Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland V Samoa. Wed 05 Nov. 7 am. SS1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,917 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

FUMBLE!!!!!!

This one has to be given

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭crisco10

yippe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Get in!

What **** was that on the pitch? Richards should've belted him one.

****er shouldn't even be on the ****in pitch.

Bollox. There's one back for that scummy prick

****. samoa try, quite wide so convert no easy points....

30-16

What a feckin kick that was!

try ireland?

Is that the icing?!

It bloody well is! Pat Richards hattrick!

Don't think it'll be given, but who gives a ****! :D

I don't know how that prick Solomona hasn't been sent into a wheelchair at some point. Every match he does something at least a bit dodgy, and plenty of other times he's just blatently scummy.

TRY

GET ****ING IN!!

****in sick I didn't back them now!

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Is that the icing?!

it certainly is! bit of a thumping in the last quarter for samoa..

Jesus, even when the game's over the dirty ***** are goin in with flyin arms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭NIBBS

Brilliant stuff - great to see a side once again beat the odds - definitely ranked 3rd of the 3 group teams and should have beaten Tonga too - anyone know who they get in the next round ???

Richards is actually a better kicker than he's shown so far (though he did have a 70+ meter clearance from under the posts against Tonga :-).....)
    pity some of our other Teams don't have the spirit these guys have, was the same in 2000.....

It was fantastic to watch. I was afraid they were going to get overrun in the last quarter or so but the intensity was there throughout. So deserved!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Winner of group B...FIJI

oh crap.........unless there's a big drop off in form or our Scottish friends can do us a favour :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Serenity Now!

Gladly proven wrong with my prediction. That was an incredible team effort.

Fiji play Scotland now. Scotland need to win by 18 to go through and face Ireland, otherwise it'll be Fiji in the next round for Ireland.

Scotland giving it a go at least - 6-4 up as we speak......just another 17 points to get and hold the Fujian's out......

Great to see some punches go in :D

Anyone got an email address for Sky to let them know the sound is 3 seconds ahead of the video.

doubt they would care.....

Try for the Scots right on half time - much as I enjoyed Fuji's drubbing of the French and the flair they showed I just think Ireland-v-Scotland would be deadly.......and if Fuji can't pick it up in the second half they could just give up.......

the Scots game is on live on that same Ustream link that was posted earlier....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

What a massive performance from Ireland. We played as a unit while the Samoans played as a bunch of individuals, and apart from a shaky first ten we duffed 'em up all over the park. Absolutely huge defence for Ireland, and we've outdone the union boys by topping our group...Nice to see an Irish rugby team perform way above itself at a world cup (for a change).

One of the best days for Irish rugby league..Ni Neart Go Cur le cheile...indeed. Hugely proud, passionate performance from a group of lads who weren't given the time of day by anyone inside or outside the game..brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭juvenal

Wanted to stay up for this, but by 7am I was fooked from the election night - just logged in to see a fantastic result! Congrats to the team and here's to the Fijian match!

Looking forward to seeing ir repeated this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,320 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

toomevara wrote: »
    One of the best days for Irish rugby league..Ni Neart Go Cur le cheile...indeed

Who'd have thought the entire team would've fans of St Patrick's Athletic

Good to hear it getting a decent bit of coverage on radio posrts bulletins too

Delighted for all concerned. Next up; monday morning v Fiji.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

It was fantastic to watch. I was afraid they were going to get overrun in the last quarter or so but the intensity was there throughout. So deserved!

Xavi you seem a tad confused considering your obvious delight here on this thread is ever so slightly in contrast to your contributions on here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055412795:confused:confused: So which is it Troll or bandwagonner??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Serenity Now!

toomevara wrote: »
    Hugely proud, passionate performance from a group of lads who weren't given the time of day by anyone inside or outside the game
    They have sponsors. They also get coverage in the media for this campaign. There is only one Irishman in their backroom staff and he's a munster branch development officer ffs.
    For a team of mainly non-Irish players coached by mainly non-Irish coaches they get as much coverage as that of the Irish cricket team during the cricket world cup. People will only take notice if they actually win matches.
    When they do this, people will forget that the Pacific Island teams are populated by qualified Kiwis (as they are in rugby union also) and other teams by English and Australians. This comp has a long way to go before people not acquainted with the sport will take notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭juvenal

Xavi you seem a tad confused considering your obvious delight here on this thread is ever so slightly in contrast to your contributions on here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055412795:confused:confused: So which is it Troll or bandwagonner??

Ah ffs, so just because he's not a hardcore rugby fan/player, he's not allowed get behind the national team and watch and support them when they're playing in the World Cup?? This isn't a personal attack on you, but this sort of attitude is far too prevalent in the sporting fora.

I'm no RL fan; I've watched it, understand the basics, and saw a lot of it when I was living in Australia, but I'm a far bigger RU fan. Just because I don't follow the SuperLeague or NRL, or don't know jackshit about the Irish team or players apart from what I've read up on over the past couple of weeks, does that mean I shouldn't watch their matches in the WC or support them, or give them kudos and take satisfaction and pride when they succeed as they represent our country?

On one hand people are bemoaning the lack of support that RL gets in this country, and on the other, it feels like people are bemoaning others who get on a bandwagon. Success is necessary to raise the profile of any sport, just like the cricket last year. Only the snobby and elitist few would begrudge the fact that the Irish cricket team attracted a new following with their success in the Caribbean.

There's no magic formula for analysing who's a real fan or who's a better supporter or who's a more informed armchair expert. It just ends up a pissing contest. Just take pride in the fact that the Irish team are performing above expectations on the world stage (perhaps not their own), and credit to them. I don't give a damn if they're from Manchester, Mullingar or Manly, but if they're pulling on the green jersey I'm proud of them and I'll get behind them, even if I don't follow the particular code year round.

Anyway, back OT, the next match is on Monday morning at 7.55am (Irish time) - Fiji v Ireland at Skilled Park on the Gold Coast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Frankie Lee

Finally an Irish rugby team to be proud of, great victory.

juvenal wrote: »
    I don't give a damn if they're from Manchester, Mullingar or Manly, but if they're pulling on the green jersey I'm proud of them and I'll get behind them, even if I don't follow the particular code year round.

QFT, the more the merrier...the bandwagon's rolling and as far as I'm concerned there's plenty of room on it for anyone who wants to come along for the ride..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

Not a fan of League tbh but fair play to them.

themont85 wrote: »
    Not a fan of League tbh but fair play to them.
    Dunno how someone can be not a fan of League if they've ever watched it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Diamondmaker

Cant wait now, I was ragin that the games were in in Sidders but now I cvan take the spin down the Goldei, to the Titans home ground, for the Semi Qulifier.

Who woulda thunk it ehh?!?! :eek:

So we win this and we face Australia in Sydney, meanwhile Eng play NZ in my back yard, literally.

Not much chance of progressing past the semi however, not in anyones wildest dreams.....!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 aaronmcfc

How's it goin lads? Just discovered this website, very good indeed. Was at the Samoa game last night, fantastic atmosphere, great passion from the Irish guys. They fly to the Gold Coast today for the game on Monday, and I just confirmed that if they beat Fiji they'll play Australia in the Sydney Football Stadium on Sunday week. What a cracker that would be! Pity the kick off time was so early last night, if it had of been a 7.30pm kick off i reckon they could have got 10,000 at it. Hopefully we'll get a chance to put that right on Monday!

*sigh* Another one who wasn't arsed reading my posts properly.

I said I like rugby as a sport, just not a lot of the attitude that goes with it (mainly union). Is that hard to comprehend?

I take great offence to you labelling me a troll btw and your post stinks of eliticism.

aaronmcfc wrote: »
    Hif it had of been a 7.30pm kick off i reckon they could have got 10,000 at it. Hopefully we'll get a chance to put that right on Monday!

Good man aaron...get out there and bang that drum, we'll need as much support as possible...roll on Wednesday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 319 ✭✭jamsieboy86

Very impressed by Irelands victory, didn't see any of the first match they lost, they'll put it up to Fiji on Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

*sigh* Another one who wasn't arsed reading my posts properly.

I said I like rugby as a sport, just not a lot of the attitude that goes with it (mainly union). Is that hard to comprehend?

I take great offence to you labelling me a troll btw and your post stinks of eliticism.

How exactly?? Jaysus you seem to have a serious chip on your shoulder mate, were you bullied by someone from a posh school or something ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

amacachi wrote: »
    Dunno how someone can be not a fan of League if they've ever watched it :P

Don't get me wrong its quite good to play but I never enjoy watching it on the TV and believe me i've tried in the past.

themont85 wrote: »
    Don't get me wrong its quite good to play but I never enjoy watching it on the TV and believe me i've tried in the past.

TBH all watching league has done to me is made it far harder to watch other sports and not be bored :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

How exactly?? Jaysus you seem to have a serious chip on your shoulder mate, were you bullied by someone from a posh school or something ;)

Chip on his shoulder? Wtf? You're the only coming in and accusing of trolling and bandwaggoning and linking to other forums. Can you leave it there please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,619 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

I dunno, I used to watch it(Super League that is), but did go off it. That's prob cos I started watching Union and soccer more so, and prob found them more interesting, but that's just me. Still follow scores from England though, like it when Leeds win(and not just in last few years when wining the Grand Final). That's a soccer thing I suppose, plus how many times can Leeds teams win trophies in Manchester:D

RE: RWC
    Fair play to the lads, Obviously knew it was on, but all I heard about was Oz/NZ/GB group thanks to Sky. Was surprised to hear Ireland had a team, and was glad to see they got this far. So here's another bandwagon hopper for ye:o