Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Michael Crichton - R.I.P.

Options
  • 06-11-2008 11:01am
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭

October 23, 1942 – November 4, 2008

This sad news must have got lost in the furor of the US elections.
    I'm posting this here as I was a big fan, and from what I can gather MC was a non-believer.
    I studied anthropology in college, and one of the things I learned was that certain human social structures always reappear. They can't be eliminated from society. One of those structures is religion. Today it is said we live in a secular society in which many people---the best people, the most enlightened people---do not believe in any religion. But I think that you cannot eliminate religion from the psyche of mankind. If you suppress it in one form, it merely re-emerges in another form. You can not believe in God, but you still have to believe in something that gives meaning to your life, and shapes your sense of the world. Such a belief is religious.

He also had some really interesting views of Environmentalism as a religion, which anyone who has read State of Fear would have noted.
    Today, one of the most powerful religions in the Western World is environmentalism. Environmentalism seems to be the religion of choice for urban atheists. Why do I say it's a religion? Well, just look at the beliefs. If you look carefully, you see that environmentalism is in fact a perfect 21st century remapping of traditional Judeo-Christian beliefs and myths.

More on wiki.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex