Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vehicle Gallery - No pic/No post *read rules on post one before posting*

• Registered Users Posts: 5,283 ✭✭✭source

Mod note: Embedded image too big. Click "Attached Images" to see pic.

Staffordshire Fire Brigade, in Stoke on Trente.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Irish_polizei

Yes its an opel insignia!
    63213_430549593261_202550798261_4968077_878381_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 167 ✭✭Kevin3

Great picture! Glad to see new vehicles on the way despite cutbacks. Noticed the long overdue slim lightbar (hopefully LED). Extra lighting in the visor and grill. The circular blues look a lot more integrated into the body too. Noticed the red dot beside the air ID letters which are commonly used in the UK. Does anyone know what this is for? Is it just to be more visible for the helicopter?

127780.jpg

127781.jpg

Yes its an opel insignia!
    63213_430549593261_202550798261_4968077_878381_n.jpg

I'd guess that it is a uk model brought over for demo purposes.

picture.php?albumid=783&pictureid=7358

• Registered Users Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

If it was a Uk car, it would be badged vauxhall, not Opel. Looks legit to me anyway.

http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:nvwJX8gbE5FNKM::www.topgear.com/uk/tags/Vectra&t=1&usg=AFrqEzfucv0MlT7I8eqkUYaFymaKdlZghg

If it was a Uk car, it would be badged vauxhall, not Opel. Looks legit to me anyway.

http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:nvwJX8gbE5FNKM::www.topgear.com/uk/tags/Vectra&t=1&usg=AFrqEzfucv0MlT7I8eqkUYaFymaKdlZghg

Yeah, but how hard is it to change a grill or even just the badge?

picture.php?albumid=783&pictureid=7359

foreign wrote: »
    I'd guess that it is a uk model brought over for demo purposes.

I dont think so foreign, if this was the case she'd be wearing a vauxhall badge ! :)

Edit: CharlieC got there before me!

29248_395347378261_202550798261_4087304_5391330_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

It looks like an Insignia S with a Plus Pack (17" alloys and front fogs get added). Wonder is she diesel? Looks a fairly recent reg too, only up around 33500 at the minute.

vauxhall-police-insignia-1.jpg

This lad here is an SRi, much nicer to drive. Those of ye in the TC should petition for the upgrade!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭one2one

4467566319-6a90a4c76f-b.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

Looks like there is a massive waste of space on the above Truck
    , interesting to see lights in the steps, wonder how kick resistant they are.

7d8t1441_blackrock_ambulance.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

maglite wrote: »
    Looks like there is a massive waste of space on the above Truck
    , interesting to see lights in the steps, wonder how kick resistant they are.

THere has to be that much space to allow the ladder to rotate.

0605accident540.JPG

• Registered Users Posts: 249 ✭✭BravoMike

The scene of a river rescue in Limerick. The casualty was rescued and taken to hospital.

Radios012.jpg

Radios034.jpg

No offence to anyone in the emergency services, but is that picture above not taking the piss a little? Someone falls/jumps in the river, and the RSU, three fire trucks, an ambulance, two garda cars and a van are on the scene? I really hope it was a slow day.

Another oddity from the Garda open day; they put their three unmarked cars on display... Kind of eliminates the point I thought :P

p9112365pp2.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭Tango Alpha 51

KKV,
    No it was definitely not a quiet day. There was only 2 ambulances on duty all weekend & we were run off our feet. In reference to your point about being overkill, standard pda for the F&R in Limerick City to any rescue on the river is the 3 vehicles. You are dealing with water, height rescue etc. I'd rather have the extra bodies on hand to assist rather than waiting for backup/assistance from the other ES to arrive. These things garner a big crowd so AGS assistance in dealing with them is useful.

In relation to the unmarked cars, the dog on the street knows that these are AGS vehicles even if they are unmarked BUT!!!! i guarantee you, you'll never know when the serious covert vehicles are about ;)

ambulances.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 249 ✭✭BravoMike

That incident happened on 3rd September last. Oh and there was an unmarked focus hidden by the fire tender.
    That would be a normal turn out to a river rescue in Limerick, river rescue would be on scene shortly afterwards and then still if nothing found the heli would be launched from Shannon. This would all happen in bout 15 minutes of the 999 call.

Here are the new Limerick SAR jet skis.

Photosfromcamera082.jpg

Photosfromcamera118.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

I would never suspect that fiesta as an unmarked.

17092010640.jpg

Taken outside Police one on Friday. Every now and then car makers/sellers give the cops a car that they pay to get converted to a cop car. Lights , decals sirens radios etc. I suspect this is one I have only ever seen it this once.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,934 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

• Registered Users Posts: 257 ✭✭belacqua_

Couple of holiday schnaps:

DC Metro PD Crown Vics

DSC02200.jpg

NYPD Impala

DSC02359.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

From a film set

thesantaincident-3.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Took these at the SAR display in cobh a few months ago

5044394668_3cf5557e2e.jpgSDC11958

5043769309_a421ff1742.jpgSDC11951

5043708103_f040ea9ae1.jpgSDC11960

5043706219_a64b678ca9.jpgSDC11959

5043704543_77d56d97ec.jpgSDC11956

• Registered Users Posts: 20 Ballyb Rescue

Rescue Helicopter 117 with a Garda Traffic Corps 4x4 at an exercise in Cork

DSC_1471.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 686 ✭✭✭joegriffinjnr

42031782bw3.jpg

17062963gr2.jpg

93962804mc5.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kwalshe

Saw the Opel Insignia Tourer out in the wild yesterday. What a big imposing car. A lot of subtle and also a lot of big LED's all over it.
    Some more info on this car here

http://carscoop.blogspot.com/2009/05/gm-launches-police-specification.html

And before anybody starts, I was sitting in traffic and the phone was in it's holder when the picture was taken.

OPEL-1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭one2one

DSC_6503.jpg

DSC_6535.jpg

DSC_6510.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

This was outside the shop the other day ..

39578_158675070823157_100000419960638_384497_7091090_n.jpg

Knock one out lads :pac:
    66992_439285788261_202550798261_5140108_3811228_n.jpg

59593_439285823261_202550798261_5140109_7936572_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 492 ✭✭Burnt

London Fire Brigade
    5074407801_bb9d6cea48_z.jpg

The Met traffic unit dealing with a crash early in the morning
    Taxi and Transit collide after someone runs the lights.
    5074992972_db4cfb75e0_z.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

garda_car.jpg

As for DAA purchasing new vehicles when Shannon Airport is struggling to survive..:eek: Not to mention the pointless upgrading of AFS vehicles as they will only ever be used for training, as in the event of an incident DFB and AGS would take over.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

You are aware that airport fire service vehicles are role specific and that local authority fire services have nothing similar?

(borrowed from blues-twos.com)
    2010-Sides-Rescue-3-544x364-.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭Alpha Papa

fire service’ means a service provided in accordance with Chapter 9 of
    Annex 14 of the International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) for
    response to emergency situations involving aircraft and for first
    response to emergencies in aviation-related facilities at an airport.

Above taken Airport Byelaws 1994

Each airport authority or regional airport have to have there own on site fire sevice to obtain there aerodrome licence from the IAA.

263k8qa.jpg

(in keeping with rules above.. ;))
    The reason the DAA has invested in new equipment so when you fly out of any of three state airports and if there was a problem, they will be there within 3 minutes or less to assit you with some of the most state of the art fire appliances available. There replacement older ageing appliances that nearly 20 years old or more!

I would like to see a branch line on a local authority tender, putting out a Airbus A330 on fire full of jet fuel..

Local Authority deal with after math etc..

and last thing check previous page.. Clearly the AFRS do more then just training as seen full turn out and control once on the ground of emergency landing of Delta flight.