Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic thread *time to say goodbye*

• Registered Users Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

Let the Cork bashing begin:pac:

and an hour and a bit later............. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Some atmosphere in Croker today, really exciting tight game till the end. Cork just about value for the win, they were savage in the second half anfter being fairly septic in the firs and Down vice versa. Felt a bit sorry for Down but what can ya do. I like the GAA's new tradition of playing the winning county's song over the speakers after the game.

Also Berbatov, f*cking hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

Rumours going round the interweb yer man from Aslan died on stage..

• Registered Users Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

From what I heard he's just in hospital. Hope he pulls through.

Air an aul link walt?

google Christy Dignam and click updates to see people's Twitter feeds. Looks like an over-reaction.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭chordtype

Hi folks, Christy had to be taken to hospital tonight after he collapsed from exhaustion but he'll be ok. Thanks to everyone for their messages of concern and apologies to those who were at the gig tonight. We will reschedule and we'll see you all again.

From their official Facebook

Can't say I've ever heard of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,097 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

chordtype wrote: »
    From their official Facebook

Can't say I've ever heard of them.

They are possibly the most tedious band that Ireland has ever produced.
    Ignore at all costs. :)

Surely you heard this turgid ****?

*Awaits the obligitary "They should have been bigger than U2" comment*

Nobody thinks that do they? :eek::(

Rjd2 wrote: »
    Nobody thinks that do they? :eek::(

Every single Aslan fan i've ever talked to says that same shtick...

Some argue if it weren't for Christy's heroin addiction they would have made it

Rjd2 wrote: »
    They are possibly the most tedious band that Ireland has ever produced.
    Ignore at all costs. :)

Surely you heard this turgid ****?

Jesus that was a bit ****. I've probably heard it before but it's instantly forgettable.

Aslan are f*cking sh*t.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,194 ✭✭✭jos28

Reports on twitter now that he HAS died.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

DM-ICE wrote: »
    When i was a kid that Podge fella scared me more than the Undertaker or the michael Jackson poster on my sisters wall.

When he used to turn up as a post man I'd be shouting its podge its podge, but they never heard me warnings:(

Me too!! :O

I got so rilled up when he shut down dustins chipper!
    Little prick.

Right folks. On the spot time. Favourite band/artist ever?

Right folks. On the spot time. Favourite band ever?
    InMe

I'd never wish anything on anyone, it's just not in my nature.

But if that guy DOES die, then the media are going to be throwing aslan at us from every direction.

... Think I might leave the country for a few months...

Not so much a band but Rory Gallagher. God.

blink182 or/and limp bizkit.

What about you chordtype?

Christ, that's such a hard question to answer. I am weird in that I don't really listen to bands, I prefer solo artists for reasons unknown to myself. I suppose if pushed right now, I might say either Boards of Canada/ Jurassic 5 or more likely Interpol. I should probably say someone from the 80's but nah.:pac:

flahavaj wrote: »
    Not so much a band but Rory Gallagher. God.

Ever go to the festival in Ballyshannon?

Its something I definitely have on the to-do list alright, something always gets in the way every year when it somes around. Greatest guitarist of all time IMO. I'd say its some craic.

Some solo here from about 2 mins in. Oh lord.

Probably the hardest question that I can think of to be honest.

I'd have to go with The Smiths although it can change depending on what mood I'm in.

Major props to Rjd2 for the BOC love.

Probably the hardest question that I can think of to be honest.

I'd have to go with The Smiths although it can change depending on what mood I'm in.

Major props to Rjd2 for the BOC love.

Back in the day,I used to love listening to them at nighttime or when doing an all nigher college thing.:pac: Sigur Ros would be another that be great for late night listening.
    Anyways lads Boards Of Canada are awesome.

An other group I used to adore back in the day but haven't thought of until I was actually posting this post! was Grandaddy. I must relisten to some of their stuff in the net few weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,053 ✭✭✭D.Q

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRxvL8hjkugWEBZ4VfQwoXBk3MBfQCa0XwRYted8Rsp_CjzX_o&t=1&usg=__CbPfz3BCkwqu1ABpNQLeFDhPgio=

Has to be Alice In Chains. With Layne, and with William. No other band comes close to Alice in Chains as far as striking a personal chord with me.

Heres two videos with Layne(RIP)...showing both sides of the band.

Heres two with the new singer, william.

The second song was written about Layne. With the piano part provided by none other than Sir Elton John.

Sorry about the amount of videos...but my god I love that band.:o

I ****ing love Alice. Severely, they'd be in my top 5 easily.

Disappointed no one has said Kevinonabike yet guys :pac: