Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ATM as Gaeilge????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Kold wrote: »
    It could be that.. Or it could be the constant masturbating.

Hence he can't type. And the circle is complete.

Tigger wrote: »
    i would be mastrubating if i was cxhatting to avril lavigne in orish

Well, that explains the typos :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

About time, the technology is there, the translations are already done. English speakers can just ignore it if they like, nothing being forced on you. As for our resident English trolls...
    Did you really I'm stupid enough to say something that would get me banned?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Like we need another line to read!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Well, that explains the typos :pac:

its hard to type with paws

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 penguin00

Maith thú Avril, in the interest of bi-lingualism....(good on you Avril).

Mike...(you have two names we have two languages get over it)
    Its a simple choice to use or not to use yes the majority converse in English but dont knock the language or us that want to use it. Its doing no harm and yes we use it. Its out there more that you think or care. Complaining about it wont get rid of it......Go to Switzerland and they will have machines in 4 languages, in most countries it will have it in English and the national language :eek:
    Its not a big deal.

Slán.oh nearly forgot

Bye / Safe :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Loveless

was down in Dingle a couple of years ago, and that was the first time I saw an ATM in Irish. the cool thing was, two people who were on the main street standing close by were also speaking Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

The ATMs in France are fierce clever altogether, put in a foreign card and it responds in a default language associated with the country that issued the card not only that but also offers a choice of 4/5 other languages as well as French.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Hagar wrote: »
    The ATMs in France are fierce clever altogether, put in a foreign card and it responds in a default language associated with the country that issued the card not only that but also offers a choice of 4/5 other languages as well as French.

That's pretty common, put an Irish credit card into a machine in the UK and you'll get given language choices and the same with using UK cards over here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

Lana bus?

Wasn't lana Leo Dowlings gf from fair city?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Lol BOI ATMs have had the Irish option for years. I've only used it once though.

What really annoys me is the people who use the English option and then actually read each word. FFS it's pretty much the same every time. Don't stand there for 20 minutes like an idiot.

micmclo wrote: »
    An Daingean
    Dingle was dropped as offical town name in 2005

Is it not Dingle An Daingean now? Or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Ar fheabhas!

Ar dtús, an tocco.. Anois, an ATM.. ina dhiaidh sin, an domhan!!

Deadly!

Firstly, the tocco, now the atm.. after that - the world!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

robinph wrote: »
    put an Irish credit card into a machine in the UK

And it will tell you to feck off back home in the language everyone understands (gobbley up my credit card-ish)..... Maxed out, on holidays and yer country is in recession.

janeybabe wrote: »
    Is it not Dingle An Daingean now? Or something.

All Gaeltachtaí are referred only by their name as gaeilge. The removed English from the signs. Here in Waterford, our local Gaeltacht only has the signs as Gaeilge.

I love Gaeilge.. But personally, I don't think that getting into a big debate about names on signs is the way to really promote it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

ATMs? I rarely use those.

I just use one of those dispenser things. You know the ones that heal you, give you metal and give you ammunition all for free? Yeah money comes out them too apparently.

This is the thing I'm on about.

mike65 wrote: »
    Maybe in the Gaeltacht but yesterday was the first time I'd been confronted by this example of needless pandering to linguistic minorities.

Mike

It is the official language of Ireland and Irish speakers have every right to have public services translated as gaeilge. Does it really break your heart to click "English"?

Stop whining. You'd swear the entire thing was as gaeilge.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I hate the ones that greet you by name when you put in your card.

Hello Pickarooney, please enter your pin:

?

dlofnep wrote: »
    All Gaeltachtaí are referred only by their name as gaeilge. The removed English from the signs. Here in Waterford, our local Gaeltacht only has the signs as Gaeilge.

I love Gaeilge.. But personally, I don't think that getting into a big debate about names on signs is the way to really promote it.

But wasn't there a compromise or something so that it was to be referred to as both?

Meh, I don't really care. I love Irish and I couldn't give a sh1t about na logainmneacha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭RealJohn

Avril, this is a forum for english speaking, there are forums dedicated to speaking as Gaelige so use them if you insist on speaking Irish.
    Given that these are supposedly Irish boards, I don't see why I shouldn't be allowed to speak my own language if I so choose. For the most part, I post in english, mainly because an unfortunately large number of people wouldn't have a clue what I was saying if I posted in Irish. I feel sorry for them that they can't appreciate our beautiful native tounge.
    I love when closet Gaeilgeoirí climb out of the woodwork to "defend" their beloved tongue. Can't say I've noticed ye as regular posters in TnanG.
    Tá brón orm, ní raibh a fhios agam nach raibh mé i mo Ghaeilgeoir mar nach mbím ar an mbord idirlíne ceart. Cheap mé gur leor é go labharaim Gaeilge gach lá agus go bhfuil grá agam don teanga.

(brón orm maidir le chursaí gramadaigh áfach. Níl mo chuid Gaeilge scríofa ró-mhaith)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Donald-Duck

I was under the impression that Dingle was made an exception. I seem to remember a big deal about it being made

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

use a debit card!

but yeah it is annoying, I mean, why? just why? the queues will be longer now cos of that extra button you have to press :o

use a debit card!

but yeah it is annoying, I mean, why? just why? the queues will be longer now cos of that extra button you have to press :o

But it's been like this for years. :confused:

the irish? no it hasn't!

Um, it has. On BOI ones anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

Um, it has. On BOI ones anyway.

Yeah its been on my 2 local BOI ones for close to 6 years now anyway!.

Anyway the point is - who gives a flying fook?

how odd, it only appeared on mine a few weeks ago

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

RealJohn wrote: »
    Given that these are supposedly Irish boards, I don't see why I shouldn't be allowed to speak my own language if I so choose. For the most part, I post in english, mainly because an unfortunately large number of people wouldn't have a clue what I was saying if I posted in Irish. I feel sorry for them that they can't appreciate our beautiful native tounge.

I appreciate the Irish language too (can't speak a word of it unfortunately) but it's an English language forum. It's just not practical for forums to allow for more than one language. It messes up the discussion and makes moderation a bítch.

There is an Irish language forum (http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=904) so I don't see what the problem is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

2 questions:

1) what's an ATM

2) whats a gaeilge?

giggsy664 wrote: »

what's an ATM

Ass-To-Mouth, its a popular porn genre...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

Feelgood wrote: »
    Ass-To-Mouth, its a popular porn genre...

Ok. So whats a gaeilge then??? Is it gay ass electronic interlingual gay electronics?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Ok. So whats a gaeilge then??? Is it gay ass electronic interlingual gay electronics?

Yes. It's literally so "gay" they had to note it twice in the acronym.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

Hagar wrote: »
    Bank of Ireland machines do this too! Stick in a French card, lo and behold, everything's in French. It's bad French though. They could have made the effort to get it right.

Is the Irish correct, out of interest?

Ok. So whats a gaeilge then???

ATM = Ass-To-Mouth

Gaeilge?. Thon go dti beal

But wasn't there a compromise or something so that it was to be referred to as both?

Meh, I don't really care. I love Irish and I couldn't give a sh1t about na logainmneacha.

No idea to be honest. I don't think signposts fall into the grand scheme of things when promoting the Irish language.

I do however find it funny that there is rarely ever any critics of the Irish language who can actually speak it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I do however find it funny that there is rarely ever any critics of the Irish language who can actually speak it.

Most of the criticisms would be that it's a dead language, pointless or useless (not saying it is now) so why would anyone who thinks it's useless bother their hole to learn it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

As someone mentioned earlier Irish is the first official language of the Constitution and English second... and indeed if a conflict arises between the Irish and English articles the Irish will have precedence over the English interpretation.

...But the dirty little secret is that the Irish version of the Constitution was translated from the English draft so ultimately the English version is the "primary" source but the Irish translation is the "supreme" source.

Or so our constitutional law professor told us (as Bearla)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Lol storm in a teacup.

Ireland has two official languages so by right Irish should have joined English on the ATMs when they were first brought out. It's an extra button to press to choose your language. Whoop dee fucking do.

If people don't want it there then get it off the official languages list for the country (and that's a totally new debate altogether).

Most of the criticisms would be that it's a dead language, pointless or useless (not saying it is now) so why would anyone who thinks it's useless bother their hole to learn it.

Why ask a redundant question? If they consider it useless, why learn it? I considered it worthless in school, but after school I found it to be a worthy purpose to follow, support and learn. I have put time into promotion, and expanding the Irish language.

What's the point? Well? Expansion of a language that was once a majority language on the Island of Ireland. Expansion of a language that is taught for 13 years without fluency.. And expansion of a language that has a terrible stigma, but is despite all that, fun to learn and great to express..

But why explain it? I've found that some have already made up theit mind and cannot be influenced. I am not here to influence you. I am here to express my opinion.. And that is, the Irish language is our language and something we should retain.. Why? Despite being the first language on this Island, it is spoken by 100,000's of people on here and is out official language.. But then so, is an alternative way to express our feelings... Is a new experience for us.. A hobby.. A task. An objective to revive.. But as stated... I can tell you have already decided upon the faith of the language and have made your opinion... and I respect that. But respect those of us who wish to use it. It is our official language, and those of us who use it everyday deserve the right to speak it and have translations for public services.

Why ask a redundant question? If they consider it useless, why learn it? I considered it worthless in school, but after school I found it to be a worthy purpose to follow, support and learn. I have put time into promotion, and expanding the Irish language.

What's the point? Well? Expansion of a language that was once a majority language on the Island of Ireland. Expansion of a language that is taught for 13 years without fluency.. And expansion of a language that has a terrible stigma, but is despite all that, fun to learn and great to express..

But why explain it? I've found that some have already made up theit mind and cannot be influenced. I am not here to influence you. I am here to express my opinion.. And that is, the Irish language is our language and something we should retain.. Why? Despite being the first language on this Island, it is spoken by 100,000's of people on here and is out official language.. But then so, is an alternative way to express our feelings... Is a new experience for us.. A hobby.. A task. An objective to revive.. But as stated... I can tell you have already decided upon the faith of the language and have made your opinion... and I respect that. But respect those of us who wish to use it. It is our official language, and those of us who use it everyday deserve the right to speak it and have translations for public services.
    Eh, I think you're a little confused or mixed up there, I don't think Irish is pointless or anything like that.
    You said you laugh at people who criticise it yet can't speak it. I was merely pointing out that seeing as most of the criticisms are that it's useless or something similar to that then those people would never learn it. In fact if they did learn it it would make their criticisms less valid instead of more valid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

kraggy wrote: »
    How arrogant of you.

So it's ok to have it in French, German, Polish but not as Gaeilge?

It's not pandering by the way. Some of us use Gaeilge everyday. It has equality of stature in our constitution so if you don't like it, move back to where you came from.

And for you information, the speaking of Gaeilge isn't confined to areas of An Ghaeltacht.

I think his point was that it's needless. Yes some people use irish every day but how many of them would be incapable of operating an atm in english do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

I find it funny that very few of the critics of the kkk are members of it......

Why would someone go to the bother of learning something they consider pointless?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,218 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Fair play.
    What's the point? Well? Expansion of a language that was once a majority language on the Island of Ireland.
    So? Now the majority language is english.
    Expansion of a language that is taught for 13 years without fluency..
    Which I agree is daft.
    And expansion of a language that has a terrible stigma, but is despite all that, fun to learn and great to express..
    That's cool
    Despite being the first language on this Island, it is spoken by 100,000's of people on here and is out official language..
    It's our official language, yes. I would seriously disagree that it's spoken by 100,000's of people. Remember the bloke on TG4 who tried to use it all over Ireland. Bugger all success there ted. The 100,000's must have been sick that day. I reckon in my life, I have heard it spoken in conversation outside schools maybe 5 or 6 times. I have heard more eastern european languages in one day. Then we get to the fluency aspect. Just because they say they're fluent in a census, means diddly squat.
    But then so, is an alternative way to express our feelings... Is a new experience for us.. A hobby.. A task. An objective to revive..
    Again cool.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

You said you laugh at people who criticise it yet can't speak it.

I didn't say I laughed at them. I said I found it funny that you would rarely ever see someone who can speak it, that criticises it. I think many people are actually angry that they can't speak it. I've spoken to 100's of people about it over the years.. I always spark up the question in conversation. People either are upset that they can't speak it and shun it away because of this anger, or they are upset that they can't speak it, but would really like to learn it - but don't have any practical way of doing so.

I also find that most people start to gain a love for the language outside of school. Where there is no pressure on them and they can do it on their own accord. I meet up with a few people for a conversational group in a pub every week and I can't count the amount of people that randomly walk over and say it's great what we are doing and that they would love to learn but just don't have anywhere to do so.

That's the problem.. It's really difficult to learn something on your own accord. You need to be dedicated in order to do so. I've been learning as much as I can over the past year or so, and I've still not even cracked the tip of the iceberg. Which is why I think that everyone should at least be given a fair crack at it in school with a newly reformed education which includes conversational classes. Then let people decide what language they want to use outside of school. I speak in Irish with anybody who can speak it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Ah for feck sake, it's one extra button. Big deal!
    You'd swear people stand there for 10 minutes deliberating "English or Irish? Béarla nó Gaeilge? Daddy or Chips?" etc.
    If you want to use the English version, use it. If you want to use the Irish version use that instead.

Seriously, what's the big problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭book smarts

What's the point? Well? Expansion of a language that was once a majority language on the Island of Ireland.

QUOTE]

Why don't you learn old Gael then, which was ONCE a majority language, on the island of ireland? Or why don't you learn proto-indo european, if you could, which was once spoken by your forefathers?

I've nothing against the language itself, but the problem with Irish is that it has been used as a political tool. It is also almost a symbol of defiance against the "oppressors". The whole Gaelic revival produced a bastardised version of the language which was rammed down everyones throats and sold as a lie- our "native" language that the collective national conciousness has "forgotten". And if we only look deep into our souls our genetic memory can remember the language, and rediscover what it means to be truly "Irish". What a load of crap.

Those who speak Irish look down their nose at those who don't, and consider themselves more "Irish" because they "bothered" to learn it. I will forever associate it with psychotic teachers, an sickening waste of public resources spent needlessly translating, and the nationalist aholes like the IRA and co.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Thirdfox wrote: »
    As someone mentioned earlier Irish is the first official language of the Constitution and English second... and indeed if a conflict arises between the Irish and English articles the Irish will have precedence over the English interpretation.

...But the dirty little secret is that the Irish version of the Constitution was translated from the English draft so ultimately the English version is the "primary" source but the Irish translation is the "supreme" source.

Or so our constitutional law professor told us (as Bearla)...

Not exactly true. Both were wrote at the same time but most of the legal experts knew English not Irish so most of the legal side of things is a fairly literal translation of the English.

However the introduction and some other pieces were wrote in Irish first I believe.

So it's not like some guy went off wrote and then had it translated into Irish. It was a long and collaborative process

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭stardust_dublin

irish is definitely more appreciated in the west than anywhere else in ireland. nui galway even offers all students to do the diploma in irish as part of their degree! as far as i know theres no such thing as that offered as part of degrees in Dublin universities.

i know a few people from galway in the connemara area, one lad who was brought up speaking only irish til he was 8, as a result his english fluency is lacking; his father speaks only irish. backward times.... i also know a girl in nui galway who was also brought up speaking just irish until the age of 5, her written english is atrocious! you would never find people like this in the east of ireland.

as booksmarts said a above, i am in full agreement with you that

""Those who speak Irish look down their nose at those who don't, and consider themselves more "Irish" because they "bothered" to learn it. I will forever associate it with psychotic teachers, an sickening waste of public resources spent needlessly translating,"", couldnt be more true!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

To rub it in people's faces Trinity College accepts Irish as a foreign language to fulfil the foreign language requirement (i.e. French, German etc. if you want to enter other universities such as UCDD etc.)

Personally as a naturalised Irish citizen who had learnt Irish in primary and secondary school (I gave it a try in uni but soon gave up) I do think it's a good thing to have around. But these kinds of action (signposts in Irish, EU law documents translated into Irish etc.) are useless without a corresponding investment in the education stage of the language.

I speak French much better than Irish yet I had 3 more years of Irish teaching... I couldn't help but think that if they started with the ABCs of Irish in 2ndary school all over again (as they did with French) I would remember a lot more.