Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

We won a Golden Spider.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,568 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

ebayspidersf5.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭Vexorg

D.Bishop = http://www.desbishop.com/

He was the MC for the night - and a good choice too and a CuLT mentioned friendly approachable guy (he was carrying around a Leprechaun/Garden Gnome for most of the night) which is a clear signal to the Loonies -> come talk to me.

Someone in the audience just stepped up on Stage in the middle of the event asked to take a pic of himself and Des which he took with his camera phone (i think) and gave him the Leprechaun/Gnome and walked off quietly. I reckon it was one of the Des Bishop impersonators on Bebo:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

ONLINE FORUM Boards.ie netted the inaugural People's Choice Award at the Eircom Golden Spiders internet awards,

A bit of a penalty kick, no? ;)

Well done to the Screws but of course it could never have happened without the restless inmates.

Mike

• Registered Users Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Glad to see my vote counted for something :)

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

r3nu4l wrote: »
    Glad to see my vote counted for something :)

Makes a change in this country eh ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭Trinity

Congrats. i dont think it was the votes i think it was the nice things i said in the please tell us why you like blahh blahh, that clinched it for ye :D

Met Des Bishop also, very funny bloke.

Who is the guy with the spider on his head?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

Congrats lads. Have yeh named the spider yet?

oooooh!

call it JIZZLORD!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 250 ✭✭aidan.connolly

Congratulations :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Trinity1 wrote: »
    Who is the guy with the spider on his head?

Arachnia__Queen_of_the_Spider_People.jpg

DeVore of Dev and the Admins.

http://wiki.boards.ie/wiki/DeVore

That has to be the funniest pic of him in a long while on here and it's not even photoshopped.

Ok better pics this time - Thanks to Carolan from Daft Media:)

1) the little plaque at the bottom

bottom1.jpg

2) The Spider - Still got its 8 legs.

spider1_1.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Arachnia__Queen_of_the_Spider_People.jpg

DeVore of Dev and the Admins.

http://wiki.boards.ie/wiki/DeVore

That has to be the funniest pic of him in a long while on here and it's not even photoshopped.

What picture? :o

EDIT: This fecking computer is blocking images on Boards....
    are they hosted on wthax by any chance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Everyone on the site owns a piece of it. Congrats.

mike65 wrote: »
    A bit of a penalty kick, no? ;)

Well done to the Screws but of course it could never have happened without the restless inmates.

Mike

We didnt write the article and as stated above :)
    Vexorg wrote: »
    Remember we picked up the award on behalf of you guys and its nice:)

@goingforward - Sounds like fun - We might have a competition for that - what would you name it?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,079 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

watty wrote: »
    Congrats..

P.S. I know who D. Mulley is, but who is D. Bishop?

He's the one that stands beside d king on a chess board.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Vexorg, oh I realise that was the IT scribblers words.

article (in Finance section!)

Mike

• Registered Users Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

Great news. Well done guys!!

Hey, does this mean I have to change my broadband account to Eircom now to continue to use Boards ? :eek::D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,049 ✭✭✭Cloud

• Registered Users Posts: 11,196 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Snappy bowtie ecksor ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 83,235 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Ruu wrote: »
    Everyone on the site owns a piece of it. Congrats.
    Can I take my share in the form of a discounted subscription? Euros are pricey :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

One vote makes a difference and in this instance I believe it was my vote that made the difference. :p

Congratulations!

Edit: Anyone think that spider thing would make a great ban stick?

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

janeybabe wrote: »

Edit: Anyone think that spider thing would make a great ban stick?

I wonder if it would look good on a hooker with coke sprinkled all over her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Cmol

Congrats guys - fully deserved!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Wow wa we wa! GG lads!

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,727 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

DeVore wrote: »
    I'm trying not to be cynical here, its really a nice award and its nice to have lots of people feel good enough about the site that they voted for it. Thanks. :)

We won "Best Boards-Like Site" ("best social and community site" actually).

There will be pics, at least one of me pretending to be the "Queen of the Spider People" (which Phaxx took :) ). ahem...

We got the biggest cheer of the night which was nice (all those techies stood up and cheered for us.... then sat down again, panting heavily) :)

I'm going to bed now. Sleepy time for bagpuss.

DeV.
    Rule 34?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Cloud wrote: »
    Well done gentlemen! Bunch of handsome men their! And... Is that a lady I see!? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭minxie

congrats dudes!!!:):):)

• Registered Users Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Yet another award, congrats :)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭tSubh Dearg

Is it just me or does the spider look like something that aliens might attack in?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, RicherSounds.ie Moderator Posts: 2,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Ritz

Is it just me or does the spider look like something that aliens might attack in?

mars2.jpg

Boards Attacks !!

Ritz.

The Ritz wrote: »
    mars2.jpg

Boards Attacks !!

Ritz.

More this methinks:

War-of-the-worlds-tripod.jpg