Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Legalising prostitution

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Roooiiiggghht............ not much I can say to that really......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Jakkass wrote: »

Disagree with you totally in that respect. The State should be interested in protecting family values. I'm a bit controversial in my opinions of adultery, but I personally think if you violate a legal contract it should be punishable by imprisonment.

In a state wedding do you sign a contract saying you won't f*ck anyone else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

I simply dont see the problem with it.

Wouldnt pay for sex meself but i know of a few people who coiuld just do with a good fcuking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Dave! wrote: »
    Roooiiiggghht............ not much I can say to that really......

Well, the conditions for divorce in ireland are
    • The parties must have been living apart from one another for a period amounting to four out of the previous five years before the application is made.
    • There must be no reasonable prospect of reconciliation.
    • Proper arrangements must have been made or will be made for the spouse and any dependent members of the family such as children of either party and other relatives.

So there is no onus on the state to stop people sleeping around, only to facilitate the dissolving of the legal arrangment of marriage if it meets the conditions above. Why there is no prospect of reconcilliation is for the couple to decide, not the law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

It's a terrible idea, state sponsoring of the treatment of humans as mere sexual objects. Would very probably also be used by people to commit adultery against their spouses.

What is wrong with a man looking at a woman, admiring her beauty and feminism, and wanting to have sex with her?

The sexual aspects of a woman are not negative things; it is utterly natural for a male to be sexual attracted to a woman based on simple things such as her face, tits and ass, and it is also natural to want to have sex with a woman due to those things.

Sex is natural, healthy and positive. Men and women having sex is a good thing. You may not personally like the concept of having sex with a stranger, but lots of women don't feel that way; they do not have the issues with sex or their body. They are happy to use sex to their advantage.
    Jakkass wrote:
    Would very probably also be used by people to commit adultery against their spouses. [/size]

If a man cheats on his wife, the problem isn't prostitution.

EDIT: OK, I can see from your blog that you're a teenage Christian. That means we're probably the exact opposite of each other, so I'm gonna bow out of this right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

They've had huge success in Stockholm with harsher police measures on prostitution. Granted it's not eradicated the rates are far far lower than before.

Disagree with you totally in that respect. The State should be interested in protecting family values. I'm a bit controversial in my opinions of adultery, but I personally think if you violate a legal contract it should be punishable by imprisonment.

Feck it, lets go the full way with your idea, bring back stoning, mutilate thieves and kill adulterers.
    I know, its them dam wimmins fault if they are raped, lets make them wear a veil to cover their faces.

I for one welcome the state intervention in my private affairs. Bring back the priest in the discos to stop anyone dancing too close.

Amen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

Kold wrote: »
    In a state wedding do you sign a contract saying you won't f*ck anyone else?

If it's not there already it should be there for the sake of common decency. You enter into a marriage for a reason. That reason should be to commit yourself to your spouse until separation or death. If you want to have other relations outside of marriage, it's only right and proper that you should dissolve that marriage. Treating your partner as one to be cheated on is morally abhorrent and should be seen that way in legislation. That is if we want to keep marriage as something to be respected in this country.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Disagree with you totally in that respect. The State should be interested in protecting family values. I'm a bit controversial in my opinions of adultery, but I personally think if you violate a legal contract it should be punishable by imprisonment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

If it's not there already it should be there for the sake of common decency. You enter into a marriage for a reason. That reason should be to commit yourself to your spouse until separation or death. If you want to have other relations outside of marriage, it's only right and proper that you should dissolve that marriage. Treating your partner as one to be cheated on is morally abhorrent and should be seen that way in legislation. That is if we want to keep marriage as something to be respected in this country.
    What if it's not cheating? What if one's spose is ok with their other half going to a prostitute?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

AARRRGH wrote: »
    Prostitution is legal in Ireland.

Soliciting prostitution on the street, managing prostution and advertising prostitution are illegal.

That means if a prostitute works for herself, from her own home, and advertises her services on a non-Irish website, it is legal for both the punter and prostitute.

If the man and woman want to have sex, it is none of our business, whether or not money changes hands.

quote from wiki, though numerous escorts have been deported (EU citizens and all) over the last few years by the gardai
    Prostitution itself is not an offence under Irish law. However, the Criminal Law (Sexual Offences) Act of 1993 prohibits soliciting or importuning another person in a street or public place for the purpose of prostitution (This offence applies to prostitute and client.). It also prohibits loitering for the purpose of prostitution, organizing prostitution by controlling or directing the activities of a person in prostitution, coercing one to practice prostitution for gain, living on earnings of the prostitution of another person, and keeping a brothel or other premises for the purpose of prostitution. Advertising brothels and prostitution is prohibited by the Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act of 1994. 18 is the minimum legal age for a prostitute in Ireland (Child prostitution Legislation exists to protect persons under this age.). The Criminal Law (Trafficking in Persons and Sexual Offences) Bill 2006 recently came into force making trafficking in persons for the purpose of their sexual exploitation a specific offence, though previous legislation already covered much of this area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

Caoimhín wrote: »
    Bring back the priest in the discos to stop anyone dancing too close.

Amen

there was actually a priest in discos before for that purpose?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

Caoimhín wrote: »
    Feck it, lets go the full way with your idea, bring back stoning, mutilate thieves and kill adulterers.
    I know, its them dam wimmins fault if they are raped, lets make them wear a veil to cover their faces.

I for one welcome the state intervention in my private affairs. Bring back the priest in the discos to stop anyone dancing too close.

Amen

Well considering I don't believe in the death penalty I wouldn't consider that. I'm a second chance person for all criminals, prison should be a place of rehabilitation, and people should become useful to society after being put there, and most importantly realise the gravity of what they have done. The fact that adultery is treated as "okay" in many Western societies is just appalling in my opinion.

rossie1977 wrote: »
    quote from wiki, though numerous escorts have been deported (EU citizens and all) and brothels raided over the last few years by the gardai

So you're agreeing with me, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

After being in Germany recent enough, I think it should be legal.

The buildings the girls were in are very safe. There is a security room down stairs watching the halls and stairwells via CCTV (watch out RTDH). AFAIK the girls have a panic button in their rooms as well.

While me and the groups of lads were touring the place, we seen several visits by police to check on things with the security room. Clients looked like regular Joe Soaps.

I wouldn't say all the girls were good looking, some were to certain tastes, but they all seemed clean and no signs of needle marks. Just looked like regular sales people in a shop tbh except they were semi naked.

If it was made legal, all i can suggest would be to have a lift in the buildings. Those fcuking stairs in those buildings. Don't know how anyone had the energy to roide one of them after climbing those stairs.

AARRRGH wrote: »
    So you're agreeing with me, right?

what you said is correct but the gardai's definition of the law seems to change when and where they like.

its seems street prostitution is illegal, advertising prostitution is illegal, solicitation by either the client or the prostitute is illegal, having a brothel is illegal but yet prostitution itself is legal, i can't figure out what would be considered legal

The solicitation has to be on the street for it to be illegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Supermanscat

Has anyone any idea how much the prostitution industry is worth in Ireland every year?

about twice what the cinema industry is worth i suspect, at least those were the finding of the uk industry in 2001

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭Tawny

In Barcelona, there was a big campaign for prostitution to be (semi) legalised.

The irony was the campaign wasnt run by prostitutes, who, on the whole, wanted more to be done to help them get out of prostitution, rather than keep them in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Definitely should be legalised, as long as there'd be adequate protection for the prostitutes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

If it was made legal, all i can suggest would be to have a lift in the buildings. Those fcuking stairs in those buildings. Don't know how anyone had the energy to roide one of them after climbing those stairs.

Perhaps they were being ridden. Sounds like a good lunch hour . . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I don't think legalising prostitution would compromise a marriage any more than it already was. There are not many men who would leave their wives for a prostitute. Nor would they have kids with them. It's just sex, thats all they are getting. Scratching an itch....however if a man decides to scratch that itch and have an affair, he is more likely to develop feelings for the affairee, and/or she the same.
    Prostitution cuts out the complicated emotion bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Given that it's semi legal already the government might as well get some revenue out of it.

I guess the first thing to do with the revenue would be pay for the cervical cancer vaccine;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Tawny wrote: »
    In Barcelona, there was a big campaign for prostitution to be (semi) legalised.

The irony was the campaign wasnt run by prostitutes, who, on the whole, wanted more to be done to help them get out of prostitution, rather than keep them in it.
    God yeah, that's an interesting perspective. I suppose in these discussions nobody actually asks the prostitutes themselves...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Sir Humphrey

We don't know the real numbers of people trafficed here
    or the numbers of people that disappeared
    and we all know that the people in control are not the sort you'd invite around for tea

masage parlours / lapdancing clubs / escorts - these are well dodgy anyway

what we need to do is remove the pimps and other parasites , if someone wants / feels they have no option but to sell their body that's one thing, but exploiting another person doing it is another

maybe something like red light districts where the girls rent rooms and the building owner gets no cut apart from rent. regular health testing and all the stuff that works in places like Holland, Germany and New Zealand

Prostitution is going to happen, best to make sure there is no exploitation , trafficking or people having to do many more tricks than they need to because they only get a tiny cut

The best way to avoid exploitation is to keep organisation of prostitution banned. This gives the authorities the power to actually do something in a manner that can be policed.

The idea that the state can legalise prostitution - and see it mushroom like never before - yet intervene to ensure that contracts between a pimp and a hooker are such that she is doing much better than 'getting a tiny cut' is laughably idealistic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭Sir Humphrey

Dave! wrote: »

it's not the state's responsibility to ensure people remain loyal to their spouse

While the idea would turn the stomach of the fundamentalist libertarians among us this is, in fact, debatable.

In the constitution the state 'pledges itself to guard with special care the institution of marraiage on which the family is founded, and to protect it agaisnt attack'.

While obviously only a minority - who will naturally be written off as nutters - really cares less about this sort of thing, I would suggest that there are reasonable interpretations of this article of the constitution which are in direct conflict with your statement.

Now, since you identify yourself as the polar opposite of someone here who describes themselves as a Christian, obviously I will not enter into a debate on it - I will leave those on the extremes to their own opinions. But you might need to acquaint yourself with the actual official role of the state before you tell us what it is or isn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Censorsh!t

Stekelly wrote: »
    It's not just women that can be prostitutes.
    Exactly. Take Patrick "Pussy" Braden for example:p