Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2 Staffs attacks boxer

• 19-11-2008 11:12am
    Registered Users Posts: 507 ✭✭✭

2 staffs attacked my g'friends boxer last night while we wer out strolling and the owner had them off there leads and no even muzzles on them its disgraceful these are just viscous dogs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Boxers have a reputation too you know. Probably an unfair reputation but it's there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭fatmammycat

Seriously, grow up. I was attacked by a collie once, should all collies be put to sleep too? What happened to you and your girlfriend was unfortunate, but try not by a hysterical boob about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 803 ✭✭✭flushje

Sounds like a ridic statement.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Yay!

Sensationalism ftw! Put ALL Staff's to sleep!!!

Who are you to say that hundreds of these animals should be killed because they attacked your girlfriends boxer?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

The boxer was asking for it. So was the girlfriend.

[/outrageousness]

• Registered Users Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

I heard 2 people attacked another person last night, I think people are vicious and should all be put down.

What happened to your girlfriend's dog is terrible, and the other dogs' owner is an irresponsible a-hole, but what you're saying right now is completely ignorant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

Owner: Had the dogs off their leads, no muzzle, no control over them.
    Staffs: Seem to have been raised by someone who has no idea what they're doing, or how to properly care for/train a large dog.

You're blaming the dogs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Dubdude wrote: »
    2 staffs attacked my g'friends boxer last night while we wer out strolling and the owner had them off there leads and no even muzzles on them its disgraceful these are just vicious dogs

It's a real problem. But mostly the problem is with the "hard men" who own such animals, and not with the dogs. I presume you reported the incident to the Gardai.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭t-ha

2 staffs attacked my g'friends boxer last night while we wer out strolling and the owner had them off there leads and no even muzzles on them its disgraceful these are just viscous dogs
    I like turtles.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CMNry4PE93Y

• Registered Users Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

That's more of a reflection on the owners than the dogs.

Was your boxer off the lead too?

• Registered Users Posts: 507 ✭✭✭Dubdude

nipplenuts wrote: »
    It's a real problem. But mostly the problem is with the "hard men" who own such animals, and not with the dogs. I presume you reported the incident to the Gardai.

Ye we reported it and when we gave the description the guard said he knew who it was straight away so i imagine there has been more than one incident. I know im puttin my anger at the dogs and maybe i shouldnt but its just the im feeling about what happened

Glowing wrote: »
    That's more of a reflection on the owners than the dogs.

Was your boxer off the lead too?

No boxer was on lead and they ran about 300 yards straight at us so only had time to wrap the lead around my arm and try keep the boxer as close to me as i could while trying to keep the 2 away managed to keep them away for a few mins but 1 finally locked on, we ended up in the middle of the road it was crazy traffic comin from both directions had to stop as they couldnt get by

• Registered Users Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

Hmm it's not the dog's fault, its the f*cking scum who own them and don't have an ounce of cop on ..... staffy's are lovely dogs normally!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Any dog can attack, I fostered a boxer and when i brought it home it attacked my rotty because i pet him aswell, only for my rotty is well trained and listened to me to stop the boxer would of been in trouble, should all boxers be put down? Boxers can attack other dogs at times too and i like boxers..

If the owner socialises the dog then it shoul be fine, that counts staffies, boxers, rotties and even jack russels.

Staffies are naturally friendly. more than most dogs.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

Try not to blame the dogs, it is up to the owner to keep them under control. Im sure it wasnt nice for your dog to be attacked like this.

I had my rottie out for a walk few weeks ago, on lead and halti on. a loose boxer ran out of no where, couldnt see the owner and came up to my fella, twice he went for him and actually jumped on him, lucky for the dog that my fella is very docile and didnt retaliate.

The owner eventually came up and told him to put his bloody dog on a lead and get him off my dog, he whacked the dog with a stick, his own dog, and i told him not to hit the dog as its not his fault and that if he is aggressive with other dogs he shouldnt be off the lead. Dont think he understood me though as he didnt seem to speak english.

So try not blame the dog.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

I was bitten by a golden retrevier, no warning no nothing bite down on my hand. I can understand your rustration, but it is not the dogs fault. All dogs should be muzzled and walked on a lead unless in an enclosed place with no other animals. Even the most placid of dogs can turn in the wrong situation. How is the boxer doing?

Jules wrote: »
    I was bitten by a golden retrevier, no warning no nothing bite down on my hand. I can understand your rustration, but it is not the dogs fault. All dogs should be muzzled and walked on a lead unless in an enclosed place with no other animals. Even the most placid of dogs can turn in the wrong situation. How is the boxer doing?

Its seemed ok but is going to the vet today just to get checked out only that i keep him away for so long the staff kept hold once he did finally get the bite in and he didnt manage to get a full jaw bite but didnt think we would have managed to unlock his jaw off him

• Registered Users Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

anyone who owns a staffie should know that you must keep them on a leed when next to other dogs --the staffie has been breed to never back down when threatened ,it is the owner who is responsible not the dogs--i have had staffie show dogs for over 30 years ,and my dogs, know never to go for other dogs

• Registered Users Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

the way to get a staffie to let go is to hold tight his collar to stop him breathing and to put your hand over his nostrils --because the staffie can still breath from his nose-he will gasp and let go -but make sure some body has hold of the other dog

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

All dogs should be muzzled and walked on a lead unless in an enclosed place with no other animals.

Are you for real?

This forced withdrawl of normal social contacs, where muzzled dogs are dragged past each other on a lead is enough to turn the most placid and friendly of dogs into a doggy sociopath over time.

Of course dogs shouldn't be left to run wild and should be under control at all times ...but "under control" can (and should) also mean that owners allow their dogs to interact with each other normally.

That of course implies that owners talk to each other about how best to facilitate that.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Its seemed ok but is going to the vet today just to get checked out only that i keep him away for so long the staff kept hold once he did finally get the bite in and he didnt manage to get a full jaw bite but didnt think we would have managed to unlock his jaw off him

Im sorry but this is another 1 of them posts that is made to sound worse than it was, 2 staffs attacked your dog?

only 1 bit, so 1 attacked and the other ran over aswell-if 2 staffs attacked the dog would of been bitten by both, but that would not sound like a great story!

1 staff attacked my dog and barely bit it does not have the same ring to it.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

cowzerp wrote: »
    Im sorry but this is another 1 of them posts that is made to sound worse than it was, 2 staffs attacked your dog?

only 1 bit, so 1 attacked and the other ran over aswell-if 2 staffs attacked the dog would of been bitten by both, but that would not sound like a great story!

1 staff attacked my dog and barely bit it does not have the same ring to it.

Ye the 2nd never got to latch on because i refused to let it and i kept kickin it plus the fact the owner now at that stage managed to get over and get hold of the 2nd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭mary123

Ur last post was at 11.46 and at that time u still havent brought ur dog to vet?????
    Me if i was that worried would if not last night would have been there first thing this morning, with or without appointment.

mary123 wrote: »
    Ur last post was at 11.46 and at that time u still havent brought ur dog to vet?????
    Me if i was that worried would if not last night would have been there first thing this morning, with or without appointment.

Actually my last post was at 12.13 and if you read my original post it states its my g'friends dog it was being brought to vet 1st this morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭mary123

Actually my last post was at 12.13 and if you read my original post it states its my g'friends dog it was being brought to vet 1st this morning
    sorry must have been typing when u posted. ur post at 11.46 doesnt say u have been, says "is going" and to me, if my dog had bite wounds i would have been there first thing as though he might seem grand now bite wounds can be come infected.
    Not taking sides as i love both boxers and staffys. I do blame the owner of the staffy. Hope ur fella will be ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Thread title edited. Stay on topic.

I hope that your dog pulls thru.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

All dogs should be muzzled and walked on a lead unless in an enclosed place with no other animals.

Maybe blindfolded, wearing earplugs and vicks rubbed on their noses. Oh, and hobbled too.

OP, I hope the boxer is ok.

Ok i think there has been enough said on this topic now can someone lock this thread please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Thread locked as per OP's request.

In closing I hope that your dog recovers quickly.