Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munster V New Zealand. Thomond Park. 18 Nov. 7:30 pm.

• 17-11-2008 12:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭

Yes, yes it may very well be a cynical money making exercise on the part of evil globe-straddling sports-corporation Adidas..booo!!! But the fact remains that this is the only chance an Irish team are going to have to beat the Blacks anytime soon. Lets face it, they can hardly do any worse than the national team at the weekend. The Kiwis have named their team....

New Zealand

1. Jamie Mackintosh
    2. Corey Flynn
    3. Ben Franks
    4. Ross Filipo
    5. Jason Eaton
    6. Adam Thomson
    7. Scott Waldrom
    8. Liam Messam
    9. Piri Weepu – Captain
    10. Stephen Donald
    11. Josevata Rokocoko
    12. Isaia Toeava
    13. Anthony Tuitavake
    14. Hosea Gear
    15. Cory Jane

Replacements

16. Hikawera Elliott
    17. John Afoa
    18. Brad Thorn
    19. Kieran Read
    20. Alby Mathewson
    21. Richard Kahui
    22. Mils Muliaina

Can Munster take on and beat this second string(alternative?) AB outfit and save Irish blushes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭jprender

Really hope so.

I want another 30 years of saying, do you remember that game against the AB's at Thomond in 2008 ?

Thats what Legend is made of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭Deedsie

Look at Connacht V South Africa prior to the last world cup. Gave em a right rattling. Id just hope for the something similar from a second Munster XV

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 killerqueen

Hi Guys

Does anyone know what TV stations are showing this game on Wednesday night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

I was talking to a few ex-All - Blacks in the Guinness storehouse on Friday night and of course the match came up and they were really arrogant that they were going to win by at least 30pts. They remarked about the famous game in 78 that they were all dying from hangovers and they could barely see the ball but the team tomorrow night are going to wipe the floor with Munster.

I really hope for a good Munster performance and as Munster fans we all know that Munster really can do miracles - its a shame that we are missing so many to Ireland but it is going to be a great occasion - God i would love to be going - imagine if we win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Hi Guys

RTE 2 are showing it, but desperately trying to figure out how I can catch it here in the UK...don't think BBC NI are showing it and neither are Sky or Setanta AFAIK..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭murphym7

Hi Guys

RTE 2 @7pm.

As a proud Munster man I'd like to say we have a good chance, I can't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

I fear we will be murderised, to death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭RugbyFanatic

Has the Munster team been released yet??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Has the Munster team been released yet??

We're not going to finalise it until 15 seconds before kick-off, in an effort to keeping the AB's guessing. We're also hoping to be allowed play all 22 players at the same time, and even then, we'll be murderised, to death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭TarfHead

toomevara wrote: »
    5. Jason Eaton

Humiliating Anthony Horgan .. again ? That could make an interesting side-note ;). Horgan has hardly gained speed in the last few years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭mickyt

RTE 2 are showing it, but desperately trying to figure out how I can catch it here in the UK...don't think BBC NI are showing it and neither are Sky or Setanta AFAIK..

Just checked the RTE website. and there actually streaming it live from rte.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,242 ✭✭✭crisco10

mickyt wrote: »

That usually only works if you are on the Island of Ireland though. Unless you have bothered to alter your IP, the site blocks you from watching from abroad...UK included.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Serenity Now!

I fear we will be murderised, to death.
    Yes, they will be. Reckon by at least 20 pts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭murphym7

mickyt wrote: »

You can only view live streams within Ireland I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭Deedsie

The Munster side named today by coach Tony McGahan for the Zurich Challenge tomorrow evening will be led by Mick O'Driscoll.
    McGahan named the side this afternoon at a media briefiing held at Thomond Park Stadium just after New Zealand had completed their Captain's Run.

Munster: D Howlett; B Murphy, R Tipoki, L Mafi, I Dowling; P Warwick, P Stringer;
    F Pucciariello, F Sheahan, T Ryan; M O'Driscoll capt, D Ryan; J Coughlan, N Ronan, D Leamy.
    Replacements: D Fogarty, T Buckley, M Melbourne, B Holland, J O'Sullivan, M Prendergast, J Manning.

Was not expectng Ronan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Hi Guys

Tuesday Night (in case you haven't already realised/been alerted)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 891 ✭✭✭conceited

Can't wait for this game!
    :) I have a feeling munster willl beat them !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Really looking forward to this but i think we will be doing well if we lose by 20 points with that pack.

still though as our kit makers say "impossible is nothing";)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Its going to be one way traffic and not through black jerseys im afraid.

Stev_o wrote: »
    Its going to be one way traffic and not through black jerseys im afraid.

Oh ye of little faith...expect you all to be wearing sackcloth and ashes on here should we pull it off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

conceited wrote: »
    I have a feeling munster willl beat them !

That could just be indigestion;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Oh ye of little faith...expect you all to be wearing sackcloth and ashes on here should we pull it off!

Here there's having faith and then there's being disillusion im afraid

Stev_o wrote: »
    Here there's having faith and then there's being disillusion im afraid

Well of course, a second string Munster XV against what is in effect a shadow AB team...of course we haven't a feckin' prayer, you don't have to be Nicolo bleedin' Machiavelli to figure that out, but we're Munster and thats how we like it...heard it all before baby!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭remus808

Buckley not starting LOL

Tim Ryan!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Magnum

Hi Guys

It's on Tuesday Night not Wednesday.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

For all the exiles out there, apparently the Beeb is showing the game on the BBCi sports facility...just click the red button, coverage begins at 7:25.

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭rufty

Cheers Toomevara for that, but how sure are you??? I've gotta see this match and am quite p***ed that it isn't been shown by Setanta or one of 'em whilst also being blocked from rte.ie. Quite frustrating indeed. Will try get the student bar to throw on BBCi for me if it's the case that it's on that.

For the game itself, I'd love to see Dougy Howlett going over for a try. Show the All-Blacks exactly what they're missing without him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Bit begruding to say it's not the AB's it's not the first team by a long shot, but sure Scotland didn't play a first team either. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 409 ✭✭Poker Face

about 40 pts, we will be doing very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

Ok just got a phonecall to say "Theres a pass for you here"

Whoo Whoo

See you later:D:D:D:D:):):):pac::p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Rattlehead_ie

Is that final?
    Thought Hurley would be starting, is he injured?

Yes he is!Ankle or calf I believe

• Registered Users Posts: 12 pod6611

The game is on BBC Red Button.
    See the below link.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/tv_and_radio/5345480.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

Just put a fiver on munster. 15/1 seems a bit of a bargain to me. Does anybody know anything about this NZ pack? I can honestly say i've never seen any of them before.

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭rufty

Thanking you very much. I'm off down the pub to get warmed up. Go on Munster!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭RugbyFanatic

CMON MUNSTER

I have high hopes

i know, i know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Best of luck to Munster :)

CAN EVERYONE PLEASE REMEMBER THE FOLLOWING: whatever the result, please no gloating, leinster munster comments, or anything that would usually result in you getting banned. I'm pretty sure myself and the other rugby forum mods would rather not spend the evening cleaning up a mess, and you'd prefer to be still able to post here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

helicopter? ffs lads

jesus this is awful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

helicopter? ffs lads

jesus this is awful

I'm enjoying it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

I'm not gonna lie, thats hilarious fun :) i'm laughing my ass off at the whole thing :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

What exactly did the helicopter do? I'm listening to it on the radio but hearing about that made me cringe :D

DarkJager wrote: »
    What exactly did the helicopter do? I'm listening to it on the radio but hearing about that made me cringe :D

Brought in the match ball!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

why are the crowd shouting

MONSTER
    MONSTER
    MONSTER

??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Brought in the match ball!

*crrrriiiiiinnnggggeeee*

DarkJager wrote: »
    *crrrriiiiiinnnggggeeee*

Somewhat! But not to be taken too seriously.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

brilliant stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭A-Train

If the match can be that good, all aboard!

A-Train wrote: »
    If the match can be that good, all aboard!

Will be tough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

helicopter? ffs lads

jesus this is awful

Man that was a nice touch !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

tipoki will get himself sent off unless he calms down