Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Send in the Clowns - BAC 10K Challenge

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭Ecoenergy

Hi KC,

quick question on your runners if you don't mind. I know you've worn the Kinvara's for marathons in the past, as have I. I need to buy a pair for DCM and the Kinvara 4's are a good price online at the moment (€60). Have you tried them and if so, what is your impression compared to earlier versions? I read one bad report on them online about the toebox being too tight so I may just splash out on the 5's (about €110).

Just wondering if you've tried these later versions.

Cheers.

Hi KC,

quick question on your runners if you don't mind. I know you've worn the Kinvara's for marathons in the past, as have I. I need to buy a pair for DCM and the Kinvara 4's are a good price online at the moment (€60). Have you tried them and if so, what is your impression compared to earlier versions? I read one bad report on them online about the toebox being too tight so I may just splash out on the 5's (about €110).

Cheers.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,524 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Ecoenergy wrote: »
    Hi KC,

Cheers.
    Hey Ecoenergy, Hey Ecoenergy :),
    I'm currently wearing out two pairs of Kinvara 4s, having worn out one pair already. I have to say that I don't have the same affinity with them as I did for the Kinvara 3s, but ironically, I actually figured the toebox was too big. It may be that I never had the shoes properly sized (bought my first pair in a non-specialist shop in the US), and perhaps should have moved down a half size. In fact I actually wear heel cushions in them on occasion, when I feel that the heels are taking a pounding, so there's lots of room in there. It may be my imagination, but I also think they feel pretty flat from around 250-300 miles, but again, I should probably go back and check how many miles I've done in them, as they may both have 500 miles clocked-up in them. I'd recommend going to a good shoe shop and making sure the fit is right. Rather than jumping into the unknown (Kinvara 5), for mu marathon shoe I'll probably jump down a half size in the 4s and see if they meet my needs. Hope that helps!

Thanks. I've used size 9.5 on 5 previous pairs of kinvaras so I think ill stick to that size and try the 4's. Best of luck with your goal race.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭Chivito550

The marathon in October is the main prize. All else is secondary at this moment in time. Mind yourself. As has been said already, you've done the work.

Work has been a bit nuts for the last two weeks, so while I've managed to keep up the training, it left me with very little time to do anything else, including updating the training log. Work, run, eat, sleep, work, run....

Monday: 5 miles + 10 miles easy
    Tuesday: 11 miles + 4 miles easy
    Wednesday: 9 miles easy + 5 miles recovery
    Thursday: JDA: 4 x 2 miles @T with 2 mins rest + 5.5 recovery
    Friday: 5.5 mile runmute + 5 mile recovery + 5.5 mile runmute
    Saturday: 8 mile recovery on the grass
    Sunday: 5-4-3-2@MP w/2mins rest + 3 miles recovery
    = 110.05 miles

I think the high mileage has served its purpose, but at this point, I reckon it's a little counter-productive, as between the work and mileage, I just wore myself down this week. It didn't help that I was on the back of a disappointing result in Athlone and the glutes were still giving me significant gip (though the herniated disc was fully recovered). On Tuesday, taking inspiration from DrQ and Dublin Runner's sessions, I'd planned a lazarus-like return to form, but arriving down at the track the sun broke form the clouds and was beating down (3/10 on the suntan scale), and twinned with a dodgy tummy, I took it as a sign that a session was not a good idea. Instead headed out on an enjoyable 11 mile run. Some decent treatment on the glutes and I held off until Thursday to hit up the planned session of 4 x 2 miles @tempo. The session really didn't go well, and part of it was the general negativity in terms of my form and training over the last couple of weeks. First couple of reps were ok (11:09 and 11:06), but I was on a downward spiral and half-way through the third rep (11:33), I was mentally lowering my marathon target. Final rep was just a case of self-mutilation (11:48).

If there was any positive to take from the session, it was that I had hit rock bottom and had to take a long think about my general approach to this marathon goal. While I have largely enjoyed the training, I have been treating every single session as a test, and beating myself up, as soon as I didn't manage to hit the numbers. When I started this training cycle, 2:32 was a lofty goal and the plan had always been to re-assess and adjust, as I got closer to the race. This kind of got lost in the pursuit of chasing statistics, so instead of narrowing the gap between where I am and where I hoped to be, the gap was widening and my frustration has been growing. Rather than feeling like I'm approaching a state of readiness, I have felt like I'm slipping further and further away from my goal.

So I made the decision to pull back my marathon target, so that I can finish out my last 5 weeks of training from a position of strength, rather than one of weakness. Treat each session for what it was supposed to: a training session, not a test. Tempo pace is not a couple of digits written on a page, instead it is whatever I happen to achieve on a particular day. A lot of rhetoric, I know, but... I'm feeling a lot more positive about my upcoming marathon and the 4 weeks of training that separate me from the beer and pretzels.

With a new marathon target came a need to dial the pace in and make it feel more normal. So on Sunday I took a leaf from Tergat's training book and headed out for the fated 5-4-3-2-1 @MP, with 2 mins rest. Plan was to try to cruise through the marathon pace miles and make them feel normal. Unfortunately I procrastinated until the afternoon before heading out, at which point the sun broke from the clouds (2/10 on the suntan scale). Even with the more achievable target, I didn't have it all my way and had some mental battles over the 3rd and 4th segments. I was pretty dehydrated, so made the wise decision to skip the final 1 mile segment, but was happy enough that I got through 14 miles at an average 5:55/mile (with breaks). Happy also to run my last max mileage week and get it over and done with. While the next few weeks are still relatively high mileage (100 and 90 miles), at least there's a feeling of having turned a corner and things are looking up again.

Monday: 5 miles recovery + 10 miles easy
    Tuesday: 9 miles easy
    Wednesday: JDA: 1 hour easy + 6 x 1 mile @T + 3 miles.
    Thursday: 4 miles recovery + 9 miles easy
    Friday: 6 Miles easy
    Saturday: Moone Kilomarathon + 8 miles recovery/easy
    Sunday: 10 miles recovery/easy
    = 100 miles

Back got sore again after the previous week's heavy mileage, but it seemed to be concentrated in the glutes, rather than the disc. Still sore, but glad it's muscular, rather than structural. Added a set of incredibly tight and painful quads to the growing list of pains. Session on Wednesday went pretty well, but it is one of the easier sessions in the plan, with a greater focus on endurance than tempo (averaged 5:39 for the 1600s). A couple more easy days then headed out to Moone for the Kilomarathon. The plan was to hold marathon pace (5:55) for the duration, but that didn't work out. Within around 6/7 miles the heat was getting to me and I dropped off MP. Went through 10 miles in 59 minutes and the half marathon mark in mid 1:18, but the last couple of miles were pretty unpleasant. Finished in 5th in 1:38:20 @6:02/mile, around a minute quicker than last year (but dropping a place to better runners).

Quads were completely shredded afterwards, but recovered a little in the long GAA-riddled traffic jam homewards. Headed out for another few miles when I got home, which, while painful, did a fantastic job of loosening up the painful quad. Ended up with a savage number of miles for the day, but it meant that I could wrap up the week with 100 miles (final century of the year!), and start easing back on the volume, in favour of quality. Sunday was an enjoyable easy 10 miles around Bray, that helped to further ease the troubled quad.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

Serious mileage KC, honestly don't know where you get the time in your life to get it all in.. A decent taper will see you fresh at the start line. Does such a thing exist on the A plan?

Hi RFR, you just have to submerge yourself in the deep, murky waters of obsession and the brain looks after the rest. :)

100-110 miles per week is around 15 miles per day. So that's the equivalent of a 5 mile run at lunch time and a 10 mile run after work, so in that context, it's actually pretty achievable. The hard part is managing the tiredness; trying to ease back before a session (almost impossible) and trying to keep the mileage low the day after a session (again, very difficult). There are days when you feel that you exist purely to work and run, and you begin to question your own frame of mind, but then you nail a race or session, and it provides that justification. Mileage is a much debated topic at the moment, and I'm sure that there are many who would question my training regime over the last few months (hell, I question it myself constantly), but if the end result is a good marathon in Frankfurt, in my mind, it will all have been worthwhile. Worth bearing in mind that I really enjoy 90% of the training that I do and the training is as much part of the goal as the result. Having said that, if I don't have a good race (and that is also a distinct possibility), then I don't think I'll be able to make the same level of commitment again.

I haven't been following the mileage strategy of Plan A religiously, instead, doing 3 x 3 weeks cycles of 90/100/110 miles (in any order), followed by a down-week (or injury, in layman speak!). Plan for the remaining 4 weeks is: 90 / 77 / 66 / 35 + race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Hi Krusty
    do you feel your high mileage helps or hinders or has no effect on how you sleep? As a fellow troubled sleeper I'd be interested to hear what you think.
    When you take a break from running does your sleep improve or disprove or stay the same? When yer not on the heavy painkillers!!!

Ososlo wrote: »
    Hi Krusty
    do you feel your high mileage helps or hinders or has no effect on how you sleep? As a fellow troubled sleeper I'd be interested to hear what you think.
    When you take a break from running does your sleep improve or disprove or stay the same? When yer not on the heavy painkillers!!!
    Hi Ososlo, I don't think the mileage has any affect either way, though when the body's tired, I find it easier to get to sleep. My major malfunction is trying to stay asleep. I do sleep particularly badly after a session or race, when I opt for alcohol-based recovery drinks, rather than your more standard alcohol-free recovery drinks, as the subsequent dehydration and electrolyte imbalance keeps me awake. I was a bad sleeper long before I started running and I suspect I'll be a bad sleeper long after I've stopped. I no longer think about is as abnormal (resignation), and now just assume that I just don't need that much sleep. Personally I stay well clear of sleeping tablets, as they've never really done me any good. When travelling to the US I used to pick up some extra strength Tylenol PM (painkiller + sleeping aid), but it only ever served to exacerbate the problem (instead of being wide awake and calm at night, I'd be wide awake with an 'itchy brain' and massively frustrated at not being able to sleep). Now, I just catch up on Boards. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

What kind of strategy have you got in mind for race day, even splits all the way or will you try run a 2 or 3 minute negative? Whats your revised target by the way?

tunguska wrote: »
    What kind of strategy have you got in mind for race day, even splits all the way or will you try run a 2 or 3 minute negative? Whats your revised target by the way?
    Most definitely negative. All of my good marathons have come from negative splits. I'm not sure I'd have the confidence to run 3 minutes slower, but I reckon I'll aim for a 1:18 first half, and hope to move on from around 18-20 miles. Goal would be to have a crack at sub 2:35.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

Interesting post there on the mileage. A couple of years back I ran 320 miles in a 20 day period. My body stood up to it alright, but as you alluded to, it became a bit of an obsession even if only a short lived one. Maybe it's that my kids are way younger than yours, but I find it very hard to go beyond 50-65 mpw without affecting family life, even during the summer when I was off work.

I've absolutely no doubt that 50 mpw year around as a base and hitting 100+ at times would be of massive benefit, but the commitment and sacrifices you make are amazing. Maybe when my crowd grow up a bit might I be able to imitate it. Fair play to you

Interesting post there on the mileage. A couple of years back I ran 320 miles in a 20 day period. My body stood up to it alright, but as you alluded to, it became a bit of an obsession even if only a short lived one. Maybe it's that my kids are way younger than yours, but I find it very hard to go beyond 50-65 mpw without affecting family life, even during the summer when I was off work.

I've absolutely no doubt that 50 mpw year around as a base and hitting 100+ at times would be of massive benefit, but the commitment and sacrifices you make are amazing. Maybe when my crowd grow up a bit might I be able to imitate it. Fair play to you
    Yeah, it certainly helps that I didn't take up running until my kids were pretty much grown up (my youngest is 14), and they're now pretty self-sufficient human beings (and largely tired of the sight of me!). We're a very close family, but we each have our own sports and pursuits and so make sure to reconvene at the dinner table every day.

I come from the other extreme, where I struggle to figure out why people can't find the time to spent 10-12 hours running every week (if that was something they wanted to do - this isn't a criticism by any means). I have a pretty demanding job (I'd guess I average 50 hours a week), but that still leaves loads of time for pursuits. Emer also clearly runs (though her mileage isn't as high) so it's not a case of tootling out for a run while the dinner is produced on the table (I do my share!), but even juggling four working/studying/sporting lives we still have enough time to chase our own specific challenges and still get together a couple of times a week to do some rock climbing. I guess it all comes down to where each individual's priorities lie.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,016 ✭✭✭Itziger

Still fairly impressive man, no matter how you put it.

Monday: 6.7 + 7.7 miles easy
    Tuesday: JDA: 2 x (5ME + 3 MT)
    Wednesday: 6 mile recovery + 5 miles easy
    Thursday: 7 Miles easy
    Friday: 21 miles inc 5 x 3 miles @MP w/2 mins easy
    Saturday: 10 miles easy
    Sunday: 7 miles recovery
    = 90 miles

Not a bad week of training, despite more crazy work conditions. Tuesday's session was a long one (19+ miles) so brought some tunes with me, and it kind of distracted me during the tempo sections, so I didn't quite hit the numbers, but wasn't too bothered, as I was enjoying the feeling of cruising around the track.

Had a day off work on Friday, in order to head for a lads surfing weekend in Dingle. Wanted to get the weekend off to a good start, so plan was to get my weekend session ticked off. Wise physio suggested an alternative to the repeat 54321 session I had been considering, so I decided to do 5 x 3 miles @MP, with 2 mins easy. Headed to Kilbogget with a gel and a couple of 250ml bottles of water. Session went really well and the pace felt pretty comfortable, coming in slightly ahead of target for each of the reps, on a gently undulating route. Last mile of the final rep was tough, but sure if it wasn't, I'd be worried.
    3 mile reps: 17:38, 17:41, 17:43, 17:39, 17:39
    Average pace (Garmin): 5:53
    Total: 21.25 miles @6:25

The weight loss was a little disconcerting. Morning weight (before sizable brekkie): 11st 3.8. Weight after session: 10st 12lb. So I'd guess I lost around 7/8 lbs in liquids, despite the nice cool damp day and taking on 500ml of liquids. Think I'll have to try and take on some form of electrolytes for the big day.

Saturday: After a long day of travelling on Friday (and a relatively long night of drinking in Dingle), I awoke at 8am, and it didn't look like anyone else might surface until the afternoon's assault on the waves, so I hit the road for a some recovery miles, in the direction of Connor Pass. Took it nice and easy but eventually caught up with a cyclist, who turned out to be part of the surfing group, so it was nice to have someone to chat to, on the way up the 300/400m climb. Views were spectacular from the top, but sadly short-lived as we got pelted by freezing hailstones, so after a few shots to capture the moment, I bid farewell to my cycling buddy, who was heading over the other side of the pass, and had an easy run back to base. Incredible run route with fantastic views, and the hill climb was a lot easier than I had built up in my head.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Its always nice to be running around Dingle. On a recent trip down there I jogged up to the Conor pass, not on the road, but on a trail which rises up the valley on the right. Makes a nicer run that running the road in my opinion.

Great training by you recently. Hope you continue on and meet or surpass your marathon goals.

Road to Conor pass is over there on right. Trail is feinter line veering left.

7955506886_14f0e6962a_b.jpg

Great training by you recently. Hope you continue on and meet or surpass your marathon goals.
    Cheers Mick. Will definitely give it a lash (got a GPS log?) next time I'm back down there (which unfortunately, probably wont be until the next surfing trip in 2016). That was a pretty decent run you had at the weekend yourself. Is there a marathon in the pipeline? Bit of a run around the streets of Dublin on the cards?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

I ran that trail over 3 years ago, but lost it about a mile from the top, just climbed up the side of the valley to the road! Found some lovely trails on the other side of the valley from the road too.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/103391525

Cheers Mick. Will definitely give it a lash (got a GPS log?) next time I'm back down there (which unfortunately, probably wont be until the next surfing trip in 2016). That was a pretty decent run you had at the weekend yourself. Is there a marathon in the pipeline? Bit of a run around the streets of Dublin on the cards?

Found it. If memory served this was an injured phase so more of a hike but a very enjoyable one at that. http://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/216787127

Thanks. No marathon plans here. Just happy to do bazman a favour. Could have offered you a free entry. Sent you text but I could have an old no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭DogSlySmile

Wanted to get the weekend off to a good start, so plan was to get my weekend session ticked off. Wise physio suggested an alternative to the repeat 54321 session I had been considering, so I decided to do 5 x 3 miles @MP, with 2 mins easy. Headed to Kilbogget with a gel and a couple of 250ml bottles of water. Session went really well and the pace felt pretty comfortable, coming in slightly ahead of target for each of the reps, on a gently undulating route.

Hey KC, nice session. I have my last MP session this weekend and am trying to decide between the 54321 session or 5x3m. I've been building the MP miles on the weekend run with 3x3m, then 4x3m last week. Is there any advantage to doing the 54321 over the 5x3m?

P.s I'll also be doing this session on the hallowed grounds surrounding the Beer Mile Stadium :D

Hey KC, nice session. I have my last MP session this weekend and am trying to decide between the 54321 session or 5x3m. I've been building the MP miles on the weekend run with 3x3m, then 4x3m last week. Is there any advantage to doing the 54321 over the 5x3m?

P.s I'll also be doing this session on the hallowed grounds surrounding the Beer Mile Stadium :D
    As ecoli pointed out, variety is good, as it stops you comparing one session to another in an unhealthy way, so there'd definitely be value in doing the 15 miles structured as 54321. In terms of difficulty, I reckon it's also a more challenging session, as you do a greater level of work up front so have greater residual tiredness in the later sections, but there's not much between them to be honest (my opinion may be coloured by the heat of the day when I ran the 54321, versus the perfect conditions of the 5x3). For the 5x3 I started in the top right corner (behind the cinder) and ran a fairly flat 1.5 mile loop anti-clockwise, taking in an extra loop of the playground, to make up the distance. It's a good 1.5 mile lap, which starts with a gentle downhill, and finishes with a gentle climb (click on the play button here). Handy for stashing a drink (in a nearby tree) as well.

For the 54321, I used a 5 mile circuit, starting at Loughlinstown Bridge, along the N11 to Deansgrange, and then back by the parks. You can see it here. It's another nice flat loop, where you get the wind and drags in equal measure, so good for simulation. Hard to stash a drink and arrive at the same spot though!

Is Dublin the goal? What kind of time are you targeting?

As ecoli pointed out, variety is good, as it stops you comparing one session to another in an unhealthy way, so there'd definitely be value in doing the 15 miles structured as 54321. In terms of difficulty, I reckon it's also a more challenging session, as you do a greater level of work up front so have greater residual tiredness in the later sections, but there's not much between them to be honest (my opinion may be coloured by the heat of the day when I ran the 54321, versus the perfect conditions of the 5x3). For the 5x3 I started in the top right corner (behind the cinder) and ran a fairly flat 1.5 mile loop anti-clockwise, taking in an extra loop of the playground, to make up the distance. It's a good 1.5 mile lap, which starts with a gentle downhill, and finishes with a gentle climb (click on the play button here). Handy for stashing a drink (in a nearby tree) as well.

For the 54321, I used a 5 mile circuit, starting at Loughlinstown Bridge, along the N11 to Deansgrange, and then back by the parks. You can see it here. It's another nice flat loop, where you get the wind and drags in equal measure, so good for simulation. Hard to stash a drink and arrive at the same spot though!

Is Dublin the goal? What kind of time are you targeting?

Thanks, I suppose each session has its merits but it looks like the 54321 session will be the test I'm after and will serve as a good last hard run before the race.

When I'm in Killbogget I follow the same route as yourself (minus the pirouette around the playground!) and head down to the gates on Granville. Leave the park and reenter across the river and make my way back the way you go. Its a good loop but I can definitely see the benefit of doing this kind of run out on the roads.

Yep I'm in for Dublin and 2:50 is the goal. I've a 2:59 PB from 2012 and I'm transitioning myself back into speed after spending all year training for ultras. Not a lot of time to get myself on track speed-wise but feeling good about the goal.

When I'm in Killbogget I follow the same route as yourself (minus the pirouette around the playground!) and head down to the gates on Granville. Leave the park and reenter across the river and make my way back the way you go. Its a good loop but I can definitely see the benefit of doing this kind of run out on the roads.
    I hate shuffling around those bloody gates! Frustrates me having to lose a couple of seconds and change my stride, but the little climbs will stand to you. Trying to organize a group easy run on Sunday, if you're interested (details here), but probably won't work if you're doing that session.

Cheers for the offer but I'd only hold you guys back! Think I'll stick to the 54321 session. Looking forward to it now :) Thanks for the advice and have a good run.

Yesterday: 13 miles easy
    Buddy came back from the US and brought me back a pair of Kinvara 5s, so was eager to give them a go, to see if they'd improved on the 4s 9which I really didn't like). I dropped a half size, as I felt I was moving around in the 4s a little too much, and these shoes fit like a glove. Got into a real groove while out running, so ended up staying out for a comfy 13 miles @7:17.

Today: JDA: 2 x (3E + 3T) + 3E
    Opted for some 'choons again for today's session, to just chill and get the work done. Also wore the HR strap for the first time in months, more out of curiosity than any sense of purpose. 3 mile run down to the track and the legs were feeling pretty spritely. Perhaps they're getting an inkling that the mileage is dropping, though with last week's 90 miles, it would have to be more mental than physical. First tempo session went fine, pretty comfortable really, which I reckon is down to the cooler temperatures (god bless you Autumn marathons!). Then headed off for an easy 3 mile loop and back to the cinder track for the second tempo section. Again, this one felt pretty comfortable. I've been wondering lately whether my inability to hit the numbers during tempo sections is down to my unwillingness to really dig in, high mileage tiredness, whether it's temperature related, or just general negativity creeping in during harder workouts. Still not sure of the root cause but it certainly wasn't present today. Numbers won't set the world alight, but it was good to have the tempo miles feel very manageable.

During the second tempo section, I'd completed around 10.5 laps, and only had 2 laps to go, when I spotted a brown and white blur approaching from the right. Continued around the bend, only to see a small dog emerge from my left, in rapid pursuit. I was running at around 5:35/mile so there was little I could do, when he suddenly ran right in front of me, and my left foot caught him while I was mid-stride and sent him 3 feet rolling down the track. I stopped instantly in surprise, but the dog rolled away and yelped back towards it's owner, who was busy apologizing profusely. Nothing for it but to pick up the pace again and keep going. Felt bad for the poor dog, but he seemed fine. We both got a bit of a shock, but hopefully the little fella will be on a leash the next time they visit the cinder. Last long tempo sections in the plan (still some 2 mile repeats to go), so glad to get them under the belt.

Tempo sections were:
    Tempo 1: 5k in 17:52, HR=153
    Tempo 2: 5k in 17:57 (doggius interruptus), HR=156
    Summary: 16 miles in 1:43, @6:28/mile, HR=141 (positively lazy).

• Registered Users Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

KC - you reference an 'inability to hit the numbers' - when you set out to do a tempo, do you set out try to hit the suggested pace target or 'do it by feel' using the 'comfortably hard' analogy?
    Do you think we as runners are hung up with hitting 'suggested paces' based on vdot etc or (in your opinion) is there a mental aspect to being able to hit the numbers??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Oregano_State

It can be disheartening to chase numbers in every session, but it's impossible to avoid completely. I try to think of the 'rule of 5' if I'm not up to scratch on a particular day, i.e. for every 5 sessions, on average you'll have 1 great one, 1 sh1te one, and 3 average ones. If you're consistently falling short, then that's another issue, but I find this rationale helpful.

In your case, KC, you had a nasty enough back injury there a few weeks back. Recovery from these things can take more out of us than we expect, so you could have been suffering a bit of a hangover from that. You seem to be back into the swing of things now anyway.