Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quintessential Aussie and Kiwi Tunes

• 19-11-2008 5:47am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭

What are some classic Aussie or Kiwi songs that have become legendary and make you proud even if you are a blow in?

Some of mine are:

Midnight Oil - Beds are Burning

Ganggajang - This is Australia

INXS - Never Tear Us Apart

Hunters & Collectors - Throw Your Arms Around Me

The Church - Under the Milky Way

Men at Work - Land Down Under

Silverchair - Straight Lines

• Registered Users Posts: 40,867 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

The Choirboys - Run To Paradise

Gets played on every night out and by every covers band.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

• Registered Users Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

Crowded House - Four Seasons in One Day - perfect for strolling around Melbourne on a day like today :)

*edit* dStar - Aren't Men at Work Scottish? Or at least not Australian or Kiwi?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

Last plane out of Sydney!!
    (no youtube link as banned in work!)

hussey wrote: »
    (no youtube link as banned in work!)

It's called 'Khe Sanh' and it's by Cold Chisel. An absolute classic -

As is 'The Holy Grail' -

• Closed Accounts Posts: 319 ✭✭pucan

hussey wrote: »

lol, the amount of people who think its called that. When i first got here i thought it was called the last train out of sydney

• Registered Users Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

the dee wrote: »
    Crowded House - Four Seasons in One Day - perfect for strolling around Melbourne on a day like today :)

*edit* dStar - Aren't Men at Work Scottish? Or at least not Australian or Kiwi?
    Lets just call Colin Hay a 'New Australian'. Seriously though everyone knows that Crowded House are true blue Aussies :D

I want songs that when you hear them you automatically think of Australia or New Zealand.

Noice tunes Xavi.

The dee when you are embedding You Tube clips you just use the last bit of the link after the = symbol.

Peace

• Registered Users Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

Yay! I figured out how to put a video in my post :D

Here is the aforementioned Crowded House song.

I was given Men At Work's greatest hits when I was about 8 by my uncle. Listened to it religiously. My favourite song of their's is definitely 'Overkill' which was used in an episode of 'Scrubs' that featured Colin Hay.

The original -

The 'Scrubs' version -

All my mates were like "What's that amazing song from scrubs?!" and I was the only one who knew it!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

Heres one for ye, hunters and collectors lead singer Mark Seymour and none only than Pearl Jam...Awesome..

"Throw Your Arms around me"

• Registered Users Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Why is no one mentioning AC/DC?

• Registered Users Posts: 416 ✭✭Coileach dearg

Oh we're too snobby now to be mentioning them!

Best song I've never heard at home:
    Billy Thorpe - Most People I Know (Think That I'm Crazy)

Heres another that didn't get a mention...these fookers define Oz for me.

Duh because they are American :D:D

Hehe Xavi, Not so Savage Garden. Man I don't even want to know what fooking queer tunes you have on your ipod. :p

I think it's only right that the forum's golden girl gets a mention -

I don't just think about Australia when I hear her voice! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

i think kiwi music, i think these guys...

<3

first time i heard this was one of those horrible moments on stuffy crowded public transport where i could do absolutely nothing about laughing out loud...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

THAT half time show: 1991 Grand final.
    Song only starts about 2 mins in, and watch out for the guy pissing his hole laughing!

Also the subject of a Carlton Ad:

(not really sure how to put videos into posts, hope this works...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Xavi6 wrote: »
    I think it's only right that the forum's golden girl gets a mention -

I don't just think about Australia when I hear her voice! :D

/presses play and hits mute...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

My favourite kiwi song

Stuff and nonsense by the split enz sung here by eddie veder (what a voice!)

The other song I think of as quintessentially kiwi is crowded house - always take the weather with you or fall at your feet. Despite the general opinion they are kiwis. (well the Finn brothers are anyway)

watna wrote: »
    The other song I think of as quintessentially kiwi is crowded house - always take the weather with you or fall at your feet. Despite the general opinion they are kiwis. (well the Finn brothers are anyway)
    You mean Aussies I take it?

Lets not get hung up on nationality. I was arguing with some guy the other day about the fact that U2 are a British band. Silly boy thought they were Irish. There is just no talking to some people.:rolleyes:

THAT half time show: 1991 Grand final.
    Song only starts about 2 mins in, and watch out for the guy pissing his hole laughing!

Epic video is epic! :D

The feckin thing just never seems to want to end and all the Hawthorn bogans in the crowd are in their element!

watna wrote: »
    Stuff and nonsense by the split enz sung here by eddie veder (what a voice!)

+1.5 Million...

There is nothing that man can't sing, best singer of all time..

• Registered Users Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

...with chris cornell... hunger strike... temple of the dog...

*drool*

whoops.

i dont really know many bands that i'd think of as quintessentially kiwi/aussie.

i know the tranquilisers, in melbourne, though they've broken up now, beautiful band, and i do think of melbourne when i hear them. or the chch punk band, OIS II MEN, pure gold, very very kiwi, fantastic drinking stuff, but i doubt too many people outside of the punk scene in chch have ever heard of them.

bigger bands, you just tend to think of as radio bands, without affixing a nationality/personality to them.

Being so impressed by the depth of knowledge and appreciation for the legends of Aussie and Kiwi music I thought the time had come to pull out a heavy weight classic of Australian music.

Prepare to be swept away ...

Dedicated to Xavi6

dSTAR wrote: »
    Being so impressed by the depth of knowledge and appreciation for the legends of Aussie and Kiwi music I thought the time had come to pull out a heavy weight classic of Australian music.

Post Reported...for complete and utter gheyness. :p

dSTAR wrote: »

Dedicated to Xavi6

Superb stuff. Just as good as -

Feelgood wrote: »
    Post Reported...for complete and utter gheyness. :p
    It was Xavi who impored me to see Boyzone on Rove where they played their latest track Love you Anyway. I thought I would repay him the favour :p