Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things for a teenager to do in Dublin

• 22-11-2008 11:36pm
    Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭

Well, I have hardly any friends out of school and was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for things in Dublin for me to meet new people (sorta 14-16) apart from say Wez, due to the fact I have 2 left feet and don;t really like dancing.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Zaffy wrote: »
    Well, I have hardly any friends out of school and was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for things in Dublin for me to meet new people (sorta 14-16) apart from say Wez, due to the fact I have 2 left feet and don;t really like dancing.

If you're into football start going to League of Ireland matches, I started going to Shels matches with my dad properly in 2003 (at the age of 13, went to my first match at the age of 1) and he kinda drifted off mid 2006 with work so I kept on going (most of my mates supported other teams or just English teams) ended up making mates with a few lads and over 2 years there's now about 20 of us who are best mates who go to home and away matches together and have kick abouts during the close season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Where are you and what are your interests, ie do you play a sport (if not, are you interested in taking one up).

Ok, you don't dance. But life doesn't end there.. If your near the coast there's a lot of water sports (lightening, you care to advise here?).

If Martial Arts grabs your fancy I can point you in the right direction there.

Seriously, there's a huge amount to do in Dublin but we'd be better able to give you a heads up if we knew more about you and your location.

Oh, and welcome to the forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭camel toe

ill be ur mate :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭krd

Ignore camel toe,,,, they'll only get you into trouble

Things to do for a fine young dublin teenager?

Well there's loads,,,, experiment with drugs.. Drink cider.. stalk teenage girls.. and there's always shoplifting... Loads to do

but maybe you don't have any friends because every thinks you're too weird...

Have you ever thought of doing a school shooting? Get back at all the pricks...

loads to do,,, make your own entertainment.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,995 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

krd wrote: »
    Well there's loads,,,, experiment with drugs.. Drink cider.. stalk teenage girls.. and there's always shoplifting... Loads to do

but maybe you don't have any friends because every thinks you're too weird...

Have you ever thought of doing a school shooting? Get back at all the pricks...
    Take a two-week break krd.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Sports is probably your best bet Zaffy. Most teenagers in Dublin don't really "do" anything, we just sit around.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,219 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Any interest in acting? There's a couple of youth theatre groups.

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭Zaffy

Well north Dublin near the botanic gardens,

I'll see if there are any sports clubs (pref running, or basketball) nearby, but was thinking of something like a youth club or somewhere where people just hang out and do stuff like pool or table tennis or etc

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,219 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

How about the Scouts or Sea Scouts?
    I know they have a bit of an image problem, but they're good fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Wear a baseball cap and attempt to say semi-threatening/insulting things to people going in and out of Spar shops.

It's a laugh for the customers anyway because most of those kids are about as threatening as an geriatric OAP in a wheelchair.

Well north Dublin near the botanic gardens,

I'll see if there are any sports clubs (pref running, or basketball) nearby, but was thinking of something like a youth club or somewhere where people just hang out and do stuff like pool or table tennis or etc

Glasnevin boxing club is on the junction of Botanic ave. and Mobhi Rd or there's Na Fianna on Mobhi Rd too (this is a fantastic GAA club).

In Phibsboro there an Aikido club (its a very gentle martial art)

I'll think of more later, but in the mean time let me say its good to see a teenager taking some positive action and looking for stuff to do in their down time.

Regards.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Wear a baseball cap and attempt to say semi-threatening/insulting things to people going in and out of Spar shops.

It's a laugh for the customers anyway because most of those kids are about as threatening as an geriatric OAP in a wheelchair.

See, this sh*t is not even funny. And I'm not even sure if its covered in the forum's charter.

Have a little cop on, the OP is a teen looking for advice, the humour forum is this way >>

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭Zaffy

I'm looking into boxing, as I'm quite broad, i'll see how it goes, thanks :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

If you are 14 or over and a responsible person, then you might want to try out Airsoft. Kinda like Paintball, but a hell of a lot cheaper, more realistic. And the regular players are the most welcoming group of people I've ever had the pleasure of knowing.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=830

• Registered Users Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

my 15 year old daughter goes to Order of Malta, Dublin Youth Theatre and sings in a choir. OOM have loads of branches all over Dublin and have competitions and weekends away. DYT held their auditions in September/October so won't have more till next year. She's a good dancer!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,995 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

AnonoBoy wrote: »

AnonoBoy - if you have nothing constructive to add, please stay away from the Dublin City Forum.

You are on a yellow card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭camel toe

ah ref now c'mon.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

I have to say, fair play OP for looking into something in your area. Mentally it's not nice to have nothing to do. Like Crazy Rabbit has said about that particular event, people who are regulars in any decent club really are the most welcoming people you will meet and I genuinely believe that goes for all sorts of activities from archery, indoor football, GAA, or whatever...

It might take a couple of visits to get on with people in whatever it is you decide to do and even longer to become friends but look at it this way. You will get to do whatever two or more times a week. You will have the pleasure of socialising and part-taking in whatever. Keep your head down and your opinions to yourself at first, get to know the people and if they are the sort you like. Remember, nobody likes a show off either. Keep to yourself.

Good luck buddy!

I'm looking into boxing

Boxing is a brilliant sport, but do you know what.

No matter what past time you might consider, there's a forum here on boards for it all and members will be very welcoming.

Btw, its a bit of a trek (on the Ballybogan road) but there's a fantastic Tae Kwon Do club up there, in the same premises another instructor teaches Brazillian Jui Jitsu and Mixed Martial Arts (like the cage fighting you see in the UFC), both instructors (Jon and Roper) are regulars in the Self Defence & Martial Arts forum (sports).

• Registered Users Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

If you're broad and want to do something physical you should play American football, DCU has a team and we're only up the road. I'll give you more details if you're interested, you have to be 16 though

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Mangosteen

jdivision wrote: »
    If you're broad and want to do something physical you should play American football, DCU has a team and we're only up the road. I'll give you more details if you're interested, you have to be 16 though

UCD Confucius Institute have a brillant Martial Arts classes open to the public Its only €10 for a 3 hour class (first hour warm up) and you only pay if you go. Its on Thursday evenings (2 hours) and Saturday 12-3 There are 2 teachers one doing Shaolin and the other Wushu both authentic Martial Arts Professors. Suitable for all-girls boys men women ages 10 upwards. The class consists of teens and 20+. And a few older. Go to the Sports centre and have a look at the Shaolin & Wushu class you can see them (from the balcony) in Hall A or C the training is just amazing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

the OP is no longer a teenager, he is now a fully grown man with a family