Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Garda Honda Pan-Europeans

• 24-11-2008 2:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,261 ✭✭✭

Does anyone know if these can be bought from the Gardaí?

Surely they'd be getting rid of older ones every now and then and sell them off for a decent price in order to make way for new ones, or am I wrong?

I can't buy one haha! However it'd be cool to know that it would be possible when I have a full license and the money etc...

I'd imagine they're well looked after...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭GBX

There was a thread recently on irishbikeforums about the upcoming auction of the Army Pan Europeans. I reckon there sold off at the (bi) annual auction at Merlins.
    I reckon the Army ones would be in better nick as the Garda ones are in a lot more use. But im sure you could still pick up a bargain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

I've seen one or two of them around all right, not many though. Get a yellow high viz jacket and white lid and watch the cars part way and give you some room. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,026 ✭✭✭Wossack

well looked after?

think again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭agent_smith

you nuts ? Garda bikes are terribly looked after! Talk to the mechanics in honda ireland who work on them! Im mates with one of them , who told me they are some of the worst treated bikes on the road!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭ifah

one of the lads told me there's a pile of the army pan's out in Killeen motors over near Sundrive - they would be a good buy - only ever used for motorcades/ceremonial stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

Yeah, the garda ones would have massive milage too. What are the army ones like? I can't imagine a matt green pan looking very nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

Their actually an even worst shade of blue. Don't be confused with the pristine bikes that escort her majesty from the park about,the army use some for despatch riding too,and they get screwed.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Do the Garda and the Army not use the deauville..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭jackhammer

ifah wrote: »
    one of the lads told me there's a pile of the army pan's out in Killeen motors over near Sundrive - they would be a good buy - only ever used for motorcades/ceremonial stuff.

They're not Pans, they're Deauvilles, and they're parked outside Capital Honda Centre on Sundrive Road.
    Dub13 wrote: »
    Do the Garda and the Army not use the deauville..?

Most Garda bikes are Deauvilles, but I've seen one unit ride Pans (I think they do VIP escorts). I've also seen a couple of guards on what look like Yamaha FJRs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

Yeah, they use both. I'd say there's a rush for the pans every morning. All the slow guards get the deuvilles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭agent_smith

they dont buy in pan's anymore. from what i hear they take in fjr's.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Yes Gardai use deuvilles, pans, bmw's (not anymore) and now the new deuvilles and fjr's

Most of the bikes are replaced at 50,000 miles and have extremely good service historys.

Garda riders decides when the bikes is serviced, not management and there is no limit on $$$$$ when it comes to the upkeep of the bike fleet.

Due to training the gardai receive the bikes are constantly driven at high rev's but as any biker knows, bikes are designed for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭gipi

You might be interested in this site from the UK which sells constabulary & army bikes.

http://www.forcemotorcycles.com/

(Disclaimer - no connection to the site, I just drool at the bikes every now and again ;))

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭The Sheriffk

Ask any Garda bike cop and they will tell you the garda bikes are ridden to sh1t and treated the same . dont touch them because you will only have trouble with them . The army deauvilles on sale now are a little better but when they go to auction the are buchered a bit for the good/ newer bits . i think the army ones that went to honda ireland are as they left the army pres escort corp. .... including the sh1tty blue colour the are sprayed ...

around 300 grand will get you one ..