Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Send in the Clowns - BAC 10K Challenge

• Registered Users Posts: 19,525 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

i feel a marathon itch coming back that needs to be scratched:)
    If I can convert just one..... :)

Thanks JB. That sub-3 is overdue a hammering at this stage.. Maybe Dublin in October?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,377 Mod ✭✭✭✭pgibbo

Just read your report there Gary. Great read. Congrats on a cracking performance. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭Kurt Godel

I too have been busy with important Tri stuff... belated congrats drunky, brilliant focus to hit that goal. Fun stuff for a while, or does the marathon death spiral continue?

Kurt Godel wrote: »
    I too have been busy with important Tri stuff... belated congrats drunky, brilliant focus to hit that goal. Fun stuff for a while, or does the marathon death spiral continue?
    Since when is 'Tri' a capitalized word? ;) Certainly fun stuff for a while. I've signed up for a WW Relay leg (potentially leg 7 if you fancy a run at some stage?)/ Will also be pacing the sub-3 group in Kildare in a couple of weeks, with Pronator. Apart form that, I'll be hoping to hit some of the graded-meets races over the summer, to tackle the 400, 800 and 3K. Have another marathon in July (mountain/trail marathon in the Alps, that I'm just doing for fun). Would also love to have a pop at the 10k PB, as recent 5k form suggests it's overdue a thumping. Enough to keep me going!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,361 ✭✭✭Kurt Godel

Since when is 'Tri' a capitalized word? ;)

We're really, really, really, up our own self-important arses.

Deffo on for a leg 7 recce some evening. Were you with me that time when the sun was setting towards the end of the run? Think it was you. Very romantic, whoever it was;)

There's plans to camp overnight in Shillelagh after the race, if you fancied making an evening of it (or you could stay in my gaff nearby).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

Well done on a fantastic run and super performance!

When I saw that you had run the first half just inside the 80, and negatived the second half I wasnt surprised. Its the right strategy for a man who might be slightly stronger than the fixed target. I didnt realise you had come back from the slow start, which made the run and time even better.

I did the same in my last one (start too far back). i think that the when youre down to times aiming under 2:40 and margins are small it can be more costly.

You did brilliantly and got the 45 secs back and 70 seconds more besides.

I saw your comments about the various mileages. I always thought that abhainns approach was better than mine. I really struggled on those mileages, and there wasnt as much quality as i had hoped as a result. Abhainn combined quality with steady running all relevant to marathon paces and his overall average pace would have been a lot faster than mine.

I think your training though for this one has been the best seen yet on the boards. Mileage, sessions, diet, strenght all accounted for, all contributing and in balance. Great stuff!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭BTH

Kurt Godel wrote: »
    We're really, really, really, up our own self-important arses.

Deffo on for a leg 7 recce some evening. Were you with me that time when the sun was setting towards the end of the run? Think it was you. Very romantic, whoever it was;)

There's plans to camp overnight in Shillelagh after the race, if you fancied making an evening of it (or you could stay in my gaff nearby).

I think KC is spoken for. KielyUnusual is out to get you now......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Gringo78

Great report and fantastic result. I had no doubt you'd nail sub 2:40 easy ever since I read your entry about MP run in Phoenix park - I knew by your heart rate that u could actually go in the region of 2:36

A few questions:

Did u have high factor sun cream on? Sun cream reduces the stress your skin is placed under and Irish skin does not like the sun in any shape or form.

I reckon you would not build up the full effect of the mileage you were doing for 5-6 months so do u think you could tolerate a longer program next time out? I.e basically same program as u did but with 8 x 100 mile weeks beforehand (but reduced quality)?

You didn't mention in race nutrition at all - do u take on just water?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

If I can convert just one..... :)

Thanks JB. That sub-3 is overdue a hammering at this stage.. Maybe Dublin in October?

Possibly Dublin, really want to get that sub 3hr monkey off my back:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

BTH wrote: »
    I think KC is spoken for. KielyUnusual is out to get you now......

Careful now. I spent 26 miles trying to run away from the lad but he's a persistent little fecker. Having said that he did scarper off fairly sharply after the finish to get reacquainted with his one true love......the beer.

Gringo78 wrote: »
    Did u have high factor sun cream on? Sun cream reduces the stress your skin is placed under and Irish skin does not like the sun in any shape or form.

I reckon you would not build up the full effect of the mileage you were doing for 5-6 months so do u think you could tolerate a longer program next time out? I.e basically same program as u did but with 8 x 100 mile weeks beforehand (but reduced quality)?

You didn't mention in race nutrition at all - do u take on just water?
    No, no sunscreen. Just overlooked it on the day. The temperature was nice and cool that morning and the weather was supposed to be overcast, into the third hour of running, so I figured I'd be fine. If you were standing around spectating, it was a beautiful, clear, cool refreshing day; about as good as you could hope for, to run a marathon. I did get extremely hot for the final hour of the race, but I'm not sure how of that was attributable to the effort levels and how much to the sunshine. First time my neck and shoulders saw sunshine for 6 months, so stuck in the sun for 2.5 hours, some burn was a given. Still, will set me up for the rest of the year!

On the mileage thing, apart form the few weeks of Christmas + illness, I maintained pretty good mileage between the two marathon programs (probably 65 mpw), so didn't lose very much endurance. I don't think I could last 8 x 100 mile weeks, but think I'd probably benefit from doing the full 18 weeks of the JD plan, rather than jumping in around week 5/6. I think tune-up races are critical to hitting the goal too (particularly for confidence) and it's hard to give a tune-up race 100% when you are running a 100 mile week, but if you can time it right and do a tune-up race in an 80 mile week, you're laughing.

Nutrition: I took 4 x SIS Isotonic gels. I had five with me, but couldn't stomach the last one. The plan was to take one every 5 miles (they contain just 22g carbs each) but during a marathon, I lose interest in gels very quickly. I took the first on queue, but the 10 mile gel became the 12 mile gel. 15 became 17 miles, and then I forced another one into the system at 22 miles. Took a few sips or Lucozade around the course too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

Belated congratulations Gary.
    Sounded like you were running to your limits at the end, without going beyond.
    Interested to see how raise that limit next time.

In the meantime, I keep hoping you won't really apply yourself to shorter distances and embarrass those of us who try to specialise at them.

dna_leri wrote: »
    Belated congratulations Gary.
    Sounded like you were running to your limits at the end, without going beyond.
    Interested to see how raise that limit next time.

In the meantime, I keep hoping you won't really apply yourself to shorter distances and embarrass those of us who try to specialise at them.
    Cheers dna_leri. No need to fear on the shorter distances! Looking at my IAAF points for recent performances, it shows a definite trend for being better at the longer stuff and sh1te at the shorter stuff!
    Mile: 513
    5K: 580
    Marathon: 703

Interesting to see that they now include 100km in the points table. Are the IAAF going 'ultra'?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭claralara

Well done KC - savage running. Delighted all your discipline and training paid off and you got what you deserved. I hope you've put on some much needed beery lbs by now. :)

Aside; I was in Southport (near Liverpool) visiting a cousin at the weekend and we spent all Saturday afternoon in this place - http://www.yelp.ie/biz/the-inn-beer-shop-southport (I'm sure there is a better website for reviews) - I was thinking how much you'd love it. Southport is actually quite like Bray with an average age of about 90 so you'd really feel quite at home!! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

claralara wrote: »
    Well done KC - savage running. Delighted all your discipline and training paid off and you got what you deserved. I hope you've put on some much needed beery lbs by now. :)

Aside; I was in Southport (near Liverpool) visiting a cousin at the weekend and we spent all Saturday afternoon in this place - http://www.yelp.ie/biz/the-inn-beer-shop-southport (I'm sure there is a better website for reviews) - I was thinking how much you'd love it. Southport is actually quite like Bray with an average age of about 90 so you'd really feel quite at home!! ;)

Were you looking at retirement home options for the other half?

claralara wrote: »
    Every time you make an age joke, it's like a double-edged sword, with a sneaky elbow into the ribs for Digger. I like your style!

• Registered Users Posts: 851 ✭✭✭thewolf_ie

Inspirational! Enough said.........

• Registered Users Posts: 171 ✭✭SucCes09

Just catching up on this now too - Gaz - inspirational....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭dev123

Great marathon race report as usual krusty with the added bonus that everything went to plan this time around. I do have to pull you up on your shameless manoeuvring for "Race report of the year" this early in the season. You really went the extra mile with this new fangled multimedia experience. What's next? PowerPoint presentations via group video conferencing?

Monday: Snoozefest continues with 5 miles recovery on the grass
    Tuesday: 6 miles steady - could take it no more. Despite setting off with another 5 mile grass recovery in mind, the legs took off of their own accord in a completely different direction. Was running fast and was lovin' it. Felt nice and easy
    Wednesday: 9 mile mountain run. I had been having impure thoughts about hitting Tallaght and running both the 800m and 3k at the graded meets. I know now that it would have been crazy, just 10 days after the marathon, but logic doesn't always get a look in. Thankfully a friend came to the rescue on Tuesday night, with an invitation for some sneaky school night pool and pints which immediately put an end to any thoughts of racing. On the way to the pub, I was thinking to myself, if you could pinpoint a single point in time when something you were about to do had the greatest likeliness of resulting in an injury, and go to the pub that night instead, that truly would be the greatest of results.

The following morning (after the greatest of results), I was definitely, definitely doing a recovery run. I glanced up a few miles later, and I was at Three Rock on my way up to Fairy Castle. Runners amnesia? Still, the 4.5 miles of up was good training for the upcoming Wicklow Way relay. The run back down the mountain was just the most stupendously fantastic run I have enjoyed in a long, long time. A summer looms, with much more of this.

Thursday: 6.5 miles easy. Again, I failed miserably at the recovery-paced grass run, and instead took a trip down memory lane, visiting the estates I grew up in. Everything seemed so much bigger when I was a chisseler. Roads that felt a mile long passed by in the blink of an eye. Loving the sunshine. Finished up with an hour of rock climbing with the lady-bosses. Couldn't put a hand or a foot wrong. Problems I'd really struggled with in previous attempts I managed after a couple of attempts. Bliss.

dev123 wrote: »
    Great marathon race report as usual krusty with the added bonus that everything went to plan this time around. I do have to pull you up on your shameless manoeuvring for "Race report of the year" this early in the season. You really went the extra mile with this new fangled multimedia experience. What's next? PowerPoint presentations via group video conferencing?
    Screw the race report; I'll take the PB any time. :)

I had been having impure thoughts about hitting Tallaght and running both the 800m and 3k at the graded meets. I know now that it would have been crazy, just 10 days after the marathon, but logic doesn't always get a look in.

You're probably right on this one. I went down to the club on Tuesday and they were having the end of month 3k time trial. I went off like the clappers but dropped out after 3 or 4 laps. I think the pain from London was too fresh in the memory and I wasn't willing to put myself through that again so soon. Even if it was for just a few laps. See you out in Santry in a fortnight's time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

Cheers dna_leri. No need to fear on the shorter distances! Looking at my IAAF points for recent performances, it shows a definite trend for being better at the longer stuff and sh1te at the shorter stuff!
    Mile: 513
    5K: 580
    Marathon: 703

Interesting to see that they now include 100km in the points table. Are the IAAF going 'ultra'?!

Wouldn't agree you are sh!te at the shorter stuff, just that you are better at the longer stuff.

You're probably right on this one. I went down to the club on Tuesday and they were having the end of month 3k time trial. I went off like the clappers but dropped out after 3 or 4 laps. I think the pain from London was too fresh in the memory and I wasn't willing to put myself through that again so soon. Even if it was for just a few laps. See you out in Santry in a fortnight's time?
    I think it helps to build up the intensity gradually, rather than throwing yourself into a 3k! The hill run was perfect, as it was a sustained cardio workout for the 2 miles of steep'ish climb that didn't trouble the legs too much (as the pace was so slow). Lazily easing my way back into the hard work.

Not sure about Santry. It's three days after Kildare marathon (pacing the sub-3 group), so I may hold off until the 29th May and try and do the 400/3k. Would you do the 400m and mile? Tough to do both in one night, I'd imagine, as they're both fast.
    Pisco Sour wrote:
    Wouldn't agree you are sh!te at the shorter stuff, just that you are better at the longer stuff.
    True enough. You can't really discount something until you've given it a proper try. Hopefully get a few opportunities over the summer.

I think it helps to build up the intensity gradually, rather than throwing yourself into a 3k! The hill run was perfect, as it was a sustained cardio workout for the 2 miles of steep'ish climb that didn't trouble the legs too much (as the pace was so slow). Lazily easing my way back into the hard work.

Not sure about Santry. It's three days after Kildare marathon (pacing the sub-3 group), so I may hold off until the 29th May and try and do the 400/3k. Would you do the 400m and mile? Tough to do both in one night, I'd imagine, as they're both fast.

It was too much, too soon definitely. Lesson learned. I hadn't looked at the schedule for the Santry meet but the 400m and the mile are the two distances I was most interested in running. I'd probably choose the 400m over the mile if I had to choose. It would be a stretch to do both on the one evening. Do them well anyway.

I'll be pacing the half down in Kildare as well so I might see you down there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

I hadn't looked at the schedule for the Santry meet but the 400m and the mile are the two distances I was most interested in running. I'd probably choose the 400m over the mile if I had to choose. It would be a stretch to do both on the one evening. Do them well anyway.

I'll be pacing the half down in Kildare as well so I might see you down there.

Blurry bits of London conversations are coming back to me :pac: Good to see you are going to tackle the 400; having been down to the graded meets on wednesday I am not sure I have the mental fortitude to follow up and risk trailing a far off last (again :o).

Good man on the pacing gig, I told Ultraman to get onto you ;)

menoscemo wrote: »
    Blurry bits of London conversations are coming back to me :pac: Good to see you are going to tackle the 400; having been down to the graded meets on wednesday I am not sure I have the mental fortitude to follow up and risk trailing a far off last (again :o).

Good man on the pacing gig, I told Ultraman to get onto you ;)

Yea, the quality looks really high judging off results from previous years. It will be an experience anyway.

Cheers for suggesting me for the Kildare Half. I had been meaning to put myself down for the pacers forum but never actually did. Must do that now actually. I see you're pacing the full down there too. I'll chat to you then.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Not sure what date you guys are talking about with the Graded meets but the next one in Santry has the 200m/1500m and then the 10,000m Dublin Champs. The following one on the 29th in Irishtown has the 400m/mile.

Yesterday: Bike + Run + Bike
    Beautiful day, so pumped up the tyres on the bike and hit the road for the first time this year. Took a slightly longer but flatter 7.25 mile route, which is a much nicer cycle than the shorter hillier route. Average speed an easy 15.3 mph. Followed up at lunch-time with a well-disciplined run of loops around the nearby park, with some strides to create some level of interest (5 miles in 35 mins, @7:06/mile). Finished up with a 6 mile downhill route home, @21.5mph.

Today: Malahide Parkrun 5k (or how I got schooled!)

I had been missing the bit of speed-work over the last two weeks of recovery and yesterday's strides confirmed that the body had recovered well from London marathon. So I skipped the usual Friday night beers, with a view to getting up early and hitting a Parkrun, this time opting to try out the Malahide course. Checking the previous results, it was usually won in around 16:30 - 16:50 (typically by Davy Byrne of Tallaght) so I figured if the right people turned up (i.e. not Davy Byrne!) I'd have a chance of a cheeky little win. Waking up to the alarm at 7:15am and feeling wrecked, I had a mind to just turn over and try and go back to sleep, but that would make a mockery of last night's sobriety, so I stumbled out of bed and had me brekkie. The trip over to Malahide with Emer (who was just going to take it easy) was only 30 minutes (which makes it about ten minutes further away than Marlay Parkrun) and we arrived with 30 minutes to spare. Having supposedly learned from KileyUnusual's recent 3k experience, I knew all out effort would be a bad idea, so I wasn't too hung up about the actual result and would be satisfied with anything under 17 minutes.

A quick chat with some of the boardsies and we were lining up at the start. A couple of fast looking runners (the racing flats a dead giveaway) and some sharp-looking triathletes, but no sign of Davy Byrne (who I hadn't met, but had google-searched briefly so I could face-check him :o).

Race started and I joined the leading pack at the back, in around 6th place. I hadn't a clue of the route so was happy to settle-in at the back. A glance at my watch confirmed the usual fast start, as it showed an average pace of 5:15/mile. Stretches were a little breezy, so being at the back of a leading pack was the right spot to be in. Towards the end of the first loop, I made up a few spots, to cover any potential breaks, so found myself in third-place By the end of the first lap, I noticed my shoe lace had opened and was flapping about (schoolboy error #1). I considered pulling up to tie it, but figured as long as I kept a bit of distance from the other runners, I'd be ok for the remaining 10 minutes (mile 1: 5:20). As we approached the 1.5 mile mark the pack had started to slow and I was now in second place, behind a skinny guy with the same shoes as me (it's the small things you remember!). We were headed around our second lap, when suddenly there was a shout from the lads slightly behind. We'd been heading straight on, when we should have been taking a left turn. Fair play to the lads, giving us a holler in plenty time, so we ended up just taking a wide corner. Shortly after this, I found myself at the front and opened a gap of around 3-4 metres. Didn't really know where I was going (and only saw the signs after I was taking the necessary turns) but the lads were good enough to shout directions.

Schoolboy error #2: Looking at the watch, my average pace had slipped to 5:38/mile, which was a significant drop. I knew I could run faster than this, so figured I'd try and open up a gap and kill off the other runners. Gradually I pushed on, but not fast enough as I could hear the other runners just behind me. I put in an additional spurt and finally the footsteps started to fall back. Mile 2: 5:35. Winding my way around some forest paths, I glanced back and saw a gap of around 40m. This was where everything started to go dreadfully wrong. I was self-combusting, having a complete melt-down. On a brief uphill climb I heard an audible kaboom (in my head) and knew my race was over. I had over-cooked it. I looked at the watch and couldn't believe I still have almost a mile to go and I was floored. I kept going, but felt that I was slowing, and the system was flooding with lactic acid. As I approached the 2.8 mile mark I heard the inevitable foot-steps, but had already resigned myself to finishing somewhere in the middle of the pack, in 20+ minutes. I had surrendered so completely that I congratulated the runner who went by me in a green top, who looked remarkably like the Davy Byrne I had seen a photo of, during my internet snooping.

Now in second place, without the finish line in sight and first place opening up a gap, I was in a horrible place. I heard more footsteps that marked the arrival of second place. But wait.. There, at the other corner of the field - a group of spectators. Must be the finishing line! I mustered all of the energy I could, picked up the pace and ran as fast as I could to the corner of the field. Hooray! Only I realized too late, it wasn't the finish line (schoolboy error #3). As soon as that happened, I gave up completely. I was demolished and the 2nd place finisher passed me easily. Then... More footsteps... Oh boll1x. It's happening again. Dunno where it came from, but once more I mustered some energy and found one last sprint, to hold-off fourth place who had designs on becoming third place. I collapsed over the line (the real line this time) absolutely as spent as I ever remember being in a race. I was fooked. Mile 3: 5:24, for a finish time (unofficial) of 16:38 (which is my 2nd fastest ever 5k).

Had a chat with Davy Byrne afterwards, and what a gent he turned out to be. If you're going to lose a race, he's the kind of gracious guy you want to lose to. I was feeling a bit nauseous though, so after brief chats with some of the boards runners I headed for my jacket and bar-code. Met up with Emer who had a run a minute outside of her PB, which was a great result for someone on the mend from illness. Unfortunately, while she was on the mend, I was feeling worse and worse. I stumbled away from the open area into bushes beside the trails, and distributed my breakfast throughout the bushes on the side of the trail, to the divided bemusement and disgust of the other runners and casual dog-walkers, with shouts of 'curry-chips' and 'too many pints' ringing in the air. Apologies to those clucking dog-walkers who were offended by my disgourged breakfast. Rest assured, it wasn't alcohol-related, was bio-degradable and will leave no lasting mark (and doesn't stick to your shoes like dog-sh1t).

If I hadn't left the lead runners in my suicidal strategy at mile 2, I reckon I would have run much better and could have..... I'm not going to say it. It bugs the crap out of me when runners say 'if only I had done x, I could have achieved y'. The bottom line is, I fncked it up completely. I really shouldn't have been there in the first place, shouldn't have put myself in a position where I would inevitably have had rose-tinted visions of glory. Should have stayed with the lead runners instead of breaking out on my own suicide march. Still, at the end of the day, it was a small price to pay for an invaluable learning experience. I will revisit Malahide Parkun, but hopefully the next time I'll be a little more composed; a little more restrained and just a smidgen more dignified!

Summary: 5k in 16:38 (unofficial).