Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Off Topic Thread III : Off Topic-er

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Mr Alan wrote: »
    gig tomorrow night, no can do

where?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

gig tomorrow night, no can do

When is the US tour and can I have green room tickets?

Al, is that you in the pic on the myspace page?

you skinny animal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

Des wrote: »
    after work pints in town anyone?

If a few others were up for this, I would be game ball.

Best just lob it in me account Al, unless you would head for these pints. **Edit Just seen that you'll be out playing your banjo**

Neil, would you be up for it? G'wan, we can rip the piss out of ya about your fenderbender.

Anyone else watching BBC1. Jaysis what a bunch of pikeys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

savage Ryan Adams gig from St Lukes church in London just put up on Youtube!!!!!!!

yeeeoooooowwwwww!!!!!!!!

time to get downloading!!!!!

If a few others were up for this, I would be game ball..
    reckon we should organise a proper OTT/Soccer Beers for January tbh.
    Anyone else watching BBC1. Jaysis what a bunch of pikeys.

there's football on Setanta you know.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

jesus.

stop looking over our backs da, we're doing it, we're doing it.

I have to I know what you Davids boys are like.

I'm 402.

couple of more paragraphs should do it.

Im glad i had that 620 because my brain activity is currently performing at the level one would expect from a 7 year old F student.

where?

just the local in howth, pub rock all the way
    GuanYin wrote: »
    When is the US tour and can I have green room tickets?

i'm not talking to you
    Al, is that you in the pic on the myspace page?

you skinny animal.

not me!

i aint skinny :)

Mos def.

Neil and Al, are you still up for meeting up on Monday evening, and then heading out to watch Betty and his boys?

Speaking of howth,Mr Alan I am sure you were a good time charleys lad..?I used to love it out there,hard to get into for us normal northside lads but once you were in the ratio of chicks to lads was about 5/1.Fond fond memory's.

Reet lads, off for a quick game of Pool with the auld lad, back in a jiffy.

None of yis better scuttle off.

i'm not talking to you
    I guess that is a no to my second question.

What did I do now?

You're such a sensitive soul, even Laura doesn't get so emotional

Xavis back in Feb, would make more sense to do it then.
    If a few others were up for this, I would be game ball.

Neil, would you be up for it? G'wan, we can rip the piss out of ya about your fenderbender.

negative, got a fight on Sat so lyin low tomorrow, and ive already arranged to see the missus

Knowing whats about to come Ill get in before you:

112209.jpg

Dub13 wrote: »
    Speaking of howth,Mr Alan I am sure you were a good time charleys lad..?I used to love it out there,hard to get into for us normal northside lads but once you were in the ratio of chicks to lads was about 5/1.Fond fond memory's.

fcuk Good Time Charleys, it was all about the hotel it was attached to (name is escaping me at present)

I remember on Sundays they did an all you can eat carvery.

The desserts 3.gif

used to go there meself.

ended up missing the bus back into near me gaf one night and started walking down the hill. arm in arm with a lovely.

this little car-van type drove past us, stopped and let us hop in the back, gave us a lift to sutton cross so we could get a taxi.

jaysis, remember the curry chips and all at the end of the night?

great place it was.

ever go to Jets out by the airport/swords direction?

fcuk Good Time Charleys, it was all about the hotel it was attached to (name is escaping me at present)

The Saint Lawrence, afair.

It's a new posh looking bar now, type of place you'd expect to see Al.

Neil and Al, are you still up for meeting up on Monday evening, and then heading out to watch Betty and his boys?

yea i be up for that. just have to get out of rehearsals! :)

little too long ago, i'm only 24 :( still a legendary place though ;)
    I guess that is a no to my second question.

What did I do now?

You're such a sensitive soul, even Laura doesn't get so emotional

ya locked the Torres thread before i got in! :)

only joking, i could never be mad at you....you're too friendly

The bus back was super,it would only take us as far as the Goblet but its only a short walk to Donnycarney from there.If you did not pull in the club you had a good chance on the bus.I think the dodgy food was something to do with the licenses laws at the time if they sold/gave away grub they could say open a few hours longer.The Yacht in Clontarf used to do that as well.

Never went to Jets.

little too long ago, i'm only 24 :( still a legendary place though ;)

I feel old now.

yeah, I kind of though Al would have been a bit too young.

It's actually not that long ago, I used to go with a crew I worked with in a electrical retail shop beside the UCI in Coolock (I'm not mentioning the name on purpose, feckers aren't getting any of my free advertising :mad:) And I left there in 2005.

You ever go to the Blacker Dub13, the upstairs part, Hamunaptra?

Full of scumbags, but the bouncers were always on the ball with trouble. Used to have great nights in there too.

I remember on Sundays they did an all you can eat carvery.

The desserts 3.gif

twas animal alright
    The Saint Lawrence, afair.

It's a new posh looking bar now, type of place you'd expect to see Al.

Skyy Bar.
    Not my cup of tea at all.

only go there when my mate is dj-ing

Ah good time charleys, even I know that place and Im the exact opposite side of the bay!! I like howth. I tend to go on random aimless drives (i may curtail that after tonights episode) and Howth was one place along with the airport that I regularly hit.

Dub 13 do u want me to just send u my article as a PM? Will i put the title as the subject of the PM?

Believe it or not I have never set foot in the Blacker,one of my younger sisters loves the place and is there most weekends.

I love talking about retro pubs.

For the younger lads has anybody tried the new Players Lounge in Fairview..?

Dub 13 do u want me to just send u my article as a PM? Will i put the title as the subject of the PM?

Yea a PM is fine,does not matter what the title is.

Wooo Hoooooo!!!

I just won a 100 dollar iTunes/Appstore voucher!!!

Anyone know anything good (although I'll probably just ask Pandora).

iTunes has been giving me funny choices recently. I really like Asterods Galaxy Tour but I don't quite get the Ting Tings.... their music sounds like Ad Jingles.

I love talking about retro pubs.
    you must have spent some time in The Ramble?

Only ever had one night in there, talk about a local shop :eek:
    For the younger lads has anybody tried the new Players Lounge in Fairview..?

was in it a few times, after it re-opened, on me way to tolka park. it's the same on the inside as the old Fairview Inn used to be, except it has a few plasmas up around the place.

Used to always drink in the Goblet, as most of my friends are from around it, but it's gone to shíte since the smoking ban. They do sell pint bottles of macardles though, which is a huge bonus. Bass on tap too.

Also, Graingers in Marino was a fantastic spot on a Friday/Saturday night, thirty of us used to be upstairs all the time, practically took over the whole lounge, that was until that godawful Barcode opened.

Wooo Hoooooo!!!

I just won a 100 dollar iTunes/Appstore voucher!!!

Anyone know anything good (although I'll probably just ask Pandora).

iTunes has been giving me funny choices recently. I really like Asterods Galaxy Tour but I don't quite get the Ting Tings.... their music sounds like Ad Jingles.

Congrats,what type of music are you into..?

Bon Iver-For Emma, Forever Ago.

Great little album, trust me GY

the Ting Tings

I love That's Not My Name, because it annoys pbf so much

Dub13...........you ever drink in The Tophouse in Howth?

The Summit is a fantastic place on a sunny summer afternoon.

Love it.

Yea a PM is fine,does not matter what the title is.

Cool. It's pretty sh1te as I did a lot of it in work as Ive been devoid of time, and I finished it off just there, where Ive been devoid of braincells.

Ill PM it to ya later, wanna read over it again.

Congrats,what type of music are you into..?

anything you can dance to?

Des wrote:
    I love That's Not My Name, because it annoys pbf so much
    I'm with her on this one. That english voice that female singers are using alot these days... it sounds horrible.
    Mr. Alan wrote:
    Bon Iver-For Emma, Forever Ago.

Great little album, trust me GY

Thanks I'll look now.

Yes Des I used to drink in The Ramble a lot mostly before we went into town.Its a dive with young lads just giving up and staying there year on year you no the type,its kind of sad to see them turn into the old man when they were still in there early 20s.

What was the name of the pub in town its frazers on O'Connell street now...?another dump but great for the chicks.

Yes but only on Sun afternoons,nice spot.

anything you can dance to?

Your dance and or dance may be very different things.

Yes but only on Sun afternoons,nice spot.

thats me local, only place i really drink. love it. gig there tomorrow night.

i've probably seen you then, used to be always there Sundays

this ****ing gig is soooooo awesome!

so is www.keepvid.com!

What was the name of the pub in town its frazers on O'Connell street now...?another dump but great for the chicks.

McGrath's.

total dive.

always good for chicks?

Grab a Granny more like

Got beaten, again. :mad:

Speaking of Howth, must say I am partial to a few pints in The Bloody Stream.

A number of the pubs mentioned in here, I may or may not have worked in in me youth. Might have even served some of yis cnuts.

Network Two, NOW!!!

Not as good as 1 or 3, but still very 3.gif

i've probably seen you then, used to be always there Sundays

Very possible.
    McGrath's.

total dive.

always good for chicks?

Grab a Granny more like

No Des,Barry's Hotel is the real grab a granny spot...trust me I did a apprenticeship on Drinking in Dodgy Dublin pubs.

Speaking of Howth, must say I am partial to a few pints in The Bloody Stream.
    another good spot.

another pub under a train station that I like is O'Reilly's under Tara Street Station.
    A number of the pubs mentioned in here, I may or may not have worked in in me youth. Might have even served some of yis cnuts.

lol, I'm dying to meet you now.

which pubs did you work in?

the stream is like a coffin. alright outside, during the summer, but only then! :)

tophouse christmas pool competition started this week-still have to play my first round-little practice in the summit last night :)

MrsDub13 just got breathalised for the first time about 30min ago at Clare Hall on the N32,she is all excited telling me this.Woman they are easily excited.

i can't see a check point out there?

She would have been coming from tesco down to my roundabout,can you see all the way down...?

Your dance and or dance may be very different things.

Last few iTunes purchases

Around the Bend EP - Asteroids Galaxy Tour
    Only By The Night - Kings of Leon
    Your Forgot It in People - Broken Social Scene
    Sound of Silver - LCD Soundsystem
    Third - Portishead
    The Declaration - Ashanti

She would have been coming from tesco down to my roundabout,can you see all the way down...?

pretty much.

No flashing lights or anything.

At least I didn't crash into the back of her :(