Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Off Topic Thread III : Off Topic-er

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Dub13 wrote: »
    I suppose Boardeaux is more an official team now,if we get a team together to play the poker forum it would just be a notch or two up from a kick around.

I don't know if we will manage to get a team together (within OT anyway). We only got 11 people to sign up for the SSF thing and people didn't even have to leave their house for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I don't know if we will manage to get a team together (within OT anyway). We only got 11 people to sign up for the SSF thing and people didn't even have to leave their house for that.

You do not know how hard it is to get people to commit to playing a game of football.

Nightmare tbh.

If ten say they are coming, expect only 5, and that's being optimistic.

Experienced head here lads.

Des wrote: »
    You do not know how hard it is to get people to commit to playing a game of football.

Nightmare tbh.

Yep thats the problem if ten people say yeah we will play. Then that could be a decent five side. Couple of people don't show up then the game could be ruined. Try get too many people and you have too many people on the pitch making it a crap game, or have people sitting out a lot of the game.

Nightmare tbh.

True dat.

I organise a game among my mates every Thursday and it's one of the most annoying things I have going on in my life as EVERY week people bail and don't tell u so u have to scramble replacements together at the last minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,908 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

What the hell do you think Boardeaux started out as?

Lol I couldn't post in that thread as I was banned :o

Wat u were u banned for Trolly McTrollerson!?

I <3 GuanYin wrote: »

Yeah, I love JoeSoaps comment (I have this mate Xavi6).

My how you've grown (thanks to me :P)

and now here you are today modding the soccer forum.

Wat u were u banned for Trolly McTrollerson!?

I referred to your lot as the 'S' word.
    Yeah, I love JoeSoaps comment (I have this mate Xavi6).

My how you've grown (thanks to me :P)

Ha ha yeah you can have some of the credit. My office job gets the rest for giving me ample time to post.

Indeed. Where to next? Admin?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

That's like someone who was in prison becoming the warden. Stinks I tells ya.

I referred to your lot as the 'S' word.

Ha ha yeah you can have some of the credit. My office job gets the rest for giving me ample time to post.

And yet u made mod :rolleyes: Jerk!

Ah now Xavi, we all know that every single one of your posts is of the highest quality, don't be givin Des ANY credit!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Nightmare tbh.

Fully aware. However that was done on the soccer forum as a whole where alot of posters would have very little contact with each other. I was hoping that if we could somehow limit it to the OTT we might have more of a chance to actually get this to work.
    Maybe I'm being overly optimistic though

Laura u bum, do u ever go asleep?

I'm a night person
    Laura how do you know where I live?

No idea, I just assumed you lived in Dublin. Was I correct?

Frisbee wrote: »
    Fully aware. However that was done on the soccer forum as a whole where alot of posters would have very little contact with each other. I was hoping that if we could somehow limit it to the OTT we might have more of a chance to actually get this to work.
    Maybe I'm being overly optimistic though

Charlie reckons we'd get 10 to an OTT beers, myself and Al thought that was a tad optimistic!! So yes, you are!

Well I'm sure one or two could grab a mate if we're really stuck. I wouldn't mine a game of astro and if we think we'll have number then try and play against the Poker Forum.

Sure if all else fails Des's mrs can play :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

Sigh, I'd love to play in an OTT game of astro or a couple of nights pubbing!

eZe^ wrote: »
    Sigh, I'd love to play in an OTT game of astro or a couple of nights pubbing!

move out of that village then

lmao !

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

Sure if all else fails Des's mrs can play :p

eh - like what:confused::confused::confused:

I'm a night person

Ha she is slowly coming around to the fact she is a girl. Note she said night person not night man/boy.

No idea, I just assumed you lived in Dublin. Was I correct?

Yes!

*goes off to wonder what is so Dublin about me it comes across on the internet.*

Fecking sick of work at this stage.
    Talk to yis later

• Registered Users Posts: 3,008 ✭✭✭delija_sever029

Soccer Forum F.C. ftw! :D

I am stressed and had a crisis about last night result,i hope you are not trying to die young:cool:

Oh my GAWWWDDDDD like.

There are some kids playing football outside my house, like, and they keep on kicking the ball into the garden and coming in after it like what am I supposed to do about this?

Oh my GAWWWDDDDD like.

There are some kids playing football outside my house, like, and they keep on kicking the ball into the garden and coming in after it like what am I supposed to do about this?

Butcher knife, attack ze ball.

All sorted, I am sure Alan would do the same being the chop buster that he is! :)

Butcher knife, attack ze ball.

All sorted, I am sure Alan would do the same being the chop buster that he is! :)

this is like, a really PERSONAL ISSUE for me. ;)

Oh my GAWWWDDDDD like.

Lol you been into PI as well?! Oul biddy. I'd have wrecked her head, and egged her gaff.

Yep.

Have been on the receiving end of it too.

Some fúcker used a knife.

JUST LIKE YOU ADVISED YOU CÚNT

:rolleyes::pac:

Lol well it's true. Her telling us to go away or threatening to call the 5-0 would have resulted in her getting laughed.

Funny when ya grow up and see those ***** that used to burst the footballs now.

They are all religious ****ers. They are begging for forgiveness I tellz ya !

Na I wouldn't burst the football that would be a right c*ntish thing to do IMO. Just give the kids back their ball, otherwise you will become the focal point of every practical joke they ever play.

Oh and ya wanna be careful pissing off kids now a days. Apparently they are arming themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

I wonder where would be handiest for it.
    Most of the lads are from the northside or so I've deduced, but there's a few from the southside aswell.
    We'll have to have a poll or something.
    I reckon astropark Tallaght or Coolock would be the best bets.
    What you's think?

i'd vote for tallaght as its like totally better

I vote JJB Soccer Dome in Dundalk.

lol

lol
    Well, it was worth a shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

Evenin lads. I would be more than happy to play in an OTT, but I would probably be restricted to nets as one of me knees has gone to sh/t.

Re the beers in Feb. I think it's well do able to get 10 or so heads. Sure, guarantess would be:

Desmond
    Wor Al
    Neil
    Myself
    The Artist Formely Known As Xavi
    Laura

I'm sure 4 of the other regulars would pop along as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,072 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Evenin lads. I would be more than happy to play in an OTT, but I would probably be restricted to nets as one of me knees has gone to sh/t.

Re the beers in Feb. I think it's well do able to get 10 or so heads. Sure, guarantess would be:

Desmond
    Wor Al
    Neil
    Myself
    Laura

If its over a weekend, i'd be happy to come up to the big smoke for some ball and beers (ideally if someone can put me up!)

Had a good day today. Everyone at work was given 2 bottles of wine and a box of roses. They also got in a specialist hot chocolate maker for our section. Had the tastiest thing ever, Milk praline flavour. Yum! (Yesterday they gave us a box of mince pies each and had a buffet in the morning of free cakes. Seems like a whole christmas theme)

After work then i played football at 7, everything i did in front of goal came off. Chips, lobs, taking it round the keeper, shots from distance, everything! Must have gotten 12 goals. Was a good level of quality game too.

Now just watching 'Eastern Promises' with a pack of thai sweet chili Sensations to top it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

I'd definitely be up for Feb. I was away for the last Soccer beers, disappointed I couldn't make it.

I hope i will get a chance to come once in the future

I'll be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

I hope i will get a chance to come once in the future

Come over in february :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭Im_No_Superman

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    If its over a weekend, i'd be happy to come up to the big smoke for some ball and beers (ideally if someone can put me up!)

Had a good day today. Everyone at work was given 2 bottles of wine and a box of roses. They also got in a specialist hot chocolate maker for our section. Had the tastiest thing ever, Milk praline flavour. Yum! (Yesterday they gave us a box of mince pies each and had a buffet in the morning of free cakes. Seems like a whole christmas theme)

After work then i played football at 7, everything i did in front of goal came off. Chips, lobs, taking it round the keeper, shots from distance, everything! Must have gotten 12 goals. Was a good level of quality game too.

Now just watching 'Eastern Promises' with a pack of thai sweet chili Sensations to top it off.
    Now thats a good day. :)

Im always looking for an opportunity to go out in the big smoke maybe Feburary will be my chance!

Come over in february :)

I am afraid that wont work out,i am going to be feckin busy after holiday and that will last for months:mad:

Sup everyone. Got a fecking glass splinter in the joint on the back of my finger in work. I fecking hate glass splinters, unbelieveably painful.
    Couldnt get it out so just got a stanley and cut away the lump of flesh containing it.

Rash decisions ftl

Desmond
    Wor Al
    Neil
    Myself
    Laura

I'll be there with bells on.
    If I can try and get a game together some stage in January would you all be interested in playing?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Evening folks.

I'll be there with bells on.
    If I can try and get a game together some stage in January would you all be interested in playing?

Sound man, reeeeeeal sound :mad:

Well obviously the big one would be in February. But may aswell try and get one before then to get an idea of people's positions if we plan on challenging the poker forum when our star player gets back from Oz :pac:

Wow... It's banging in here...

Shut it lick arse