Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Killarney Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Radio5

Molly D'Arcy was the name of Bill's grandmother AFAIK so I expect he didn't want the name to continue on being associated with a hotel which he no longer owns.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Thank you...

Mid September. It was in the national and local newpapers at the time.

I dont buy papers.... waste of money...or have radio or TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Graces7 wrote: »
    I dont buy papers.... waste of money...or have radio or TV.

But have internet.:confused:

None of your business young man; putting you back on my ignore list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Graces7 wrote: »
    None of your business young man; putting you back on my ignore list.

:D Young? I'm older than you!

DOB 1941

• Registered Users Posts: 6,494 ✭✭✭dobman88

:D Young? I'm older than you!

DOB 1941

Can you stop quoting her. I've got her on ignore :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭Schalker

Only Ignorants put other on "ignore" :o)

Would there be any interest in a Killarney boards beers? Or has it ever happened? Open to suggestions if the interest is there.

• Registered Users Posts: 901 ✭✭✭xLisaBx

dobman88 wrote: »
    Would there be any interest in a Killarney boards beers? Or has it ever happened? Open to suggestions if the interest is there.

YES PLEASE! By the way, is there anyone my age here? I'm 18 :)

xLisaBx wrote: »

Not sure about peoples age myself. Nobody here gives too much away and I find it hard enough to judge a persons age by what they say anyway. I'm 26 myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,688 ✭✭✭FourFourRED

I'm 23. Ancient :-P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭madcabbage

Off to Mustangs you go or wherever the youngin's go these days. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Is there any cafe open in Killarney after 6pm?
    Say you arrived off the train at 7pm and just wanted tea and a scone or sandwich then is there anywhere cafe-like to go?

• Registered Users Posts: 901 ✭✭✭xLisaBx

madcabbage wrote: »
    Off to Mustangs you go or wherever the youngin's go these days. :D

Haha even I don't go to Mustangs.
    The Grand is the place to be :P

DeepBlue wrote: »
    Is there any cafe open in Killarney after 6pm?
    Say you arrived off the train at 7pm and just wanted tea and a scone or sandwich then is there anywhere cafe-like to go?

The malton would be your best bet I'd say. I can't think of anywhere open after 6 in the winter anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Credit where credit is due: Some of our local Gardaí escorted an Australian couple from the petrol-station where they stopped looking for directions to their hotel out to where I work, all just to assist them.
    The Australian Couple were delighted with them;

so Well Done to them :)
    They didn't have to drive the way!
    kerry4sam

/"we got ourselves a Police Escort all the way out here" - just delighted so they were :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,688 ✭✭✭FourFourRED

Anything to avoid doing real work. Fair play!

• Registered Users Posts: 139 ✭✭shergar22

FourFourFM wrote: »
    Anything to avoid doing real work. Fair play!

FFS. There's no need to be bloody cynical all the time. Seriously annoying. Credit where credit's due. There's enough bloody people in this country who think its clever/smart/cool to knock everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

Anyone going watching the lights being turned on tonight?? cant wait :D

No was never really into that kinda thing. I've seen the stickers they've slapped on the bollards on Main Street, Toy Soldiers!! :)

ls there a homeless centre in killarney you can voluteer for? or anywhere in kerry...

In Tralee only afaik. There are a fair few living rough in Killarney and it's a real pity there aren't aany services for them.

l saw a woman friday nite sleeping rough across from the post office, beside the clothes shop next to Bank of Ireland, broke my heart....and then the homeless man that died in Dublin, what a horrible way to live :(

Yeah there's a guy who sleeps up at the train station every night too and there's three people who sleep in an abandoned and boarded up house in town. Along with however many set up camp in the park. I kind of.befriended one of them by offering him tea and a sandwich one time. Every so often he will hang around the lane where I live and ask for a cuppa and something to eat. He only ever does it if he's badly stuck but I've told him I'd give him something every night but he declined.

I think Donal Grady was on the radio last week saying some kind of centre needs to be set up after a group found a 7 month pregnnant lady living in the park! Whatever about living rough, it's no place for a heavily pregnant woman.

Yeah there's a guy who sleeps up at the train station every night too and there's three people who sleep in an abandoned and boarded up house in town. Along with however many set up camp in the park. I kind of.befriended one of them by offering him tea and a sandwich one time. Every so often he will hang around the lane where I live and ask for a cuppa and something to eat. He only ever does it if he's badly stuck but I've told him I'd give him something every night but he declined.

I think Donal Grady was on the radio last week saying some kind of centre needs to be set up after a group found a 7 month pregnnant lady living in the park! Whatever about living rough, it's no place for a heavily pregnant woman.

You'd think the churches in town would offer some bit of help, especially with the cold weather kicking in now.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,773 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

You'd think the churches in town would offer some bit of help, especially with the cold weather kicking in now.

Would you really though?

keane2097 wrote: »
    Would you really though?

Not offer a homeless pregnant woman shelter from the cold winter nights, especially the Killarney National Park? I'm quite surprised we don't have a hostel of some sort setup in Killarney already.

I agree with Keane. Why would a church help? What good has religion ever done? I walk my dog down the park every evening and you can see the lads heading down with their tents in by the trees near the lake. They put on a fire and have their few cans. If a shelter was set up, where would it go? Some of these lads would be too proud to go to a shelter and would rather a tent in the park!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,773 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Not offer a homeless pregnant woman shelter from the cold winter nights, especially the Killarney National Park? I'm quite surprised we don't have a hostel of some sort setup in Killarney already.

Obviously they should, but I think most people would be long since past being surprised that they don't.

It would be nice to think someone in Killarney might take inspiration from the soup kitchen being run by Joe Soaps in Tralee and do something similar, it all helps.