Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Killarney Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭FRANKENFURTER

kerry4sam wrote: »
    Yes I can also confirm that it was a murder - stab wounds - happened at 1:30am lastnight/early this morning. His name is known around the town but I would prefer not to mention it here on-line (17y/o). He was found down by the race-course on Ross Road. Any other witnesses are being encouraged to come forward to the guards in town.
    i think anybody who lives in town no the little scumbags involved there is about 15 of them ruining the town for about 4 years now ...it must be said that the guards do there best but then they go to court with there mammys crying about family breakdown and the such it makes me sick ,, if the people dont stand up to them we will have a little limerick before we know it,.....:mad:

and to think we used to look down our noes at tralee saying how rough it was.......ballyspillane makes the bullring look like kingspark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

and to think we used to look down our noes at tralee saying how rough it was.......ballyspillane makes the bullring look like kingspark

I don't think that it's fair to stereotype frankenfurter, nor do I like your use of "we (we used to look down our noes"), I think it would be only fair to speak for yourself, not everyone in/from the town/estate... thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭newman10

Just because it is Killarney one of the jewels of Irish Tourism,are we going to bury our heads and say that the Town does not have problems with anti social behaviour/drugs/intimidation.

How many times have we walked past the Town Clock/Tesco/SuperValue wishing those "kids" would Fcuk off and you felt intimidated or looked at an older person walk by with their eyes firmly on the ground.

Did anyone talk to the parents of the young lad who was bottled in the Demense just because he wasn't from Town and ended with 15 stitches in his head.

Have you stood behind a Counter while these gob****es felt that they could do and say what they wanted.

Talk to any teenager in town and you will be suprised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭flanree

Hey, has anyone else seen the views from Aghadoe looking down over the Leibherr factory out onto the lakes (not from the Aghadoe viewing-point, though that is nice also). If anyone is looking for something to do some evening, on a fine day, take the car on the road leading upto the back of the Aghadoe Heights Hotel or even vice versa. Simply breath-taking.

I had never seen Killarney from that view-point before and just absolutely loved it and thought I would share the idea with people here.

Sorry to go off point, but could you explain in more detail how to find this place?

flanree wrote: »
    Sorry to go off point, but could you explain in more detail how to find this place?

sure, though I should say I am a terrible satnav :p

Two choices of routes to take:

- Fossa Road: After the Horse-Riding Stables their is a path where the horses cross that main road, well their is a 'road' up to the right after that which is the route I took. I should say it is fairly narrow & if you meet a local driving down against you, you'd be better off to actually stop your car until they pass ;) and continue on up there then - you seriously won't miss the spot I was referring to!

- Take the road up Aghadoe to the Aghadoe Hotel and follow on to the back of the hotel, their is a turnoff to the left which will take you driving DOWN the road I mentioned above where you'd be driving UP.

Their is a sort of a gap at this 'viewing point' where you could pull in to take photos but I wouldn't stop there for long though, definitely not safe enough for that.

I hope you find this place & get to see what I saw that day :)

One random drive and we found this spectacular view. I haven't had the time lately to find some more but when I do, I'll post back here.

Thanks!

- Fossa Road: After the Horse-Riding Stables their is a path where the horses cross that main road, well their is a 'road' up to the right after that which is the route I took. I should say it is fairly narrow & if you meet a local driving down against you, you'd be better off to actually stop your car until they pass ;) and continue on up there then - you seriously won't miss the spot I was referring to!

Locally known as Bóthar na Marbh

newman10 wrote: »
    Locally known as Bóthar na Marbh

yeah that's the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭dmeehan

remember to watch out for wayward golfballs along here! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Oliverdog

dmeehan wrote: »
    remember to watch out for wayward golfballs along here! :-)

Is that the local driving down against you ? :eek:

Oliverdog wrote: »
    Is that the local driving down against you ? :eek:
    no, the road runs alongside the Lackabane course of Killarney golf club for some of the way

Is it just me or do any of you get ticked off at people parking on the double yellow at the entrance to tesco (deerpark)? There's always hundreds of spaces in the car park and the pedestrian crossing is still always blocked by cars.

... if some people could drive right up to the door they would, same everywhere though! Hegarty's is alot worse - they nearly drive in the sliding doors there ... pedestrian access how are ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭oeb

... if some people could drive right up to the door they would, same everywhere though! Hegarty's is alot worse - they nearly drive in the sliding doors there ... pedestrian access how are ya!

This is what's really been pissing me off. You know the car park up in ExtraVision? It seems like every time I park in one of the spaces near the store there, some bloody idiot pulls up alongside the bollards to go into the shop or use the ATM RIGHT IN FRONT OF ME and completely blocks me in.

accidently on purpose bump into their car
    ;-)

accidently on purpose bump into their car
    ;-)

As the lads in the motor forum will tell you, if their car is stationary, you are at fault =(

oeb wrote: »
    This is what's really been pissing me off. You know the car park up in ExtraVision? It seems like every time I park in one of the spaces near the store there, some bloody idiot pulls up alongside the bollards to go into the shop or use the ATM RIGHT IN FRONT OF ME and completely blocks me in.

Ah yeah, that drives me nuts. Also able bodied eejits parking in that one disabled space outside dalys. I only heard of someone getting a parking ticket once in Killarney. I suppose the town centre is the same, people leave their cars on the double yellows all over town.

Nahhhm when I used to work in town the work van was ticketed every couple of weeks (Mind you, there was NEVER a disk on it). But the two only has a couple of parking inspectors, and they never seem to be outside of the town center.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Magga

I was on holiday in killarney and saw a man who was about 7ft tall in dunnes stores in killarney- did anyone else see him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,579 ✭✭✭Webmonkey

Was he young, theres a young guy that prob maybe my own age, 22? - Heard of him, seen him few times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Magga

yes he was a young man - i have never seen anyone so tall, he had to bend his head to go out the door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,579 ✭✭✭Webmonkey

My friend worked with him, in Dunnes i think funnily enough. He cycles around too - He was that height when he as only 15 I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭johnnyc

ah know that fella too hightower is his nickname( well suited i know :) ). He is into basketball as well. Ah nice fella as well

Magga wrote: »
    I was on holiday in killarney and saw a man who was about 7ft tall in dunnes stores in killarney- did anyone else see him.
    Magga wrote: »
    yes he was a young man - i have never seen anyone so tall, he had to bend his head to go out the door
    johnnyc wrote: »
    ah know that fella too hightower is his nickname( well suited i know :) ). He is into basketball as well. Ah nice fella as well

ah now in all honesty he is a sound young man. He seems to get an awful doing (slagging) around town with his height, but is a lovely young fella, harmless out.

Was out last night and the topic of conversation was Joe Duffy on Thursday.

Did anyone hear it. I realize it is Radio 1 but just interested to what was going on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭overexcitedaj

Was out last night and the topic of conversation was Joe Duffy on Thursday.

Did anyone hear it. I realize it is Radio 1 but just interested to what was going on

Why what happened ?

Something about a Builder in Killarney, people being left stuck and owing 2 mil

Has anyone heard anymore on the attempt to burn the courthouse/door?

Something about a Builder in Killarney, people being left stuck and owing 2 mil
    can you remember which builder?
    i know some builders that built some houses in the middle of nowhere (beaufort - killorglin) and havent been able to shift them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,684 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

can you remember which builder?
    i know some builders that built some houses in the middle of nowhere (beaufort - killorglin) and havent been able to shift them

You can hear the clip here - http://dynamic.rte.ie/quickaxs/209-rte-liveline-Thursday.smil (assuming you have realplayer installed).
    Scroll along to the 55 minute mark where the topic starts up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭johnnyc

ah the ring of kerry charity cycle this weekend, just wondering what pub would be good and be packed with cyclist in town for saturday night?

johnnyc wrote: »
    ah the ring of kerry charity cycle this weekend, just wondering what pub would be good and be packed with cyclist in town for saturday night?

Dont know which Pub is best but there is a BBQ at the Gleneagle on Saturday evening

Has anyone heard anymore on the attempt to burn the courthouse/door?

Maybe someone wants the door back :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 celtic_muffin

Hey everyone!

I just moved to Killarney recently for the summer and I am bored out of my mind at the moment. Any suggestions for activities or how to meet some people? I am working most nights which is why the usual "Go into a pub on your own and start talking to people" approach (which is what I did in Galway and it was great!) doesn't work...my financed are kinda limited, too, so I can't spend 50 Euro each day either ;)
    Any help would be appreciated :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭Inexile

Hey everyone!

I just moved to Killarney recently for the summer and I am bored out of my mind at the moment. Any suggestions for activities or how to meet some people? I am working most nights which is why the usual "Go into a pub on your own and start talking to people" approach (which is what I did in Galway and it was great!) doesn't work...my financed are kinda limited, too, so I can't spend 50 Euro each day either ;)
    Any help would be appreciated :)

Not sure what your age is but I recall seeing an ad for an over 30s social club - not singles club - called cairde nua. Think the contact was www.cairdenua.ie not sure if its still around - also get a hold of the advertiser on Fridays as it will list all the sports clubs and activities around. Well done on picking the good summer to move here!

eircom tonight is an absolute joke for me for getting into hotmail and facebook? error+error+error ... Anyone else down here experiencing the same and/or any solutions you could share?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,684 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

eircom tonight is an absolute joke for me for getting into hotmail and facebook? error+error+error ... Anyone else down here experiencing the same and/or any solutions you could share?

Try this suggestion.
    Worked for me :)

DeepBlue wrote: »
    Try this suggestion.
    Worked for me :)

cheers, I'm the kinda person who doesn't like messing with IT settings when at all possible though I'll try it.

@ Inexile

Thanks for your suggestion, I don't think I am old enough though coz I'm only 23 ;) But thanks again, I appreciate that ur you are trying to help me!
    I will look out for sports club but I am not really good at sports so I don't know if there is any point just for the summer...

@ Inexile

Thanks for your suggestion, I don't think I am old enough though coz I'm only 23 ;) But thanks again, I appreciate that ur you are trying to help me!
    I will look out for sports club but I am not really good at sports so I don't know if there is any point just for the summer...
    GO to any of the smaller local bars you can have a 7up aswell people in killarney are well used to floating heads going through town you will make plenty of friends:pac:

Thanks for the answer, any suggestions where to go? Everything except for Charley Foley's would be fine :) Would it work during the day as well (as I work most nights)?

SPEAKEASY is good during the day if you like racing and jades is always ok for a game of pool during the day ,,if there is nobody there ask the barmen they always play pool during the day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭Elbi

Myself and some friends are going on a hen night in Killarney in the next few weeks and were wondering where are the best places to go for a big group of girls,

Any ideas ? ? ?

Hey has anyone here made an appearance down at the races so far this week? The numbers aren't half what they were last year, never mind previous years. The town itself is quiet mid-evening with people now returning home if they live within 2hours of Killarney instead of booking in locally as has been the trend in previous years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Hey has anyone here made an appearance down at the races so far this week? The numbers aren't half what they were last year, never mind previous years. The town itself is quiet mid-evening with people now returning home if they live within 2hours of Killarney instead of booking in locally as has been the trend in previous years.

Heard the numbers were pretty decent most evenings but that on Thursday the weather didnt oblige and there were fierce showers.

Also heard rumours that there would be cheap tickets (€20/€15) for Pussycat Dolls on sale at the gates, as overall very few tickets had been sold, even with the reduced price of buy 6 for the price of 4 (price from 59.50 per ticket to 39.65 per ticket) on offer during the week. Don't know if that's 100% accurate but might be useful to some (if you're not watching the Sligo match;))

I was out in town lastnight and was offered numerous tickets for nothing! They couldn't give them away fast enough. I've no interest in the pussycat dolls being honest but will make an appearance in town later I'd imagine. I remember also last year for westlife a mate of mine had no ticket before-hand for them and got in for free at the gate for them.

O/H took 4 kids to Town on Saturday night, got into pussycat dolls for free then went to Birds which was empty, xtra value rides.

Town has gone eerily quiet for the time of year

O/H took 4 kids to Town on Saturday night, got into pussycat dolls for free then went to Birds which was empty, xtra value rides.

Town has gone eerily quiet for the time of year

The organisers knew in advance the tickets were not selling and had half the pitch and stand closed off to give appearance of bigger audience in the centre. I'm hearing of about 3000 in attendance at concert - absolute joke imo. God only knows who will come next year, if indeed anyone. Their are losses to recuperate now also as sponsorship wasn't good at all this year by all accounts.
    I think Killarney Summerfest could well be in jeopardy, time will tell how next year will look.

Yeah the town is unbelievably quite for the middle of July & we are having our busiest time all year at the moment right now too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

I'm hearing of about 3000 in attendance at concert - absolute joke imo.
    God only knows who will come next year, if indeed anyone. Their are losses to recuperate now also as sponsorship wasn't good at all this year by all accounts.
    I think Killarney Summerfest could well be in jeopardy, time will tell how next year will look.

I heard a figure of 3000 as well.
    Hard to see how the Summerfest wouldnt be in trouble after this.
    Initially I thought the PCD were a poor choice for the Summerfest especially at €60 a ticket.
    Shame really as the town could have done with a big weekend.
    Agree it's very quiet for the middle of July.