Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Off Topic Thread III : Off Topic-er

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭ibh

well, they have just announced the redundancy package

they are getting rid of 74 people in total

24 people of them do my job of which there are 50 people doing it.

scary scary times

Feelin for you. I’m in a similar situation. We have staff of 18 and at least 4 to go. 1 from each team and I’m the last into my team and the least experienced. Won’t know for sure till January.
    Potential unemployment sucks. No redundancy pay-out either cause not been here long. Can’t see much chance of getting any job here in this climate.
    Very strange atmosphere in work, usually great craic in the office cause it’s small and everyone knows each other well, but how awkward will it be when 1 person from a team of 4 is on their notice with the other 3 staying put.

I fcuking hate Christmas time as it is. It’s going to be especially bad this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

That really does suck. And I feel for both of ya.
    The economy is plummeting like a fcuking stone, hopefully you'll both be one of the ones who manages to stay put.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

When they gonna tell people if they have a job?

How do they make the decision?

52% chance of keeping it ain't odds I would like.

they to find out who is taking the voluntary and after that they are doing a maxtrix system to find out who stays and who goes :(

This recession is scary sh1t. I did a whole days work today to impress the bosses. My facebewk dossin of the last few days showed me how many qualified mates are on the dole, and I dont wanna join them. As much as I hate my job, it's a job, so finger out time lads.

I'm goin underground around here for a while as a result I'd say.

pfb, hope it works out in your favour. Seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

Evenin lads. 5.gif

Would agree with everything Neil said. Having been on the job hunt only too recently, it is boring and annoying as fcuk. It's a job in itself to find a job these days.

As Neil has said, hope it works out for you PFB.

Congats at Al murphy on the post count. Mine has been crawling as of late because of work. :(

Whatcha seeing in the cinema Des?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Whatcha seeing in the cinema Des?

Some action hopefully :D

Ah no, she wanted to go and see The Changeling, so we're hitting UCI for that at 9

Des wrote: »
    Some action hopefully :D

Ah no, she wanted to go and see The Changeling, so we're hitting UCI for that at 9

Heard it good daycent reviews.

UCI, the only cinema that still does butter on popcorn. :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

I hate the UCI.

Dub13 wrote: »
    I hate the UCI.

You been in since it was done up?

We're only going there because.

a. I'm working til 8 and it's on at 9, and it's near enogh to work.

b. didn't want to be in town

I hate the UCI.

Tis full of pikeys alright, but €7 for popcorn that doesn't even come with butter annoys me even more.

Did enjoy though, back in my student days, wandering into the UGC/Savoy midday during the week, and having the place almost to myself.

No I was in there for the first time in years while they were doing it up and it was still a kip,Has it improved much..?

The first cinema I went to was the old one in Fairview,now that was a dump.The the UCI opened I think it was the early 90s and it was state of the art all mod cons,but it took them up on till recently do change anything.

Des wrote: »
    You been in since it was done up?

I've found that since it's been done up, the knacks have increased tenfold. They all love hanging around that ****ty little arcade they have in the lobby.

Premier seating is a bit ghey. A fair few times I have reserved it, and had someone nick me seat. Seems like it's still pretty much first dibs.

Did enjoy though, back in my student days, wandering into the UGC/Savoy midday during the week, and having the place almost to myself.

I used to have that old UGC unlimited card,it was 9.99 old money (i feel old saying that) and you could go as often as you like.I got my great value out of that.Then the kids came along and we canceled it.

No I was in there for the first time in years while they were doing it up and it was still a kip,Has it improved much..?

The first cinema I went to was the old one in Fairview,now that was a dump.The the UCI opened I think it was the early 90s and it was state of the art all mod cons,but it took them up on till recently do change anything.

First ever trip to the cinema was to see Big in UCI. I remember at the time being driven up, not having a clue what a 'cinema' was.:o

I used to have that old UGC unlimited card,it was 9.99 old money (i feel old saying that) and you could go as often as you like.I got my great value out of that.Then the kids came along and we canceled it.

It's not a bad old deal. I think it is €15 now, but that's less than two trips. If I lived in the city center, I almost certainly would get one. When I was living in New York, I must have went to the cinema at least twice a week.

I'm a fan of Dundrum cinema myself.
    They usually do showings up until 9.45 which is handy for work, and close enough to home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Frisbee wrote: »
    I'm a fan of Dundrum cinema myself.
    They usually do showings up until 9.45 which is handy for work, and close enough to home.

Apart from the fecking heat. That cinema is always roasting.

Yeah your dead right.
    I've often worn shorts to the cinema there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭Im_No_Superman

Evening all
    Des wrote:

Its not a bad flick saw it last week, very long though, could have cut a good 30 min out imo.

Anyone drive a Volkswagen?

Yeah your dead right.
    I've often worn shorts to the cinema there!

Pics or it did not happen,you no the rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

I hope we've all remembered to vote for the Soccer forum.

and for delija_sever029 as the N00b of the year

and for Xavi as most lickable boarster......

GuanYin wrote: »
    I hope we've all remembered to vote for the Soccer forum.

and for delija_sever029 as the N00b of the year

and for Xavi as most lickable boarster......

link?

I dont really take pictures of trips to the pictures.
    I'll have a look though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

GuanYin wrote: »

Much like the voting here in Ireland, I find it hard to relate to many of those nominations*.

*First one to crack a 'you're related to one of the nominees!?' joke is a 3.gif

Much like the voting here in Ireland, I find it hard to relate to many of those nominations*.

*First one to crack a 'you're related to one of the nominees!?' joke is a 3.gif

Who is it your related to? :pac:

Your good self princess. I seckzed Yore Ma good and proper.

My ma only roides people with normal sized hands :D

Aye. But she loves to ride normal people's large hands.

Fail
    Regular sized hands only
    I should know, I keep the books

tumbleweed.jpg

hibyeya6.gif

Touché

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

zing...

zing...

snap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,077 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

We got a good spread in the Awards thread.

Voted for Delija, Xavi, GuanYin, Pighead, Soccer and Estie for managing to turn his short term ban into a perm ban, and that into a definately-never-setting-foot-on-boards-again ban.

Hey eZe, just saw your txt there, sorry for not getting back to you. That's grand, cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

Hey eZe, just saw your txt there, sorry for not getting back to you. That's grand, cheers.

You sent the most awkward and formal text I've ever seen in my life, you'd swear I was your lecturer or something. Very strange considering you behaviour in these parts. :pac:

*SSF UPDATE*

Hey lads, just a quick update.

All monies have now been paid. Congratulations and fair play to the lot of yis. I am just waiting to hear back from DeV to get the all clear to ship the order.

There's one slight change though. Instead of ordering from Play.com for PES, I will be ordering from CDWOW. The reason for this is that PES is a a bit cheaper on that site, and I'll need to go with that as Dabs (who the console is coming from) are charging €13.35 for delivery. Originally, I presumed we would escape this charge, any other time of the year and we would. But because it is so close to Christmas, you have to go with their 3 day delivery service (which is charged for).

I will be posting up copies of the orders for all to see, just so that everything is above order and all that.

Hopefully DeV will get back to me soon enough, and we can get this thing on the way by tomorrow.

Again, cheers to everyone who has donated.

eZe^ wrote: »
    You sent the most awkward and formal text I've ever seen in my life, you'd swear I was your lecturer or something. Very strange considering you behaviour in these parts. :pac:

3.gif3.gif3.gif3.gif3.gif3.gif3.gif3.gif3.gif3.gif3.gif

Does that make up for it?

3.gif3.gif3.gif3.gif3.gif3.gif3.gif3.gif3.gif3.gif3.gif

Does that make up for it?

We're circle jerking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,667 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

has anyone seen the Soccer Access Request :eek:

Yeah I've already reported it. Fcuking wierdo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,667 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Yeah I've already reported it. Fcuking wierdo.

ya i did too

woooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,908 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

What's this now?

/wanders over with ban stick

Xavi6 wrote: »
    What's this now?

/wanders over with ban stick

Eager Beaver :D