Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Reports: Roy Keane has not travelled with Sunderland Squad

• 14-11-2008 3:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭

....Sunderland refusing to comment.

I wonder what that's all about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,447 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Keane gone I reckon so. Team has been doing poorly.

I'd love to see him go back to United and take up some coaching position. Pity it didn't happen sooner, could have come in as AM over freakin Mike Phelan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭Loco

Any links?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

Surely not?

They've had a bit of a slump recently but it's not like they're adrift at the bottom or anything. A win tomorrow and they could even break into top half I think...it's that tight down there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,447 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Nunu wrote: »
    Surely not?

They've had a bit of a slump recently but it's not like they're adrift at the bottom or anything. A win tomorrow and they could even break into top half I think...it's that tight down there.

well why else would he not travel, and Sunderland not comment on it? The only reason I can think of is drastic family circumstances that he does not want made public yet, so I kinda hope it is he is leaving sunderland...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭Im_No_Superman

No mention of it on SSN.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭James Forde

Source or GTFO

• Registered Users Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭RichTea

:D:D

Ah I feel bad...sorta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

No mention of this anywhere I can find.
    Where did you hear it?

I hardly think they could fire him, their not doing that badly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Setanta News had it on thier breaking news strap. Anyone know if SSN are mentioning it now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭Im_No_Superman

Nunu wrote: »
    Setanta News had it on thier breaking news strap. Anyone know if SSN are mentioning it now?
    Nope, Im watching it right now. They are not normally slow when it comes to this sort of news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Roy Keane has done absolute wonders for that club, to get rid of him would be an absolute joke imo. to bring them from bottom of the championship to eventual championship winners,premiership survival which is tough for any team coming up, to bringing in a team which imo should be good enough to battle for europe...and all this in 3 seasons.If he was sacked, then its a disgrace to Sunderland.

PP "market is unavailible" make of that what you will.

Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

PP after taking Roy Keane off their bet - Next Premier League Manager To Leave Their Current Position

Must be reviewing things :D

Cant bet on this market now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭BlueBandit

Maybe he was late for the bus:D:D

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

Paddy Power look to have pulled their "Next manager to leave" market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

mike65 wrote: »
    PP "market is unavailible" make of that what you will.

Mike

Bet me to it - can still bet on this though if your interested

http://www.paddypower.com/bet?action=go_event&category=SOCCER&class_sort=--&ev_id=1263251&ev_class_id=115&ev_type_id=7483&force_racing_css=N

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

walking...maybe...fired...i dont think so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

wouldnt be surprised if he walked out when the going gets a bit tough...again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Let's allow things to unfold shall we? I'd say SSN are scrambling their fighter jets as we speak.

prendy wrote: »

how is it getting tough?

whoa whoa whoa. Roy Keane did not walk out because the going got tough, he left because Ireland's setup was an absolute disgrace. Get your facts right before you make frivolous comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

Obviosuly Arsenal are getting ready to sack Wenger and Roy's resigning from the Sunderland job to take over :pac:

And to whoever said it, that Sunderland squad isn't good enough for Europe.

.......let's leave it at that shall we;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Please God let it be true. The new Bryan Robson.

ntlbell wrote: »
    how is it getting tough?

there second bottom without a win in 4 and on the worst run since he took over.

• Registered Users Posts: 947 ✭✭✭Silver-Tiger

Frisbee wrote: »
    whoa whoa whoa. Roy Keane did not walk out because the going got tough, he left because Ireland's setup was an absolute disgrace. Get your facts right before you make frivolous comments.

Lets not turn this into another saipan debate,

But ye , looks like he's not getting his own way again and walkin out is the only answer he knows !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Please God let it be true. The new Bryan Robson.

That post is like a time machine to show what RedCafe would have looked like in 1992/93 :)

setanta's website has nothing about it? anyone have any link yet?

Ok
    But ye , looks like he's not getting his own way again and walking out is the only answer he knows !!!!

Oh hey look what you did there. you said don't start a debate, then used a comment that is going to draw more posts referencing Saipan.

But ye , looks like he's not getting his own way again and walkin out is the only answer he knows !!!!

Has your second sentence not just totally gone against what you proposed in your first sentence?....Jesus wept!

Let it go people!

• Subscribers Posts: 16,593 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

setanta news are just reporting the rumour at the moment, no actual info. Presumably SSN are trying to find out is there anything to it before jumping on the bandwagon.

there second bottom without a win in 4 and on the worst run since he took over.

two points behind 10th place with just over a quater of the games played...

real tough :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Roy Keane was sent home. He didn't walk. Nobody wants to play for their country more than he does. Nobody.

If he wasn't, would he have stayed? No

Of course? he said was?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,072 ✭✭✭✭event

Roy Keane has done absolute wonders for that club, to get rid of him would be an absolute joke imo. to bring them from bottom of the championship to eventual championship winners,premiership survival which is tough for any team coming up, to bringing in a team which imo should be good enough to battle for europe...and all this in 3 seasons.If he was sacked, then its a disgrace to Sunderland.

how much has he spent since he took over?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Bit of a strange one alright, but there could be loads of reasons for him not travelling with them, namely family circumstances and that would explain the reason for the club not commenting. And it's not as if Blackburn is so far away from Sunderland that he needs 2 days to get there.

I wouldn't read too much into Paddy Power suspending betting either. They always seem to do that whenever they get a flux of irregular bets in on something out of the blue.

Still though, stranger things have happened.

Somethings not right here? it shouldn't take this long for a story like this to gather more legs?

If Setanta have got this 'story' from reading rumours on 606 then they really are going to have egg on their faces!

event wrote: »
    how much has he spent since he took over?

The money he spent this year we won't know until the end of the season if it was a "waste" or not.

redic talk..

copacetic wrote: »
    setanta news are just reporting the rumour at the moment, no actual info. Presumably SSN are trying to find out is there anything to it before jumping on the bandwagon.

Or more likely Sky won't report a story broken by Setanta until its impossible to ignore. Setanta tried to get a statement out of Sunderland they refused to comment - all they needed to do was say "tis nonsense"

Mike

Hmmm....http://www.sunderlandecho.com/sport/Keane-has-NOT-walked.4696388.jp
    Contrary to rumours in other media today, Roy Keane has NOT walked out on Sunderland Football Club.

Other suggestions that he had not travelled with the team for tomorrow's game at Blackburn Rovers because of a fall-out, are similarly wide of the mark.

Sunderland face Rovers for the second time in four days tomorrow, when the two teams play their Premier League game at Ewood Park and Keane is expected to be in the dug-out as normal.

Ah no, there goes a fiver (or possibly not)

Mike

I hope he is gone tbh. Been getting sick of him talking nonsense all the time instead of concentrating on his struggling team.

His reputation of a great player does'nt mean he will be a great manager as some people think he is. This season he is being found out, as he has spent a fortune and they are going in the wrong direction fast.

They will more than likely be relegated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,433 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

You guys jump to conclusions so quickly. He's probably just out walking the dog ;)

rarnes1 wrote: »
    I hope he is gone tbh. Been getting sick of him talking nonsense all the time instead of concentrating on his struggling team.

His reputation of a great player does'nt mean he will be a great manager as some people think he is. This season he is being found out, as he has spent a fortune and they are going in the wrong direction fast.

hello

yea he really needs to stop blaming everyone but himself and learn to take responsibility...

it's his second year in the prem ffs how is he been found out....

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,072 ✭✭✭✭event

ntlbell wrote: »
    The money he spent this year we won't know until the end of the season if it was a "waste" or not.

redic talk..

how much has he spent getting them promoted then and how much did he spend in his first year up

he's a good manager, no doubt, but has spent a lot of money on awful ****e when he has been there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

rarnes1 wrote: »

Horse****, they are within a couple of points of being in the top 10. Your talking through your ass tbh, if this was like a Derby County situation then maybe you could say they would they would be 'likely' going down. Typical hyperbole used in football. One more win and he's a genius who's improved Sunderland? A loss and he's a **** manager?

Come of it

event wrote: »
    how much has he spent getting them promoted then and how much did he spend in his first year up

he's a good manager, no doubt, but has spent a lot of money on awful ****e when he has been there

who gives a fecking hoot how much money he spent.

He got them promoted

he kept them up...

we're in the very early stages of year two...he's two pints behind 10th place after 12 games....