Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Off Topic Thread III : Off Topic-er

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Frisbee wrote: »
    I'll be PM'ing you a diet regime within the next few days

:D:D

I'll be PM'ing you a diet regime within the next few days

I actually lol'd. I will look for support in the OT thread also. Des, be my mentor?

Des, be my mentor?

To get on a diet?

not a chance.

Des wrote: »
    To get on a diet?

not a chance.

:(

Al ? Charlie? Neill? Xavi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

i've met Des once.

within minutes the both of us were eating a kebab :)

We may not be the men for dietry advice :)

Neil1984 on the other hand.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

I reckon alot of the lads wont be online till tomorrow. So I'll leave putting a thread up in the forum until then.
    I'll Pm them aswell as I reckon this page will be lost soon enough

Ah im not that big really but since the old redundancy the gym membership was canceled which in turn has made me unfit again over the last three months. Can I get into shape in 3 weeks. Time will indeed show the answer.

I however would like a few pints after the said kickabout now that I think about it. So I think staying off the juice for 3 weeks is as good as a month? Is it not fellas? Please lead me to the light :p

I however would like a few pints after the said kickabout

ding-ding-ding-ding-ding-ding-ding-ding-ding-ding

excellent suggestion.

I just figured that was a given...

i'd be up for the pints also.

I ain't trolling in the pool thread lads.

I actually do think people who vote in SSN polls are clowns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

Lads 5.gif.

Probably won't be available around the 18th, and even if I was, I would only be able to help yis out in nets. If I am available last minute, i'll play if yisser are stuck, otherwise i'll come up and watch with Betty and Al.

Is there pints after this?

Also, have we stopped calling Laura 'Laura'?

Off down to Wexford this evening for a family bash. No work for me tomorrow. :)

I ain't trolling in the pool thread lads.

so did i.

until this latest round of polls :D

all the players won by a good margin too. Carra had 50% of the votes for the defender for example :)

ding-ding-ding-ding-ding-ding-ding-ding-ding-ding

excellent suggestion.
    I just figured that was a given...

Okie doke.

Hmm, will we be playing in the morning chaps?

Spurs are on the telly that day so we could watch that in the pub or something. Liverpool vs Everton the Monday after too :)

Okie doke.

Hmm, will we be playing in the morning chaps?

Spurs are on the telly that day so we could watch that in the pub or something. Liverpool vs Everton the Monday after too :)

The poker lads said not too early. I was thinking like 2 or 3?
    Depending on pitch availability of course

To change the subject a bit lads, where's everyone off to tonight?

Dundrum myself, I am epicly hungover at the moment too. Very very unhappy wtih myself.

To change the subject a bit lads, where's everyone off to tonight?

Bray, got a funeral tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

It's not so much that, it's the fact that sky are very selective imo. Anytime they throw up one of those polls, or go out on the street with a camera, they seem to go for the knnuckle draggers exclusively. i would be fairly confident the data is very skewed on those polls.

Also, skysports.com always chooses the most unflattering photo of a manager/player when they post a story. Example.

i would be fairly confident the data is very skewed on those polls

except the latest one, which is spot on.

best defender-carragher
    best midfielder-gerrard
    best striker-torres

can argue with **** like that.

I'm off to start a thread.

Ah yes, sorry to hear about that Des. Regards to the mrs. Bray is a mad place , haven't been there in ages.

Also, skysports.com always chooses the most unflattering photo of a manager/player when they post a story. Example.

I think he looks quite dashing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,908 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Bastards organising a game for January :mad:

Anyway, tis 2009 in Perth so Happy New Year.

Xavi6 wrote: »

Who, the fúck, are you?

Xavi6 wrote: »

This is just the warm up.
    The big one is in February ;)

Who, the fúck, are you?

Bah I wanted to drop the '6'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,071 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

if its looking like going ahead id be very tempted to drive up alright, once it was gonna be at least the 90minutes.

Im right footed anyway, would play either on the wing (fitness isn't top notch at the moment so defensive lapses would have to be tolerated!) or else up front or just behind a frontman, where ill sprint for every attack! Definately ideally up front though.

Do yiz want jersies?

There's an old set of Boardeaux jersies knocking around someplace.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

Since UCD seems to have been chosen ahead of Dundalk I'm not in. Were I am I would be playing at full back, preferably right full but I have a left peg too.

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    if its looking like going ahead id be very tempted to drive up alright, once it was gonna be at least the 90minutes.

Im right footed anyway, would play either on the wing (fitness isn't top notch at the moment so defensive lapses would have to be tolerated!) or else up front or just behind a frontman, where ill sprint for every attack! Definately ideally up front though.

Not sure as to whether it will be 90 or 60 yet. I'll let ya know as soon as I do.
    Do yiz want jersies?

There's an old set of Boardeaux jersies knocking around someplace.

That would be fantastic Des, cheers

Not sure as to whether it will be 90 or 60 yet. I'll let ya know as soon as I do.

lol

60 tbh.

People who haven't played in a while definitely wouldn't last a 90

lol

60 tbh.

People who haven't played in a while definitely wouldn't last a 90

Ah they'd be grand. 90 isn't bad at all. Might see a few more goals with the tired legs too!

It all depends on pitch booking. I'd assume they'd lease it out by the hour, so would prob have to pay for two if 90 was chosen.
    Fairly sure the Poker forum have been playing 60 minute matches so maybe go with that as I'd say there's only a few of us who play competitively..

90............? :(

Ok, I know you dont like me but could you bare to see someone die on a pitch? :)

90............? :(

Ok, I know you dont like me but could you bare to see someone die on a pitch? :)

we'd do a nice montage for YouTube, some nice sad music, and of course, retire the jersey.

I'd do a slow motion run over to you, kneel down, then place my head in my hands, just before the camera cust away, a single tear would drop from my cheek onto the badge on your jersey, the camera will catch this poignant moment.

It'll be beautiful.

Ninety minutes it is. :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

High School Musical 3 is crap my head is wrecked who said it was ok...?There are some fine chicks floating around Dundrum SC.

The 19th suits me,I will play I had something on that night but I will put it off or move it.I am a defender preferable center back,have not been playing as much 5 a side lately as I normally do and I went a bit mad over Xmas so not as fit as I normally am.

we'd do a nice montage for YouTube, some nice sad music, and of course, retire the jersey.

I'd do a slow motion run over to you, kneel down, then place my head in my hands, just before the camera cust away, a single tear would drop from my cheek onto the badge on your jersey, the camera will catch this poignant moment.

It'll be beautiful.

Ninety minutes it is. :)

LMAO !

I require Queen - Dont stop me now as the song though! :)

Dub13 wrote: »
    High School Musical 3 is crap my head is wrecked who said it was ok...?There are some fine chicks floating around Dundrum SC.

The 19th suits me,I will play I had something on that night but I will put it off or move it.I am a defender preferable center back,have not been playing as much 5 a side lately as I normally do and I went a bit mad over Xmas so not as fit as I normally am.

It's Januaray 18th! :D

So Far:
    Frisbee
    KaG
    Dub13

It's Januaray 18th! :D

So Far:
    Frisbee
    KaG
    Dub13

Yea the Sunday sorry the 19th.

18th!

lol

OK folks

talk to yiz all next year.

ADIOS SUCKAS!!

have a good one.

Should old acquaintance be forgot,
    and never brought to mind ?
    Should old acquaintance be forgot,
    and old times since ?

For auld lang syne, my dear,
    for auld lang syne,
    we'll take a cup of kindness yet,
    for auld lang syne.

Have a good one Des!

18th!

lol....as I said my head is wrecked from High School musical,I think it put my in a trance.I am free Sun the 18th have something on that night so if there is a few beers on after the game I am not sure if I can get out of it.

Cool, your marked in then so

Stick positions down beside lads names so we can get an idea of were we need players.I can imagine we could be stuck for a keeper.

Des if you can find that old kit I am sure we could use it.Are you going to manage us or does your current contract prevent you from moonlighting with other outfits...:)

Soccer Team vs. Poker Forum
    1. Dub13 - CB
    2. KaG - CM
    3. Frisbee - AM/ST

That UCD pitch looks good,what time were you thinking..?

Like 2 or 3.
    If we could get 2 we definitely wouldn't need to pay for lights so would only cost 50 squids :D

Like 2 or 3.
    If we could get 2 we definitely wouldn't need to pay for lights so would only cost 50 squids :D

2 sounds fine,I would not would not worry about the price to much sure it will be split at least 22 ways.

Aye without the lights it will be less than 2.50 each sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Maybe pay an extra few quid to try to get Des to referee? The last poker forum game I played was 90mins with a lot of rolling subs. Ive missed the last few tho.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,867 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

before i go give myself alcohol poisining...

HappyNewYear1.jpg