Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

God Saves Atheist and Brings Him Back From Death

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭Gareth37

I call the One God for I am a Christian. No offense to the other religeons, Im sure its the same Man that guides us. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭son.of.jimi

A lot of that i agree with... just not that it was god that did this, or god that gave us that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

Gareth37 wrote: »
    I call the One God for I am a Christian. No offense to the other religeons, Im sure its the same Man that guides us. :)

What about the wimminz?

Nerin wrote: »
    Oh i'm so there.
    Can i be vice president?no,wait,junior vice president?
    You my friend can be PA to the Junior VP... Mr.Puss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,247 ✭✭✭stevejazzx

What about the wimminz?

They must quote 'submit themsleves onto their husbands'...so good news all round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Including the one's that required human sacrifice?

What about the wimminz?
    Well it's fair to say that wimminz normally rule men... no matter what their creed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭CerebralCortex

Its only the Holy Spirit directing me. I asked the Holy Spirit to guide me to something that would convert people on here. I googled something about miracles and the first I clicked on in a list was about a former atheist. :)

This will work, in the power of God it will work

How do you know you're not an agent of Satan? :eek:

Well it's fair to say that wimminz normally rule men... no matter what their creed...

... Handmaidens of the dark lord,bringer of hellfire,master of naughty things.

he didn't make the cut...his arguments were poor.

stevejazzx wrote: »
    he didn't make the cut...his arguments were poor.

burn..

Because we beat him to it at the character select screen.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,449 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

I thought the same for a long time living my life without considering God or the Bible. I made my own rules because they suited.
    Do you feel you've stopped doing that now?

Wouldn't being an agent of Satan be so much exotic and exciting than the real answer?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,564 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Good. Nobody insulting each other yet. I'm going back to my book. :)

Zillah wrote: »
    Wouldn't being an agent of Satan be so much exotic and exciting than the real answer?

I know it looks attractive but there's a poor health plan and no dental!

Agent of Satan-current activity: drinking shots out of the belly buttons of hot chicks,at a metal concert,tempting all around him into naughty fun things.

Agent of God-current activity: failing to convert atheists on an internet forum.

I can't tell which is more fun,you decide.

Dades wrote: »
    Good. Nobody insulting each other yet. I'm going back to my book. :)

Best.Mod.Ever. Give Hungus some lessons will ya!

Yes but we're on commission so I'd be rolling in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

No everyone should have a chance of faith.

You clearly don't have faith enough that others will make the right choices.

I know that this world makes it difficult with the forces of evil against good

The world isn't black/white. Just varying shades of gray.
    t would bring great joy to see even one atheist turn to God

Which god? and how do you know it is the right one?

Yes but we're on commission so I'd be rolling in it.

What do ya need cash for when you're an agent of Satan? You just take what you need. jeez rookies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Sorry Gareth, even Jesus himself specifically pointed out that people will not return to life after dying. Remember the parable of the Rich Man and Lazarus in Luke 16?

The Rich Man and Lazarus died, Lazarus went to Heaven and the rich man was sent to Hell, whilst in Hell he begged Abraham to send Lazarus to his five brothers to warn them to repent because they would believe if they saw a man return from the dead but Abraham responded: 'If they do not listen to Moses and the Prophets, they will not be convinced even if someone rises from the dead.' "

This was Jesus himself denying the possibility of the events you have just described. Your God does not raise people from the dead so that they can convert the unbelievers and testify to his existence. Whatever happened to that Ukranian bloke was not through the actions of Jesus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭Gareth37

Charco wrote: »
    Sorry Gareth, even Jesus himself specifically pointed out that people will not return to life after dying. Remember the parable of the Rich Man and Lazarus in Luke 16?

The Rich Man and Lazarus died, Lazarus went to Heaven and the rich man was sent to Hell, whilst in Hell he begged Abraham to send Lazarus to his five brothers to warn them to repent because they would believe if they saw a man return from the dead but Abraham responded: 'If they do not listen to Moses and the Prophets, they will not be convinced even if someone rises from the dead.' "

This was Jesus himself denying the possibility of the events you have just described. Your God does not raise people from the dead so that they can convert the unbelievers and testify to his existence. Whatever happened to that Ukranian bloke was not through the actions of Jesus.

True but miracles do happen.

Miracles do not happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

Gareth, are you omnipresent or something?

Miracles do not happen.

Proof? :D

I read it in a book. But before you start doubting the accuracy of the book, please note that it was not written by the finest minds of our generation, nor is it a product of rigorous peer review.

It's thousands of years old and was written by goat herders.

*folds arms and sits back confidently*

I read it in a book. But before you start doubting the accuracy of the book, please note that it was not written by the finest minds of our generation, nor is it a product of rigorous peer review.

It's thousands of years old and was written by goat herders.

Harry potter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

True but miracles do happen.

Ok, so let me get this straight

First of all you claim that god "saved" an atheist by brining him back to life.

Then it turns out he wasn't an atheist he was a Christian.

Then it turns out that he was a devout Christian with little medical knowledge in a country not renowned for its high standards of medical care.

Then it turns out that the event describe actually goes against the teachings of the very religion he was a member of and that you are trying to convert us all to?

What part of all this is supposed to draw us closer to God? It seems just another example to go in the "Religion is nonsense" folder.

Er, I meant to bring that up at the last meeting Wicknight. The "folder" has had to be, er, extended. It's more a warehouse now and we need funding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

Harry potter?

:D:D ha ha ha :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

Good point, I'll start a donation going. If Wikipedia can get 6 million ... :pac:

It is possible that Gareth is a tool of Satan though, I've never been more convinced that religion is bat sh*t crazy after this thread and his evolution thread.

leading us down the wrong path and all that ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Asiaprod

*Passes Zillah the popcorn*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭The Mad Hatter

Another brilliant thread! Gareth37, I want to give you a gold star. Really. You deserve it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,850 ✭✭✭condra

Gareth you are becomming an annoying troll. Show some respect for people and actually respond to their questions and comments. I hope some day you grow up and realise how pathetic this sort of behaviour is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Surely god would be more impressed if you actually left the house to convert people....... Head over to Saudi Arabia, those lads are in need of some serious Christianisation!

Either way, please stop posting here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

If we were to assume for one moment that God and Satan do exist, and are trying to tempt people, then it makes sense that God would make his path easy and fun. If I was God, that's what I'd do.

Therefore, logically Satan is pulling the double-bluff and leading people to believe that if they have to work hard at believing and make tonnes of sacrifices, they are doing the right thing, when in fact all they are doing is ignoring the fun and joyful path that God has set out for us.

Ergo, all religion is the work of Satan.

Therefore, God supports Atheism.

Q.E.D.

Dave! wrote: »
    Surely god would be more impressed if you actually left the house to convert people....... Head over to Saudi Arabia, those lads are in need of some serious Christianisation!

Either way, please stop posting here

Yup,or at least try convert people that already believe in something,paganism forum :p

Also,i'm extremely impressed by seamus post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Yup,or at least try convert people that already believe in something,paganism forum :p

Quit it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

I just paypalled Dades €50. He says we can post as much personal abuse as we like for the next fifteen minutes while he finishes his book. ;)

I see no record of €50 in my account. So until I do - I'll be watching you lot!

sauron-eye-214.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Dades wrote: »
    I see no record of €50 in my account.

Of course not ;)
    Nobody took up on the offer.. i guess atheists arent so bad after all.

Maybe I need to tell people it's for a bus or something... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

There's another bus fund?! WHERE DO I SEND MY LIFE SAVINGS?!?! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Tomk1

Our morals don't count because we aren't in the club :(

Just for intrest: about MORALS:

humanism [hymənizəm] n

1. belief in human-based morality: a system of thought that is based on the values, characteristics, and behaviour that are believed to be best in human beings, rather than on any supernatural authority

Encarta ® World English Dictionary © & (P) 1998-2005 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Well I don't care for that club then... my club is better... it has cats...
    Can I join the cat club too please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭Soul Winner

Tomk1 wrote: »
    Just for intrest: about MORALS:

humanism [hymənizəm] n

1. belief in human-based morality:

Why do we have morals? Assuming there is no God then what possible reason is there for originating or latching onto any set of moral values? What purpose do they serve, assuming humanity is truly purposeless i.e. having no origin or intention in a creator? If all we are is just natural byproducts in a purposeless evolutionary process which as Dawkins puts it has only one purpose really, to propogate DNA. Why do we have morals? And more importantly, why do even atheists feel the need to adhere to any set of moral values when in the end they are meaningless and futile if there is no God?

a system of thought that is based on the values

What values? Who thinks them up? Why should we adhere to them? What are the consequences if we don't adhere to them assuming there is nobody to answer to? We can do what we like right? So why don't we? What is it that stops us in our tracks? Why do we internalize any moral value system and behave in accordance with same? Assuming there is no one to answer to then what is the point?

characteristics, and behaviour that are believed to be best in human beings, rather than on any supernatural authority.

Believed to be? By who? Why is not killing people better than killing them? To what does one anchor moral values to without there being a superior being to account to in the end? Why should I for instance adhere to what Wicknight believes to be good behavior when there is no consequences to me either way? Why am I scorned if I shoot somebody tomorrow? Why should I not do that if there is nobody to account to for it? If I were truly an atheist then I should be able to do what I please including killing whoever gets in my way. Shouldn't I? If not then why not? If you can come up with a reason then what is that reason? And why ultimately should I adhere to it? Ok I might be shunned by the herd but why is that a good reason to not do what I want assuming the atheistic world view is correct?

Oh and good post OP. I actually thought it was a very interesting read. I liked the way he gave God the glory and not himself as some who seeemingly experience miraculous happenings are apt to do. This is a good sign that it was a genuine experience that he had. It might not have been real but - he at least - thought it was, so hats off to him for not claiming glory to himself in the telling. It wouldn't matter even if it was genuine, it would still get the same reaction here regardless. I know why you posted it and fair play to you. But these heathens are not worthy of your concern for their souls :D

Why do we have morals? Assuming there is no God then what possible reason is there for originating or latching onto any set of moral values? What purpose do they serve, assuming humanity is truly purposeless i.e. having no origin or intention in a creator? If all we are is just natural byproducts in a purposeless evolutionary process which as Dawkins puts it has only one purpose really, to propogate DNA. Why do we have morals?

How is it possible that you can have been posting on this forum for as long as you have and still come out with questions like this? We've been through this time and time again. Morality is an evolutionarily advantageous trait in just the same way that being faster or smarter is. Human beings are social animals, individuals that lacked morality were excluded from the group and left to die alone. As a consequence humans beings (other than sociopaths) feel an urge to be moral.
    And more importantly, why do even atheists feel the need to adhere to any set of moral values

I have an urge to get along with my fellow man in just the same way I have an urge to eat food. It has been evolutionarily advantageous for my ancestors.
    when in the end they are meaningless and futile if there is no God?

Are you only a moral person because of fear of God or hope for reward? In which case a moral atheist is far more moral than you, for they are good for goodness' sake, whereas you are a bootlicking opportunist.
    If I were truly an atheist then I should be able to do what I please including killing whoever gets in my way. Shouldn't I? If not then why not? If you can come up with a reason then what is that reason? And why ultimately should I adhere to it? Ok I might be shunned by the herd but why is that a good reason to not do what I want assuming the atheistic world view is correct?

Because you don't want to murder rape and steal, right? If you do then you're a sociopath and I would like it very much if you contacted a mental health professional asap.

How well do you think any given ancestor of yours would have done if they tried to kill whoever got in their way?
    Why should I not do that if there is nobody to account to for it?

Personally I find your notion of authority driven morality to be utterly reprehensible. You're not moral, you're obedient. It is exactly the kind of mentality that can lead to someone believing and doing terrible things while still thinking they are good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭Soul Winner

How is it possible that you can have been posting on this forum for as long as you have and still come out with questions like this?

Eh, because the answers that came are not very convincing?
    We've been through this time and time again. Morality is an evolutionarily advantageous trait in just the same way that being faster or smarter is.

Smarter and faster I can understand but to be moral about stuff? I fail to see the survivical benefits in that. If we all came from more primitive organisms and our only reason for being was SURVIVAL then why adopt morality en rout to becoming what we are today? If there is no purpose or direction in where we are going then why evolve morals when we were surviving pretty well up until we started evolving them????
    Human beings are social animals, individuals that lacked morality were excluded from the group and left to die alone. As a consequence humans beings (other than sociopaths) feel an urge to be moral.

Why evolve sociality when all that's important is survival?

I have an urge to get along with my fellow man in just the same way I have an urge to eat food. It has been evolutionarily advantageous for my ancestors.

If before we evolved social structures we survived then why evolve social structures if the only reason for being is to survive? Why waste precious recourses evolving social structures and morals?

Are you only a moral person because of fear of God or hope for reward?

Both. I see no other reason to internalize a moral value system. If the only reason to exist is to merely survive then I fail to see why I should adopt any moral value system. If the fittest of the fittest rule is correct then you will accept my way of doing things if I happen to be the fittest or else, and If I see a reason to not evolve along the lines of adopting moral values systems then that is the way it is going to be. Get it? I fail to see how the strongest in the herd would lead us along the lines of adopting moral value systems while in their (moral value system's) embryonic stage had no potential for any survival benefits whatsoever. See what I'm getting at? The fact that we have them is proof that there is a higher order than us. Otherwise there would be no reason whatsoever in their embryonic stage to select them as advantageous for survival.
    In which case a moral atheist is far more moral than you, for they are good for goodness' sake, whereas you are a bootlicking opportunist.

But if there is no God then what is "goodness"? From whence comes this concept? Why do we have it? Without God "goodness" means nothing. You might think that you are more good than me but at the end of the day it all means nothing as there is nothing to hold it up against, it's just your version of goodness against mine with nobody to judge between either. We both fade into non existence with nobody at the helm of adjudicating either way. You might be more moral than me but who is it that judges that? You?

Because you don't want to murder rape and steal, right? If you do then you're a sociopath and I would like it very much if you contacted a mental health professional asap.

If I want to kill everyone then so what? In a purely atheistic world view this should only result in the herd shunning me, and I should not be regarded for anything else. The herd is one and needs only to survive, no more effort should be spent on a sociopath like me other that 'un-mused-over' shunning.
    How well do you think any given ancestor of yours would have done if they tried to kill whoever got in their way?

They would have survived and propagated their genes. Hello!!!

Personally I find your notion of authority driven morality to be utterly reprehensible.

I'm not putting forth my notion of authority driven morality. I'm merely envisioning an atheistic world view. If we are but animals then what does your judgment mean to me? It means nothing at all, nor should it, as there is no accountability in an atheistic frame of reference.
    You're not moral, you're obedient. It is exactly the kind of mentality that can lead to someone believing and doing terrible things while still thinking they are good.

You are also not moral but obedient. You adhere to a set of values that you have internalized and behave accordingly. If I'm not moral then you're not moral, this also leads to people comitting terrible deeds in the name of what they believe to be right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

God bless god!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!