Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

5 card draw

• 05-11-2008 4:13am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭

Just wondering does anyone here play 5 card draw as their main poker game? I sat into a .25/.50 cash game today just for a look and ended up lasting about 10mins before I needed to rebuy. The game was far too boring for me but Im interested to know is this game ever played live or tourney style and anyone on here enjoy it? Is it easy money?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭BIGMICKG

ive always been under the impression that 5 card draw is basically 100% luck as theres no real way of putting ur opponents on a hand, no drawing, no community cards etc. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭max_power

The auld ones play it in the fitz on a Tuesday I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Thecageyone

5 card draw is a great game Live. It is proper poker! :D

And it isn't any more luck then Hold 'em. You watch how many cards are being discarded by your opponents, if they stand pat (don't exchange any) you'd imagine they have a made hand, bu that's where the bluffing comes in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭mits2006

I played a small charity tourney a while ago full of oldies.I drew one card for a flush,hit my flush,bet out and got told off for betting when there was only 2 player left in the hand,what is that all about.Horrible game never again.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Macspower

never actually played it online but it and seven card stud paid my way through college

• Registered Users Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Thecageyone

mits2006 wrote: »
    I played a small charity tourney a while ago full of oldies.I drew one card for a flush,hit my flush,bet out and got told off for betting when there was only 2 player left in the hand,what is that all about.Horrible game never again.

Must've been just the people you played with as you can bet all you want, unless they said it was limit and you weren't paying attention.

they said it was rude to bet when there was only 2 players in the pot,what a load of crap,i did it the next hand just to piss them off.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

This is the game that made me hate poker for the first 28 years of my life.

zuutroy wrote: »
    This is the game that made me hate poker for the first 28 years of my life.

i hear ye brother!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭strewelpeter

5 card draw is a great game Live. It is proper poker! :D

And it isn't any more luck then Hold 'em. You watch how many cards are being discarded by your opponents, if they stand pat (don't exchange any) you'd imagine they have a made hand, bu that's where the bluffing comes in.

Put simply the element of skill in poker comes from the fact that to some extent reasonable predictions can can be made from the information available. 5 card draw allows only minimal information to be garnered about your opponents possible holdings. There is far more information available in hold em. Therefore if played correctly hold em can be played with far greater skill than draw.

5 card draw poker is an awful game, until quite recently it was the only poker game that was widely played in Ireland. It is almost dead now and that is a good thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭petethebrick

Yeah, not the biggest fan of it either. My da paid his way through college in belfast playing it though.
    Five Card stud is a great laugh sometimes^^

• Registered Users Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Tight Ted

My mate used to make a killing going from rural hick town to rural hick town on his motor bike, picking out soft games with local drunk farmers.

But one night he lost all his earnings + his motorbike, when he ran his quads into a royaler.

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭Hosef

Put simply the element of skill in poker comes from the fact that to some extent reasonable predictions can can be made from the information available. 5 card draw allows only minimal information to be garnered about your opponents possible holdings. There is far more information available in hold em. Therefore if played correctly hold em can be played with far greater skill than draw.

5 card draw poker is an awful game, until quite recently it was the only poker game that was widely played in Ireland. It is almost dead now and that is a good thing.

Wouldn't necessarilly agree that more information = more skill. On that basis Stud > Omaha > Hold'em

I do think that the balance of information vs unknowns in draw is way off though and tbh the game drives me absolutely nuts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

BIGMICKG wrote: »
    ive always been under the impression that 5 card draw is basically 100% luck as theres no real way of putting ur opponents on a hand, no drawing, no community cards etc. :confused:

a guy i used to work with was adamant that 5 card draw had more skill to it than Holdem, as you had to bet enough to get your opponent to fold or some tripe like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭lee_arama

5 card draw is usually 1/2 PL so that has to be taken into account.

Played in da Garda Club of a T00sday in Cork, and the Lion's Den as well on a Thoisday...

Haven't been in a while actually. Infinitely more skill involved in disguising a hand in 5 card over other games.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

Still lots of games around when the coursing hits clonmel!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

Played it online once and was up a couple of buy ins on stars, so I'm obviously a natural. It looks like a fun game. 2-7 triple draw is alot more fun, though

• Registered Users Posts: 479 ✭✭Flipz4Rollz

Its availible on stars, only pot--limit but its fairly good if your looking for a gamble

I never actully knew properly how to play it until i played online

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭theGIANT

Played 5 card draw on stars for 3 months solid about a year agoade good money playin .50/1 but just got so sick of game and havent played since.its boring!!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

a guy i used to work with was adamant that 5 card draw had more skill to it than Holdem, as you had to bet enough to get your opponent to fold or some tripe like that

Maybe it was something like

Having the balls or skills to put an opponent on a hand and act ,To Bet and even fire again when all you have to go on is your reads and your own experience ,without all this free information that you get in pussy games like hold-em .:D

And Ps What this s**t " i used to work "

RichieLawlor and work are words that should never appear together.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

I would say that if you know how to play the game well 5CD Jacks or better is a game where you would have one of the highest edges possible over fishes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 571 ✭✭✭smoothcall

Ye if you think theres no skill in the game Id advise you to wander into the fitz and play Dennis Winters. Id guess youd "run" pretty bad ..

• Registered Users Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Tight Ted wrote: »
    My mate used to make a killing going from rural hick town to rural hick town on his motor bike, picking out soft games with local drunk farmers.

But one night he lost all his earnings + his motorbike, when he was obviously hustled by a group of card sharks who fixed the deck.
    Tight Ted wrote: »

But one night he lost all his earnings + his motorbike, when he got drunk and done his dough on a retarded bluff call.

FYP/Either work

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭JamieCarra

5 card draw is an absolutely fantastic game. It's the game that first got me interested in poker when playing with my family about 10 years ago. Still play a fair bit of it on stars and the standard is v v v poor (Once saw a person limp in 1st position, call a raise, and then change 4 cards!)

Have also recently reintroduced it into the dealers choice in our home game along with a few other fairly unknown games (BTW, i advise any of you that have never heard of a game called East Village to look up and learn it, it truely is the game of the gods)

Would love to find a game of 5 card in one of the card clubs up north :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 571 ✭✭✭smoothcall

lol East Village sounds absolutely insane

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

But one night he lost all his earnings + his motorbike, when he was obviously hustled by a group of card sharks who fixed the deck.

Obviously. Serves him right as well for presuming farmers are eejits.

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭JamieCarra

smoothcall wrote: »
    lol East Village sounds absolutely insane

It really is!
    East Village

East Village[1] is a modification of Omaha high-low split.
    Each player is dealt seven hole cards. The player then discards two of these cards, not to be used until the next hand. Then, with 5 hole cards left in his hand, each player "donates" one of his cards. All the players "donation" cards are kept face down, and the dealer "shuffles" these cards with a scramble. The dealer then adds cards from the stub until there are a total of 7 donation cards. The dealer then "shuffles" these seven cards with a scramble. 5 of these cards will then make up the three card flop, the one card turn, and the one card river. 2 of these cards will remain face down, and thus unused.
    All betting takes place as in Omaha, and the game is played high-low split with the 8-or-better qualifier.
    Each player plays the best five-card hand he can make from exactly two of his hole cards plus three of the five community cards.
    This game is best played with seven players. If it is played with less than seven players, extra cards must be pulled from the stub to be added to the community cards, so that there are always seven community cards. Note that there are no "burn cards" used in this game.

Personally, I think it works better when played as ordinary PLO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

They have to start spreading that game in casinos, it really does look amazing...