Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Famous people you've met!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Pierce Brosnan
    Brendan Grace
    Mike Murphy
    Robbie Keane
    Clinton Morrison
    Damien Duff
    Shay Given
    Eamon de Buitlear
    Bob Geldof
    Michael Schenker
    David Coverdale
    Joe Elliot
    Gerry Ryan
    Keith Woods
    Peter Stringer
    Jason Sherlock
    Brian Stynes
    Mick O'Dwyer
    Gus Hansen
    Dick Roche
    Steve Earle
    Finbarr Furey
    Chris de Burgh
    Gabriel Byrne
    Paul Williams
    John Boorman
    Ronan Collins
    Eamon O Cuiv

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭fourfiveone

Finished work early on the Friday before Christmas '07. Went afternoon drinking in Bantry, Cork. Changing venue after a few and spotted Graham Norton buying plant pots in Lyons on The Square.
    From what I remember, he was a genuine guy. Laughed politely when we called him Noel Furlong and even posed for a photo (looks quite scared surrounded by beery men, would have thought he'd be in his element:D)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

*Dallas wrote: »
    have to ask, how do you meet that many american celebrities? you must have a cool job :D

Concerts mainly. I used to travel in the States alot (holidays), and right place, right time lol. I seem to attract them it's the most bizarre thing! Hoping to meet Britney again in June!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭mandrake04

I met Brian McFadden in my local Shopping centre in Castlehill in Sydney there just before Christmas I was sitting down while waiting for my girlfriend shopping and he was same waiting on Delta, I shared a joke that I just wanted to go to the pub and he agreed. We were the only two Paddies in the place.

I also met Delta in Narita Airport in Japan she was standing in front of me in the immigration line and I was talking to my mate and she heard the accent and just turned around and smiled.

I also met Paddy Keilty in the Mercantile hotel in Sydney, Funny story about it too ............my friend The Wolf walked up to him and said.......

The Wolf: "Are you Paddy Keilty?"

Paddy: "Yes I am"

The Wolf "Don't worry about it we all got our problems"

And the whole bar burst out laughing......He was speechless for once but took it in good jest.

Billy Connolly a few times ............always in Paddy McGuires George St Sydney when ever Celtic match is on and he is in town. His wife's family lives in Rosebay.

Neil Lennon...... He went to the same school as me St Pauls Lurgan.....was very good Gaelige player he played U16 when I played U14..... also I used to work in the local Pub and the rare time he came home to visit his daughter he would get trashed and he used to stay in the hotel accross the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Up da Craic

I once met Bono and the Edge in the Clarence hotel and for once he was not wearing any glasses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

only famous person ive ever met is ray haughton and he was quiet but friendly

id love to meet someone famous and for them to be in the words of fr ted ( i hear val kilmer,s a complete bastard ) , only really intereasted in hearing about the ones who were horrible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 trixie666

I met Mel Gibson when he was filming Braveheart, i was an extra. He was a really nice guy, not very tall. He lost his head during one scene, when someone clobbered him with a cabbage!! After that he wouldnt speak to any of the extras...

Calum Best in a club last year, soooo hot!!!

About 15 years ago i saw Slash and Duff from Guns n Roses, on a flight from Florida to New York, they were sitting in economy class, fast asleep so i didnt want to bother them,... it had nothing to do with the fact i was a huge fan and i was that star struck and excited, that i couldnt get a word out!!!!!! lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭idontknowmyname

Jimmy Chamberlin- one of best meets, idolise the Pumpkins
    Ray D'Arcy- met him in Belfast
    Todd Carthy- Eastenders filmed in my cousin's village years ago when some of the cast came to Ireland
    Adam Woodyatt-same as above
    Frank Carson- lives in the same estate as me
    Cecelia Ahern
    - shopped in Mango
    Ronan and Yvonne Keating- used to shop in Mango where I was Manager
    Nicky and Georgina Byrne- same as above, served them and had a chat a few times
    Maroon 5- drank with them in Whelans before they hit the big time, then met them a seconnd time when I got backstage passes to Shepherds Bush Empire.
    Brendan Gleeson- always see him strolling around town in a long black coat and say hello

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭acontadino

zizou walking down a promenade with my parents in the south of france...i cried :D

paul mcgrath(legend)
    brian kerr(muppet)
    drico(legend)
    bono(6am when i was running the beach...awkward wasnt the word, he used to be always in my estate)

• Registered Users Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Svalbard

DazMarz wrote: »
    Pierce Brosnan
    Brendan Grace
    Mike Murphy
    Robbie Keane
    Clinton Morrison
    Damien Duff
    Shay Given
    Eamon de Buitlear
    Bob Geldof
    Michael Schenker
    David Coverdale
    Joe Elliot
    Gerry Ryan
    Keith Woods
    Peter Stringer
    Jason Sherlock
    Brian Stynes
    Mick O'Dwyer
    Gus Hansen
    Dick Roche
    Steve Earle
    Finbarr Furey
    Chris de Burgh
    Gabriel Byrne
    Paul Williams
    John Boorman
    Ronan Collins
    Eamon O Cuiv

Haven't we all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Affable

acontadino wrote: »
    bono(6am when i was running the beach...awkward wasnt the word, he used to be always in my estate)

Tell us more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

"Leroy" from Fame. Now dead...
    Brendan Gleeson and the other Irish actor with the shaved head who was in the Snapper and who was in Gangs of NY. Met them in a pub in Rome, when they were filming there.
    Er Piotta. famous roman hip hop pi55 taker...he was surprised a foreigner actually knew who he was
    Was in the dressing room after Man City played in Limk yrs ago. Met Tony Coton, Adrian Heath, Niall Quinn, Peter Reid amongst others...
    Played underage rugby with David Wallace, and another Munster squad player.
    Liam O Maonlai
    Played with Paddy Casey
    Yer man from the Sneaker Pimps
    Noel Hogan
    Mike Hogan
    Fergal Lawlor
    Jim White
    Nina Nastasia
    Matt Lunson
    Stereophonics
    Bass player from Sunk Anansie
    Bass player from Elbow

• Registered Users Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Rael

Bertie Ahern
    Brian Cowan
    Dermot Ahern
    Frank Fahey
    Eamon O'Cuiv
    Dick Roche
    Barry Andrews
    Michael Noonan
    Mary O'Rourke
    Enda Kenny
    Pat Rabbitte
    Alan Shatter
    David Jason
    Liam Neeson
    Pamela Flood
    Neil Ruddock
    Kenny Dalglish & the 1989/1990 Liverpool team
    Kevin Keegan
    Brendan Gleeson
    Larry Mullen Jnr
    Sinead O' Connor
    Colin Farrell

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭SnoozySuzie

I met Joel Schumacher in the Savoy cinema a few years ago. We both went to see Blackhawk down and as soon as the film was over he got on his mobile and started congratulating someone on how good the film was? I wonder who he was talking to?Anywho he signed the back of my ticket and started telling me all the different ways to spell Suzie which was a bit weird?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭xanthor

Rael wrote: »
    Michael Noonan
    Enda Kenny

Non govt TDs are famous?

Oh well, My dog peed on Richard Bruton's shoe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭RobbieMc

OK here goes,

Brenda fricker and Twink. I fixed there computers.
    Ian Dempsey, sure who has met him. I worked with him twice as shows he was doing MC for
    Mark Harmon at a car boot sale in LA.
    Donald Sutherland, parked beside him in LA shopping centre.
    Malcolm-Jamal Warner (Theo from the Cosby show) rode an elevator at paramount studios.
    Alexander Siddig and Nana Visitor at a star Trek convention.
    Chris De burgh at a small concert in Wexford

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭marko91

PELE PELE PELE :D

he was doing some promo thing in grafton street about 3-4 years ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭morning-glory

Nothing better than meeting irish 'celebs' out and about, Harry from fair city (who disguises himself in case someone spots him :D) Ray Shah, Brian Ormond, Finnion Mc Grath, Glenda Gilsen, and my personal favourite, good ole Mary MacAllesse

• Registered Users Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Whiskey Devil

Shane MacGowan
    Liam Clancy
    Noel Gallagher
    Des Bishop
    Phil Taylor
    Steve Davis

John Kelly
    Martin McGuinness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 rebelbabe

Mary Mc Alleese is about it, i never meet anyone famous

oh and our 'favourite' minister for education knows me since i was a kid.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 Stellar

Ive met Spike Lee in New york
    Brian O'Driscoll in Whelans, really sound guy.
    Jape in Whelans also very sound.
    And Queens of the stone age lead singer Josh Homme
    and guitarist... they were totally flirtin wit me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭shivvyban

Justin Timberlake - he was shooting the video for I'm loving it outside our hotel in new york
    Brian O' Driscoll in Arnotts
    Ray D'arcy also in arnotts
    Keith from Boyzone
    David Walliams on Grafton Street
    Mary Robinson opening a heritage centre
    Bleh... think there was more but they obviously left me unimpressed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭ciaramc

Vinta81 wrote: »
    Britney Spears - sooo nice, was when she was still with Jt though. Gorgeous and surprisingly small.
    Justin Timberlake - hawt with big hands lol, nice guy, actually talks to you
    Cameron Diaz - not so nice
    Joey Fatone - soundest guy ever! Took like 5 pictures, really nice
    Lance Bass - spoke to him for like 10mins before his Broadway show, was unreal
    George Clooney ( at the the time wasn't too sure who he was was, very young lol - got to sit in the bat mobile ha)
    Bunch of football players, (Michael Owen, Ryan Giggs and the Arsenal Team in 07 )
    Roberto Cavalli (pic and all, he's a designer)
    Timbaland - backstage at Justins show
    Will Young - used to live near my sister, saw him down at the newsagents ha
    Des Bishop - saw him in Cork twice, gave me money when I collected for SHARE lol
    one of the Westlife guys, I dunno their names lol
    Shane McGowan came into my store last year, poor guy :(
    Leon Jackson lol
    Usher - sooo nice, signed an autograph and all
    Kanye West - he's interesting lol
    Bunch of American TV presenters
    Graham Norton - wicked !
    Kate Winslet - sound sound! She was drinking tea in a hotel in England was was hilarious, spoke to everyone who approached.

Also, when we lived in England we went to a few premieres in London but i guess that's not technically meeting them, but we saw the likes of Tom Cruise (midget ha).

how did you meet Justin T and Britney?

Seen JT myself walking out of a nightclub back in 2003 in Dublin, just happened to be walking back to our hotel when we seen him, only me and my sister there. Was to shy to go up to him, should off regret it now. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 482 ✭✭Innervision

David Beckham in a theme park in California, he was really friendly
    Owen Wilson in LAX, he was kinda grumpy!
    Kanye West in New York, I was extremely star struck, love him
    Arnold Schwarznegger in San Diego, doing his governer duties!
    Ray Darcy when I was a kiddie
    Pat Kenny in the RTE studios
    Tyrone and Kirk from Corrie in some pub, can't remember which one
    JLS in Dublin airport, lovely lads!
    Two of the chaps off Dragon's Den the other day in Stephen's Green!
    Jimmy White when I was about 12, he was my idol at the time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Famous45

Went clubbing and golfing several times with Justin Timberlake - dead on lad.

• Registered Users Posts: 302 ✭✭Zatman

Ken Doherty= sound bloke remember i asked him to win teh world ttle and he came so close that year
    Ronnie O'Sullivan=depressing man
    Ronny Johnson= nice guy same with Sorensen
    David O'Leary= less said the better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Barname

Calum best was the latest one i met.

Calum who?

JLS in Dublin airport, lovely lads!

JLS ? whats that? a disease?

mandrake04 wrote: »
    I met Brian McFadden

seriously, who is 'Brian' a friend? that hardly makes them famous.....

• Registered Users Posts: 30 Balfe

As they come into my head, in no particular order.

Kevin Smith
    Brian O'Halloran
    Jeff Anderson
    Jason Mewes
    Brendan Gleeson
    Mick Lally
    Nick Frost
    Chris O'Dowd
    Bill Nighy
    Dana White
    Michael Bisping
    Mike Murphy