saxons, normans(vikings again) coming and going and having more impact on the genepool. Because they had a bigger trade thing going on for longer that would have injected more dna too. The italians, greeks, spaniards and eastern europeans have way more tooing and froing again. Genetic diversity would tend to equal better looking(fitter) people.

May explain partly why we do go on about more attractive foreign types than other cultures. I've noticed it more here anyway, especially since we've been exposed to it more in the last 15 years or so.

Personally I like many of the english accents. Brummy or that devon twang not so sure though.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

Wibbs wrote: »
    Ireland which lets face it was only really invaded twice, first by the celts which would have had the biggest effect on the pictish types here and secondly by Normans(French/Scandinavian types) which would have a smaller effect...

I take your point that the UK probably has a much more varied genetic mix than us but surely the Vikings (ok they probably would be similar to the Normans) and the English plantations (the unsucessful ones in the Midlands Northern Irish ones) and domination in the Pale have added something significant to the mix here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

as a englishman i have always fallen in love with irish girls--most irishmen and girls who live in the uk have english partners--and i would think it is the same in ireland--points for irish girls 10 out of 10

I take your point that the UK probably has a much more varied genetic mix than us but surely the Vikings (ok they probably would be similar to the Normans) and the English plantations (the unsucessful ones in the Midlands Northern Irish ones) and domination in the Pale have added something significant to the mix here?

But people from Dublin are better looking than those from the rest of Ireland, so that backs up the theory :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

A woman is only a bird when she goes out with a man who is a worm.

Thaedydal wrote: »
    A woman is only a bird when she goes out with a man who is a worm.

Ooooh thats good.

I concur :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,253 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'd reckon bugger all as they were distinct groups who didn't intermarry much. The vikings had a small enough presence here, same with the normans. The english/scottish in particular stayed very much within their own group. Maybe the odd Irish converted catholic type but I wouldn't say enough to skew the genes much. Plus the plantations that took, were of mostly scots stock which would be very close to us anyway.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭TMoreno

"Even the ugliest guys here have hot gfs". Give me a break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

I was in Brighton recently and returning to the hotel from the beach a group of young-ish lads gave me an almost full bottle of WKD. Cool, I told them, first time in England and I get free drink.

Further down the road there was a group of girls coming in the opposite direction. One of them was talking into a mobile phone when she suddenly yelled "Come over here and lick my cünt!"

Looking forward to going back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 jeryryanisagimp

No biologist but it's probably down to the fact that we find different dna attractive. Like Albert Most Victory says stop the inbreeding.:D Humans are very inbred anyway by comparison to other primates. Somewhere like Ireland which lets face it was only really invaded twice, first by the celts which would have had the biggest effect on the pictish types here and secondly by Normans(French/Scandinavian types) which would have a smaller effect, so Irish people would be more inbred or genetically similar than European mainland people. We have a high amount of genetic disease here which is probably part of that.

The British had celts,vikings, romans, saxons, normans(vikings again) coming and going and having more impact on the genepool. Because they had a bigger trade thing going on for longer that would have injected more dna too. The italians, greeks, spaniards and eastern europeans have way more tooing and froing again. Genetic diversity would tend to equal better looking(fitter) people.

May explain partly why we do go on about more attractive foreign types than other cultures. I've noticed it more here anyway, especially since we've been exposed to it more in the last 15 years or so.

Personally I like many of the english accents. Brummy or that devon twang not so sure though.

so english people are hotter than croatians? give me a break will ya...i'm not saying english people aren't hot or good looking but DNA? Come on...get off it will ye..

**** sake you'd think all irish were all walking around with hunchbacks or something.

looking at it way too deeply..

simply.

ireland-hot people, not hot people
    italy-hot people, not hot people.

have you ever seen an italian american and contrast them to actual italians? seriously they look like different people generally, big pasty white double chin faces yet would be much 'more diverse' i'd presume.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

you do this to me on purpose don't you ? :D
    Meh, 'tis pretty tame compared to what a Scottish accent does to me... :)

Och, I canna believe yis doin this ta me agin lassie :D

TMoreno wrote: »
    "Even the ugliest guys here have hot gfs". Give me a break.

How about a kit cat?

It's not a two-way street though - the Cork accent is the least sexy accent ever... :(

give me a break will ya.....get off it will ye..

I can hear your accent through de tinternet

It's not a two-way street though - the Cork accent is the least sexy accent ever... :(

Thanks very much......

Look at my location guuuuuuurl! I'm speaking as someone in possession of said accent. Sure, I manage to cover it up... but after a few drinks it sneaks its way out...

I would disagree with you there. As far as Irish accents go i think the Caark accent is one of the better ones. The least sexy has to be the "aahhh ye alreeet buuud, whaaas the staaary like?" I always associate that with shell suits, peroxide and babies with pierced ears.

The Sligo is probably my favourite, the only trouble is it has a population of about 25 people so you never get to hear it very often.

The french accent is by far the sexiest accent (As long as you can get the hairy armpits out of your mind). The French can say "excuse the smell, my feet stink and I've got an itchy arse" and it comes across as "hello big boy, would you like to make luurrvvv"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Seem to recall you saying your not from cork or dont have cork accent dudess .

Ah sorry boy, apologies. I have been told i have a strong cork accent...I have to sound posh though at work (which is hard) as i work in an IT helpdesk for an investment bank..American bankers don't appreciate a strong cork accent.

....but after a few drinks it sneaks its way out...

I've gotten into trouble for that myself :D

LOL - god bless English saucy humour! :D
    latchyco wrote: »
    Seem to recall you saying your not from cork or dont have cork accent dudess .
    Not a strong one... pre alcohol.

Not a montenotty (spelling ) one then ? ;)

Ask someone with a strong Waterford accent to say computer.

They say 'Compeu-UR'

What happened to the T ????

Ah Jesus no! Give me Eddie Hobbs' accent before that one any day...

Some nice Cork accents around .It's sometimes the keeeeeeerry one that throws me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

I'd reckon bugger all as they were distinct groups who didn't intermarry much. The vikings had a small enough presence here, same with the normans. The english/scottish in particular stayed very much within their own group. Maybe the odd Irish converted catholic type but I wouldn't say enough to skew the genes much. Plus the plantations that took, were of mostly scots stock which would be very close to us anyway.

I think you're discounting the fact that these ethnic differences (largely) have disappeared over time - I'm not aware of too many Lynchs, Darcys Hennessys et al refusing to mix with the hoi polloi Gaels nowadays. Also odd surnames crop up in the midlands (Pilkington for example) that are apparently a throw back to the Plantations. Again I don't think that young Mr Pilkington is going to turn down Ms Murphy purely based on her name!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,561 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Its just your taste, but i say its just a case of the grass is greener, or maybe you just dont know where all the hot irish woman are