Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Off Topic Thread III : Off Topic-er

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Jaysis, it was going like 90 in here, and now not a soul to be found.

I just had a moment of inspiration for my homework.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

I'm looking forward to reading all your pieces actually. Kinda wish I'd have stayed in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

No Fat Chicks allowed.

I'm not fat
    eZe^ wrote: »
    Laura take Yaya Toure out of your sig. You're OUR feeder club, NOT the other way around. :D

Hey he's on my wishlist. I'll take him out after January :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Smegball

Never heard of them, just checked out Oh! Oh on youtube, great shout man, you like that kind of techno too? They remind me of SebastiAn. Sweet stuff.

Came across this the other day, obviously not as good at RATM's original killing in the name of, but an awesome way to remix a song.

Yeah man, love electro house, checkout Digitalism aswell, Pogo is a great tune. Boys Noize best tune is & Down, epic tune.
    SebastiAn is great yea, Ross Ross Ross and Walkman being my favourites.

Check out Deadmau5, although not electro house, has some great tunes.
    Best being Toca Me remix, Hey Baby(instrumental), and Reward is Cheese :)

Hahaha, that's enough techno to last me until 2009 there Smeg. Cheers for the recommendations, I'll no doubt 'acquire' their albums sometime soon!

Lads give me something good to watch. Massively bored...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Family guy is on bbc 3 now.

Frisbee wrote: »
    Lads give me something good to watch. Massively bored...

http://www.watchtvsitcoms.com/Entourage/S01E01.php

First episode is pretty bad on the grand scale of the show, but you gotta start at the start.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Smegball

Hahaha, that's enough techno to last me until 2009 there Smeg. Cheers for the recommendations, I'll no doubt 'acquire' their albums sometime soon!

Haha no problem, heres one more, dirty dirty beats, Steve Angelo + Sebastian Ingrosso - Bodycrash.
    Amazing tune!

http://www.watchtvsitcoms.com/Entourage/S01E01.php

First episode is pretty bad on the grand scale of the show, but you gotta start at the start.

Nah Im getting the box set for Christmas I think... :p

Anything else?

just submitted my piece for First Annual Soccer Forum Great Write Off.

Nah Im getting the box set for Christmas I think... :p

Anything else?

Watch the first episode to get a taste willyhead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,077 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Des wrote: »
    just submitted my piece for First Annual Soccer Forum Great Write Off.

me too. and now its time for sleep!

No!
    It'll ruin it!

Might watch the first episode of the IT crowd, supposed to be good...

No!
    It'll ruin it!

Might watch the first episode of the IT crowd, supposed to be good...

let me know how it goes.

How about some Peepshow?

let me know how it goes.

Have you seen it and are aware that Im going to suffer horribly?

Or are you actually interested in knowing what it's like?

How about some Peepshow?
    quality

or some old Partridge. Always funny
    Have you seen it and are aware that Im going to suffer horribly?

Or are you actually interested in knowing what it's like?

wanna know what it's like

I like the IT crowd, I did used to be in Tech support mind so a lot of it is just like real life :)

quality

or some old Partridge. Always funny

wanna know what it's like

Partridge is quality.

"It's hotter than the sun!"

Hmmm I can only find season 2 of the IT Crowd...

I like the IT crowd, I did used to be in Tech support mind so a lot of it is just like real life :)

I'm still doing tech support

There you go, you must recognise some of the people in it then...

Trying to find season 1 of the IT crowd was too hard so I've settled for some NMTB.

There you go, you must recognise some of the people in it then...

not watched it yet.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

The IT crowd is good,although it can get very silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Right I'm up to date.

The Good - The Shamen, Prodigy, Soulwax, Stone Roses

The Bad - Ting Tings, The Script

The Meh - Bon Iver

The Script are not that bad,although I am not a music person.

Sup Dawg..
    Things have gone a-quiet in here...

Sup Dawg..
    Things have gone a-quiet in here...

They all need there beauty sleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Right I'm up to date.

The Good - The Shamen, Prodigy, Soulwax, Stone Roses

The Bad - Ting Tings, The Script

The Meh - Bon Iver

I like Asteroids Galaxy Tour too.

Mainly because someone told me I look like the lead singer (if I was white) :)

Dub13 wrote: »
    They all need there beauty sleep.

Yeah but it gets lonely in here at night when there's only me and Xavi awake.
    Especially when he fecks off on his lunch... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Frisbee you can get the IT crowd(and loads of other stuff) free on 4od. You have to download it but tis very handy. http://www.channel4.com/4od/index.html

And if all else fails Arrested Development ftw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

FAO: Xavi!

I'm looking for an opinion on Chicago and from reading around the j1 threads iirc, you've been there?

Just how good is it? :)

Muchos grassy ass.

Man, I cannot say enough good things about Chi-town. I had my best summer ever there back in '05. Such a chilled out, relaxed city. Loads to see and do with all the sport, music and the great weather.

And as for the birds......... 3.gif

If there's anything you need to know about the place just ask.

Right, where to start... :p

We're all gonna be J1 virgins, first time out in the States for us country boys. The oldest of us is only gonna be 20 so that'll be back to the days of underaging.

Basically;

Jobs - where and what is the place to go?

Houses - I'm not really expecting much given the stories of 17 irish lads in a 2 bed house.

Drink - Will Mammy need to send over the case of Buckfast to tide us over?

Simple really: Money + Bed + Drink = Sorted. :)

cson wrote: »

We're all gonna be J1 virgins, first time out in the States for us country boys. The oldest of us is only gonna be 20 so that'll be back to the days of underaging.

We were all 20. No hassles, even when we went to Vegas.
    Basically;

Jobs - where and what is the place to go?

Because you're legally under 21 you cannot work in a bar. You can work in restaurants but you can't handle any glass with alcohol in it, or had been in it.

I worked down on Navy Pier which is the main tourist area. I sold souvenirs for a Forrest Gump themed restaurant on a cart out in the sun from 8-4 four days a week. Really cushy number.

The most common job I saw though was people selling those open top bus tours. Basically stnad at a stall in the city and try gat passers by to go on the tour. Some people enjoyed it, others hated it.

Main thing is to get your social security number sorted asap, as in apply for it te day you arrive and not two weeks after like me. I was out of work for the first month or so cause of it. (You can't apply from Ireland).
    Houses - I'm not really expecting much given the stories of 17 irish lads in a 2 bed house.

My housing was provided by the GAA club I was playing for I was lucky enough to not have to look. Other people we knew over there used a website called CraigsList to get a place before they went over. Might be an idea to have a look at that.
    Drink - Will Mammy need to send over the case of Buckfast to tide us over?

No you shouldn't have any problems if there's even one of you that is any way creative. I don't want to elaborate too much but as I said, not one of us was over 20 and we drank every night of the week for 4 months pretty much.
    Simple really: Money + Bed + Drink = Sorted. :)

If you go to Chicago you will be sorted for all the above imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Even *I* managed underage drinking in Chi-town. :)

You Irish boys will have no problem :p

GuanYin wrote: »
    Even *I* managed underage drinking in Chi-town. :)

You Irish boys will have no problem :p

But your a Mod...
    How can you break rules?

My whole world has been turned upside down...

Cheers!

Yeah we all play hurling so it might be an idea to check out if our clubs could come up with anything over there with houses if we played for the local Gah team.

I've heard doorman to an apartment block is cushy and tippy enough too. Hopefully we'll try and diversify so each of us can rob something useful outta work for the rest of us. Someone can do Maccy D's or something.

Nice wimminz is a bonus.

I'm getting all excited now.

Night Dirtbags

Feckin lightweight :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

bish bash bosh. essays done on time. now to sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Morning, and happy Friday to all.

Dark Knight out on dvd today. Seems like only yesterday we were in Off-Topic the first, fapping over its impending cinmea release. Time flies.

GuanYin wrote: »
    I like Asteroids Galaxy Tour too.

Mainly because someone told me I look like the lead singer (if I was white) :)
    2458182744_7829f13056.jpg?v=0

Hmmm, no, can't see it tbh.
    us country boys
    please, please , please, please, please , please, please, please , please, please, please , please, please, please , please, please, please , please, please, please , please, please, please , please, please, please , please, please, please , please, please, please , please, please, please , please,
    leave your "county" gah tops at home.

Nothing says "bogger away from the farm for the schummer" worse than a "county" gah top.
    But your a Mod...
    How can you break rules?

My whole world has been turned upside down...
    er dude, count my bans.
    Dark Knight out on dvd today.
    I need to direct pfb to this nugget of info.

Morning homes, IT'S FRIDAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!

Morning gents.

Another working week over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,077 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

morning folks.

Morning lads.

Dub13 wrote: »
    Morning lads.

Hi-iddly-ho neighbourino.