Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vehicle Gallery - No pic/No post *read rules on post one before posting*

• Registered Users Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Ok.....drop it guys.....done to death already. By all means start a new thread if ye wish to discuss it.....posting a pic and continuing a discussion is not on......

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭thorpe

• Registered Users Posts: 719 ✭✭✭V Bull

Fire Control Vehicle heading to incident in Everglades
    img6537q.jpg

Fire crew were assisted by State Prison road crew
    img6540fl.jpg

Miami South Beach Patrol
    img6251d.jpg

Miami Police Boat
    img6245.jpg

Key West
    img6376k.jpg

Key West
    img6375v.jpg

Captiva Island Fire Dept
    dscf0194l.jpg

dscf0196b.jpg

Orlando
    dscf0293g.jpg

Back from a week in Salou (have wanted to visit PortAventura theme park for a while).

Anyway, dedicated a day to mooching around for the emergency services, and what a let down it was. Didn't want to take photos of the cars driving around, because it looks dodgy as f*ck and I don't speak Spanish, so would have a lot of difficulty trying to explain what I was doing.

Which is what happened in the end, anyway.

Took a walk to a local Irish pub where we had been for a day or so and asked the guys in there were I'd find myself the emergency services. Got directions to the three nearest Police stations and locally stationed ambulance. None of them had any idea where I'd find the fire station, and confessed that they hadn't actually seen a fire truck about the place. Not too sure if I believe that or not but there you go.

Anyway, for anyone unfamiliar with Salou, there are three Police forces; The Catalan Police, Policia Local and the Guardia Civil.

All seem to drive fairly similar cars, but I believe (and I'm very open to correction on this because I'm making this up as I go along, based only on the poor English I've heard and my watchings of the guys and their gear) the Catalan Police are the riot guys and also handle more serious crimes. Policia Local are the jack of all trades, and the Civil Guards are the same as the Police, but also have more serious gear to their advantage (I believe they're armed with guns, but Police are only with Batons?) and they also have a Traffic Corps (according to a little model car I purchased).

Well anyway, I decided that the Catalan guys were the farrest away from me, so I'd pay them a visit first. After about an hour of looking, I eventually found them, and they have a car park right next to their building. Thought it best to ask nicely before taking photos, to see if I could try and get into the car park to take decent shots.

They were having none of it. Wouldn't let me photograph anything and nicely explained to me that if they see me taking photos I'd be on shit street, and also warned me of a fencing that goes around the building about five miles in diameter, and that I can't photograph inside that, either.

Had I known this, or if I'm ever there again, i'll be sure to contact them in advance, because they have some serious gear! I quickly admired their stuff before leaving. All their vans and a lot of their cars and such have caged windows and that drop-down cage that covers the windscreen, like on AGS vans (which is what leads me to believe they double up as the riot police) and the mostly-blue colour scheme looks really good, too.

So, feeling a bit deflated, I headed off to the Policia Local. Seen a fair few of their cars driving about the place but couldn't find a proper station for the life of me. They had a small station on the beach front, but it was closed, with bars over the doors, windows and such and was pretty much lifeless. There was space outside for a car to be parked, so everytime I passed during the week, I took a stroll over to see if a car would appear (like in Grand Theft Auto games, when you circle the block and return, hoping the car you wanted would appear!).

Couldn't find the Guardia Civil guys anywhere and the only car that parked up near me, whom i was considering approaching, didn't look like happy campers at all, so I decided to pass on it.

The only vehicle I came across was the local Ambulance on the beach front, next door to the Police station. The guys were in there every time I passed and the ambulance didn't seem to move a whole lot all week. Got a few shots of it and headed on my way. The guys were friendly.

On the way back to the Airport I got a nice kick in the bollocks though. In the taxi, we drove for about five minutes around the corner from the hotel. I was knackered tired and trying to catch some sleep, but in the brief few seconds I had my eyes open, I looked out the window and seen what looked like Navan Ambulance centre on steroids. There were about twenty vehicles parked there and easily a dozen different designs. Ambulances, Jeeps, cars, etc. I would have been entertained for hours.

Typical.

I just went back to sleep.

8C82A5426A114E24950F56F66CE8A18A-0000333410-0001981827-00800L-DF974B6754054489B61E21047051A09E.jpg

7F621CDDE7E6449C9EAC0CFEEB7ABBAF-0000333410-0001981826-00800L-1CD63BBE386C4C0589C08C35D381B4C4.jpg

B32E561C8C2E46CCA83F878FAB28E004-0000333410-0001981825-00800L-75A042C60F8743A19A9C53A63445B4DF.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

Spotted outside Ennis General

2vdfcqt.jpg

Not sure what the story is with the UL logo??

Mod edit: buzzman advises: "That Nissan belongs to the Academy of Emergencu Medicine out in UL. They also have a marked up Volvo estate which is driven by one of the ED consultants. Neither vehicle is a National Ambulance Service RRV."

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Jomcc

Traffic Corps Isuzu D-Max
    dmaxt.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

To my knowledge these puppies are derived from an airport fire truck desigPSNIWatercannon.jpgn -

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭pingu2008

Dun Larioge Harbour Police
    14723003.png

hp2q.png

hp3l.png

• Registered Users Posts: 492 ✭✭Burnt

5107149681_2c18b0216b_z.jpg

5107086601_b56bbfdd2f_z.jpg

5107678286_dd20b3801f_z.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 20 Ballyb Rescue

Maybe not vehicles........but close!!!

Ballybunion Sea & Cliff Rescue Service

omar162large.jpg

161large.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

gardai-fleet.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭View Profile

Just back from a trip to Venice...

Venetian Polizia
    dscn0445q.jpg

Customs
    dscn0444n.jpg

Ambulance Service
    dscn0443f.jpg

Fire Fighters
    dscn0416s.jpg

Italian Coast Guard
    img3277j.jpg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,381 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

I wonder if there is some form of international agreement, be it official or unofficial, about the slash marking on coast guard vessels. It seems far too widespread.

US
    cutter.jpg

Japan
    WMDpic2.jpg

UK
    Tug%202.jpg

Argentina
    x6hj52.jpg

This is what the US Coast Guard has to say:
    The Coast Guard's slash or "Racing Stripe"

Our familiar and distinctive red slash or "racing stripe" did not appear on our cutters, boats and aircraft until relatively late in our history. In the early ‘60s, America’s visual image had been neglected both inside as well as outside the U.S. Since image building played an important role in the recent election of President John F. Kennedy, the industrial design firm of Raymond Loewy/William Snaith, Inc. was hired to redesign the exterior and interior of the presidential plane. Kennedy was so pleased with the new design that he approved their proposal for improving the world-wide visual identification of the U.S. government.

In 1964, the firm recommended that the Coast Guard adopt a symbol or mark that would be easily distinguished from other government agencies and easily applied to ships, boats, aircraft, stations, vehicles, signs and printed forms.

Their design was a wide red bar to the right of a narrow blue bar, both canted at 64 degrees. Centered on the red bar was a new emblem. Studies were done with experimental markings for their impact on the public, as well as their long-run compatibility with the Coast Guard’s mission and traditions. The reaction was overwhelmingly favorable. Three years later, on April 6, 1967, the now famous slash appeared throughout the Coast Guard.

In the final design, only the emblem changed. The traditional Coast Guard emblem was selected for centering on the red stripe over the new design.

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭familyguy

Few shots from the Student Fees Protest on Wednesday, these are the only ones with vehicles:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/neildorgan/5148576478/
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/neildorgan/5148593196/

Out playing with the cameras, doing light trails and stuff and the Fire lads were on a call out. Wasn't prepared for them at all, so took a few shots of them passing and they all came out crap. Adjusted the settings and when they were coming back took another two shots. Again crap shots, but the best I managed to get;

EECD25ECFEDF456E90188DD08442033A-0000333410-0002022619-00800L-DB04207989A840DE8245D8C5338E9F95.jpg

Cheap ass UV filter created another set of lights floating above the truck! :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭Saxobank

A recent visit to Manchester.. Felt obliged to take a couple of pictures of the GMP, more to follow.

D70B3CB63D3547FCB734703910DDCD09-0000339431-0002023312-00800L-ECE9999F5FB14F69A4284AC9C0982E7F.jpg

36A4717189AD49BA89CB64ACC61F0797-0000333410-0002030254-00800L-FA0979AF481C42A6A365C00E9F337EF7.jpg

I got help taking this shot from an Officer in the station. They were extremely helpful and had the lightbars turned on for me. Photo might not seem very impressive, and I know it's not of a vehicle as such (though there are trucks in it), but I think it's great and I've wanted to take that shot for a while, but I've always been afraid of asking for the light bars to be turned on.

So it's getting shared!

:P

From the Mizen-Malin Garda Memorial cycle back in sept

512622500131657ecf9cb.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 84 ✭✭cian_s_obrien

2yke3hd.jpg

30u633m.jpg

nwyjh5.jpg

455836554471553256c7z.jpg

4561062836758738befcb.jpg

Recent visit to Dub Airport

337637030928b33a5babb.jpg

Buried in the snow last year!

London Summer 2010
    rjr0c5.jpg
    2a6nr6a.jpg

2yxhcop.jpg
    311o12g.jpg

The NGA-Team :)

BD71B1A8328D42E29166ECB301DEC91D-0000333410-0002052149-00800L-56E93370756949B8B145B1C2A9ED8070.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kwalshe

I spotted this in another thread. not my pic.
    I wonder is the ANPR snow proof....:p

tqc0.jpg

On M50 today

29112010.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,786 ✭✭✭Buffman

Not a true emergency vehicle but I'll let the mods decide if it can stay.

Can be had for €2k!!:D

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/1711469

Full?id=4593905

Full?id=4593904

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles to avoid the DRS fee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

A selection of Police Spec motorcycles seen at the Motorcycle Live show in Birmingham.
    Interestingly, the base colour on the Kawasaki and Yamaha is black, not white.The BMW is silver.
    148457_467500236005_536286005_6145932_4519952_n.jpg
    155587_467500221005_536286005_6145931_2248695_n.jpg
    150554_467500196005_536286005_6145930_4247903_n.jpg
    150804_467500051005_536286005_6145926_2927181_n.jpg
    76156_467499916005_536286005_6145922_571520_n.jpg