Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snow/Freezing Weather across Ireland (Friday 28th November onwards)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,431 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

hawkwing wrote: »

OMG :eek::eek::eek:

That is amazing..if that comes off..its down with '63 and '47, '08 goes!!

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users Posts: 9,936 ✭✭✭LEIN

Supercell wrote: »
    Tomorrrow I'm going out to find a couple of stones, a pair of twigs and a carrot for snowman cam this weekend :)

Lol. If i get no snow at this level I might bring the daughter on a drive up to help you with that.

Ill bring the carrot. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 490 ✭✭Snowaddict

Danno wrote: »
    Just north along the very winding N77 road in Durrow. Another poster, StratoQ posts here very occasionally and is in the north of Kilkenny City. His weather station (I presume it is his one :D ) is online here: http://www.wunderground.com/weatherstation/WXDailyHistory.asp?ID=IKILKENN2
    That link should prove invaluable to you as your probably only a few miles away from it.
    My station can be accessed from the link in my signature, so another nearby station for you to keep an eye on current conditions in the North Kilkenny/South Laois region.

Thanks a million, it sure will be. Looks decidedly wintry for the outlook then for the next 5 days. I wonder whether we will see some snowfall in our area of Laois/Kilkenny? Or indeed will large parts see snow? Its certainly after getting much colder here tbh, a real chill to the air.:)

OMG :eek::eek::eek:

That is amazing..if that comes off..its down with '63 and '47, '08 goes!!

Hey Supercell, is that chart for this coming Sunday? I'm really still quite new to chart viewing. Would the chart in question produce some snow in your opinion?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭shamwari

Snowaddict wrote: »
    Hey Supercell, is that chart for this coming Sunday? I'm really still quite new to chart viewing. Would the chart in question produce some snow in your opinion?

What do YOU think ? :rolleyes:

shamwari wrote: »
    What do YOU think ? :rolleyes:

I guess so... I don't know how heavy or widespread it would be etc. But lets hope it does come off then. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭shamwari

I guess so... I don't know how heavy or widespread it would be etc. But lets hope it does come off then. :)

Indeed !:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭ch750536

Should we offer 30pts to the first photo of 1 inch general covering.

Have to gain a few places somehow.:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Bring it in out of that will ye! The poor fecker. Stick it in the bed with you! :P

I tried that once, i woke up with scratches on my chest and a present by my door!>.<
    Since, he has gotten the hot water bottle!

Ah sure he'll be grand, he's a touch cat, he beats up intruder cats. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,743 ✭✭✭kleefarr

Great. I've bookmarked that as well. :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

@ CH750536: Would the request for bonus points in the league be due to them polar lows swinging their way down Limerick country tonight? :D:D:D - If there were points going, Supercell would have won... http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055408502 - remember October's fall. :P :P :P

@ Snowaddict: That chart that hawkwing posted should/would deliver a widespread snow event on Nov 30th.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

CianRyan wrote: »
    SWEET!(:

Ahaha.
    How cold would you reckon it would have to be to put a lair of ice on a lake?

http://simple.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ice - Sure if you paid attention in chemistry class you'd know the answer to this. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

It might be the wine but i'm really feeling this could be the best cold snap for the east coast in many years (and many to come).
    I really hope ye all have camera's at the ready because spells like this are as rare as hens teeth.
    Tomorrrow I'm going out to find a couple of stones, a pair of twigs and a carrot for snowrabbit cam this weekend :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭ch750536

@ CH750536: Would the request for bonus points in the league be due to them polar lows swinging their way down Limerick country tonight? :D:D:D - If there were points going, Supercell would have won... http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055408502 - remember October's fall. :P :P :P

@ Snowaddict: That chart that hawkwing posted should/would deliver a widespread snow event on Nov 30th.

Yeah you're right, think it should be -30 for gloating meself.

Thanks a million, this really helps with the understanding of the charts. :). Although Met Eireann have backed down today from their statement of 'the threat of more severe wintry weather later on Sunday and into Monday', could this chart be that very threat.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Hal1 wrote: »
    http://simple.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ice - Sure if you paid attention in chemistry class you'd know the answer to this. :pac:

I thought it might be different for large bodies of water.
    Sad part is, i do chemisty! >.<

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Beginning to look like a lack of precip during Friday night/ Saturday for eastern areas, the low over biscay driven further south and we seem to be stuck in a COL with little wind. Very cold though with a pentrating frost lasting much of the day.

Lets see what the 18z gives us for Sunday/Monday.

A nice cold frosty base would be a good thing for some snow.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,936 ✭✭✭LEIN

Have frost here now but way too far to the east for precip.

Thanks a million, this really helps with the understanding of the charts. :). Although Met Eireann have backed down today from their statement of 'the threat of more severe wintry weather later on Sunday and into Monday', could this chart be that very threat.:rolleyes:

No prob. On the face of it, that chart looks good for snow, however, there are several other variables that must be taken into account as I will go through here with you one by one...

This chart: http://www.wetterzentrale.de/pics/Rtavn061.png is the all to familiar pressure chart. In that also there is the grey hashed lines showing the temperature at height - roughly 5000-6000m above. The colder it is the better, -30 is good, around -40c is brilliant.

This chart: http://www.wetterzentrale.de/pics/Rtavn062.png is the temperature of the air at roughly 1500m above. Again, the colder the better, -5 is borderline to good, -10 and below is brilliant.

This chart: http://www.wetterzentrale.de/pics/Rtavn063.png is the thickness. 528dam or the light blue line is what is wanted here. the further south of here that line goes the better for snow.

This chart: http://www.wetterzentrale.de/pics/Rtavn064.png is a vital component, precipatation. The blues represent rainfall, and where there are blue areas with orange dots means showers.

This chart: http://www.wetterzentrale.de/pics/Rtavn0617.png is the temperature at ground or near ground level. Anything at or below 2c is great for snow.

http://www.wetterzentrale.de/pics/Rtavn0610.png is the dew points. Anything at 0c or below is fab.

http://www.wetterzentrale.de/pics/Rtavn0611.png shows the potential for showers and thunderstorms to develop. Brighter colours illustrate high energy in the air that is good for clouds and storms to develop.

These are the main pointers to look out for. To visit a website that shows these go to http://www.wetterzentrale.de and click on GFS-ENS in the top left of the page. The very top left shows all the participating model outputs from different agencies around the world. GFS is the most popular, so click on that one.
    The centre top box is now the area where you choose charts from. The numbers at the bottom of that box show the forecast for that amount of hours ahead in time. Play around with it.

Enjoy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭Deep Easterly

Beginning to look like a lack of precip during Friday night/ Saturday for eastern areas, the low over biscay driven further south and we seem to be stuck in a COL with little wind. Very cold though with a pentrating frost lasting much of the day.

Seems to quite in line with the Met Eireann forecast WC. :)

Here is another useful tool: http://www.snow-forecast.com/maps/dynamic/uk

Seems to quite in line with the Met Eireann forecast WC. :)

Yep, but there is some snow risk showing up for eastern areas on Sunday, along with many western areas.

Firstly in the morning and then again in the late afternoon.

Temps also look even slightly colder on this run.

Thanks again, these will be great help. The GFS chart on Net Weather seems to show a snow risk for eastern areas on Sunday along with many western areas.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,033 ✭✭✭Snowbie

Lets see what the 18z gives us for Sunday/Monday.

WC a col is a small area of lower pressure with slack winds between an area of two HP. This is a broad LP system near complex with a southern LP moving god knows where atm. The charts are not handling it well. Moves more south then it takes the fronts with it.

The precip was lacking on the 12Z and has kept the same theme with the 18Z for the early weekend. No moisture is prevalent in eastern area's since the 06Z this morning. I really don't know the charts you are viewing earlier but Jean on the 930 weather has backed off slightly from the 655 weather. Met use ECM 12z that is released at tea time and the data is used on the evening weather.

The northern and western seaboard are at high risk due to onshore winds. Untill the winds back to the NE, the eastern seaboard is at risk of showers.
    Any shortwaves appearing on the 18Z i will post up as it is still rolling out.

Sunday night/Monday morning might be decent for something in the east but we wait and see. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭Deep Easterly

Yep, but there is some snow risk showing up for eastern areas on Sunday, along with many western areas.

Firstly in the morning and then again in the late afternoon.

Temps also look even slightly colder on this run.

Lets hope so Snowaddict. Main thing it is going to be cold, what ever happens afterwards is a bonus. :)

Exactly, however things seem to have shifted very much further east on this run... From what I can see.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭IrishHomer

Lot of black ice out here in midlands already tonight. Roads will be lethal heavy showerc at 8pm tonight and now solid ice here in Offaly at 10pm.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,329 ✭✭✭arctictree

Anyone notice that the GFS constantly overestimates night time mins for Ireland? For example, the 00z chart for the 18z run has a min in Dublin of 6c. Snowbies site is showing 4.2c already.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,503 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Cork Airport now at 0C according to the latest Met Eireann weather report.