Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Killarney Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭bergkamp10

newman10 wrote: »
    IMO a shop MOVING is not a NEW SHOP OPENING. Still it will make the street feel better. New Street is becoming one big restaurant:(

It does not seem that there will be many NEW SHOPS for some time

i'm sure i did correct myself in my third sentence and state that it was indeed a move. Cheers anyway, fair point on the cafe/restaurant point. Hope things are on the upswing for yourself at this stage.

bergkamp10 wrote: »
    cheers for the info DeepBlue, much obliged. Wont waste my time callin in so. Still, Shame to see young coppers taking liberties with the exemptions that i'm sure are supposed to be for our good overall, what wit people dying on our roads and all that and when theres a good stretch of road half a mile up the road and they're pulling in up there anyway! Its taking the p1ss.

in the interest of fairness and to show i have no bias, re: how gardai can or should behave on our roads, i rang the station to point out the incident and merely ask what is the policy for gardai on our roads. Some time later, the young officer in question rang me personally as he felt he should apologise for his driving, he was late for his shift and on reflection he was ringing to say his driving was OTT and unnecessary. Fair play.

....and we wer only just discussing road safety... An old lady has just been knocked down by a car here in new street

I think she was ok, ambulance came after about ten mins and took her to hospital. (locals passersby etc stayed wit her, though IMO they should have not been moving her head/body and maybe thrown an auld blanket over her while waiting for paramedics?)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

Halo Kitty wrote: »
    Have you tried MD O Shea's plumbing and heating dept. in Killarney.I have a star fire front and fret that allows for night burning....the grate is 18in firebird as queenstar grate had to be ordered ....Also if you ring Firebird Ballyvourney they might help you ..also look up heating merchants and suppliers in the yellow pages...Good luck...
    thank you very much for your help, i will ring up next week, you have been great help, did you get yours in killarney, or did you have to order it overseas

• Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

newman10 wrote: »
    IMO a shop MOVING is not a NEW SHOP OPENING. Still it will make the street feel better. New Street is becoming one big restaurant:(

It does not seem that there will be many NEW SHOPS for some time

Just out of curiosity, does anyone know when was the last time that a NEW shop / bar / restaurant / any commercial premises actually opened up in Killarney?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Screaminmidget

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Just out of curiosity, does anyone know when was the last time that a NEW shop / bar / restaurant / any commercial premises actually opened up in Killarney?
    Dominos? Nosh and coffee?? Theres a newish place in scotts street aswell I think?
    Eddie Rocketts is the only one that really stands out tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Halo Kitty

Yes all restaurants seem to be the only business that are opening..i really feel we have enough as it is and wonder how they all survive in this climate...they really must be alot of profit in coffee....Killarney really does need some more enterprise stores...was talking today that maybe the Inec should bring ticketmaster into town as they is no one in Kerry now selling tickets for gigs etc...even if they opened on a part time basis...Not everyone can book tickets on line when they go on sale...Ah just one of these things that crop up in conversation over a coffee...lol

• Registered Users Posts: 12,538 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Xtravision are doing tickets now but I've no idea for what shows though.

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭newman10

bergkamp10 wrote: »
    i'm sure i did correct myself in my third sentence and state that it was indeed a move. Cheers anyway, fair point on the cafe/restaurant point. Hope things are on the upswing for yourself at this stage.

Thanks for the thought. Regretfully no one in Killarney wants a mature male worker with experience. :mad:

Cant even get called for Sales Assistant interviews

• Registered Users Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Halo Kitty

Newman like yourself i find myself unemployed ...7 weeks now and jobs are very scarce..so i decided to review my CV again and i am in the process of writing my job discription etc....The JOBCLUBS in Newstreet will type it up , they also have a weekly update of Jobs available etc...Maybe they will be some help to you.....I have applied to do an IT course in August via FAS so hopefully i will get called for this..think it is time to move in another direction, I think getting a full time job in retail is not available..mostly part time for the summer and would find myself unemployed again in Sept...starting all over again.....

• Registered Users Posts: 975 ✭✭✭newman10

Have to agree about the retail jobs and with all the rumours around town we may have more retail staff unemployed.

I have come up against age discrimination and have been told by a friend who looked at an ad in Irish Jobs that the company were looking for a woman but could not advertise that fact.

Job is still being advertised

• Registered Users Posts: 2,455 ✭✭✭dmeehan

The other evening while waiting in the queue for the AIB ATM across the street from the Grand, a Garda car came down Plunkett St with no lights on (it was dark) and turned on to Main St and continued driving with no lights on until out of sight.

No points for him either I suppose

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭willit

I passed the new Garda car, 11-D-****, on the bypass last Friday evening, it was coming from the Cork direction heading towards the Tralee road roundabout, and there were no lights on. I mentioned it in passing to a couple of Gardai friends of mine and they were surprised, as they were saying that the lights can't be turned off without pulling the keys out of the ignition and they would always come on automatically. So maybe that Garda on Plunkett St. didn't realise the lights weren't on as they would generally come on as soon as they started the car.

Of course, not being a Garda, I don't know if that's correct about the lights coming on automatically.

dmeehan wrote: »
    The other evening while waiting in the queue for the AIB ATM across the street from the Grand, a Garda car came down Plunkett St with no lights on (it was dark) and turned on to Main St and continued driving with no lights on until out of sight.

Who was going to pull them over in fairness?

dmeehan wrote: »

Contrary to what some guards believe, they are NOT above the law. If people have issues/see something being done in the wrong by a guard, they should report them. Talking and being condescending about such wrong-doings on a public discussion forum is of no help to anyone in the long-term.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭oeb

Snow in March. Who would have thought?

oeb wrote: »
    Snow in March. Who would have thought?

me :)

Even during the days with the sun actually made an appearance, there was still this bitter wind coming from the north plus temps had dropped aswell. :pac:

march came in like a lamb, so it will go out like a lion, if it had come in like a lion it would gout like a lamb, is there snow forecast,
    today was beautiful, bright sunshine, great to get out and about.
    is killarney starting to get busy, now that st pats day is coming

goat2 wrote: »
    march came in like a lamb, so it will go out like a lion, if it had come in like a lion it would gout like a lamb, is there snow forecast,
    today was beautiful, bright sunshine, great to get out and about.
    is killarney starting to get busy, now that st pats day is coming

I don't really know if the town is busy or quiet, I'm trying to stay away from the town as much as I can to be honest.

Speaking of St. Patricks' Day though, is it true that the parade will be broadcast online this year, on the killarneytv website?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 635 ✭✭✭grrrrrrrrrr

I don't really know if the town is busy or quiet, I'm trying to stay away from the town as much as I can to be honest. Speaking of St. Patricks' Day though, is it true that the parade will be broadcast online this year, on the killarneytv website?

Yes but ive no link. Look it up ib their site. I dono why anyone would be bothered watching it but I guess Im not away from my family 10,000 miles away.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

One of my oldest and best friends is flying out to Oz on Australia and not for a one year deal either...I'll be on a depression session in Cork :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 635 ✭✭✭grrrrrrrrrr

Whos gonna go into the killarney parade? I dono yet will I bother. Def not if its raining.

• Registered Users Posts: 169 ✭✭Johnnyq79

The new Toyotas dash boards lights are always on. So, it is very easy to drive around without realizing you don't have your beams on, especially if you start in a street lighted area. I'm sure it was an honest mistake and people can hardly think that that just because they were the Guards, they think they can drive around without lights. Come on people.

Johnnyq79 wrote: »
    The new Toyotas dash boards lights are always on. So, it is very easy to drive around without realizing you don't have your beams on, especially if you start in a street lighted area. I'm sure it was an honest mistake and people can hardly think that that just because they were the Guards, they think they can drive around without lights. Come on people.
    I wasnt critizing the guards! I know most of the killarney guards personally, couldnt meet a nicer bunch of lads (well, theres always one, but thats not the point)
    I have no doubt it was an honest mistake, Town is bright enough, so naturally your first instinct isnt to turn on the headlights.
    dmeehan wrote:

I was just commenting, who was going to pull over another garda car?? Or better yet, give another on-duty guard Penalty points.

this putting on lights mistake can happen to any of us, i have often driven away from a town which would be lit up, out the road and discover i had not put lights on, i have seen few doing it, it is just an honest error, garda are only human also, ordinary people doing a very hard job at times, we are all glad to have them when we need them, often they come upon car crashes where there are occupants dead, and they have the horrible job of knocking on next of kins doors, they take alot of ****e from people who repeatedly break the law over and over again, late at night when nightclubs close, busy weekends where people over indulge in alcohol,

Do people think that their are too many guards in Killarney considering their wouldn't be as much trouble in the town as in previous years and that some could be re-deployed to places with less resources?

PaulieC wrote: »
    One of my oldest and best friends is flying out to Oz on Australia and not for a one year deal either...I'll be on a depression session in Cork :(

:(

I know what you're feeling PaulieC. Some of my closest friends have emigrated aswell and with absolutely NO intention of returning to Killarney either.

I think it would be fair unusual if in a months' time, no-one knew of someone who has done this with unfortunately no new stable, long-term jobs looking likely in the foreseeable future for anyone unfortunate to be looking.

Do people think that their are too many guards in Killarney considering their wouldn't be as much trouble in the town as in previous years and that some could be re-deployed to places with less resources?
    How many guards are there exactly?

You'll have to ask Garda HQ if that info is allowed in the public domain. I'm not printing it! Don't forget to factor in the specialised units aswell though, and not just the uniformed Gardai.

My question though, is appearance wise - Do people think that they are active enough or that more would be helpful?
    Is a greater Garda presence needed for Killarney or a little less?