Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who are 8502??

• 25-11-2008 6:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭

My 087 phone has been hopping all day.
    It says 8502 and nothing else..
    At least 15 missed calls from it and i refuse to answer it.
    Anyone know who it could be??:confused::confused:
    And my ma don't ring me,just in case!!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,679 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

staker wrote: »
    My 087 phone has been hopping all day.
    It says 8502 and nothing else..
    At least 15 missed calls from it and i refuse to answer it.
    Anyone know who it could be??:confused::confused:
    And my ma don't ring me,just in case!!;)

Report it to your provider (vodafone?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Just did Gerard.
    He says that he wouldn't know who it could be,to contact directory enquiries.
    So I asked him should i be concerned in his opinion.
    "In what way?" he asks.
    "Could it be an internet no. ringing me with dubious intent?" I replied
    "Well then you should contact the Gardai"
    "OK, will do. I'll tell them my service provider doesn't know how to deal with their network facilities" I says. (His attitude left a lot to be desired!)
    "Well no,Vodafone are'nt responsible for chasing down telephone no.s"
    "OK, Thanks for your time" and hung up.
    SO then I rang 11811 to be told they can't disclose this information and she said that it would be my SP's responsibility.
    I dread the day I get sick in this country.:mad::mad:
    Any other ideas??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

Its strange only 4 digits? I know its kinda stupid but no chance the number is saved in your contacts as 8502? Longshot i know, but takes 2 seconds to check :confused:

cheers dayton,good thinking, just checked but alas no.
    but i do have a number stored as 0879 which i don't remember saving!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

staker wrote: »
    cheers dayton,good thinking, just checked but alas no.
    but i do have a number stored as 0879 which i don't remember saving!!!

Excellent, was a longshot but just shows longshots can pay off, lucky you didnt go to the guards :D

• Registered Users Posts: 800 ✭✭✭nialldinho

Could just be an extension number. I know that when I call people from work just my 4 digit extension number comes up.

should i try ringing it tomorrow so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,922 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

Yeah thought so too,silly me:o
    But an extension ringing is worse than "private number" in my book.
    Must be me but i see red when people haven't the courtesy to let people see whose ringing them when they block their numbers.
    And then to ring me from an extension when i can't call them back:mad:
    I know it cuts out ringing their reception and going" i've a missed call from this number" but even so...
    Anyways,at least i know what 8502 was now.
    rant over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,922 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,124 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

It could be an important call, maybe from CreditCard company or bank ,etc.

True enough byte,it could be..
    If it rings tomorrow I definitely won't answer now:D:D
    Will let ye know if it does, and will answer too...Started a thread over in AH and it seems I'm not the only one regarding the private number scenario

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭nameandanumber

Why didn't you just answer it and find out who it was?

just that i'd never received a call from such a number before and it looked dodgy.
    on my landline i would've answered it as they're usually research/sales numbers,where i normally answer with "hello",pause," yes it is" pause "ok".
    then i leave the phone on the arm of the chair for a quarter of an hour,nobody has lasted that long yet.
    hopefully this malarky isn't going to start on the mobile networks any time soon...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,213 ✭✭✭culabula

Calls to me from RTÉ often just show a 4-digit extension number.