Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Match Thread: Arsenal V Manchester United(Pre/During/After Match Discussion)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

6 minutes injury time :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭genericgoon

RAFAAAAAAAAAAELLLLLLLLLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!!

2-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

6 minutes

My prediction: 3-2 United

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Haha, can see United levelling this now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Lovely goal. Hit it really cleanly.

I especially liked Clichy's "pretend to defend it by vaguely flicking your head at it but pulling away so you dont get hurt"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,072 ✭✭✭✭event

He had a case for a free, but the ref allow play to go on. Then when Nasri got into the area, he blatantly dived.

Good refereeing.
    no it wasn't. Vidic pulled his shirt outside the area but he played on and just went down inside.
    D.S. wrote: »
    Yea I did. Yea he was tugging the shirt, but he only hit the deck cos he felt it. He could easily stayed on his feet IMO..
    there was nothing that could be called a pull on the inside. outside yes, but Nasri played on then just went down when it became apparent he;'d put the ball too far ahead of himself.

yeah, he dived, but that doesnt matter

unless you are actually blind, you can see he pulled his jersey INSIDE the box
    that is a penalty, end of story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭joe316

Did you see the face of Neville when he scored the goal, Rooney was jumping up and down. Great club man Gary, take it like a man that your time has gone.

****e bal from Fab to Nicklas there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭ironingbored

Great finish. Thorougly undeserved though. 6 minutes extra time? were there 12 subs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭D.S.

Great finish. Thorougly undeserved though. 6 minutes extra time? were there 12 subs?

Down to the amount of time treating almunia due to Carricks challenge..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

carrick has been so disappointing

really bad game from him today

Almunias head injury

carrick has been so disappointing

really bad game from him today

+ 1 - I don't he is providing any real presence in midfield at the moment..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I'd say most of it was due to Almunia being down. Although strange I think it was fair to give 6 mins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

Equalize equalize equalize!!!

foul on tevez there

silvestre all over him

Bendtner you ****ing donkey
    Definitely should have passed to Fab...

I think this is a Wenger victory more than anything. Playing 4-5-1 was tactically spot on, they just had too much of the ball in midfield and outplayed United.

Bendtner is garbage by the way!

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,049 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

How can you say that it has not been deserved. United have dominated the second half. As for the six mins, you obviously havent been watching this whole match. 6 subs and the keeper been down for nearly 4 mins:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Arsenal are back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :pac:

Utd are rubbish away to top teams ;)

Mike

****ING YES!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

Fack..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Beau x1

YES! Well done Nasri. Well ****ing done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭Chong

Shocking Shocking Shocking Shocking!

One good thing about today is Rafa thats it.

Well done Arsenal.

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Trizo

mike65 wrote: »
    Arsenal are back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :pac:

Utd are rubbish away to top teams ;)

Mike

well they have played them all away and all after european nights so ......
    it will benifit us in the second half of the season

**** it any way

sir alex's fault totally

the timing of the subs and subs that came on ridiculous

except raf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Fair play Arsenal, I thought they were a lame duck at this stage. Bad performances and key injuries/suspensions. I didn't see it so i've no idea if they deserved it :D Off to watch highlights now...

Time to get Nasri into the fantasy team :p

Great game though.

Poor performance for me by United - we are leaking goals at the moment.. where is the defence of last season???

Major difference? Gary Neville... was v poor.. as was Carrick. Rooney had an off day.

Not the end of the world this result but a kick in the balls all the same..

Fergie will not be pleased...

EDIT: Where was Berba today??

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,049 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Well done to the Arsenal lads on here today, nice bunch of lads. Great win for your team. United deserved their goal atleast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,101 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

excellent game of football though, really impressed with Arsenal, expected them to lose today but they looked the better team and played the more incisive football right up till the last 10mins, and even then only bad decision making stopped them getting another. Bendtners selfishness messed up 2 great chances. Nasri looks excellent, has fallen in with the rest of the team beautifully.

On another note, when i see Rafael playing like that it makes me more unhappy that Insua hasn't really gotten his chance with Pool, given that we're not the strongest at LB.

Aquos76 wrote: »
    Well done to the Arsenal lads on here today, nice bunch of lads. Great win for your team. United deserved their goal atleast.

yap well done Arsenal lads

it was a great match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Well done Arsenal

GOOD GOOD GAME

Back in a day or two
    off to kick the dog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Arsenal are a real joy to watch they always play positive football. Well done but Utd will be back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,014 ✭✭✭✭titan18

How can they play Carrick and Anderson over Fletcher,who wasn't even on the bench.Bringing on Giggs ffs.What the f*ck is Ferguson doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

WENGER OUT! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

D.S. wrote: »
    As a United fan, I have to say there is definitely a big gap between the hype around Anderson and the type of player he actually is. He was brought in and the hype suggested he was going to be another scholes type attacking midfielder with all the tricks..

The truth is he a solid box to box midfielder with a good range of passing ability. Performance wise he has had a few great performances but he is nowhere near the league of Lampard, Gerrard, Fabregas & co yet for me, though on occasion he has played better than these players in individual games..

A good player with great potential..but for me overhyped a little..

Very fair summary, thanks for taking the time to give your perspective!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭Chong

Totally agree!

Well done lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭genericgoon

Very interesting game. Could've gone either way on the respective performances tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭ghouldaddy07

Bah congradulations arsenal.

At the end of the day they took their chances and we didnt.
    Proud of the preformance Rafa put in, he seemed like the only player on the pitch who felt we could get somthing and then backed it up with a goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Horrible result as a United fan. Great match though.

Webb should be hauled up in front of a press conference to explain Carrick's booking though.

Aquos76 wrote: »

+ 1 - Well done Arsenal - great game of football no doubt...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

United now just one point better than Arsenal's situation before today. Are we gonna hear for a week on Sky about people wanthing Ferguson out?

On topic, gwan the Arsenal! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,792 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Arsenal were good but there was a lot of missed placed passes today, e.g trying difficult through balls and losing possession.

United weren't at the races though, on another day they might have punished those mistakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Yes! So so relieved afer that. What a great game though, Nasri's second and Rafaels goal were quality. Few dodgy decisions from the ref, like carricks booking:confused:, but overall think arsenal just about deserved it for being able to take their chances.

oh and
    Des wrote: »
    You are only saying that just in case United lose.

But you know in your heart that they won't. They will easily overcome Arsenal tomorrow.

Nice one Des;)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

My nerves are absolutely shot :D can't wait until Football First tonight so I can enjoy it, we showed great character today, knew it would be our day today.

Your man Rafael looks to be some player. Great Acquisition.

My dad (Leeds) said it was the most exciting game of football he's watched in a long time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Fair played to the Arsenal, earned that win fair and square!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

amacachi wrote: »
    United now just one point better than Arsenal's situation before today. Are we gonna hear for a week on Sky about people wanthing Ferguson out?

On topic, gwan the Arsenal! :D

But at start of the season Arsenal had the easiest first 12 games, United the toughest.

titan18 wrote: »
    How can they play Carrick and Anderson over Fletcher,who wasn't even on the bench.Bringing on Giggs ffs.What the f*ck is Ferguson doing?

Fletch injured supposedly..