Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic thread *time to say goodbye*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    You know Gerard C. I've shared a few boxing sessions with Damien Dempsey.:)

Hope you had a good one Orestes!

GOWAY!! Do tell! Was this a few years ago now or is he still at it? God that man, I know lots of people, some of whom may be on here, have a strong dislike for auld Damo. I personally worship the ground he walks on! Favourite artist by a country mile

orestes wrote: »
    I rented it for a week and played it twice, not a patch on FN3 imo, controls are all over the place. Looks great but seems to me like they have sacrificed gamplay to look fancy.

Also, did you just call me your mother in French?! :eek:

Wouldn't that have been Ma Mere? Or Mon Mere in this case, defying all laws of French grammer. I meant c'mere, to clear up all Motherly French confusion :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Mother orestes! That could stick!:p:pac:

I only recently discovered the magic that is Damo and hes unreal. I don't know why I listened years ago to be honest. Thats what i get for not listening to Ger,a man of impeccable taste.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Gerard.C wrote: »
    GOWAY!! Do tell! Was this a few years ago now or is he still at it? God that man, I know lots of people, some of whom may be on here, have a strong dislike for auld Damo. I personally worship the ground he walks on! Favourite artist by a country mile

He hasn't been down in a good while. But there was a time back in '05 that he used to be a regular and bloody hell, I wouldn't want to be on the wrong side of him! He's built like a truck and he can put amazing power into his punches. I used to feel sorry for whatever punching bag that he was working on.:pac:

I think Seize the Day and Shots are great albums.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

flahavaj wrote: »
    Mother orestes! That could stick!:p:pac:

If you lot start calling my Mammy orestes or something I'll break out the wooden spoon and you'll all be sent to bed with no supper :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,074 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Happy birthday Orestes.
    Your sig is making me sick Gerard C:o

He hasn't been down in a good while. But there was a time back in '05 that he used to be a regular and bloody hell, I wouldn't want to be on the wrong side of him! He's built like a truck and he can put amazing power into his punches. I used to feel sorry for whatever punching bag that he was working on.:pac:

I think Seize the Day and Shots are great albums.

Jaysus. Tell him I said well! Met him twice and he was sound as a pound both times. Genuine legend of a man in every sense of the word, and there's much more acclaimed singers who'd say that aswell!

Did ya get The Rocky Road as a matter of interest?

Rjd2 wrote: »
    Your sig is making me sick Gerard C:o

If there's one man that **** can't bury, it's Damo! The true World Champion :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Gerard.C wrote: »
    Jaysus. Tell him I said well! Met him twice and he was sound as a pound both times. Genuine legend of a man in every sense of the word, and there's much more acclaimed singers who'd say that aswell!

Did ya get The Rocky Road as a matter of interest?

Yeah he's bang on, and he really does hate the celeb circuit, he's not just trying to be cool in songs like Patience as he means every word!

I haven't got that one yet, I did get To Hell or Barbados though. I was slightly disappointed in that. What do you think of The Rocky Road?

Yeah he's bang on, and he really does hate the celeb circuit, he's not just trying to be cool in songs like Patience as he means every word!

I haven't got that one yet, I did get To Hell or Barbados though. I was slightly disappointed in that. What do you think of The Rocky Road?

Shur all you have to do is listen to the lyrics of "I've No Alibi" and you know exactly what he thinks of it! He's one fella that you believe every word he says, there's no bit of commercialism about him!

I love the Rocky Road, and I love why he did it too. I was reading interviews around the time it was released and he was saying he did it 'cos he felt the young Irish generation was growing up listening to **** American "music", when there was a wealth of fantastic songs in our own Countrys back catalogue, and he wanted to introduce some of them songs to the newer generation. Legend. I love his version of Rainy Night In Soho.

I do love To Hell Or Barbados too though, there are some crackers on there! Songs like Summer's In My Heart and Chase The Light really grew on me after a few listens!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 741 ✭✭✭pingu_girl

Go see Director in the local nightclub or go on a mystery bus tour tomorrow night?

Not too familiar with Directors stuff but Ive heard there fairly good. But are they worth missing an epic session over?

Ps happy belated brithday Orestes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

pingu_girl wrote: »
    Go see Director in the local nightclub or go on a mystery bus tour tomorrow night?

Not too familiar with Directors stuff but Ive heard there fairly good. But are they worth missing an epic session over?

Ps happy belated brithday Orestes.
    Epic session, girl. There will always be another concert and you don't even know them that well. But if one of the lads streaks through Dungarvan's main street and bares his arse cheeks for the whole of Genoa's Chipper to see, you'll be raging forever that you weren't there to witness it in all its glory.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

pingu_girl wrote: »

Not too familiar with Directors stuff but Ive heard there fairly good. But are they worth missing an epic session over?.

director are good alright but they will still be gigging when the epic session is over, dont miss a session for them!

director are quite franz ferdinand-esque if that sways your decision either way!

if it was me, epic mystery tour session every time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 741 ✭✭✭pingu_girl

flahavaj wrote: »
    Epic session, girl. There will always be another concert and you don't even know them that well. But if one of the lads streaks through Dungarvan's main street and bares his arse cheeks for the whole of Genoa's Chipper to see, you'll be raging forever that you weren't there to witness it in all its glory.

I never thought I'd see the day that mama genoa's pride and joy was discused on a pro wrestling forum. But there small basics and banana milk shakes..shhtop bah you'd ate your fingers after em!

haha thanks for the input lads bus tour it is :) It would want to be epic though

• Registered Users Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

Happy Bday, Big O..

Heard someone say "mammy orestes", and the strange thing is its my mothers bday too today.
    Weird.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,235 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

C-B-G wrote: »
    Happy Bday, Big O..

Heard someone say "mammy orestes", and the strange thing is its my mothers bday too today.
    Weird.

Thought Orestes fancied being the Godfather of the Leinster Faction (I assume Orestes will leave stables to the culchies)

Did we ever sort out who is in the Muster Mafia (A stable) and who is in the Leinster Faction.

I can be in neither as I from a bog hole in Offaly. Thats not Munster and too far from Donnybrook to be ragarded as Leinster.

C-B-G wrote: »
    Weird.

I'm your mother. Now get off your lap-top and go to sleep, don't make me come in there...
    DM-ICE wrote: »
    Thought Orestes fancied being the Godfather of the Leinster Faction (I assume Orestes will leave stables to the culchies)

Did we ever sort out who is in the Muster Mafia (A stable) and who is in the Leinster Faction.

I can be in neither as I from a bog hole in Offaly. Thats not Munster and too far from Donnybrook to be ragarded as Leinster.

A truce has been reached amongst the various stables for the time being, we are living in a time of peace and harmony for all (or else :mad:)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭Degag

Owen to United:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

DM-ICE wrote: »

Myself
    Flahavaj
    Pingu
    Gerard C

The pre eminient stable in European forums wars today.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

i knew i wouldent be let into the munster mafia just cos im now living in dublin :p

wow my computer says it will take more than a day to back up the files i wanna keep before i reboot (of course that estimate is fluctuating like mad) but i guess thats what i get for downloading every tv series i like in its entirity.

wtf is the munster mafia? :confused:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

a non serious bit of fun that spilled outta that meet up/Orestes's game thread where in i questioned if the Waterfolk folk would show and they said they prefered their own term the Munster mafia and then started recruiting other members like Gimmick from Cork. Their bitter rivals whom they have already been booked in a drinking match for that proposed PW meet up are the Orestes led Leinster faction. Im from Limerick but live in Dublin so a bit of a tweener.... who will i join, who will i turn on, is this all bolloxs, will the meet up ever happen, who knows!

ais this all bolloxs, will the meet up ever happen.

I have some answers:

Yes, and no.

Which questions you want to put them with it up to you :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

a non serious bit of fun that spilled outta that meet up/Orestes's game thread where in i questioned if the Waterfolk folk would show and they said they prefered their own term the Munster mafia and then started recruiting other members like Gimmick from Cork. ...................... Im from Limerick but live in Dublin so a bit of a tweener....

I would like to think that I formed the unholy alliance rather than the other way round, but I am sure the other will have similar claims. No doubt it will lead to a future split with new and exciting feuds and angles. As for your being exiled, well Flav is also a Munster exile, so stake your claim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

We need a Whessssterrrrnn Militia Faction

a non serious bit of fun that spilled outta that meet up/Orestes's game thread where in i questioned if the Waterfolk folk would show and they said they prefered their own term the Munster mafia and then started recruiting other members like Gimmick from Cork. Their bitter rivals whom they have already been booked in a drinking match for that proposed PW meet up are the Orestes led Leinster faction. Im from Limerick but live in Dublin so a bit of a tweener.... who will i join, who will i turn on, is this all bolloxs, will the meet up ever happen, who knows!

Oi there's a Premier member too! And he'll be singing that with joy Sunday week!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,995 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Orestes is a scabby git.

He walks by carrying a full tray of shots and wouldn't even give me one shot!

:mad:

What ye make of this song lads? I heard it on tipp.fm and fell in love with it for some reason. Kind of a Summery feel to it. Bought his album and all, very impressed with it. So here's an auld plug

edit - apparantly i can't do this youtube thing. any tips?

Link - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lutijjnu_do

Orestes is a scabby git.

He walks buy carrying a full tray of shots and wouldn't even give me one shot!

:mad:

Let me think. I have a tray of free shots. Who will I give them too, the hot tourist chicks, or you? Hmmm, that's a toughie, I'll give it some thought and get back to you

Ger, don't put the whole URL into the youtube tags, just the bit after the =

Ah screw it, I'll do it for you, pay attention and take notes, there might be a test later :p