Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

embedded c++ Q

Options
  • 04-11-2008 10:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭

Hi guys

I have a degree in microelectronics and as im outta work im thinking of learning some embedded c, for microcontrollers etc.

Im a n0b with programming, but have done some embedded c at uni.

Is there any good books to get me off the ground and is it very hard to master.?

cheers.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 5,379 ✭✭✭DublinDilbert

Hi guys

I have a degree in microelectronics and as im outta work im thinking of learning some embedded c, for microcontrollers etc.

Is there any good books to get me off the ground and is it very hard to master.?

cheers.

I've never found embedded books to be very good.... i normally just get a demo kit and start writing some code...

There's lots of really cheap demo kits out there that come with code which you could modify etc...

Microchip PIC's or AVR's would be good to learn on. Demo kits are really cheap... and the C compilers are free...

What sort of embedded projects would you like to work on?

What sort of communications would you like to have on board?

I notice your title says C++, most smaller embedded systems just use straight C.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

I see, well I notice in alot of jobs, embedded c++ is mentioned,. I would like to be a bit more prolific on it.