Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Noxy Awards

• 07-11-2008 7:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭

Its near the end of the year, so that means the first annual Noxy Awards!

We've thought up some categories,but feel free to suggest your own.

Each winner gets a trophy depicting Noxcat and Lysander attacking the sun*

so without further ado, heres some categories, get posting ^_^

heres some categories to start ye off :)

King of the night
    :

Queen of the night:

Best thread:

Mod of the year:

Best moment/event:

Most loveable rogue(s):

Best quote
    :

*may not exist IRL, thanks to kharn and orestes, for the original idea and this one respectively.
    terms and conditions apply.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Don't think the Lair should be able to win 'Thread of the year'

King of the night:Random Chatbox

Queen of the night:Alicat

Best thread:Quotes from a night out

Mod of the year:SDooM

Best moment/event:?? need to think about this one

Most loveable rogue(s):Randylonghorn

Best quote
    :
    meh...lotta multi purpose stuff out there
    vasaline has to be the best though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Fantastic idea!

King of the night: SDooM

Queen of the night: MizzLolly/Lolly22

Best thread: The Lair

Mod of the year: SDooM

Best moment/event: The Nocturnal War- paper-man-o you bastards!:mad::p

Most loveable rogue(s): Randylonghorn

Best quote
    : It's difficult to pinpoint a quote that I think everyone loved so I'm just going to vote for a quote that was relevant to me;

Randylonghorn on me backing away from Ais loving some Steps and Venga Boys;

"I'd keep an eye over your shoulder while you're backing up, LZ, with that lot in the house ...! :pac:"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

King of the night: Koth

Queen of the night: Lolly22

Best thread: Iconic Character Tournament (by LZ5by5)

Mod of the year: SDoom

Best moment/event: Successfully repelling the BGRH invasion.

Most loveable rogue(s): MizzLolly & Helena.Ryan

Best quote: I actually don't remember the exact quote, but that weird thing SDoom said in Kennedy's that freaked the waitress out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

King of the night: Orestes

Best thread: The Lair/Iconic Character Tournament

Mod of the year: SDoom

Best moment/event: winning the battle against BGRH.

Most loveable rogue(s): Alicat, emo & Lolly22

Best quote:
    Galvasean wrote: »
    Best quote: I actually don't remember the exact quote, but that weird thing SDoom said in Kennedy's that freaked the waitress out.

sdoom: i want to f*ck the sun! (in the porterhouse)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I think all of the nocturnal mods are worthy of the award TBH.
    watna, orestes, Kharn, SDooM, Nerin, Karoma
    All of them are some of the best mods on boards.
    Im not around the nocturnal forum enough to comment with authority on much else. But I reckon it should be some sort of collective trophy. Filled with Moet and Chandon, served on a platter of cocaine by copious amounts of hookers.

• Moderators Posts: 51,881 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

King of the night:random chatbox

Queen of the night:lolly22/emo

Best thread:iconic horror character tournament

Mod of the year:sdoom

Best moment/event:the nocturnal war (steve_o pics:D)

Most loveable rogue(s):randylonghorn

Best quote:Only recent but still great stuff.:)
    Teutorix : "oh nothing much really, just nursing my finger back to health. Just a really bad sprain. My ass was tighter than i expected XD (Just messin', it was a football.)"

Spoonbadger : "Wait.... was it a football that broke your finger, or that got shoved up your.... :pac:"

Teutorix : What would ya say if it was both? :pac: :pac:

Randylonghorn : That you're no further use to him ...? >_>

If you can read this, you're too close!

I think all of the nocturnal mods are worthy of the award TBH.
    watna, orestes, Kharn, SDooM, Nerin, Karoma
    All of them are some of the best mods on boards.
    Im not around the nocturnal forum enough to comment with authority on much else. But I reckon it should be some sort of collective trophy. Filled with Moet and Chandon, served on a platter of cocaine by copious amounts of hookers.

*slurp* :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Kya1976

King of the night:hmmmm so many.....I'll go with SDoom and Nerin

Queen of the night:emo

Best thread:The Lair

Best moment/event:

Most loveable rogue(s):emo

Best quote
    :
    I'll update later.....

Kya1976 wrote: »
    [
    Best thread:The Liar

Awesome typo. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

King of the night: Anon Joe - for epic posting in the Lair

Queen of the night: Aisling - see above;)

Best thread: Iconic Horror Character Tournament

Mod of the year: orestes, for surviving DooM's shotgun, takola and much more :p

Best moment/event: Dont mention it...but... The War what we won!! :D

Most loveable rogue(s): randylonghorn and Chatbox! (who else;))

Best quote
    : (I'll get back to this later.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

King of the night: Koth!!

Best thread: the lair

Mod of the year: arrrrghhh nerin or cookie , i cant choose!!

Best moment/event: (shall come back to this!!)

Most loveable rogue(s): chatbox!! or A jay

Best quote: Koth has so many , i need to go search em all!

I <3 all ye guys RUFFFLEESS!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

King of the night: Nerin

Queen of the night: aoibheann/aisling/mizz lolly (i'm sorry I haven't chosen one)

Best thread: The Lair / Quotes from Nights out

Best moment/event: Nocturnal beers - hobnobbing transformers

Most loveable rogue(s): CuLT for name changing :D, randylonghorn,

Best quote: TBC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

King of the night: Koth

Queen of the night: mizz lolly (coz I <3 her :))

Best moment/event: Um, ah, Oh when Orestes nickname caught on (Hi Cookie :p)

Most loveable rogue(s): Galvasean,

Best quote: I'll get back with this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭lolly22

King of the night: chatbox/Koth

Queen of the night: Pclip or Emo

Best thread: the lair

Mod of the year: Orestes

Best moment/event:Happy Fridays *hugs Koth*

Most loveable rogue(s):Koth,Lz,Emo,Pclip,Joe,gramesbond,galva,aisling,chatbox,orestes,alicat,mizzlolly,
    randy,smileypaul,lovelytom,bryn,sdoom,nerin,kya,spoonbadger,thaed,takola.....the list goes on(pretty much anyone i meet here):)

Best quote: Let me think:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Jeez, just saw this! ^_~

King of the night
    : Chatbox

Queen of the night: Nerin Aisling

Best thread: This l'il baby ... :)

Mod of the year: Tough one, in fairness, but I'm going to go for SDooM ...

Best moment / event : Hmmm, need to think about that one.

Most loveable rogue(s): Chatbox / animan

Best quote
    : God, so many many I've forgotten, but for the moment I'll go with Fey referring to the large hardon collider:
    I was disappointed. I wanted to wake up this morning in a black hole!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

I just can't let this thread go unposted in (according to Galvasean) and not without Aisling running away with the best quote title.

Best Quote: Aisling: ''ha i had a cock on my face before!''

That wins hands down!:cool:

Proof: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=57480802&postcount=50915 ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 690 ✭✭✭CO19

King of the night: KOTH (has to be ;) )

Queen of the night: Lolly22 (again has to be :) )

Best thread: The Lair of course what else :p

Best moment/event: Gotta have a hard think about this one :confused:

Most loveable rogue(s):Chatbox :p

Best quote:Something from Koth :D

I remember my quote nomination!

SDoom: "I wanna f#ck the sun!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

excellent.
    ok gang, to make this easier to count at the end, can we keep it just the nominations, we can discuss the funnies in the lair :)

*snips with big scissors*

I'm stealing cough borrowing some categories from other forums. Feel free to do the same. Best sig and or avatar

Nerin wrote: »
    I'm stealing cough borrowing some categories from other forums. Feel free to do the same. Best sig and or avatar

Is there a sig - avatar combo symmetry award?

Galvasean wrote: »
    Is there a sig - avatar combo symmetry award?

Sure why not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

best sig: spoonbadger by a mile!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭lolly22

best sig: spoonbadger by a mile!

+1 :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

best sig; spoonbadger- it's what drew me to the chap in the first place!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭patrickc

King of the night[/B]: Nerin

Queen of the night: Aisling

Best thread: the lair (about the only one i visit)

Mod of the year: watna

Best moment/event: cant think off hand

Most loveable rogue(s): lolly22

Best quote
    : dunno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,435 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

MizzLolly wrote: »
    I just can't let this thread go unposted in (according to Galvasean) and not without Aisling running away with the best quote title.

Best Quote: Aisling: ''ha i had a cock on my face before!''

That wins hands down!:cool:

Proof: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=57480802&postcount=50915 ;)

it was drawn on!

not a real one like

King of the night:anonymus joe...hes always here

Queen of the night:lolly 22!:)

[Best thread:the lair or the lol cats

Mod of the year:sdoom he seems to do the most

Best moment/event:the christian bale american psycho conversation in the lair

Most loveable rogue(s):randylonghorn definietly

Best quote:ooh ill get back on this one

King of the night
    : Kharn. Because he is epic

Queen of the night: Star-Pants. for all the crumpets

Best thread: Iconic Horror Character Tournie. Great idea.

Mod of the year: Orestes/Watna. Orestes has put in alot of work, and Watna was usually there behind the scenes. shes a ninja

Best moment/event: The Smashey/Trout attack :D

Best quote
    : Xavi6 "You mean there are actually times when surprise buttsecks should NOT be used?"

Best sig and or avatar: Sig goes to Sdoom for the "Got kettle?" bit.
    Avatar goes to Aoibheann, cuz it was weird the first time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Haven't been around much recently, but from my time here I would have to go with the following:

King of the night: random chatbox

Queen of the night: Aisling(",)

Best thread: I love the late night snack one. Always makes me feel hungry. Which makes me eat. And I like eating. So I like that thread.

(But, of course, they all have lovely bottoms.:P)

Most loveable rogue(s): randylonghorn

Best quote: Not sure about this one, although I did love the recent one with The-Rigger talking about orestes.

It went something along the lines of:
    "Would it be against the charter to call someone a daywalkin cúnt?"
    "Would it be orestes?"
    "It would"

That was hilarious! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Hmmm...

Drunkeness shall help me decide this.

King of the Night Tis a tough call. Half tempted to nominate myself, but then I post shíte usually. Going to go with... Fook it, Orestes. Anyone who can quoute the classics.

Queen of the Night How can I choose between Lolly(s), Emo and Aisling... I think, on the balance of it all, Ash takes Queen. But it's hard to choose.

Best Thread Plenty of great threads, but only one thread has grown so quickly, evolved so fast, and yet stayed so true to what was intended. Yes that;s right, the Manchester United general discuss... Ah fine The Lair. How can anything on boards other than the BGRH bar compete? And it's gaining.

Special shout out for Liz's thread.

Mod. Sdoom. If I had to choose. ;)

Most loveable rogue I don't love myself. :P So it's either Randy, RC, or Emo.

Can't pick the rest. ^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

This thread has made me revise the history of the Nocturnal Forum, all the way from its first mention in the bar in BGRH to right now. I have to say it's been fun. But it makes these decisions very difficult. This is what I've come up with:

King of the night: I think it's got to be Kharn because without him we wouldn't have this haunt of ours. Remember this everyone?

Queen of the night: I can see why people are saying Lolly, Aisling etc but for me it's Alicat. She's always good fun and is liable to come out with some crackers like this little exchange.

Best thread: The one, the only, The Lair.

Mod of the year: It's just got to be SDoom. He's been a great mod, just like all of them to be fair, but his dedication kept the forum request thread going.

Best moment/event: Either Roz's first venture into The Lair. Or else the torture of Orestes which spanned a number of hours and pages of the Lair.

Most loveable rogue(s): Well, the fact that the word rogue is in there means it has to be Impotent Nohorn himself, the king of the double entendres.

Best quote
    : Orestes: I surprise buttseckz someone seven or eight times and all of a sudden you act like it's a habit or something rolleyes.gif

Taken from here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

King of the night
    : It's gotta be Randy. He's just the best.

Queen of the night: star-pants just because of the batgirl outfit in the Know Your Nocturnals thread and also because she is generally kick ass.

Best thread: Has to be the lair!

Mod of the year:Orestes!

Best moment/event: I greatly enjoyed when everyone was feverishly posting trying to get the 10 millionth post and orestes kept encouraging us to post faster and it was like a giant posting orgy! Oh how i giggled...

Most loveable rogue(s): Emmmm.... em em em... I don't know!

I <3 Nocturnals!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

King of the night: Koth, because he makes me giggle.

Queen of the night: Futurecrook, because she is ACE.

Best thread
    : LOLcats ftw. They are full of win.

Best moment/event: Hmm, I don't think I've been around long enough to know of any really... also am crap at remembering stuff.

Most loveable rogue(s)
    : Onkle. Cos he'll beat me if I don't nominate him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Futurecrook

King of the night: Orestes

Queen of the night: This is a tough one... lolly22 or star pants. Or Shellyboo. All her talk of debauchery has made the lair a better place for everyone. :P *refrains from nominating every female nocturnal even though she wants to*

Best thread: The Lair. Couldnt possibly be anything else.

Mod of the year: Oh noes... dilemna. Sdoom, Orestes or Nerin...

Best moment/event: Cant decide... I shall come back to it. Although possibly all the discussion of comedy debauchery as of late... :D

Most loveable rogue(s): Randy! Without a doubt. As someone else said, king of the double entendre.

Best quote
    : Again, cant decide...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,011 ✭✭✭cHaTbOx

King of the night:Randylonghorn ,not for epic postiing in the lair but he is one serious night owl which is what the forum is about.
    Queen of the night:Same with Aisling(",) serious night owl like myself and Randy .
    King of the lair: Koth /Anon joe .Used to be me and then SDoom but these two are a very welcoming bunch
    Queen of the lair:Again join lolly22/emo!!Used to be aisling then mizzlolly but theses girls are very welcoming and very lovely.
    Best thread:obviously it has to be LZ5by5 "horror" thread ,credit where credit is due that was fupping excellent
    Mod of the year:Don't like this award .Wanta is more a backseat mod a doesn't show her face as much but she definitely is doing a good job and is doing the duties when other mods have collapsed .I would give it to Orestes though as he is as tough but fair on everyone and has had to step back a bit from having as much fun in the forum
    Best moment of the week:Friday morning with Koth and Emo!! brightens my day up and that has to be it.:)I also like when Crumble Froo comes into convos with lyrics
    Best moment/event:There has been so many I would say every night there is loads of fun and it's such a great atmosphere so much imagination and idea bouncing when some posters come together.
    So I would say they are all the best moments.From when there is epic laughter to when people need cheering up need a bit of concern
    Most loveable rogue(s): Well randy is like a dirty old uncle aint he but I think everyone has there moments and if I wnt through wveryone like I usually would ,I would have such a massive list that I wouldn't be ready to go out tonight
    Best quote:See quotes thread . Aisling is too easy to give the best quote to but I think you have to.:)

I hate making list like this because you all deserve an award (they're fuppin imaginary for gods sake:pac:) Everyone is really nice and it is a pleasure to have you all posting in a forum like this .
    To p!ss a few people off :D:

Merry Christmas
    christmas_joy_warms_the_heart_santa_claus_frosty_snowman.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭Moonspell

King of the night: Chatbox

Queen of the night: This one is "wrecking" my brain *women*

Best thread: Iconic Horror Character Tourn. (thou I haven't been there much is a great idea)

Mod of the year: Orestes (NOT just coz I said I would ;))

Best moment/event: Trout & Smachey attact (and to think I had something to do with the start of it :cool:)

Best quote
    : SDoom "I want to f**k the sun" (I was there, saw it happen live :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

King of the night: Either Joe or Scatbox

Queen of the night: Aisling :D

Best thread: The Lair or the Nocturnal Nerds thread - just to remind me I'm not alone!

Mod of the year: Otestes :p

Best moment/event: BGRH invasion - that was hilarious :D

Most loveable rogue(s): Randylonghorn - for pure In-Your-Endo

Best quote: Aisling -
    "head feels like a bubble...mouth feels like ive been licking carpet...eyes on fire"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭SmileyPaul

King of the night: SDooM

Queen of the night: MizzLolly/Lolly22

Best moment/event: em.... *shrugs* :S

Most loveable rogue(s): gotta say lovely/ sleepy tom there :P

Best quote
    : dunno but galvasean has made me lol quite a lot :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭spoonbadger

Hmmm, so many choices....

King of the night: Mmmmm,either Chatters,Koth or AJ,but there's so many others!! :).

Queen of the night:Oh,toughy but i'd go for Emo, Lolly, Ais or Kirby. *dilemma*

Best thread:Noxy awards (Paradox!! swoosh!!)

Mod of the year:I cant decide this!!. They all deserve buckets of gratitude.

Best moment/event:Had to have been the christian bale/transformers-porn night in the lair. Twas an odd time...

Most loveable rogue(s):Randy and galvasean (i still occasionally remember the valley-of-penises incident, galv ya fecker!!)

Best quote:Mmmm,need more time for this.

Best sig:Goes to ali, just because her purple parsnip quote always puts me in a good mood :D.

Best avatar:Galv for epic symmetry!!

Category votes over.

sig and avatar votes not going through because of lack of votes.

better luck next year :pac: