Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish dont like Obama

• Registered Users Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

longlearie wrote: »
    I just think that most Irish people are very racist,if hilary clinton had won ,she would have had very similar policies to Obama's and yet there would have been massive celebration and no mention of her shortcomings or challenges she would face.There over 1 million illegal irish in the US(undocumented they call them) and they are very likely to have papers under an Obama government but the issue of outsourcing surfaced few days before elections when I think it became unbearably obvious Obama was going to win and this is the first country I know where every successful person automatically has Irish ancestry.

I read on skynews today that Obama would not have won in the Uk ,thats would be an understatement in Ireland as not in a million years would immigrants be fairly treated. What do ye think?

Thats rediculous - nearly everybody I know and the media supported Obama. Where are you and the OP getting the idea ireland is anti-obama?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

Lads, longlearie is simply a troll. The fact that he's not even replied proves it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

Woops, I got in trouble for that post for some reason?:confused: Calling the guy who said that "most Irish people are very racist" who then copies and pastes the same stuff into other threads a troll, is what did it I'm guessing?

Well okay I didnt know that would get me into trouble. :o

Sorry longlearie.

I await your reply anyways.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭dave2pvd

There over 1 million illegal irish in the US(undocumented they call them)

Have we timewarped back to 1983?

1 million - are you including the dead?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭all the stars

I have noticed that most Irish people are not happy that Obama won the election.I watched Brian Cowen congratulate Obama as if he was in mourning ,and from most comments I have read ,it seems to me that a lot of Irish people are very sad he won.I heard a TV 3 newscaster saying he was sure the media would turn on Obama in a few weeks time....he has not even assumed office yet....Do you agree with me ?

im irish.
    i like Obama.

The Irish people are a nation of begrudgers (apperantly)- we dont like most people :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭buynow

dave2pvd wrote: »
    Have we timewarped back to 1983?

1 million - are you including the dead?

I agree 1 million is a ridiculous figure, I think I saw somewhere that it there is something like 10,000 illegal irish in the states.

I also don't think Ireland should be spending political capital in the states for such a small number of people.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭Syferus

taconnol wrote: »
    He's pissed off because he knows that Obama's policy is to reduce outsourcing of jobs and he won't be able to hide our complete lack of indigenous industry for much longer.

Plus he's probably jealous that Obama is so popular and has energy and a vision. I bet he ring Bertie every night, crying and asking him to come back.

As most of the marque names in Ireland use Ireland as their European HQs any suggestion that these companies would decide ''Naw, feck it, Europeans are just socialist poor people'' and leave the country is absurd. We have a coperation tax system that has fueled this investment, something that has not changed and in today's climate that just makes us a better option for high tech investment.
    The suggestion Obama will be damaging to Ireland, too, is absurd.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

im irish.
    i like Obama.

The Irish people are a nation of begrudgers (apperantly)- we dont like most people :)

that's one of my pet hates that phrase - "nation of begrudgers"

the only people who ever employ it are the terminally vulgar when they feel affronted by the existence of people with taste.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Kazaap

There werent many countries outside the US that didnt support Obama. The ones that supported McCain were usally south east asian or eastern europeon, because he didnt like them there communists and he werent afraid to say it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭Cronus333

I was sorry to see Obama win, but he did, and I hope he does a fantastic job because we need him to.

I'd hope Obama supporters would say the same if McCain won.

(Should be noted I'm a very, very liberal student -it's great being an electoral anomaly!)