Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I've hit a wall and need some advice!

• 02-11-2008 4:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭

Hi all,
    This thread is really what it says in the title. I've give you a very brief history of my guitar playing:
    I started when I was 13 (I'm now approaching 26) and did the usual Oasis, Beatles, indie etc. thing that everyone did at the time. I started playing bands when I was 15 and continued to do so for 6 years. My playing improved a bit when in bands as I pushed myself to learn covers etc. Since I stopped playing in bands a few years ago (due to a variety of personal reasons) my playing has completely slowed and this is a brief snapshot of where I am now:
    I know a little bit of lead guitar, mostly pentatonic stuff
    I know lots of little bits of songs and solos but not complete
    I have studied some classical but that was nearly 10 years ago
    I used to play a lot of chords cover songs but have now almost stopped
    I find it exceptionally difficult to learn new material be it chords, scales, solo, technique etc. I find it very hard to focus and discipline myself.

Where I'd like to be:
    Increase my musical knowledge
    Able to play solos, covers and improvise
    Able to play by ear
    Tackle a new variety of techniques like jazz, blues, classical etc.

What I'd like is any advice, tips, direction on where to go? I'm finding it very hard to pull myself out of this slump and every time I pick up a guitar I am playing the exact same stuff which is frustrating me immensely.