Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Depeche Mode - TOUR OF THE UNIVERSE 2009

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭GalwayDub2

trustno1 wrote: »
    +1.. well around 8-ish as I want to be out of work.. last time I saw them was 16 years ago :eek:!.. jaysus I'm getting old!.. but I didn't have the good fortune to meet them backstage.. I am well jealous!..

I couldnt BREATHE let alone speak to them! :eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭trustno1

GalwayDub2 wrote: »
    I couldnt BREATHE let alone speak to them! :eek::eek:

LOL.. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭granturismo

Adiaga 2 wrote: »
    Think he said "see you next time". Suppose it could be next year.

Thats what it sounds like here

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qEsk17bzs_I&feature=related

Wish I was there.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

so here I was,elbow's on the counter bored out of my tree when who walks... in only martin gore and his mates/crew
    had a quick chat,he seems kinda shy
    i probably made a complete tool of myself but i don't care! :D

keep your eyes peeled if your around grafton st today :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 599 ✭✭✭DepecheHead101

AMAZING night last night. Not sure if anyone went back to Jury's but I decided to start a Martin Gore singalong which prompted the staff to throw us out at 2. Miserable things!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Jazuz, rakes of clips up on YT, fair dues to ye all, some good ones there

My stuff for sale on Adverts inc. EDDI, hot water cylinder, roof rails...

Public Profile active ads for slave1 (adverts.ie)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

So much on Youtube

The concert was deadly, I was slightly disappointed they didn't play I feel Loved (first DM song that got me into them)

The Boyzone thing was over a decade ago!

• Registered Users Posts: 36 mielag

jez... PJ was the best - great to c that back again on yt!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

Tomohawk wrote: »
    Dave said "see you next year" as the band walked offstage after the encore. Let's hope they come back again! Nitzer Ebb are supporting them early next year for some shows. Some lucky fans there in 2010! First time for us in the O2 last night, I have to say it's a great improvement on the old Point that I remember from the late 1980s. Toilets, bars and seats are good and the arena floor looks good too.

Think he said "see you next time" so could be a few years until they return again.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

Some great clips on YT. What a show, I knew they'd be good but they were outstanding, seriously entertaining evening. My first time seeing them and I sincerely hope it won't be my last. Tip of the cap to you Messers Gore and Gahan!!

• Registered Users Posts: 618 ✭✭✭bonoman66

• Registered Users Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Amazing night, there were so many highlights its hard to pick one but Behind the Wheel, Wrong and A Question of Time were great live as usual.

Spotted Martin Gore wandering around Stephen's Green Shopping Centre yesterday evening, fair play to them for spending a bit of time around Dublin and not getting on the first flight out of here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

Charco wrote: »
    Spotted Martin Gore wandering around Stephen's Green Shopping Centre yesterday evening, fair play to them for spending a bit of time around Dublin and not getting on the first flight out of here.

Was the Dublin gig the last date of the tour?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Was the Dublin gig the last date of the tour?

Nope, think they are in Glasgow tonight. From what I heard the band only left Dublin this morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭lil'bug

wow wasn't that just the best gig ever
    i feel very lucky to have been at it.
    a few people have said it was one of the best gigs they have done this tour :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭tenandtracer

Great gig and amazing show, enjoyed it hugely. Still trying to work out the preshow music which was also top notch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭jinka

super concert-Sound amazing.Shame about "sit down-no standing in seats"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭jinka

• Registered Users Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

Do you mean soul savers or the music playng while the giant DM logo was up?

• Registered Users Posts: 21,385 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

How were Soulsavers actually, forgot to ask.

punchdrunk wrote: »
    Do you mean soul savers or the music playng while the giant DM logo was up?

Between Soulsavers and DM. One track was Process by MiniMode, not sure about the rest.

jinka wrote: »

Ah.. I was wondering why the seated folk looked very subdued.. you were not allowed to stand?!.. thats mad.. glad I was standing and able to dance my ass off!!..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭holly_johnson

jinka wrote: »

You must have had a jobsworth steward... We were in Block C and danced like mad throughout the whole gig.
    Unless you were in I think it's Block F, where the wheelchairs are at the back of the block, so no standing allowed??

• Registered Users Posts: 599 ✭✭✭DepecheHead101

Between Soulsavers and DM. One track was Process by MiniMode, not sure about the rest.
    http://www.depechemode.com/tour/preshowmusic.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Everyone I could see was standing in the seats...

Pity you can't get the Dublin 02 concert on download.... :(

• Registered Users Posts: 573 ✭✭✭rebs23

It was a gig that will last long in the memory. They were brilliant. Was there any reviews of the gig in the papers or elsewhere?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

Can't recall what Block I was in, right of centre stage half way back, standing and dancing were a pre-requisite, I'd have been fair annoyed if I had to sit through that now. We'd a good view of the upper deck and it seemed everyone was grooving on their feet.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

In block K and were not seated, imagine being seated for I Feel You :eek:

My stuff for sale on Adverts inc. EDDI, hot water cylinder, roof rails...

Public Profile active ads for slave1 (adverts.ie)