Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Forum Awards 2008 - The Nominees

• 11-11-2008 4:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭

Ok the list of categories is confirmed. This thread will be used to gather nominees for each one. Copy and paste the list below and add a person for each one.

Most Biased Poster -

Most Likely To Be Banned In 2009 -

Best Poster -

Most Successful Shit Stirrer of the Year -

Thread of the Year -

Funniest Moment/Post of the Year -

Services To Irish Football -

Rant of the Year -

Best Newcomer -

Poster Who Always Defends The Indefensible -

Poster Who Left Too Early -

Ideally there will be 5 people up for each award so hopefully we will get a good spread of nominees. If more than 5 are nominated then the 5 most chosen will go forward for the category

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Most Biased Poster - Will say Mr. Alan

Best Poster - Xavi6. I like reading his posts.

Most Successful **** Stirrer of the Year -

Thread of the Year - CL Final: United vs Chelsea.

The sh*t hit the fan here! It had everything. Drama, emotion, bans, mockery, baffling comments and some hilarious pics. What more could you want?

Funniest Moment/Post of the Year - gogglebok on Jimmy Magee...

It's spot on about the man and his take on Magee is hilarious. I laughed my arse off when I read that and it still gives me a chuckle. :D

It's the one that came immediately to mind so good luck to him.

Services To Irish Football - Gavin "shels"

Rant of the Year - raemie21 hates cheating footballers. The follow-up deserves a mention too.

Best Newcomer - Delija Sever

Poster Who Always Defends The Indefensible - Boggles. I've come to like it though. :)

Poster Who Left Too Early - Esteban

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Most Biased Poster - Mr. Alan :p

Most Likely To Be Banned In 2009 - bobbysands81

Best Poster - LuckyLloyd

Most Successful Shit Stirrer of the Year - Ntlbell

Thread of the Year - The Manchester Derby :pac:

Funniest Moment/Post of the Year - Glory hunters

Services To Irish Football - OhNoYouDidnt

Rant of the Year - Archimedes

Best Newcomer - monkey9

Poster Who Left Too Early - Homerjay2005

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭Chong

Most Biased Poster - Hobart

Most Likely To Be Banned In 2009 - whatawaster

Best Poster - Neil1984

Most Successful **** Stirrer of the Year - Boggles

Thread of the Year - Go Ahead Eagles before it went private and went downhill

Funniest Moment/Post of the Year - N/a for me

Services To Irish Football - Des

Rant of the Year - Archimedes(http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=57834813&postcount=233)

Best Newcomer - Delija Sever ( No doubt Crvena Zveda)

Poster Who Always Defends The Indefensible - MayorDenis

Poster Who Left Too Early - The Muppet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

Most Biased Poster - Mr. Liverpool Alan :pac:

Best Poster - Very tough one, but Xavi gets the nod for me. :)

Most Successful **** Stirrer of the Year -

Thread of the Year - OTT :cool:

Funniest Moment/Post of the Year - Neil's epic 5000th fail fest :D

Services To Irish Football - Desmond, our Bishop.

Rant of the Year - Possibly me, circa Keegan getting knifed by Dwarf and Fat controller. :mad:

Best Newcomer - alanmurphy83

Poster Who Always Defends The Indefensible - Again, possibly me, Re: Barton. :o

Poster Who Left Too Early - Estie :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Most Biased Poster - Mr. Alan

the only one who stands out at the moment :pac:

i'll think of more when i have some time. what's the deadline on these nominations?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

For now:

Best Poster - Des

Most Successful **** Stirrer of the Year - Ntlbell

Services To Irish Football - OhNoYouDidnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

For now.

Most Biased Poster - MR Alan

Most Likely To Be Banned In 2009 - Kryogen (nothing personnal mate , its just more than likely going to happen , track record and all )

Best Poster - LuckyLloyd

Most Successful **** Stirrer of the Year - Thanx 4 The Fish

Thread of the Year - Premiership Player Draft- Discussion

Best Newcomer - Frisbee (if he counts himself as a newbie , then good start Sir )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

OP - A few missed opportunities here on some of these awards imo.

Surely a need for -

Biggest Waffler award - Poster who continually types 100 word posts just to get a small point across.

Most honest poster award - The opposite of Mr.Alan, a poster who can admist he has kak players in his side that shouldnt get within an a$$es roar of the squad and not make ridiculous excuses such as "he works his bollix off, does a great job for the team etc."

Just my 2c :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Sizzler wrote: »

Surely a need for -

Biggest Waffler award - Poster who continually types 100 word posts just to get a small point across.

Most honest poster award - The opposite of Mr.Alan, a poster who can admist he has kak players in his side that shouldnt get within an a$$es roar of the squad and not make ridiculous excuses such as "he works his bollix off, does a great job for the team etc."

Just my 2c :)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055413015

Too Late

i'll think of more when i have some time. what's the deadline on these nominations?

Depends on interest but no more than two weeks. I'd like at least 20 people to contribute.
    Sizzler wrote: »

The public decided the categories, not me. They were the top eleven most voted for categories in the other thread.

Most Biased Poster - Helix

Most Likely To Be Banned In 2009 - Des

Best Poster - Xavi6

Most Successful Shit Stirrer of the Year - I'll come back to this one

Thread of the Year - Off Topic

Funniest Moment/Post of the Year - Spurs/Arsenal thread. When someone linked to the fact that 24hrs after the game was over Spuds had released a DVD celebrating their draw.

Rant of the Year - I'll come back to this one

Best Newcomer - Fairly new myself so no idea

Poster Who Always Defends The Indefensible - Mr. Alan

Poster Who Left Too Early - Estie

Frisbee wrote: »
    Funniest Moment/Post of the Year - Spurs/Arsenal thread. When someone linked to the fact that 24hrs after the game was over Spuds had released a DVD celebrating their draw.

Stopppppp! :o

Why ever so?

Because your flattery is making me blush.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

Most Likely To Be Banned In 2009 - ntlbell (if it doesn't happen this year)

Best Poster - Xavi6 (good honesty in the posts)

Most Successful **** Stirrer of the Year - Ntlbell

Thread of the Year -

Funniest Moment/Post of the Year - The one referencing the Spurs 4-4 dvd. Classic stuff.

Rant of the Year - (tend not to read them)

Best Newcomer - monkey9

Poster Who Always Defends The Indefensible - Mr Alan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

Most Biased Poster - Boggles

Most Likely To Be Banned In 2009 -OhNoIDidNt

Best Poster - PHB

Most Successful Shit Stirrer of the Year - PHB

Thread of the Year - n/a

Funniest Moment/Post of the Year - n/a

Rant of the Year -

Best Newcomer -

Poster Who Always Defends The Indefensible - Boggles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Most Biased Poster - -Boggles

Most Likely To Be Banned In 2009 --BobbySands

Best Poster - -Eze^

Most Successful Shit Stirrer of the Year - -NTLbell

Thread of the Year - -The OT thread, if that doesnt count......then, Liverpool -vs- Utd, where Boggles mystic powers were there for all to see

Funniest Moment/Post of the Year - -Someone asking me to meet to fight at the 5 lamps for a fight

Services To Irish Football - -Des

Rant of the Year - -My own about the proposed additional premierleague match to be played abroad (in fairness if i cant agree with myself, who can i agree with!?)----rant in question; http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=55086560&postcount=143

Best Newcomer - -How long is Charlie Mc Hugh here? i'll go with him if he falls into the bracket.

Poster Who Always Defends The Indefensible - -Xavi

Poster Who Left Too Early - -EstebanCambias :(

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

Most Likely To Be Banned In 2009 -- I have to nominate myself for this I'm walking on eggshells 24/7 in here.

Apologies in advance to Mr Alan as he's a top bloke and he knows i love him really but my nominations will be cruel to him! :pac:

Most Biased Poster - Mr Alan vs Boggles in a Hell in a Cell match for this title!! :P

Most Likely To Be Banned In 2009 - Charlie for posting GIFs of teh bewbs!

Best Poster - eZe^ - I've learned a sh1tload about Barcelona from him

Most Successful Shit Stirrer of the Year - Sorry Al!

Thread of the Year - Off topic, that shouldn't even be debated.

Funniest Moment/Post of the Year - Archimedes!

Rant of the Year - Archimedes, hands down.

Best Newcomer - Frisbee

Poster Who Left Too Early - EstebanCambias, pours to the kerb for our fallen homie!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

can i wear a tux to this awards ceremony?

Mr Alan wrote: »
    can i wear a tux to this awards ceremony?

Absolutely. There was a chap on 365 who wore a suit, bought champagne, and invited friends round when he got to the Champions League Final in FM.

stop visiting that ****ing site Charlie, it'll rot your brain.

Mr Alan wrote: »
    stop visiting that ****ing site Charlie, it'll rot your brain.

But its where all the cool kids go.......:(

Ah no, you just need to know what types of threads/poster to filter out, much like you do on this place. Expand your horizons young Alan, there is a whole other world outside of RAWK and the Official Liverpool Thread.

dont go on RAWK brother or the official site, RAOTL & Boards all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,407 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

To be honest this is the worst fúcking forum on boards. Most of the posters are functionally illiterate.

Nominated for rant of the year.

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Nominated for rant of the year.

But who posted it?

It was deleted overnight by one of the mods who I asked to clear the clutter and leave the thread for nominations only and not idle chat.

That comment was put there by another mod, namely DapperGent.

Most Biased Poster - Mr Alan. Should be called the "Mr. Alan" award from next year on.

Most Likely To Be Banned In 2009 - Archimedes I guess on the evidence of his post at the weekend

Best Poster - eZe^ - football exists outside of the premiership

Most Successful Shit Stirrer of the Year - Boggles

Thread of the Year - Premiership Draft Discussion

Funniest Moment/Post of the Year - The Spurs DVD thing

Services To Irish Football - OhNoYouDidn't

Rant of the Year - DapperGent as quoted above

Poster Who Always Defends The Indefensible - Mr. Kafaerie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

Most Biased Poster - Karmafaerie :pac:

Most Likely To Be Banned In 2009 - One of Esteban's many supposed alternate usernames... :pac:

Best Poster - Neil1984 - contributes so much to every aspect of the forum.

Most Successful Shit Stirrer of the Year - Boggles

Thread of the Year - Off Topic!

Funniest Moment/Post of the Year - Charlie McHugh is always good for a laugh, so one of his man funny moments I guess!

Rant of the Year - Any of Jackdaw's many over the top ridiculous statements about Chelsea F.C.

Poster Who Always Defends The Indefensible - Mr. Alan

Poster Who Left Too Early - Nailz

Best Newcomer - I'm only here around a year so I'm pretty new anyway. Frisbee has been a good contributor recently and is quite new.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

Most Biased Poster - Helix

ahhahahah

someoens never been in the villa thread

Helix wrote: »
    ahhahahah

someoens never been in the villa thread

No the Villa thread is why I nominated you. Once you get set on something you wont let anyone prove you wrong no matter how right they are.
    Ala Gabby Agbonlahor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Most Biased Poster - Whatawaster

Most Likely To Be Banned In 2009 - Des - seems to bitch about mods in every topic thesedays

Best Poster - LuckyLoyd - Quality poster, was very wrong about him a few months ago

Most Successful **** Stirrer of the Year - Thanks 4 the fish

Thread of the Year - Man Utd Chelsea CL final - I realised how great the multi quote feature was

Funniest Moment/Post of the Year - One of Pigheads posts where he quotes someone, then shows them a post they made a few weeks/months back that completely contradicts what they said

Services To Irish Football - Des - Seems to be dedicated to Shels and I believe runs a football team on here which is cool

Best Newcomer - CHD - loveable Chelsea fan

Poster Who Always Defends The Indefensible - Ohnoyoudidn't seems stubbon about anything

Poster Who Left Too Early - Esteban

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

No the Villa thread is why I nominated you. Once you get set on something you wont let anyone prove you wrong no matter how right they are.
    Ala Gabby Agbonlahor

you should probably look up what biased means then so

Tbh less debate, more nominate.

Synonyms for biased: one-sided, partial, partisan, prejudiced, prejudicial, prepossessed, tendentious

I'll use it in a sentence.
    Your completely biased against Gabriel Agbonlahor.

or

Your prepossessed to disliking him.

If the nomination is going to cause you sleepless nights I'll take it down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Most Biased Poster - Well, since Al looks like walking away with it I'll pick Boggles (not in an insult Boggles!)

Most Likely To Be Banned In 2009 - N/A

Best Poster - LuckyLloyd - well articulated posts, subjective, and good idea with the draft game.

Most Successful Shit Stirrer of the Year - Thanx For The Fish

Thread of the Year - There have been some great football discussion threads, but I really can't look past The Off-Topic thread. I'm sure I speak for my OTT brothers when I say it got us through many days of work.

Funniest Moment/Post of the Year - I'm going to come back to this - there have been plenty but none are coming to me right now, don't want to nominate one just for the sake of it.

Rant of the Year - Archimedes last weekend

Best Newcomer - Eirebear if he's eligable, but he's probably been here a bit longer than a year now.

Poster Who Always Defends The Indefensible - Mr. Al!

Poster Who Left Too Early - IrishMike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

Is it too late to add worst Soccer mod of the year award?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭invincibleirish

shoutman wrote: »
    Is it too late to add worst Soccer mod of the year award?

(awaits banstick)

Synonyms for biased: one-sided, partial, partisan, prejudiced, prejudicial, prepossessed, tendentious

I'll use it in a sentence.
    Your completely biased against Gabriel Agbonlahor.

or

Your prepossessed to disliking him.

If the nomination is going to cause you sleepless nights I'll take it down

Not to be nitty, but I think I'd use predisposed there. :)

Also, I'd bet good money that Irish Mike = Karmafaerie!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

Jaysus I haven't posted in ages.

Most Biased Poster - OhNoYouDidnt

Most Likely To Be Banned In 2009 - Jazzy

Best Poster - eZe^

Most Successful **** Stirrer of the Year - SectionF

Thread of the Year - Villa thread I suppose

Funniest Moment/Post of the Year - Liverpool fan reactions to Man Utd's Champions League Win.

Services To Irish Football - RonanRaven

Rant of the Year - BobbySands and his Shels fans are racists 1.

Poster Who Always Defends The Indefensible - Karmafaerie.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Most Biased Poster -Mr A or Boggles... decisions decisions - Boggles by a nose

Most Likely To Be Banned In 2009 - Skip

Best Poster - Xav

Most Successful Shit Stirrer of the Year - T4TF

Thread of the Year - Off Topic Thread.

Rant of the Year - The infamous Arch rant

Best Newcomer - skip

Poster Who Always Defends The Indefensible - Mr. A vs Boggles again... Mr A

Poster Who Left Too Early - Homerjay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,716 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Most Biased Poster
    - Master Alan

Most Likely To Be Banned In 2009 - Jazzy, although he seems to have reformed his stalking ways

Best Poster
    - PHB (He only talks 47% nonsense, well below the average.)

Most Successful Sh/t Stirrer of the Year - Has to be Master Alan

Thread of the Year - Liverpool Thread, although 87% of scouse posters claim to have me on ignore. Fridays would not be the same without winding up those sensitive little sausages.

Funniest Moment/Post of the Year
    - Karmafaerie trying to tell me Vorinon is a world class midfielder.

Rant of the Year - Hobart in almost every one of his posts.

Best Newcomer
    - Mitch Connor :D

Poster Who Always Defends The Indefensible
    - Spockety

Poster Who Left Too Early - IrishMike - I miss that crazy bastard.

--

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Most Likely To Be Banned In 2009 - Is it ok for me to say :) reckon Charles is in with a shout ....

Best Poster - Redspider in the LFC threads, some of the dutch guys in the Gae threads when it was in soccer. Overall though, Xavi

Most Successful Shit Stirrer of the Year - Des

Thread of the Year - OT

Funniest Moment/Post of the Year - Quite a few, could not pick one.

Services To Irish Football - SectionF

Rant of the Year - Archimedes yesterday.

Best Newcomer - Dej29

Poster Who Left Too Early - IrishMike

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Best poster: PHB
    Poster who defends the indefensible: OhNoYouDidn't

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

Most Likely To Be Banned In 2009 - ???

Best Poster - LuckyLoyd. beats PHB by a nose

Most Successful Shit Stirrer of the Year - ntlbell

Thread of the Year - Champions League Final thread

Funniest Moment/Post of the Year - Pighead and his 'Alanisms'

Services To Irish Football - Des... I think hes the only one that does anything? might be wrong

Rant of the Year - Archimedes. short, swift and brilliant.

Best Newcomer - Mitch Connor by a mile

Poster Who Always Defends The Indefensible - Boggles, even the difference between left and right wont stop him

Poster Who Left Too Early - RedSpider

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

Most of my posts are usually in threads Liverpool related, OT thread, and a couple others, so all my nominees are from this little world :pac:

Most Biased Poster - Mr Alan

Best Poster - ~Rebel~

Thread of the Year - This one :pac:

Funniest Moment/Post of the Year - jackdaw Robinho to City ?? is it April 1st ?? Best opening post , ever.

Services To Irish Football - Des, even though he hates everything about the National team & the FAI :p

Rant of the Year -

Best Newcomer -

Karmafaeire by a nose from Mr Alan

Poster Who Left Too Early - Redspider. I did enjoy his post match reports.

I'll come back and fill in the blanks in the next few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,265 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Most Biased Poster - eZe^

Most Likely To Be Banned In 2009 - BobbySands

Best Poster - Des

Thread of the Year - Pat Dolan pic thread

Funniest Moment/Post of the Year -

Rant of the Year -

Best Newcomer -

Poster Who Always Defends The Indefensible - SectionF

Poster Who Left Too Early -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭Im_No_Superman

Most Biased Poster - Mr Alan

Most Likely To Be Banned In 2009 - Charlie McHugh , for afew too many gifs! :p

Best Poster - Neil1984, excellant contributor to soccer fourm this year

Most Successful **** Stirrer of the Year - Boogles

Thread of the Year - Off Topic

Funniest Moment/Post of the Year - Neil1984 epic 5000th post comes to mind. :)

Services To Irish Football -

Rant of the Year - Jackdaw everytime chelsea dont win! :)

Best Newcomer - eZe^, great posts on spanish footie

Poster Who Always Defends The Indefensible - Karmafaerie

Poster Who Left Too Early - Redspider

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

Most Biased Poster - Millersangel

Most Likely To Be Banned In 2009 - charlie for bewbs related infractions

Best Poster - would like to say PHB but he's not around enough, so i'll go for eZe^

Most Successful Shit Stirrer of the Year - i'd go for nicnicnic but he doesnt actually post here so Boggles gets the nod

Thread of the Year - Off-Topic Thread

Funniest Moment/Post of the Year - Neil's 5k post and its ~5k edits

Best Newcomer - Delija Sever

Poster Who Left Too Early - EstebanCambias