Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lidl, what's the quality like?

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 9,793 ✭✭✭antoinolachtnai

When I say 'in general terms' I mean nearly nearly always. It's not my specialized subject, but like everything else in drugs and testing, there are going to be exceptions. No doubt there are some loopholes somewhere. There are certain trace levels allowed, and I suppose you could argue over these.

I am not an expert on chicken production either, but I would think the saving is achieved by limiting opportunities for exercise, using a specific diet, and selective breeding. It is not harmful to human health, in the way hormone use might be.

(I am not saying that this is an acceptable practice, just that it doesn't necessarily involve hormones.)

• Registered Users Posts: 20,836 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Yeah it's a bit dodgy alright, but some how they've cut the growth time in half and that would scream "stay away" to me from cheap meats. With the specific mention of leg injuries in the below reports, as far as I've read, this is due to their legs not being developed enough to be able to support the extra weight/fat from them growing twice as quick. I'd just be very wary eating this kind of mass produced meat. Even without the hormones, eating chickens and the likes kept in such cramped conditions with bad pneumonia levels etc would be a bad idea in my mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

cormie wrote: »